Johnson City, TN 
Winged Deer Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #10 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 This Deer hasn't fully spread its wings

1    5/29/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 176  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/5/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Winged Deer is a solid, well-rounded course. If courses were restaurants, it would be the all-you-can eat buffet with all the variety of hole layouts.
- Yes, Winged Deer has just about every type of hole you could imagine. Pulling into the parking lot, I can see that #1 is a wooded, uphill hole, so I'm expecting a lot of elevation throughout the course. Wrong. Nothing had the elevation like #1; although, other holes do have decent elevation, including #4 (downhill), #6 (uphill), #8 (downhill) & #17 (uphill). Course also offers layouts from wide open (#8) to semi-open (#11, 15 &16), tight (#2, 7, 10) to no fairway (#13 &14). Through in doglegs, straight shots, S-layouts, and you have everything except water holes.
- Course does use the terrain very well, presenting some challenging holes. #7 is a daunting tee with trees/thick rough on both sides of the s-shaped fairway. You keep the shot in play, and can be aggressive with your second shot. Hit the trees/rough, and you could waste several shots just to get back in the fairway. #16 has a right-to-left sloping fairway on the course's longest hole. If you can keep your shots in the fairway, once again, you can score well.
- Along those lines, course has tremendous risk/reward factor. Again using #7 as an example, a smart shot might be throwing Roc (or any mid-range) off the tee, sacrificing distance for accuracy. If you're feeling lucky, and throw driver on the hole, in the fairway will put you in great position. Hit the trees, and double bogey, or worse, is in play.
- Great course map online. There are some long walks between holes, blind tee shots, overall potential confusion, so you'll be thankful for it.
- Course is mostly isolated from the rest of the park. I didn't see any walking trails cross over, play through the course, so DGers have the space to themselves. You play near ball fields on #9 & 10, but barring a horrible shot on #10, they're not even in play.
Cons: There was an overall sense of inconsistency throughout the course, which was more disappointing than frustrating. For every two or three great things the course offered, there would be some sort of issue.
- The first, and biggest, problem was the inconsistency in hole layouts. There was no sign or notice at the kiosk what layouts the holes were in. After playing the first several holes, I noticed they were all in the "A" position, so I assumed it'd be that way throughout the round. Nope. I then noticed some tee signs had a marker indicating which position the basket was in, so that was nice, except it appeared on less than a third of the holes. It gets frustrating to either A. walk a hole before playing to see its layout, B. play a generic, safe shot that will put you into an ok position for either layout, or C. hope it's in one layout, and hope you're not wrong.
- Holes #13 & 14 are terrible. Neither has a fairway, unless you count trees as a fairway. Now, if they were short holes (say 150 - 200 feet) where you could throw a big arching shot over the trees to the basket, that's one thing. But there really wasn't a place for that. They were just bad holes, that offered no fun, or anything at all.
- Several other holes just seemed to be fillers. The worst of these were the two most open holes #4 & 8. Both had trees around the tee, but once you cleared those, you were throwing into wide open fields. On #4, it was weird going from three wooded, mountain-esque holes to a polar opposite.
- The metal baskets are hard to see in the woods. As always, yellow baskets, or any other bright color is such a great thing when you're throwing in shadows.
Other Thoughts: Winged Deer is a good course, but I felt like it should have been better. That's why the issues were so frustrating. If the holes were all in one layout, or if every hole had an indicator, that would be huge. Also, there seemed to be plenty of room to replace, or change, the bad holes.
- I loved the variety the course offered. Depending on your taste, there will be some holes you'll really like here, and some that will frustrate you. Then there's #13 & 14, which I don't think anyone will like.
- The course offers plenty of challenge, but there are also some really good birdie chances here. At the end of the day, most DGers will probably think there are some holes they should have done much better with, and probably acknowledge they also got lucky on a hole or two. I think that's you're looking for in any course.
- #7 and #16 are probably the signature holes of the course. They're not necessarily the most fun, but these are the ones where you really need to step up to get a good score. You'll really need to earn a birdie on these two.
- This is a good course for eastern Tennessee. It's definitely a notch below Warriors Path, but still good nonetheless.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/20/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: DBdiscgolf
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course starts out great. The first 5 holes are realy good, and some others( 7,8,12) are also pretty good. A few holes that you can realy let your disc fly. Good signs.
Cons: This course is NOT well kept at all. Some holes have NO fairway to speak of(13,14), and the rough is crazy thick(very easy to loose discs). Plus #4 has a huge sink hole that is very easy to loose your disc in.
Other Thoughts: I've given this course many chances and it never impresses me. There is a weird feeling to the park like something is going on (probably because of all the stories that I don't need to mention). But if you are near the course and you are bored you should play it just for the experience. Like I said there are some realy enjoyable holes. I think with some changes and better keep up this could be a realy good course withing a short period of time (revise some holes and clean up the rough and fairways).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First Full Course Played

