Johnson City, TN 
Winged Deer Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #3 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / --   3 / 280ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
great course!

2-4    6/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: porchmike
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's obvious that this course has been around for a while- the places where a bad shot would normally go into the woods have obviously been well traveled and are relatively free of undergrowth, and i played in the most "growth-y" time of year(early summer in the southeast). Also, well-worn paths from baskets to next tees that were fairly obvious.

Of course, a REALLY bad shot will go into some bad rough, but how would that be different from any other woods-y course?
UPDATE: whoa was i wrong about the rough! there's crazy rough on many of the holes that will eat your disc on a bad shot. to the right on #4 is probably the worst- i can only imagine how many discs are in that crazy ditch!

great variety of shots, and the shorter holes were technical enough to not be giveaways.

#16 is a really challenging hole for a good RHBH drive: uphill, 570+ft, fairway sloping from R to L, made it feel like my anhyzer was broken, so I played this hole about 10 times before I was satisfied!

Nice benches on every hole next to the concrete teepads made finding the tees easy for this first timer, and many tee pads had trash cans.

nice signs with hole layouts/distances/location of next tee.

Grass had recently been mowed, and fairways were very nice.

The layout of the holes starts and ends you at the parking area, which is nice.

Cons: #13 and #14(if i remember correctly) were dumb to me- way too many trees in the way for a drive, and the pines here are very thick so throwing blindly up and over the trees seemed like a good way to get a disc stuck way up in a tree in an undisclosed location.
UPDATE: there is a legit sky-hyzer shot for a RHBH on #14. i still think 13 is dumb.

I thought it was odd that a course this old even kept these two holes around, or didn't at least cut some trees down(I mean, it's not like we're dealing with pristine old-growth trees here)

the signs didn't indicate pin position, so on many of the holes I had to walk to see the pin- not really a big deal to me, and would be a really easy upgrade to the signs. Some color on the baskets would help with that as well.

there is a lot of trash in the woods on this course. not much in the open, but it's pretty ugly in the woods. with trash cans on almost every tee pad, there is no excuse for this.
Other Thoughts: Not very far from mars hill(my favorite home course), winged deer is a great, challenging, and fun course that I will be visiting again soon!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Little bit of everything

1    3/29/2012   3/31/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 holes tucked into a mostly wooded park. Concrete tee pads and signs at every hole. Signs were pretty accurate, and showed the multiple basket positions. There was a peg system in place to indicate the proper basket position, but that had been vandalized on many holes.

Good variety of left, right and straight shots. Nothing repetitive or over done. There is also a good mix of tightly wooded holes, and some open spaces to throw through.

Mostly 200-300' wooded holes, but there was also a 577' and 443' thrown in to keep things fun for bigger arms.

Course was well kept. Trails were clear, benches were available, and there were no issues with other park users.

I played with a local so navigation was not an issue. But it seemed to be pretty intuitive. No long walks or crazy paths to follow.

There is a good use of the elevation here. Nothing extreme, but you do need to throw up hill and down hill on a few occasions.

Cons: Not really too much to complain about. There are a couple blind shots that are very tough for the first time player. Without a guide I would have had to walk the whole fairway. Tough holes if you don't know them.

There are also some holes that appear to have no clear route, but after a brief explanation from my playing partner I understood. But they are not typical lines, or shots easy to figure out.

This course could probably use more length in spots. I really enjoyed it, but it doesn't offer the longer fairways requiring multiple good shots to score well.
Other Thoughts: Most of this course is tight, wooded and technical. It is fun since you need to throw a lot of different angles and shots. But if you are clean off the tee you can rack up some birdies. There are multiple basket positions to help change the look from time to time.

Most of the course is under 300', but #16 is a 577' uphill monster that can really challenge your game. #15 has some length at 443', but it is mostly a typical straight golf shot. #12 looks like a SOB from the tee. When I played it was in the short position (229'). The fairway was a very tight tree lined route all the way to the basket. Fortunately for me there is also a thumber line over the trees, and I was able to drop my XXX right under the basket. Tricky hole since the basket was elevated about 15' up on a pole while being positioned on a small hill side. Some might call it gimicky, but it worked well on that short hole.

