Johnson City, TN 
Winged Deer Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #11 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Tournament caliber course.

1    7/30/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: Scazmatic
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great variety in every aspect of course design. Changes in elevation, both open and wooded holes, left-hand and right-hand doglegs, and good mix of distances.

- Concrete tee pads in great condition, with signs indicating all possible pin placements, distances, and location of the next tee.

- Alternate pin locations on all but one hole, with some having as many as three options.

- Ample parking, practice basket, and friendly locals.
Cons: - Navigation between holes is often difficult. While signs point to next tee, there is often a great distance to be covered from one hole to the next, including backtracking at times, which can lead to confusion.

- Rough is extremely unforgiving and finding an errant disc will be difficult on some holes. Copious amount of pine trees on course will also cause a lot of discs to hang up in the branches.

- No bathroom or water facilities, at least that I could find.

- Entrance to course is somewhat difficult to find, as access road to the course is separate from the rest of Winged Dear park and not necessarily intuitive to find without specific directions.
Other Thoughts: My brother attends graduate school in Johnson City, so while visiting him I decided to give Winged Deer a try. Though there are at least five courses within a reasonable drive of the area, reviews I'd read suggested this might be a good place to start.

First of all, I had a bit of a hard time finding the actual course. Winged Deer Park sits right off the main highway and features the softball and soccer fields, walking path, etc. as well as park offices. However, other than being able to see Hole 12's basket, you can't access the disc golf course from this area. Rather, the access road to the course (Carroll Creek Road) is located immediately past the park to the west. Once you realize that, signage to the start of the course is very easy to follow.

I was able to join up with a group of locals just starting their second round, and always that was a big help in navigating the course for the first time. Though the tee signage is very good at giving hole information and even directions to the next tee, there is a lot of room between holes on the backside of the course and I definitely would have gotten lost at least once if I hadn't had a guide. Apparently the course was originally nine holes, with the additional holes added about three years ago around and among the last holes on the front nine, so the transitions back there are a little complicated.

The course itself was a blast to play. My skill level is somewhere between avid beginner and intermediate, and I felt like this course suited my wants and needs for a course perfectly. The front nine starts off in the woods with some tight technical holes with guarded baskets, then works it's way out into the open for a few holes before crossing into the woods on the other side of the park. There is ample opportunity to let big drives go as well as test your precision game. Both backhand and forehand shots are required, and distances are varied enough that it's neither overwhelming or boring. I was also a big fan of a couple holes that required an "up and over" shot type. Hole 13 specifically comes to mind. My local courses don't require drives above the treeline, so that was both an intimidating and entertaining addition to my round.

The course is by no means a cakewalk. It's definitely more of an expert course than it is a beginner, and I can imagine novice players being frustrated or overwhelmed by some of the holes. Hole 16, in particular, is a beast and will really test a shorter drive. But with that said, I think it was perfectly fair and very well designed. I understand there was a major tournament on site the weekend after I played, and that doesn't surprise me at all based on the quality of the facilities.

I should mention the rough, which is very unforgiving. The guys I played with commented about how much brush had been cleared since the last time they had played, but even with that there is still a lot of places where a drive out of the fairway is going to require a lot of hunting and digging to find the disc. There are also a lot of dense pine trees on course, and if possible you might want to have a spotter down range to track drives as it's very easy to get stuck in a tree and never be able to find your disc.

There's also a nice little bonus hole at the end of the course, as I was shown by my guides, throwing from the paved walkway about Hole 18's basket across an empty parking lot to the practice basket on the opposing hillside.

I didn't see a restroom or a water fountain, and given the heat we've been seeing this summer, I can't imagine playing here without bringing your own drinks. But as for other amenities, there were benches and trash cans at various spots, and I can't really complain about course conditions in general.

I had a blast playing at Winged Deer and would have loved to have played a second round if not for the stifling heat. The course is well designed and maintained and I will definitely be back the next time I'm in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenged like winged foot golf

1    7/14/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: bama9125
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: it has everything that PDGA would use for tourney. #1 hole go uphill big time. and rest of the course has variety of elevation! ll trees in play! and every tee area has nice sign layout and even tell u where the next tee would be.
Cons: no bathroom!! and few hole in between has long gap! i dont mind the walking but if it has no layout as to tell where the next layut then it ll be hard to navigating. and hole 15th and 16th hole are brutal and both deserve par 4 and 5 respectevily.
Other Thoughts: nice to play in summer bec lot of trees shades but need to put bug/mosquito spray on before play during summer. i went there when i visit my parent in law. i will go play there every time i visit. definity worth play!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Winged Deer Park