5+    2/19/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: Zenzubar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2011
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great Course... clean, signs, great shots, in a nice park the course mixes up the baskets well and are moved pretty often for a nice change with each visit. It even plays well in the rain. There are benches at every tee, and all the tee pads are concrete. Been here a few time and it's never been too busy. The layout is good it brings you right back to your car. The practice basket is also in a good spot so you can get a variety of practice putts. You can DL a map of this course on line which will help out your first time or two but I didn't have much troble getting through it.
Cons: Can't really think of any.....but it was my first full course so I was loving everything...
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played this course then you should as soon as you can

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 winged deer

1    2/21/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: rustystrings
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: a really fun course with lots of elevation change...some holes' fairways are literally over the tree-line below. nice mix of short, wooded holes and long, open ones. requires a wide variety of shots to score well. Not crowded at all on the day I went...which was a warm & cloudy saturday. easy to find....definitely worth a trip if you are nearby.
Cons: not very well maintained....good bit of trash around...probably because there are very few trash cans anywhere. Poor signage in general....and subsequently lots of blind drives if you haven't played it before. Fairly easy to get lost and miss holes altogether. some of the teepads were very small. Very few benches at teepads

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/19/2012   2/7/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is spread out on a very nice and generous piece of land. The course area is used only for disc golf. There is an excellent mix of holes that play all in the woods, tee in woods-basket in open, tee in open to basket in woods, and mostly open. Lots of holes utilize elevation. When you start out you think you are going to play a nice short technical woods course, but you soon find out there is a lot of variety here.

There is also a decent variety in length from hole to hole. The course requires all kinds of shots and shot shapes at various distances. Many of the holes are set up to where the basket is not visible from the teepad, but this just means you have to think first and plan out how you are going to play the hole and then you have execute or you will be punished, and I really enjoyed this particular aspect of the course.

I got a chance to play this course again three years later and I was glad to see a tee sign on every hole helping navigation. Always good to see courses getting improved.
Cons: - My biggest memory from Winged Deer is the infamous hole 13- there is no fairway, only a narrow walking path that snakes its way down the hole between several tall, thick trees. The best (maybe only) shot here is a tomahawk. The hole is laughable from the tee, but play it smart and you can pick up strokes on somebody. The next hole #14 also had a patch of skinny trees across the whole fairway requiring a lot of luck to get through.

Navigation was tricky in some spots as there were sometimes many paths leading in all directions- next tee signs and arrows would be a major improvement. Though concrete tees exist, they are not uniform, show their age, and many could use a complete overhaul at some point. The baskets were not all the same model, and I seem to remember the wrong number posted on a couple of them.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing here (and nearby Warriors Path), and I hope I can come back and play it again, especially to check out the recent improvements. Winged Deer has a quality design yet still has room for improvement. If the baskets and teepads can be upgraded like the signs, this has the potential to be a top tier course (at least in TN).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 my home course

5+    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: challenging in the long. good mix of open and wooded. left, right, straight shots. just added new signs and benches. learned to play on this course and i still love it.
Cons: city doesn't keep nearly as clean or mowed as they should. some of the tees are off level but that should be fixed in the near future.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Throwing Blind

