Winter Park, CO
Winter Park Resort Share
Uploaded By: orion487 Hole #12 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun course (if you're not too picky)/Disorganized Staff

1    7/16/2009   6/21/2010
Review By: jsaturley1
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Fun, challenging course with gorgeous views.
- Only course I've seen where you get to alpine-slide at the end of the day.
- Not many people; no waiting and no risk of getting hit by a disc.
- Changes in elevation and tricky shots through narrow groves of trees are impressive and make it a challenging experience.
- The shots you will encounter vary from long, open meadows to tight paths through the trees. You'll need a slew of different discs to succeed.
Cons: - As other reviewers have noted, the tees only consist of a couple wood blocks that have the tee number painted on them. You are not given any direction as to where the baskets are or where you should go to find the next tee. I suggest bringing a small pair of binoculars with you so you can search for the next basket. The tee pads are not level and are very short; making it a challenge to wind-up for your throw.
- The pine beetles have had their way with the forests in this area. It will be a depressing site for out-of-towners that came a long way to see lush, green forests. However, the site of beetle-kill will not be as shocking to the locals.
- This is one of the only "free" activities at the resort, therefore, staff and management don't care about it because they aren't making any money off of it....

Other Thoughts: We played this course in July 2009 and had a great time! However, I was extremely disappointed when I traveled two hours to play a round yesterday (6/20/10), only to find out that the course wasn't set-up yet. According to the Winter Park web-site, the course is open 6/12 - 9/6. Apparently, this is not accurate. I asked three different employees when the course would be set-up; none of them had an answer and I'm pretty sure that two of them didn't even know the resort had a DGC!! This only reinforces the idea that this course was an afterthought. It really is a shame because with just a little extra equipment and labor; this could be one of the best courses in CO. When I played it last year, it was a great hike around the mountain and I was more than happy to deal with lack of signage and the rugged terrain. Personally, the poor tee pads don't bother me a bit... I'm more than happy to sacrifice the level pads at the courses in the city for less people, beautiful mountain views and fun hiking terrain. If you've been spoiled by the city courses or don't enjoy a good hike, you're not gonna last long on this course. If I would've reviewed this course after playing last year, I would've given it a 3.5/5. However, after experiencing the ignorance and complete lack of compassion from WP staff yesterday, I had no choice but to drop the rating down to 2.5/5. I live next to the Beaver Ranch (Conifer) course and I admit I am spoiled by the incredible maintenance at the park, the constant improvements taking place and the perfection that is demanded from the volunteers - the Conifer course sets the bar high, and this is another reason why I couldn't justify giving this course anything more than a 2.5/5.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not a destination course, a neglected 'extra' at a fancy ski resort

1    8/4/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 158  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The views are indeed amazing. The ride down the alpine slide afterward is pretty neat. That's really about all. This course has been changed from whatever it was prior to August 2009. The mountain top terrain (well, beginner ski hill terrain) offers a great workout and challenge, both physically and with your shot execution.
Cons: Very many! First, you either have to walk up the mountain side or pay $15 to ride the lift up to the top. This is only after walking around an entirely too crowded and overpriced ski resort village where no one seems to know much about the course (because the course is simply an afterthought, not the main venue). So, you get to the top and then there are no maps, no tee signs, and no defined fairways (because they don't mow the TONS of small trees and alpine brush on the side of a mountain). So, lack of tee signs and generally poor directions (or ability to see next tees or what basket to throw at) is the first con. Next, the tees SUCK! They are marked with flags and a wooden post with a number on it (no tee sign type of hole direction or distance). Plus the tees are uneven, not level, and usually still full of brush and small trees. The fact that there are no tee signs or maps makes play pretty poor because you don't know what basket to throw at when you can't see it, or see too many. The course design is really just inadequate as well. Many of the baskets are placed in horribly cramped areas of the trees with no real green or approach area. They also do not utilize the amazing beauty of the mountain terrain either. The wooded holes are poor at best and the open holes do not include any long bombers to air it out down the hill. The funnest 'hole' I played was from tee 5 to basket 6 (because we could tell where the basket #5 was and basket number 6 about 600' away looked like a logical choice). [Lookingh at the hole info in 2010 now, it appears some redesign may have been done and some longer holes added]. The baskets themselves are also old and bent and in poor shape, plus they are the old discatchers with a single layer of chains.
Other Thoughts: Disc golf here is only an afterthought. Some employees who happen to disc must have gotten approval to put in a course. Despite the championship caliber location and terrain, the course is really sub-par. So, despite being cool to play on a mountain side, the course is not a good course. There are FAR too many cons, and the potential the mountain presents is NOT utilized. All in all I felt this was nearly a passable course, but the mountain top play makes it worth a try. It needs some attention and improvement. Level tees with some type of material (may be hard to get material to stay put on a ski hill in the Rockies), maps, good tee signs with the hole depicted and distances, and some adjusted pins to utilize terrain not just to block the pin, but make for a risky green in the case of rollaways or blowby. Study up a little bit on player skill levels per PDGA standards and position the tees for those skill levels such that obstacles will be in the way at points where it is probable that a player of that skill level will land, but a well executed shot will clear obstacles. Winter Park in Kewaunee, WI is the CLEAR winner of the disc golf course challenge. While some flatlanders or someone who has never even been to the mountains may enjoy playing this course, true disc golfers should not expect a great course (neat but not great), nor should they go out of their way to play this course. I was on vacation from WI, planned to be driving through Winter Park, and HAD to play this course because I designed another Winter Park course in WI. I almost regret having played here, other than checking it off my list and experiencing the great and strenuous mountain terrain. This is not a disc golf COURSE, it is simply discin on a mountain.
Trestle mountain bike park is well worth it, although they place a lot of regulations on your ride from what I saw). This activity gets a lot of care and attention from the staff (the same staff who barely knows there is a disc course here).

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.