Winter Park, CO 
Winter Park Resort Share
Uploaded By: orion487 Hole #20 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Tee Sign

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
awesome course

1    8/24/2015   8/25/2015
Review By: adazm
Played: 30  Reviewed: 29
Pros: such a beautiful course!
easy to navigate.
tiresome but not exhausting.
ski lifts = fun
a few long bombs.
several comically short tight challenging holes.
the short tee pads are excellent for newbies, kids, etc.
and alpine slide ride back down the mountain is awesome.
Cons: very few cons.
a tad pricey 10-15$.
occasionally punishing tree areas.
obviously keep your eyes on your disc.

A day well spent.

1    8/15/2015   8/16/2015
Review By: Lightbringer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
Pros: Excellent location on Winter Park's ski runs, with great views and a solid hike.

You get to ride the lift up, play a round and then take the Alpine slide back down. This is pretty fair for $15.

The course is very long with some fairly long hikes between some holes. If you are not up to hiking, the terrain may prove difficult for you.

There are a well balanced mixture of long, wide open fairways and some very tight, wooded shots, often on the same hole. Some of the holes are extremely long - over 700 feet.

The course is so large that even if you tee off between groups you will likely end up so spaced out that you can hardly notice that anyone else is there.

The amenities in the resort village should have anything you forgot to bring (water, beer, snacks, even clothes or shoes if you came unprepared for the terrain).

There are clearly marked paths to each tee, so getting lost if not a problem.

The tee markers are simple but informative enough to help you find each basket, even when it's over 500 feet away over a hill and in some trees.

Finally, this course is just epic in general. There are some massive driving opportunities and enough varied shots to really test you, but the course is well designed so that the massive distances involved never seem too daunting.
Cons: The vegetation is totally natural, so expect lots of bushes and tall grass that can eat up discs. Make sure you are watching each other's shots or you can spend a lot of time looking for discs.

Because of the length, remote location and mountainous terrain, you will be forced to bring extra gear and supplies you may not require at other courses. This isn't the kind of course you should play just holding a few discs in your hands and wearing sandals. Bring a big disc bag with lots of storage or at least a back pack, and bring plenty of water.

The resort itself, though not the course, can be very busy and packed. When you go down the slide at the end you may get caught behind small children.

The tee boxes are not the best, but they aren't horrible either.

Other Thoughts: This is another one of the great mountain courses in Colorado, and is undoubtedly one of the largest. It takes at least two hours to play but could easily take three of you are looking for errant discs or taking breaks. The course design uses the existing retain of the ski runs to great effect.

If you are not prepared for a moderate hike of a few miles on mountainous terrain, this is not a good course for you. Make sure to bring a couple of liters of water. Wear hiking gear like some good shoes or boots and consider sun screen as the sun is more intense at this altitude.

All in all this is now one of my favorite courses and is well worth the trip. I would play it again without reservations.

Uphill, downhill, all fun

1    8/10/2015   8/11/2015
Review By: Jimzilla
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: Good variety of technical and long throws.

View is amazing!

Even if you throw below your expectations, the course makes it hard to hate.

Outstanding guidance for tee pads, next holes, and basket locations.
Cons: Chairlift can be dangerous to those who don't ski. (perhaps I just lacked that skill) :)

Newcomers may be confused where to park etc. We asked folks at the Starbucks who readily helped.
Other Thoughts: This mountain course should challenge the best of players. Be ready to hoof! From the little uphill first tee to the monster 715ft fifth tee to the technical holes inside the forest, this course has it all. I will risk my life on the chairlift to play this one again. It was worth the price of the lift to watch my drive off the fifth tee.

Fun Mountain Course

1    8/1/2015   8/2/2015
Review By: hopalong
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I had never played a lift access course and was excited for lots of elevation change and scenery! There are phenomenal views and beautiful foliage all over this course. Some short holes, and some very long ones.
Cons: There were only a handful of holes that made use of the elevation changes. A few of the later holes (back 9) started to feel repetitive, and many had a small window to shoot through with mandos. I do appreciate the technical aspect though!
Other Thoughts: The pros certainly outweigh the cons on this one. I will be back, and it is worth the drive from Denver. Plus you get a fun cool-down alpine slide ride at the end of the day!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Don't waste your time

1    6/19/2015   6/22/2015
Review By: MNThrower
Played: 30  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course has amazing views of surrounding mountains as it is on the ski hill.

Good signage considering there was not map or scorecard available

Good use of elevation - if you are looking to take a hike on a ski mountain and play disc golf this is the place
Cons: The '2 options to play' advertised here and on their website that this course is "free" is no longer accurate We showed up on opening day as we were camping and skateboarding by Breck and Winter Park and were not pleased with the entire situation with this course.

