Johnson City, TN 
Winged Deer Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #6 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket: Slight roll-away hill behind basket



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Needs love

1    8/7/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: CatFish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some nice holes at the beginning. Concrete tee pads. Some nice scenery, some holes that allow for crazy distance.
Cons: Little signage. Concrete tee pads are small, and sometimes do not have ground in front of them, DO NOT over shoot the tee pad if you value your ankles. I did over shoot them, just a warning. Some holes didn't have fairways, they were just through dense woods. Some fairways were about 6 feet wide. Some fairways just stopped and the course continued through dense trees. A poorly place tee locations.
Other Thoughts: Course could be very nice, it just needs some love. Course is confusing, I caught up to some people who had played before, and if not for that I'd have never found all the holes. I found number 10, and they said they had never seen it before. Drop off after small tee boxes seems dangerous. There is a pink leopard out there on about 15 or 16, the group with me lost it, if you find it please call them.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Signage needs to be replaced ASAP

1    6/21/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 234  Reviewed: 215  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation and foliage used creatively. Several well designed holes border on being signature holes. They really make you think and use an arsenal of skills.

The basket on 12 looks normal, but it is actually 6 feet high, which adds a unique challenge to putting and approach shots. (I'll add the pic).

Large colored map at the start of the course.

good variety of distances from 244-577.

Concrete Tees

Course has amazing potential to become an excellent course with just a few small additions and fixes.
Cons: Tee signs are missing on most tees, this makes the course beyond frustrating. The baskets are in hard to find locations and there is no way to know if you are looking for the a or b pin and do not know where either of the pins actually are. Many baskets are blind and you are guessing where the baskets are. This is the worst from 13-16. On hole 13 you can not see the basket until you are with in putting range. On hole 14 the trees have closed in on the opening and created a blind shot where you have to throw low and flat or tomahawk it, with no idea of where the basket is. Hole 15 is long and straight with no sign so there is no way to know how far the basket is. I continued to throw and throw until I was in an opening, then I saw the basket blended into the trees 50 feet back. (pink ribbons would do wonders on the baskets for visibility, maybe a ribbon on the branches where the basket is hidden also). After hole 15 there are 3 trails with no sign telling you where 16 is. When you find the tee on 16 again there is no tee sign, so there is no way to know the basket is over 500 feet away. Again I threw and threw wondering when I would see the basket. When I got to the basket, I saw it was labeled 15 so I thought I screwed up. After all of this frustration mixed in with all of the time spent looking for lost discs, I almost left the course. This course needs to replace the Tee signage, add arrows on the baskets to lead to the next tee, and use a system to show players if the baskets are in the A or B position.
Other Thoughts: Good course for locals who are familiar with the layout, but not a good course for beginners due to the level of challenge on a few holes and the chance of disc loss.
Course is not stroller friendly, leave the kiddies at the playground.

To get to the disc golf courses pass the main park and turn at the firehouse. Turn left at Meredith Pavilion. There is a giant playground for kids at the boat launch area. If you go up to the main park there are batting cages.

When tee signs are all re-installed I would change my rating to a 3.5.

Favorite holes: 10 is relatively flat and almost straight with a narrow opening. It would be perfect for a tomahawk, but there are several tree branches right over the tee to prevent the thumber. 14 is a tough hole with lots of young trees preventing any easy shots. 17 is a short downhill ace/birdie opportunity and 18 is a dog leg right over rolling terrain.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 good challenge

5+    1/18/2011   3/12/2010
Review By: stitt32009
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has a great mix of holes; long & short, wooded & open, flat & elevation changes. The course also allows you to use many different shots. Course is looking a lot better in the past year and is going to continue that way. Course has new t-signs that really add to the course. Course offers fair challenge to a the beginner on most holes, but will also challenge the advanced and pro player. Course has other local courses near: warriors and steels creek. Great scenery
Cons: There are a couple tee pads that need changed and those are also going to be worked on in the near future.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is great and fun to play. The course had a good PDGA event last November and doubles on thursday evenings starting soon.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What the ****?

1    1/25/2010   2/15/2010
Review By: G-money
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good scenery, easy to find, with some holes in reasonable locations.
Cons: This course had some, uh, interesting, yeah, interesting aspects. Such as, where is the basket! Poor signage for most holes, and unless you are a local, you won't have a clue on some blind, nothing but luck shots.A 6-7 feet tall basket? Come on!
Other Thoughts: Not a beginer's course! Challenging to say the least. I am local and play here from time to time for a change of pace. Hey, at least it's free!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/28/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: b_rad44
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good variation of hole types, challenging and super fun
Cons: Two blind holes with no conventional method of driving the basket, Hole 12 is 8-10ft high?!?!?!, poor signage
Other Thoughts: This course began as a wonderful course, but after the first 6 holes it got a bit strange. Holes 7 through 15 definitely didn't "fit in" with the rest of the holes. They were fun for a random play, but would have been disappointing if I was trying to play a serious game. For a fun weekend I definitely recommend this course...but for a competitive game with a friend it will bite you in the butt! All in all I have to admit I enjoyed this course and will return for some more...

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Venison Done Right!

