Disc Golf Center
Johnson City, TN
Winged Deer Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #1 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / --   3 / 229ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 First Full Course Played

5+    2/19/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: Zenzubar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2011
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great Course... clean, signs, great shots, in a nice park the course mixes up the baskets well and are moved pretty often for a nice change with each visit. It even plays well in the rain. There are benches at every tee, and all the tee pads are concrete. Been here a few time and it's never been too busy. The layout is good it brings you right back to your car. The practice basket is also in a good spot so you can get a variety of practice putts. You can DL a map of this course on line which will help out your first time or two but I didn't have much troble getting through it.
Cons: Can't really think of any.....but it was my first full course so I was loving everything...
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played this course then you should as soon as you can

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 winged deer

1    2/21/2011   2/21/2011
Review By: rustystrings
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: a really fun course with lots of elevation change...some holes' fairways are literally over the tree-line below. nice mix of short, wooded holes and long, open ones. requires a wide variety of shots to score well. Not crowded at all on the day I went...which was a warm & cloudy saturday. easy to find....definitely worth a trip if you are nearby.
Cons: not very well maintained....good bit of trash around...probably because there are very few trash cans anywhere. Poor signage in general....and subsequently lots of blind drives if you haven't played it before. Fairly easy to get lost and miss holes altogether. some of the teepads were very small. Very few benches at teepads

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/19/2012   2/7/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is spread out on a very nice and generous piece of land. The course area is used only for disc golf. There is an excellent mix of holes that play all in the woods, tee in woods-basket in open, tee in open to basket in woods, and mostly open. Lots of holes utilize elevation. When you start out you think you are going to play a nice short technical woods course, but you soon find out there is a lot of variety here.

There is also a decent variety in length from hole to hole. The course requires all kinds of shots and shot shapes at various distances. Many of the holes are set up to where the basket is not visible from the teepad, but this just means you have to think first and plan out how you are going to play the hole and then you have execute or you will be punished, and I really enjoyed this particular aspect of the course.

I got a chance to play this course again three years later and I was glad to see a tee sign on every hole helping navigation. Always good to see courses getting improved.
Cons: - My biggest memory from Winged Deer is the infamous hole 13- there is no fairway, only a narrow walking path that snakes its way down the hole between several tall, thick trees. The best (maybe only) shot here is a tomahawk. The hole is laughable from the tee, but play it smart and you can pick up strokes on somebody. The next hole #14 also had a patch of skinny trees across the whole fairway requiring a lot of luck to get through.

Navigation was tricky in some spots as there were sometimes many paths leading in all directions- next tee signs and arrows would be a major improvement. Though concrete tees exist, they are not uniform, show their age, and many could use a complete overhaul at some point. The baskets were not all the same model, and I seem to remember the wrong number posted on a couple of them.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing here (and nearby Warriors Path), and I hope I can come back and play it again, especially to check out the recent improvements. Winged Deer has a quality design yet still has room for improvement. If the baskets and teepads can be upgraded like the signs, this has the potential to be a top tier course (at least in TN).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 my home course

5+    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: challenging in the long. good mix of open and wooded. left, right, straight shots. just added new signs and benches. learned to play on this course and i still love it.
Cons: city doesn't keep nearly as clean or mowed as they should. some of the tees are off level but that should be fixed in the near future.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Throwing Blind

1    8/14/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: dnbailey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide variety of hole layouts. It's definitely challenging. The park is pretty nice. We had a deer run right up to us while we were playing.
Cons: It's impossible to know where the baskets are unless you just go look or you've played before. Even if you've played it before you can't tell what the pin's position is from the tee box on many of the holes. Sometimes you're just throwing blindly.
Other Thoughts: I played with some guys who'd been to the course before, so that definitely helped. I wouldn't recommend going if you don't have someone to talk you through.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/22/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: jimmazz
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: not crowded, good fairways, and good course markings.
Cons: none... fun course, good people. highly recomended
Other Thoughts: I met some good folks here. Really challenging course, but totally fun. No big crowds. Take your time and enjoy the east tn hils.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs love