This is a nice course to play if you are in the area. The locals were friendly and helpful, and navigation shouldn't be too difficult for a first timer. I wouldn't drive a long ways out of my way to get here, but once you're here, it is a fun round. While there are no unique or top of the World shots here, there is a lot of fun disc golf holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Winged Deer Park

5+    5/30/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: Prototype
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great wooded/open course. I really love the fact that you can use mid range discs alot on this course. Skilled shots are rewarded, but bad shots will punish your score. This course has an equal setup for back hand and forehand players. This is my home course.
Cons: There is alot of trash always flowing out of the trash barrels. The rough is very bad in the late spring and summer. You will lose discs 3 feet off of the fairway if you arent careful. The course gets really backed up on the first 6 holes during a busy day.
Other Thoughts: Less trash and better kept roughs would make this course 10x better. There are also some very ignorant trees left as obsticles. These arent nescessary because the holes are already challenging enough.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 winged deer

1    2/21/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: rustystrings
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: a really fun course with lots of elevation change...some holes' fairways are literally over the tree-line below. nice mix of short, wooded holes and long, open ones. requires a wide variety of shots to score well. Not crowded at all on the day I went...which was a warm & cloudy saturday. easy to find....definitely worth a trip if you are nearby.
Cons: not very well maintained....good bit of trash around...probably because there are very few trash cans anywhere. Poor signage in general....and subsequently lots of blind drives if you haven't played it before. Fairly easy to get lost and miss holes altogether. some of the teepads were very small. Very few benches at teepads

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/19/2012   2/7/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is spread out on a very nice and generous piece of land. The course area is used only for disc golf. There is an excellent mix of holes that play all in the woods, tee in woods-basket in open, tee in open to basket in woods, and mostly open. Lots of holes utilize elevation. When you start out you think you are going to play a nice short technical woods course, but you soon find out there is a lot of variety here.

There is also a decent variety in length from hole to hole. The course requires all kinds of shots and shot shapes at various distances. Many of the holes are set up to where the basket is not visible from the teepad, but this just means you have to think first and plan out how you are going to play the hole and then you have execute or you will be punished, and I really enjoyed this particular aspect of the course.

I got a chance to play this course again three years later and I was glad to see a tee sign on every hole helping navigation. Always good to see courses getting improved.
Cons: - My biggest memory from Winged Deer is the infamous hole 13- there is no fairway, only a narrow walking path that snakes its way down the hole between several tall, thick trees. The best (maybe only) shot here is a tomahawk. The hole is laughable from the tee, but play it smart and you can pick up strokes on somebody. The next hole #14 also had a patch of skinny trees across the whole fairway requiring a lot of luck to get through.

Navigation was tricky in some spots as there were sometimes many paths leading in all directions- next tee signs and arrows would be a major improvement. Though concrete tees exist, they are not uniform, show their age, and many could use a complete overhaul at some point. The baskets were not all the same model, and I seem to remember the wrong number posted on a couple of them.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing here (and nearby Warriors Path), and I hope I can come back and play it again, especially to check out the recent improvements. Winged Deer has a quality design yet still has room for improvement. If the baskets and teepads can be upgraded like the signs, this has the potential to be a top tier course (at least in TN).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 my home course

5+    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: challenging in the long. good mix of open and wooded. left, right, straight shots. just added new signs and benches. learned to play on this course and i still love it.
Cons: city doesn't keep nearly as clean or mowed as they should. some of the tees are off level but that should be fixed in the near future.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Winged Deer

5+    10/17/2012   8/29/2009
Review By: JimDK27
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good hole layout
It has some deceptively challenging holes
They have benches on just about every hole now
They have trash cans about every 3
There are some signs that direct you to the next tee
They have new tee signs on every hole! They have pin location designators on a handful of them which is also nice.
Cons: There are cedar trees in abundance but they are avoidable.
It only has detailed signs for the first 4 holes.
There are a couple holes that are dangerous if your disc goes off course
There is poison ivy in various areas on the course so be careful looking for discs gone astray
The pin designators aren't on the holes that they are needed imo. Some of the holes have blind tee shots like hole 6 where you can't see the basket in either of its positions from the tee.
It seems they need some more trash cans now. This time when I went I only remember one. There were a lot of trash bags hanging from trees that critters had ripped the bottoms open.
Other Thoughts: When I went the gate to the parking lot was closed so we started on hole 5 and ended on hole 4, it worked out perfectly. We parked at the little turn around spot at the gate.
They have concrete tee pads that vary in size from narrow to a few that seemed abnormally large.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 JC Disc Golf

5+    2/1/2009   2/3/2009
Review By: ThrowTennesseeDCM
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great Mix of Holes. Well Layed Out. My Home Course
Cons: Needs Longer Tee Pads on a lot of the holes. More events need to be hosted.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course i ever played, and the one that i play the most. Great mix of holes. short, long, tight, open, left, right.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.