1    8/14/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: dnbailey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide variety of hole layouts. It's definitely challenging. The park is pretty nice. We had a deer run right up to us while we were playing.
Cons: It's impossible to know where the baskets are unless you just go look or you've played before. Even if you've played it before you can't tell what the pin's position is from the tee box on many of the holes. Sometimes you're just throwing blindly.
Other Thoughts: I played with some guys who'd been to the course before, so that definitely helped. I wouldn't recommend going if you don't have someone to talk you through.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/22/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: jimmazz
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: not crowded, good fairways, and good course markings.
Cons: none... fun course, good people. highly recomended
Other Thoughts: I met some good folks here. Really challenging course, but totally fun. No big crowds. Take your time and enjoy the east tn hils.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs love

1    8/7/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: CatFish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some nice holes at the beginning. Concrete tee pads. Some nice scenery, some holes that allow for crazy distance.
Cons: Little signage. Concrete tee pads are small, and sometimes do not have ground in front of them, DO NOT over shoot the tee pad if you value your ankles. I did over shoot them, just a warning. Some holes didn't have fairways, they were just through dense woods. Some fairways were about 6 feet wide. Some fairways just stopped and the course continued through dense trees. A poorly place tee locations.
Other Thoughts: Course could be very nice, it just needs some love. Course is confusing, I caught up to some people who had played before, and if not for that I'd have never found all the holes. I found number 10, and they said they had never seen it before. Drop off after small tee boxes seems dangerous. There is a pink leopard out there on about 15 or 16, the group with me lost it, if you find it please call them.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Signage needs to be replaced ASAP

1    6/21/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation and foliage used creatively. Several well designed holes border on being signature holes. They really make you think and use an arsenal of skills.

The basket on 12 looks normal, but it is actually 6 feet high, which adds a unique challenge to putting and approach shots. (I'll add the pic).

Large colored map at the start of the course.

good variety of distances from 244-577.

Concrete Tees

Course has amazing potential to become an excellent course with just a few small additions and fixes.
Cons: Tee signs are missing on most tees, this makes the course beyond frustrating. The baskets are in hard to find locations and there is no way to know if you are looking for the a or b pin and do not know where either of the pins actually are. Many baskets are blind and you are guessing where the baskets are. This is the worst from 13-16. On hole 13 you can not see the basket until you are with in putting range. On hole 14 the trees have closed in on the opening and created a blind shot where you have to throw low and flat or tomahawk it, with no idea of where the basket is. Hole 15 is long and straight with no sign so there is no way to know how far the basket is. I continued to throw and throw until I was in an opening, then I saw the basket blended into the trees 50 feet back. (pink ribbons would do wonders on the baskets for visibility, maybe a ribbon on the branches where the basket is hidden also). After hole 15 there are 3 trails with no sign telling you where 16 is. When you find the tee on 16 again there is no tee sign, so there is no way to know the basket is over 500 feet away. Again I threw and threw wondering when I would see the basket. When I got to the basket, I saw it was labeled 15 so I thought I screwed up. After all of this frustration mixed in with all of the time spent looking for lost discs, I almost left the course. This course needs to replace the Tee signage, add arrows on the baskets to lead to the next tee, and use a system to show players if the baskets are in the A or B position.
Other Thoughts: Good course for locals who are familiar with the layout, but not a good course for beginners due to the level of challenge on a few holes and the chance of disc loss.
Course is not stroller friendly, leave the kiddies at the playground.

To get to the disc golf courses pass the main park and turn at the firehouse. Turn left at Meredith Pavilion. There is a giant playground for kids at the boat launch area. If you go up to the main park there are batting cages.

When tee signs are all re-installed I would change my rating to a 3.5.

Favorite holes: 10 is relatively flat and almost straight with a narrow opening. It would be perfect for a tomahawk, but there are several tree branches right over the tee to prevent the thumber. 14 is a tough hole with lots of young trees preventing any easy shots. 17 is a short downhill ace/birdie opportunity and 18 is a dog leg right over rolling terrain.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.