Carlyle, IL 
Coles Creek Share
Uploaded By: hognosesucker Hole #5 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lots of Ace Runs and Trees

2-4    11/15/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: dehaas
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course to play because everything is reachable. Holes 1, 3, and 6 are in the 350 range and everything else is under 300 and can be aced.

Lots of large mature trees that act as natural obstacles.

I played the course in the fall, but I'd imagine the course is pretty well shaded during the summer months.
Cons: The park is pretty small, so if it's your first time you might not be sure which basket you're throwing at. The signs have the hole number and distance, but no picture as to the proper basket.

Unlike the other course in Carlyle, this one is flat. Some elevation would be nice, but you've got to work with the land available.

Hole 7's basket is located pretty close to a playground. I was the only one playing when I visited, but you might have to be careful in summer months.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad beginner course, but I prefer the other Carlyle course to this one mainly due to the elevation changes. If you want to make a short trip and hit each course twice you can do it relatively quick. Or if you're traveling to or from Centralia it's worth a quick stop along the way.

A second set of tees or some alternate basket placements would help this course out.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden gem

1    6/13/2012   6/13/2012
Review By: KoenigStern
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: - With a lot of trees, makes for a challenging run
- Relatively easy to find end/beginning of holes.
- Beautiful setting with plenty of shade.
- Only water hazard is Hole 3 and it's shallow enough to retrieve any discs [granted they float]
Cons: - Plays near playground equipment and picnicking , keep an eye out for children
- Nearby bathroom facilities are kind of dirty
- Hole #3 plays right of a side of the lake
- It's a bit out of the way from the main highway [161]
Other Thoughts: I heard a bit of criticism for this place but it's quite frankly one of my favorites at the moment. I scored my first eagle on Hole #1 and was ecstatic. With all of the trees, it can be frustration and make it difficult to make a straight shot. It's a great opportunity to practice your hyzers and anhyzers, not much use for tomahawks. Could see the potential of the area being congested if there was a party, picnic/barbecue or other staged events. This course is a bit out of the way, but in my opinion totally worth it if you're in the Carlyle area for camping, swimming or any other reason.

 

2-4    9/1/2008   6/16/2009
Review By: smclean09
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: easy in a nice camping ground. lake can add challenge to a few holes. nice picnic and play kinda course.
Cons: right through some of the picnic areas playground equipment.
Other Thoughts: campsite was closed last time i was there but i heard it might be back open

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/18/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 365  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice setting in Federal Recreation Area, camping onsite, access to Carlyle lake, good views especially at sunset.

-Decent variety of shots, but you don't need a lot of diverse shots to shoot well

-Decent course flow

-Nice lake hole (#3)

--Many ace runs
Cons: -Tee boxes are a little ambiguous, they aren't well worn-in and marked only by a sign tell the hole and distance so I didn't know from which side of the sign to throw.

-A little repetitive, I found myself throw many of the same shots on back to back holes, a lot of hyzers, a few anhyzers rhbh.

--has the possiblity of becoming congested, although I was the only person in the entire rec area.

--all holes deuce-able
Other Thoughts: -Holes range from 150 to 360 ft
-Playing 18 holes takes about an hour
-Bring your putter
--Bathroom facilities nearby
--Shelters
--Camping (Open may 1)
--Innova baskets
-- this is good for a warm up/ace possiblity course.

If you are traveling here know that this course is fun but lacks real challenge, for a real challenge you'd be well advised to head down to Centralia, Foundation Park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Basic but nice

6/29/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well mowed open woods with no rough, good length with room for error. One hole tees along a lake. Well marked.
Cons: Tee #3 was IN the lake when I played there. Only 9 holes. People picnic there, have to wait for them to get out of the way when they walk to the lake. Dirt tees.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.