5+    5/30/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: Prototype
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great wooded/open course. I really love the fact that you can use mid range discs alot on this course. Skilled shots are rewarded, but bad shots will punish your score. This course has an equal setup for back hand and forehand players. This is my home course.
Cons: There is alot of trash always flowing out of the trash barrels. The rough is very bad in the late spring and summer. You will lose discs 3 feet off of the fairway if you arent careful. The course gets really backed up on the first 6 holes during a busy day.
Other Thoughts: Less trash and better kept roughs would make this course 10x better. There are also some very ignorant trees left as obsticles. These arent nescessary because the holes are already challenging enough.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 This Deer hasn't fully spread its wings

1    5/29/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 207  Reviewed: 202  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Winged Deer is a solid, well-rounded course. If courses were restaurants, it would be the all-you-can eat buffet with all the variety of hole layouts.
- Yes, Winged Deer has just about every type of hole you could imagine. Pulling into the parking lot, I can see that #1 is a wooded, uphill hole, so I'm expecting a lot of elevation throughout the course. Wrong. Nothing had the elevation like #1; although, other holes do have decent elevation, including #4 (downhill), #6 (uphill), #8 (downhill) & #17 (uphill). Course also offers layouts from wide open (#8) to semi-open (#11, 15 &16), tight (#2, 7, 10) to no fairway (#13 &14). Through in doglegs, straight shots, S-layouts, and you have everything except water holes.
- Course does use the terrain very well, presenting some challenging holes. #7 is a daunting tee with trees/thick rough on both sides of the s-shaped fairway. You keep the shot in play, and can be aggressive with your second shot. Hit the trees/rough, and you could waste several shots just to get back in the fairway. #16 has a right-to-left sloping fairway on the course's longest hole. If you can keep your shots in the fairway, once again, you can score well.
- Along those lines, course has tremendous risk/reward factor. Again using #7 as an example, a smart shot might be throwing Roc (or any mid-range) off the tee, sacrificing distance for accuracy. If you're feeling lucky, and throw driver on the hole, in the fairway will put you in great position. Hit the trees, and double bogey, or worse, is in play.
- Great course map online. There are some long walks between holes, blind tee shots, overall potential confusion, so you'll be thankful for it.
- Course is mostly isolated from the rest of the park. I didn't see any walking trails cross over, play through the course, so DGers have the space to themselves. You play near ball fields on #9 & 10, but barring a horrible shot on #10, they're not even in play.
Cons: There was an overall sense of inconsistency throughout the course, which was more disappointing than frustrating. For every two or three great things the course offered, there would be some sort of issue.
- The first, and biggest, problem was the inconsistency in hole layouts. There was no sign or notice at the kiosk what layouts the holes were in. After playing the first several holes, I noticed they were all in the "A" position, so I assumed it'd be that way throughout the round. Nope. I then noticed some tee signs had a marker indicating which position the basket was in, so that was nice, except it appeared on less than a third of the holes. It gets frustrating to either A. walk a hole before playing to see its layout, B. play a generic, safe shot that will put you into an ok position for either layout, or C. hope it's in one layout, and hope you're not wrong.
- Holes #13 & 14 are terrible. Neither has a fairway, unless you count trees as a fairway. Now, if they were short holes (say 150 - 200 feet) where you could throw a big arching shot over the trees to the basket, that's one thing. But there really wasn't a place for that. They were just bad holes, that offered no fun, or anything at all.
- Several other holes just seemed to be fillers. The worst of these were the two most open holes #4 & 8. Both had trees around the tee, but once you cleared those, you were throwing into wide open fields. On #4, it was weird going from three wooded, mountain-esque holes to a polar opposite.
- The metal baskets are hard to see in the woods. As always, yellow baskets, or any other bright color is such a great thing when you're throwing in shadows.
Other Thoughts: Winged Deer is a good course, but I felt like it should have been better. That's why the issues were so frustrating. If the holes were all in one layout, or if every hole had an indicator, that would be huge. Also, there seemed to be plenty of room to replace, or change, the bad holes.
- I loved the variety the course offered. Depending on your taste, there will be some holes you'll really like here, and some that will frustrate you. Then there's #13 & 14, which I don't think anyone will like.
- The course offers plenty of challenge, but there are also some really good birdie chances here. At the end of the day, most DGers will probably think there are some holes they should have done much better with, and probably acknowledge they also got lucky on a hole or two. I think that's you're looking for in any course.
- #7 and #16 are probably the signature holes of the course. They're not necessarily the most fun, but these are the ones where you really need to step up to get a good score. You'll really need to earn a birdie on these two.
- This is a good course for eastern Tennessee. It's definitely a notch below Warriors Path, but still good nonetheless.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

