Morton, MS 
Moccasin Bend DGC Share
Uploaded By: JesusShoes Hole #6 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 217ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: Creek follows to the left. Pin B is across the creek.



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tranquility...

5+    4/26/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Quiet & peaceful.
-Mostly shaded with a few wide open hole mixed in.
-Excellent scorecards with map in mailbox next to 1st tee.
-Pro Shop in the park office; inexpensive discs but limited selection.
-Haven't seen a single moccasin!
Cons: -There may have been 1 trash can on the whole course.
-Very few benches (I can remember 2)
-A little hard to navigate holes #6-#9 (back and forth across a 'creek' with seemingly sporadic 'bridges.'
-Pay to play (worth $3 though)
-The rough is ROUGH; jeans are not a bad idea.
-Woods + water = BUGS
Other Thoughts: One of the most peaceful, un-rushed and visually stimulating 18 holes of Disc Golf I ever remember playing. Holes #11 & #12 are my favorites! Pin #11 is about 3/4 of the way up on the dam of Shadow Lake, the tee is at the bottom. Hole #12 tees off on the top of the dam and the pin is 426 feet away and downhill, which make everyone feel like a superstar driver! But... when you reach the top of the dam from #11 going to #12 you just have to stop and take it in. I guess that's why #12 is one of the few holes with a bench. I sit and soak in the view for at least 10 minutes EVERY time I play.
This really is a great course for everyone. It's not too difficult, but one sloppy throw and you could be wet or in the deadly underbrush (I swear those thorns/briars are sustained by human blood). I have played this course 3 times at different times and on weekends and a weekday; I have yet to see anyone else playing. Despite this, the course is well maintained and appears to be well used.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Really fun.

2-4    2/26/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: zepphead33
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2012
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has got a fair amount of variety. While the majority of the holes are based around having to avoid trees, there are several open holes, and several that take advantage of the lake. One hole is throwing from ground level up a levee to a basket on the levee. If you don't make your disc sit, you will probably roll all the way back down to the bottom. The very next hole is going from the top of the levee back to ground level. This hole is a 425' wide open shot. Those are two of the most memorable holes on the course. Hole 4 is one of my favorite holes I have ever played for obvious reason, you are throwing about 250' over water and there is a pretty low ceiling that forces you to throw close to the water.
Cons: Occasionally, the flow of the course is interrupted by a little bit of backtracking, but nothing major. It gets pretty rough if you go off the fairway on some holes with fallen trees and lots of thorny plants. I did not see any poison ivy, however, that just might be because of the time of the year. None of the holes have signs with the layout of the hole like you find at the Rez.
Other Thoughts: This is a super fun course. Several really memorable holes and there are not any really bad holes. Jabba did an excellent job designing the course with the land that he was provided with. And while I probably won't drive 45 minutes to play there on a weekend, I will definitely come to any tournament hosted there. I have played in the Ice Bowl at this course twice now, and the course is always cleaned up really well with the help of the Park Ranger and some prisoners.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Superb wooded course!

1    3/19/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is 1 minute off of I-20. Good variety of wooded holes. Hole 4 is about 240 to clear the water. for ams like me shots like that feel good when you pull one off but are visually intimidating and you can get psyched out and lose a lot of discs so throw your least favorite plastic on 3&4. Best levee type shot I have ever seen I think is hole 12. It is over 400 but the elevation advantage for short arms like me that usually max out at 300 allows you to actually have a chance to birdie a beautiful over 400 ft. shot! Course is well marked with signs and arrows on trees, just look around. After playing the first 17 which are mostly in the woods hole 18 has the best timing of any hole 18 that I have played. It is a 400 ft.( wide tunnel shot) that the bombers and short arms alike can appreciate after plying the first 17. Several scenic/epic type holes that will definitely stick with you and make you want to drive to Mississippi more often.
Cons: Hole 15. I just don't like 90 degree right angle shots, but once you get up to the basket you will be looking straight out at a scenic view. You will have to spot this hole in order to know where you want to land for your approach shot. the pad for hole 17 is in the back left corner of 16's basket
Other Thoughts: This course is worth making a long drive if you like playing high quality wooded golf courses as much as I.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/22/2008   6/22/2008
Review By: noahat
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2009
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of hole types. Very technical shots, long narrow shots, and some elevation change. Easy to find your way around the course once you get there. Very nice scenery. A couple of epic type holes includes throwing the entire hole over water. One where the basket sits near the top of a huge hill. A little bad luck could cost you dearly on this hole. Nice baskets.
Cons: Can be very muddy after rains. Some holes seem to require more luck than skill with so many trees and no real lanes to throw down.
Other Thoughts: Although the course is somewhat short, there is quite a bit of walking required between some holes. Three dollars to get in the park. Overall, it's definitely worth playing if you're near the area. Very fun course to play.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Trip to Morton

6/22/2008   6/22/2008
Review By: manglin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging and fun. New Mach baskets set at a good height. Tee pads are in good shape. Signs and markings are well placed and helpful. The course is fairly well maintained, especially considering some of the thick woods. There's a few benches and trash bins along the way that come in handy too.
Cons: The flow of the course is a little awkward at times. For some of the holes you must backtrack from the basket to the next teepad (17 is the worst). This could hinder the speed of play on a busy day.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course overall. It's very scenic playing through Roosevelt State Park. Some of the tee pads are concrete and some are dirt, but they work well together. The majority of the holes are wooded, which provides a good challenge. There is also some elevation that comes into play on the course.Parking could be a problem on a busy day. The day I went, it was not very crowded which made it fun.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 changes

5+    3/17/2009   11/19/2007
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 103  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice mix of holes,wooded and open,with hills and water in play on several holes.Course is well marked. Park has good overall facilities with a pro shop that has a fair selection of discs There are a few signature holes. #4 shoots down a narrow inlet of about 200 to carry the water and #12 shoots downhill off the top of the dam. many holes have great views of the water.
Cons: Tee pads are not all good. On some holes with multiple pins you can't tell where the pin is without walking down the fairway.There is a bathroom in a building right next to the course but the building is usually locked. The other facilities ie pro shop are not next to the course.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful course. One of my favs. With a few minor changes could be one of the very best.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 very nice

10/13/2007   11/2/2007
Review By: drivinatwork
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: good mix of shots, challenging with trees and water
Cons: one or two holes a bit over grown not leaving a good path to throw
Other Thoughts: hole #4 the whole fairway is water, one on the side of the levee and one you throw off the top of the levee down to the basket

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center