First of all, they will charge you to play the course no matter what. So it is no longer free. Also, you can not just pay for the Alpine Slide and use the course as the description on this website (and theirs I believe) states. I mentioned to them that several websites state that this is the way it is there but the staff refused to honor it. And were quite upset I would even mention it.

The course itself is less than exciting. The views are great and there are lots of up and down shots, but none really took advantage of the terrain I felt like. Lots of small filler holes and not much strategy needed for many shots. Just throw a mid-range as straight as you can and hope the wind doesn't knock your putt out. Then throw a big hyzer and hope to slide between the trees just right or you're rolling down the hill back to the tee.
Other Thoughts: No signs in the entire resort to point you to the right area. The staff didn't seem to have a clue what to do when we said we were there to play disc golf. They were slightly rude, as I was as well since they changed the cost to play the day we got there with no warning or explanation/

Overall, I don't think this is a good use of money spent towards disc gold. Of course, this is just my opinion coming from Minneapolis and experiencing it on opening day. Perhaps others have enjoyed this course more and find it to be one of the better courses in the area. However, I am not a fan of courses on ski hills as they are not very exciting and usually run by people who don't play disc golf.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/2/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: xskatx
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You get to take a chair lift up the mountain to play this course, then the alpine slide back down. The views are incredible, the difficulty is tough and there are some very technical holes. It's a bit of a hike but nothing too strenuous. The course is beautiful and not very many people out there. Everything is very well marked and maintained.
Cons: The only thing that could make this course better is the layout (a lot of the holes are very spread out that don't need to be) and maybe if there were some water (rivers or ponds) it would top it off but not much bad to say about it.
Other Thoughts: I would drive back out to winter park to play this course again. Beautiful mountain course with amazing views.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Mountain Tees

1    7/9/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Peer
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great views on top of a great ski resort!
- Difficult and VERY far holes!
- Accuracy is a must!
- Many different obstacles and lots of curves and turns.
- Nice and friendly staff
- Not very busy making it seem like you are on the course all alone!
- Free alpine slide at the end of the course
Cons: - Costs $15 to get a lift ticket to get up to the course (Includes free ride down the apline slide.
- No maps provided can make it difficult to navigate
- Lift has a wait at times because of the alpine slide that is next to tee 1.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for disc golfers looking for a challange. Lots of steep terrian and many trees and bushes. Great mountain views from many of the tees. Many distance holes make it more difficult to shoot under par. All in all this course is a lot of fun but remember you have to pay to play this one!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Funnest course in Colorado

1    8/4/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: StimpiSteve
Played: 165  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Views, great course layout, with challenging holes and great variety. After a very fun round of golf, you get to ride the Alpine Slide back down the mountain.
Very fun in many ways.
Cons: Maps weren't available, which made following the course harder than it could have been.
One tee placement was in a very dangerous position in relation to an adjacent, uphill hole, which would be a problem if there were many people playing at once. There could be injuries. Other than that, a super fun disc golf experience.
Other Thoughts: Mountain courses never seem to have great teepads.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Take another look

1    8/5/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: csrammie
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course if for those seeking a challenge, not for the casual player unless you can handle a big score. Most of the tee length's on this site are NOT correct (may be junior tees). This course is WAY longer. Also, staff was very friendly and helpful.

-You will throw every shot in your bag. Lots of tunnel shots, plenty of enormous trees and a lot of forced ani/forehand for righty's
-Beautiful views
-Every hole is different
Cons: -Rough terrain but you should be expecting it anyway. Bring good shoes/boots and plenty of water
-Waiting in line for the lift on a busy day but who really cares, you won't once you start playing
-A little tough to navigate, but not too bad.
Other Thoughts: Take your time playing this course. Walk up and get a look at the pin and the obstacles. For most, this course is really about placing your drives, not just crushing them. You're playing for 3 on most holes, but there are plenty of birdie opps if you play smart.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/19/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 89  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a great variety of shots. It will make you throw every disc in your bag. There is alot of elevation change to add some real challenge to some already hard shots. There quite a bit of technical tree shots on the back 11 that found to be real fun.
Cons: The tee pads are in pretty rough condition. Most of them are pretty small and allow much of a run up. The course could also use some better signage, all the signs in the pictures are gone. But its still pretty easy to figure out with a map.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the most intense mountain courses that ive played, i would suggest hiking boots and lots of water. There is a bathroom with water fountains by the #7 basket.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.