North Bend, OR
Winsor Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #8
-- / -- Par / Distance:



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Winsor Park

5+    8/26/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: OregonDG420
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2014
Pros: Good course for a beginning player, but still can be fun for more experienced players. All concrete tee pads. Mostly Wooded holes with a few open ones. pretty hard to lose a disc, with the exception of hole 5 if not careful. good course if looking for a quick/short game.
Cons: not enough trash cans. easy to overthrow a lot of holes for a more powerful player.
Other Thoughts: this is my home course that I play a few times every week. pretty much a roc and aviar course

Winsor

5+    8/26/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: gzusrlz85
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: It's a short course with two tee pads for every hole, making it an 18 hole course. For the most part, it's family friendly. I take my son out there all the time. It's a great course for beginner-intermediate players.
Cons: I wish every hole had a concrete tee pad to throw from. About half of the holes either have a dirt tee pad or no tee pad at all. Also, I wish the debris would be taken out more often.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I ever played, so I enjoy playing it to see how much better I am now than I was back when I started.

Home Sweet Home

5+    5/10/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: BrickE
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is pretty clean. It makes you think through every shot as there are a lot of trees and terrain changes.
Cons: Houses with dogs on the east side of the course can transform your new disc into a chew toy.
Other Thoughts: This is a course worth checking out and is by far the best laid out and kept course in Coos County.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners, kids, showing family

1    11/12/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: snap7times
Played: 41  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for beginners, kids, and family wanting to try out disc golf. 2 tee pads per hole offer increased challenge for beginners.
Family and kids can feel comfortable trying out the sport without taking too much time or feeling it is too long.
Easy to find discs and holes.
Elevation on almost all holes. Holes 3-5 were the most enjoyable
Cons: Some signs are missing.
Other Thoughts: Watched 2 newbies celebrating one of their first aces ever on hole 3 or 4.
I brought along my 80 year old aunt and uncle, parents, and 3 kids. Both my parents and 2 kids had a great time playing here. My 80 year olds enjoyed watching along with my 1 year old... Perfect course for this experience.
Seems the tee pads are in different places than some of the pictures on here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Small, but it packs a nice punch

2-4    6/15/2012   7/16/2011
Review By: rootofthechord
Played: 35  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2012
Pros: - The holes are short, and the course is small - great for families and people newer to the sport.
- Good balance of terrain - most of the holes have slight elevation changes, and 7 of them are in a forest.
- Holes 10-18 use the same baskets as 1-9 but with slightly different tees. As a newer player, it's nice to play a round of 18 and "re-do" some of the holes I wish I could've done better the first time.
Cons: - This course is on a very small piece of land. Holes and fairways are tightly packed together, with a high risk of getting whacked by a wayward disc.
- Course navigation is not always intuitive. Quite a few holes require you to backtrack halfway down the previous fairway in order to find the next tee. 3->4, 6->7, and 8->9 are especially notorious for this.
- Once again, being on a small piece of land means the holes are short. Bigger arms will find themselves gunning for aces or overshooting the baskets on almost every hole, assuming they don't hit a tree first.
- There are still some old, small tee boxes on the course. Although the "true" tees are clearly signed, and these old tees are comically small, they can be very confusing if you don't know where you're going.
Other Thoughts: While it's not "destination" caliber, Winsor Park is an excellent little course that makes maximum use of a very small plot of land. It's gentle enough for the newest of noobs, yet requires precision and accuracy from the more experienced players to score well.

If you're in the Coos Bay area looking for a well-maintained, well-balanced disc golf course, Winsor should fit the bill nicely.

 winsor

5+    10/2/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Only disc golf is played at this park. Can have friendly dogs. Baskets at holes. Cement tees in most cases. Course is pretty clean.
Cons: LACK OF DIRECTIONS AND TEE #s. It would be great if the course could get a few signs out there for visitors and others. It is a fun course but I end up playing every hole differently each round due to lack of knowing the course. Road noise, right on Hwy.
Other Thoughts: PLEASE PLEASE Make the park more user friendly with signs. Everyone loves the game.It would be great if the newer users could get to enjoy its full potential with some signs. I heard word there is a newer ,bigger course at the North Bend or Coos Bay airport. Check with the local club for an update.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Home-town Favorite

1    9/6/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: cefire
Played: 624  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 14.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set between a busy main drive and a residential area, Winsor Park is a small but well utilized park space with a lot going for it. Great for beginners to middle amateurs, the park has rolling hills, fast sloping greens, and some moderate to tight fairways.