1    8/7/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: CatFish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some nice holes at the beginning. Concrete tee pads. Some nice scenery, some holes that allow for crazy distance.
Cons: Little signage. Concrete tee pads are small, and sometimes do not have ground in front of them, DO NOT over shoot the tee pad if you value your ankles. I did over shoot them, just a warning. Some holes didn't have fairways, they were just through dense woods. Some fairways were about 6 feet wide. Some fairways just stopped and the course continued through dense trees. A poorly place tee locations.
Other Thoughts: Course could be very nice, it just needs some love. Course is confusing, I caught up to some people who had played before, and if not for that I'd have never found all the holes. I found number 10, and they said they had never seen it before. Drop off after small tee boxes seems dangerous. There is a pink leopard out there on about 15 or 16, the group with me lost it, if you find it please call them.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Signage needs to be replaced ASAP

1    6/21/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation and foliage used creatively. Several well designed holes border on being signature holes. They really make you think and use an arsenal of skills.

The basket on 12 looks normal, but it is actually 6 feet high, which adds a unique challenge to putting and approach shots. (I'll add the pic).

Large colored map at the start of the course.

good variety of distances from 244-577.

Concrete Tees

Course has amazing potential to become an excellent course with just a few small additions and fixes.
Cons: Tee signs are missing on most tees, this makes the course beyond frustrating. The baskets are in hard to find locations and there is no way to know if you are looking for the a or b pin and do not know where either of the pins actually are. Many baskets are blind and you are guessing where the baskets are. This is the worst from 13-16. On hole 13 you can not see the basket until you are with in putting range. On hole 14 the trees have closed in on the opening and created a blind shot where you have to throw low and flat or tomahawk it, with no idea of where the basket is. Hole 15 is long and straight with no sign so there is no way to know how far the basket is. I continued to throw and throw until I was in an opening, then I saw the basket blended into the trees 50 feet back. (pink ribbons would do wonders on the baskets for visibility, maybe a ribbon on the branches where the basket is hidden also). After hole 15 there are 3 trails with no sign telling you where 16 is. When you find the tee on 16 again there is no tee sign, so there is no way to know the basket is over 500 feet away. Again I threw and threw wondering when I would see the basket. When I got to the basket, I saw it was labeled 15 so I thought I screwed up. After all of this frustration mixed in with all of the time spent looking for lost discs, I almost left the course. This course needs to replace the Tee signage, add arrows on the baskets to lead to the next tee, and use a system to show players if the baskets are in the A or B position.
Other Thoughts: Good course for locals who are familiar with the layout, but not a good course for beginners due to the level of challenge on a few holes and the chance of disc loss.
Course is not stroller friendly, leave the kiddies at the playground.

To get to the disc golf courses pass the main park and turn at the firehouse. Turn left at Meredith Pavilion. There is a giant playground for kids at the boat launch area. If you go up to the main park there are batting cages.

When tee signs are all re-installed I would change my rating to a 3.5.

Favorite holes: 10 is relatively flat and almost straight with a narrow opening. It would be perfect for a tomahawk, but there are several tree branches right over the tee to prevent the thumber. 14 is a tough hole with lots of young trees preventing any easy shots. 17 is a short downhill ace/birdie opportunity and 18 is a dog leg right over rolling terrain.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 good challenge

5+    1/18/2011   3/12/2010
Review By: stitt32009
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has a great mix of holes; long & short, wooded & open, flat & elevation changes. The course also allows you to use many different shots. Course is looking a lot better in the past year and is going to continue that way. Course has new t-signs that really add to the course. Course offers fair challenge to a the beginner on most holes, but will also challenge the advanced and pro player. Course has other local courses near: warriors and steels creek. Great scenery
Cons: There are a couple tee pads that need changed and those are also going to be worked on in the near future.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is great and fun to play. The course had a good PDGA event last November and doubles on thursday evenings starting soon.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What the ****?

1    1/25/2010   2/15/2010
Review By: G-money
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good scenery, easy to find, with some holes in reasonable locations.
Cons: This course had some, uh, interesting, yeah, interesting aspects. Such as, where is the basket! Poor signage for most holes, and unless you are a local, you won't have a clue on some blind, nothing but luck shots.A 6-7 feet tall basket? Come on!
Other Thoughts: Not a beginer's course! Challenging to say the least. I am local and play here from time to time for a change of pace. Hey, at least it's free!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.