1    10/24/2009   10/27/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 331  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 14 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Bad Ass Holes. Winged Deer is Bad Ass! Several holes give you that "Ball Golf" feeling... and the others are great wooded (not too tight, not too open, tons of punishment for bad drives) holes... Awesome!
- Blind Shots. Personally I loved holes 13 and 14, two spike hyzers with absolutely no view of the pin. Fun shots... risky, but fun.
- Club Support. It appears as if the local club has really been doing a good job maintaining and improving the course.
Cons:
- Mix-Match Baskets. No consistency to the baskets either. Most were new DGA baskets (which I personally don't like due to the inner chain structure), but a few were mix-match.
- Tee-Pads. The tee-pads were mix-matched. All were concrete (yeah), but some were too small, some had a smooth finish, others rough... no consistency. Also, one of the tee-pads had a knee high rock formation literally 2 inches off the front edge - Dangerous!
- Sloping Tee-Pad(s). Hole 13's tee slopes downhill, and since you have to throw a fairly large uphill spike hyzer, it makes for an awkward drive on a difficult hole. Other tees sloped too, but 13's is the only one that had an impact on my drive.
- Signage. The signage was old and mostly busted up.
Other Thoughts:
- If Only. If only this course had consistent, large, concrete tee-pads, one type of basket and quality signage... it would be top notch. It pretty much still is... but, it could be more. The Bad Assness definitely outweighs the cons in terms of experience, but the cons hurt the overall score.
- Destination Golf. This area is a hotbed for great disc golf courses. Plan your road trip here! Warrior's Path and Fossil Hill are just a short drive away... Good Stuff! I'm coming back.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 How About Some Signage???

1    10/24/2009   10/24/2009
Review By: jackrbailey72
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pros:
1) I REALLY liked how this course was laid out and the variety of woods, open, left, right, up hill, down hill, and even the hidden baskets. This is a WELL designed course and I appreciated the challenge it gave me.
2) Nice warm up area and basket that is RIGHT at the tee pad for #1. This is a great place, right out of the car, to warm up, get focused, and make clothing changes (especially now that it is fall).
3) Risk versus Reward. The way this course is laid out FORCES you to make decisions...do I follow the obvious route or do I attempt a money shot that MAY be just out of my rage or ability? If you make the shot, you have a birdie or better chance. If you miss, it hurts...bad...But I like that characteristic about this course.
Cons: Con 1- SIGNAGE SIGNAGE SIGNAGE....If there were signs, direction pointers, and hole layouts, this review would EASILY have been a 4+. I drove over an hour to play here and it is frustrating to have to figure out where to go, break the rythm by having to walk a hole before you play it because there is nothing denoting basket position, hole layout, etc. If it were not for the doubles tournament today, I am not sure if I would have even known the actual length of each hole....come on guys, sqaure this away.
Con 2- Tee pads...the tee pads are VERY short and most are not long enough for a run up or decent X-step...I was forced to a single step or modified X-step to get any momentum RHBH.
Other Thoughts: Winged Deer DG Course is an AWESOME course and will test your every shot and mental game....but the signage and course markings MUST be addressed. Nice job on directions into the park and there is ample parking that is safe no matter what day or time of the year.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough but Sweet course!

1    10/20/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 92  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park setting with wide open & tightly wooded shots. Clean disc golf only course with mowed grass fairways. Elevation comes into play on many holes. Large benches grace many holes. Practice basket. Large, concrete tee pads.
Cons: Could use more tee signs. #6 tee pad butts up against a rock outcropping which could interfere with your run up.
Other Thoughts: This course really made me stop & think about what I would throw on many holes. It's a real thinker's course because many holes offer optional routes to the pin. Some (like #13) have no fairway or sight of the pin.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Winged Deer

2-4    9/3/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: Tin Machine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of the holes on this course are very nicely laid out. The holes that are wooded often have a distinct suggested fairway to take, however there are a couple of nice little risky shots to take to get you closer to the hole. These, of course, will bite you in the end if you don't pull them off.

I like the way the course plays into and out of the woods a few times, keeping the feel of everything fresh and non-repetitive. Also, the chances of running into someone on the course who is not a disc golfer is slim to none, so you don't have to hassle with the occasional passer by you'd find at most park courses.
Cons: What starts out as a strong attempt at decent signage, benches, and trashcans quickly dissipates. You slowly start to lose trashcans, then benches, then navigational signs and info. I really don't see why the park stopped short on what they had going, unless they're doing it piece by piece as they get the funds. Either way, they should continue their early work throughout the course.

Hole 13. This hole was interesting. I can't decide if it was a Pro or a Con. What I mean is, there is absolutely no fairway here. You can't see the basket from the tee. You basically end up having to hurl your disc into the sky and hope it comes down around the very small clearing surrounding the pin. When I saw it for the first time, I couldn't help but laugh. As absurd as it was, I sort of had fun with it, so take that one for what it's worth. Definitely not a conventional hole in the least.
Other Thoughts: Cool course with decent variation. This course really could rate anywhere from pretty good to simply decent depending on you as a player and what you look for in a course. My advice is to anyone playing here, have fun with it and you'll enjoy some of the craziness of it a bit more. Take it too seriously, and it could potentially get on your nerves at times.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Winged Deer

5+    10/17/2012   8/29/2009
Review By: JimDK27
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good hole layout
It has some deceptively challenging holes
They have benches on just about every hole now
They have trash cans about every 3
There are some signs that direct you to the next tee
They have new tee signs on every hole! They have pin location designators on a handful of them which is also nice.
Cons: There are cedar trees in abundance but they are avoidable.
It only has detailed signs for the first 4 holes.
There are a couple holes that are dangerous if your disc goes off course
There is poison ivy in various areas on the course so be careful looking for discs gone astray
The pin designators aren't on the holes that they are needed imo. Some of the holes have blind tee shots like hole 6 where you can't see the basket in either of its positions from the tee.
It seems they need some more trash cans now. This time when I went I only remember one. There were a lot of trash bags hanging from trees that critters had ripped the bottoms open.
Other Thoughts: When I went the gate to the parking lot was closed so we started on hole 5 and ended on hole 4, it worked out perfectly. We parked at the little turn around spot at the gate.
They have concrete tee pads that vary in size from narrow to a few that seemed abnormally large.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.