2-4    5/20/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: DBdiscgolf
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course starts out great. The first 5 holes are realy good, and some others( 7,8,12) are also pretty good. A few holes that you can realy let your disc fly. Good signs.
Cons: This course is NOT well kept at all. Some holes have NO fairway to speak of(13,14), and the rough is crazy thick(very easy to loose discs). Plus #4 has a huge sink hole that is very easy to loose your disc in.
Other Thoughts: I've given this course many chances and it never impresses me. There is a weird feeling to the park like something is going on (probably because of all the stories that I don't need to mention). But if you are near the course and you are bored you should play it just for the experience. Like I said there are some realy enjoyable holes. I think with some changes and better keep up this could be a realy good course withing a short period of time (revise some holes and clean up the rough and fairways).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First Full Course Played

5+    2/19/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: Zenzubar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2011
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great Course... clean, signs, great shots, in a nice park the course mixes up the baskets well and are moved pretty often for a nice change with each visit. It even plays well in the rain. There are benches at every tee, and all the tee pads are concrete. Been here a few time and it's never been too busy. The layout is good it brings you right back to your car. The practice basket is also in a good spot so you can get a variety of practice putts. You can DL a map of this course on line which will help out your first time or two but I didn't have much troble getting through it.
Cons: Can't really think of any.....but it was my first full course so I was loving everything...
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played this course then you should as soon as you can

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 winged deer

1    2/21/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: rustystrings
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: a really fun course with lots of elevation change...some holes' fairways are literally over the tree-line below. nice mix of short, wooded holes and long, open ones. requires a wide variety of shots to score well. Not crowded at all on the day I went...which was a warm & cloudy saturday. easy to find....definitely worth a trip if you are nearby.
Cons: not very well maintained....good bit of trash around...probably because there are very few trash cans anywhere. Poor signage in general....and subsequently lots of blind drives if you haven't played it before. Fairly easy to get lost and miss holes altogether. some of the teepads were very small. Very few benches at teepads

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/19/2012   2/7/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 246  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 19.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is spread out on a very nice and generous piece of land. The course area is used only for disc golf. There is an excellent mix of holes that play all in the woods, tee in woods-basket in open, tee in open to basket in woods, and mostly open. Lots of holes utilize elevation. When you start out you think you are going to play a nice short technical woods course, but you soon find out there is a lot of variety here.

There is also a decent variety in length from hole to hole. The course requires all kinds of shots and shot shapes at various distances. Many of the holes are set up to where the basket is not visible from the teepad, but this just means you have to think first and plan out how you are going to play the hole and then you have execute or you will be punished, and I really enjoyed this particular aspect of the course.

I got a chance to play this course again three years later and I was glad to see a tee sign on every hole helping navigation. Always good to see courses getting improved.
Cons: - My biggest memory from Winged Deer is the infamous hole 13- there is no fairway, only a narrow walking path that snakes its way down the hole between several tall, thick trees. The best (maybe only) shot here is a tomahawk. The hole is laughable from the tee, but play it smart and you can pick up strokes on somebody. The next hole #14 also had a patch of skinny trees across the whole fairway requiring a lot of luck to get through.

Navigation was tricky in some spots as there were sometimes many paths leading in all directions- next tee signs and arrows would be a major improvement. Though concrete tees exist, they are not uniform, show their age, and many could use a complete overhaul at some point. The baskets were not all the same model, and I seem to remember the wrong number posted on a couple of them.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing here (and nearby Warriors Path), and I hope I can come back and play it again, especially to check out the recent improvements. Winged Deer has a quality design yet still has room for improvement. If the baskets and teepads can be upgraded like the signs, this has the potential to be a top tier course (at least in TN).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 my home course

5+    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: challenging in the long. good mix of open and wooded. left, right, straight shots. just added new signs and benches. learned to play on this course and i still love it.
Cons: city doesn't keep nearly as clean or mowed as they should. some of the tees are off level but that should be fixed in the near future.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Throwing Blind

1    8/14/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: dnbailey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide variety of hole layouts. It's definitely challenging. The park is pretty nice. We had a deer run right up to us while we were playing.
Cons: It's impossible to know where the baskets are unless you just go look or you've played before. Even if you've played it before you can't tell what the pin's position is from the tee box on many of the holes. Sometimes you're just throwing blindly.
Other Thoughts: I played with some guys who'd been to the course before, so that definitely helped. I wouldn't recommend going if you don't have someone to talk you through.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.