Variety - You'll find quite a bit of variety for a 9-hole course with right/left turns, up/down hills, tight/open fairways, and pins which sometimes have precarious positions. The dual tees on every hole frequently add variety and different looks at the fairways. I wouldn't go so far as to say it plays like 18 unique holes but it is definitely a course bonus. Many of the holes have great complementary features which accentuate the courses variety such as the first two opening holes. Hole 1 is a slight hyzer midrange or putter poke under a low-ceiling to an ever so slightly sloping green while 2 allows for a high ceiling, longer turnover which fades right of a blocking fence to a shaded pin.

Maintenance - From the time you pull up, you can tell this course is well-maintained and well-loved. A huge sign directed towards the parking lot describes course sponsors and donors. The fairways reflect the same level of care and are unanimously well-groomed and pruned. The one exception to this is a few of the natural tees which need some work.
Cons: Crowded holes - Because of the extremely small size of park acreage, fairways are tightly jammed together and you will almost certainly find yourself near/on another fairway at some point or even worse buzzing another group's obscured from view tee box.

Challenge - Highly skilled players aren't going to work very hard except on the few holes which require a pinpoint drive. Usually, a putter through an easily achieved open window will suffice for birdie or even ace run.
Other Thoughts: More traditional than its neighbor, Mingus Park, Winsor scores higher for design, upkeep, and 'feel' although it lacks some of the more extreme elements that make Mingus interesting.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing Layout

2-4    6/27/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: ismic1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery, good for a short round, challenging without being long
Cons: no tee box guidance, many blind throws in woods with the possibilityof losing a lot of discs
Other Thoughts: This was a very pretty course but I played 3 times and even with plenty of help from the locals think that I played it different each time. There is almost no guidance as to where the baskets are or where the next tee box is.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My thoughts

5+    10/5/2008   1/9/2009
Review By: EclipticOne
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2009
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Has 9 baskets with 2 teepads per hole. Pads are nice, not a lot of slipage. Is a good layout with the little room to work with. Looks nice for being right beside the highway running right beside it.
Cons: Extremely short holes, mostly putter it. Good chance for aces with good aim. A hole (5?) needs a spotter as i lost a disc because i overshot it...
The teepad layout was kinda confusing playing the back 9 for me, ended up calling it a 9 hole day
Other Thoughts: Since playing for a year and learning a lot since i played here it was very short and not as challenging as i remember. It is nice but mingus is a much better course but not as played.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 -

5/13/2008   5/13/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 154  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 12.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Baskets in decent shape
-Concrete tee-pads
-Course flow is decent
-Tee signs are clear enough
-Fairways defined and maintained
-Very fair for lefty vs. righty
-Local events available to participate in
-Locals are friendly and take care of the course well
-Some interesting tee shots in the back few holes.
-Great course to introduce the sport to a new player
-Dual tees per basket mock an 18 hole course
Cons:
-Very short overall. Most holes are around 200' (there is one that is 85'!)
-Tee pads are not all level, and are not of unifomr size. (I guess you don't need much for a 85' hole though?!)
-Tons of mosquitoes during spring / early-mid summer
-Kind of boring after the first couple rounds
-Underbrush can get pretty thick on a few holes
-No restrooms
-No water
Other Thoughts:
Coos Bay / North Bend have only got two courses between them. I personally think that Mingus is a much better course with wonderful elevation and better tee-shots. However, Windsor is very easy to play, requires no hiking, and is great for a 20 minute round, or for taking family, friends, and children out for their first time.

The course is not challenging at all for experienced players, and as I stated above, can be pretty boring after the initial few rounds. The main thing that Windsor has going for it is that along with Mingus, there are no other courses within an hour and a half.

If you're passing through Coos Bay, it's a quick enjoyable round of golf.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.