Disc Golf Store
North Bend, OR 
Winsor Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #1
-- / -- Par / Distance:



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I Say 18 ACE Runs Are Fun!

1    5/25/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 610  Exp: 36.2 Years
Pros: Winsor Park DGC is basically a 9 hole recreation course which is squeezed into a fairly small piece of land. The property has a slight south to north slope to it and is more open at the south end. The northern end is a little more thick with mature trees. Course designers have cleverly added a second set of small concrete tee pads for each hole making this now a full 18 holes. The baskets are older Innova models which have been painted yellow more than once. The signs are simple basic ones giving the hole, par and distance. On each tee post is an ACE Board, basically a board on which players can write their name and date when they've ACED that hole. # 8 appears to be the hardest to ACE with only two recorded ACES. Others have as many as 20 ACES recorded. Most every basket is set in or behind a tree/trees to add to the difficulty. For being a short ACE-fest, the course does feature a nice variety of shots needed off the tee, short hysers, annies, blind uphills, tunnel shots and even a simple little Par 2.
Cons: Yes, this course would be crowded with multiple groups playing at the same time. I wonder how often that happens?
It's short, in my estimation just past the pitch and putt stage. I'd call it an easy recreation course.
The course flow does backtrack a couple of times but I didn't have much trouble navigating through it the first time.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing Winsor. What's not to like about a course with 18 ACE possibilities? Granted, a few of these would be really impressive ACEs while most of the others fall in the more routine category but I know, I wouldn't soon get tired of trying for these holes in one. They're all legitimate, I wouldn't be embarrassed to add my Valkyrie Kid signature to one of the ACE boards!

 Winsor Park

5+    8/26/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: OregonDG420
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for a beginning player, but still can be fun for more advanced players. All concrete tee pads. good course if looking for a quick/short game.
Cons: just above a pitch and putt course.
Other Thoughts: great course for a quick round or 2 with your buddies. Ace opportunities on every hole which can add some fun to the game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

5+    5/10/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: BrickE
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is pretty clean. It makes you think through every shot as there are a lot of trees and terrain changes.
Cons: Houses with dogs on the east side of the course can transform your new disc into a chew toy.
Other Thoughts: This is a course worth checking out and is by far the best laid out and kept course in Coos County.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Small, but it packs a nice punch

2-4    6/15/2012   7/16/2011
Review By: rootofthechord
Played: 38  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The holes are short, and the course is small - great for families and people newer to the sport.
- Good balance of terrain - most of the holes have slight elevation changes, and 7 of them are in a forest.
- Holes 10-18 use the same baskets as 1-9 but with slightly different tees. As a newer player, it's nice to play a round of 18 and "re-do" some of the holes I wish I could've done better the first time.
Cons: - This course is on a very small piece of land. Holes and fairways are tightly packed together, with a high risk of getting whacked by a wayward disc.
- Course navigation is not always intuitive. Quite a few holes require you to backtrack halfway down the previous fairway in order to find the next tee. 3->4, 6->7, and 8->9 are especially notorious for this.
- Once again, being on a small piece of land means the holes are short. Bigger arms will find themselves gunning for aces or overshooting the baskets on almost every hole, assuming they don't hit a tree first.
- There are still some old, small tee boxes on the course. Although the "true" tees are clearly signed, and these old tees are comically small, they can be very confusing if you don't know where you're going.
Other Thoughts: While it's not "destination" caliber, Winsor Park is an excellent little course that makes maximum use of a very small plot of land. It's gentle enough for the newest of noobs, yet requires precision and accuracy from the more experienced players to score well.

If you're in the Coos Bay area looking for a well-maintained, well-balanced disc golf course, Winsor should fit the bill nicely.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.