Disc Golf Store
Grants Pass (Wolf Creek), OR 
Wolf Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: dg_hudlow Hole #2
3 / 167ft. Par / Distance:
#2 Nice little climb up the hill



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Didn't Live Up To It's Name!

1    8/13/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's really not fair but in my small mind, I had always thought "Wolf Creek" would be kind of a special course. Just the name, I guess? Wolf Creek! Unfortunately, it was just another average state park course. $4 to enter and not maintained real well. The baskets are the famous "Hornings Hideout" truck rims used throughout Oregon. They all catch well enough although these are some of the oldest that I've encountered. The pads are natural with a front board. They're often very difficult to locate.
# 1 and 4 both throw across the creek. They're just easy little pitch and putt throws, though. And then you walk across the creek which was no problem here in August. The creek was barely a trickle. What would you do in April when there is actually water flowing?

# 2 is a cool downhill ACE run although I wasn't exactly sure I ever found the tee box. I just threw from the most logical looking open area.

# 4, the hole throwing back across the creek, was once a nice little ACE run, is now so overgrown, that your only throw is a short tomahawk into the brush near the basket.

There are restrooms available and there were no campers here mid-week in the middle of August.
Cons: Not well maintained.
Overgrown.
Just a pitch & putt.
No signs.
Natural tee pads hard to find.
$ 4
Navigation issues.

Other Thoughts: Although Wolf Creek is right off of I-5, I'm not sure I'd even recommend it as a break on your drive up or down I-5. Yes, it's great for the serious course bagger but everyone else will probably be disappointed in the Wolf.

Wolf Creek plays more like a kitten than a wolf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Well that's 4$ and an hour of my life I'll never get back...

1    6/8/2012   6/16/2012
Review By: humchris85
Played: 114  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Close to I-5
- Onsite camping
- Beautiful areas around holes 1-4
- Creek flowing through holes 1 and 4 add a little bit of challenge and add to the scenery
- Lots of potential for a much better course to be made here
- Downhill on hole 2 adds at least a little bit of elevation change
- Map available, though not very good.
- Playground available for the kids, though not the safest
- Vault toilets in between holes 1,4, and 9
Cons: - Where to start
- Short poorly designed course, most holes are less than 200' and straight ahead
- Area around holes 1-4 are overgrown with a wide variety of plants including A LOT of Poison Oak
- Natural tees marked with 4x4 posts sunken into the ground. The #'s on the tee markers don't match the map, there was probably a redesign sense the markers were put in.
- Map was poorly done. A few holes they mixed up the tees and pins.
- Holes 5-7 weren't marked at all, just some baskets at the edge of a field, and the area around one of the baskets was surrounded by waist high grass
- No bridges to cross the creek
- The previously mentioned playground is right next to hole 9, and a kid could get hit with a miss thrown disc
- Some holes play really close to some camping sites and are potentially dangerous
- Picnic table siting over hole 1's tee pad
- Hole 2's tee pad is small and uneven
- Homemade baskets are getting old and rusty
- No signage
- 4$ to play this?
Other Thoughts: It's truly sad that this is as poor quality a course as it is. There is plenty of potential here for a great 9 hole course, maybe even a good 18 hole course, but it is being wasted away with a lack of care and poor design. I started to get worried when I walked up to where the tee for 1 was supposed to be according to the map, and found a picnic table siting over the tee area for hole 1. The map was done by someone that didn't fully get the concept of map making. They have multiple holes marked wrong on the map, mixing up their markings for tees and baskets. You will have to spend some time searching for tee pads, some of which don't exist as far as I could tell. And don't expect the tee markings you do find to match the #'s on the map. There was probably a redesign sense they were originally put in. The creek that plays through holes 1 and 4 was shallow enough to ford sense there were no bridges to cross, though the rocks in it were covered in slick slime. After you play hole 1 you have to climb up the hill to the right to find hole 2's tee pad. The tee pad is short, uneven, and points to the wrong basket. Holes 3 and 4 are easy enough to find, but hole 4 has had a tree growing in between the tee and the basket that hasn't been trimmed in far too long. There is a route for a lefty hyzer or a righty flick or anhyzer, but not a very good one. You have to walk past a few campsites to find holes 5-7. None of these holes seem to have tee markers anywhere, so I took the opportunity to play them as safari holes and actually give myself a chance to air out some discs. Holes 8 and 9 were squeezed in between camping sites, and beginners would have a chance of hitting a campsite or person. Hole 9 played right next to a playground making it unplayable if kids are playing there. Overall I would say this course isn't worth playing unless they give it a complete overhaul.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

5+    11/7/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: discgolforegon
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Onsite Camping
- Vault Toilets
- Playground for the kids (also a con read further below)
- 2 Moderately hard water hazard holes, more so in the winter.
- Close to Major interstate
- Good for a "quick" round
Cons: - Rusty chains on older home made baskets.
- Short hole lengths
- Couple holes are close to camp host, and other campsites.
- Playground can come into play on 1 hole, possibly needing to be skipped if children are around.
- Natural TeePads
- No more bridge over the water
Other Thoughts: Wolf Creek is one of the oldest parks in Oregon. This park still offers a unique challenge on almost every hole. Testing your short game, and your ability to navigate the trees. Good place to bring the family for a quick lunch and round of golf.

Recently played an 18 hole layout at Wolf Creek during a tournament and thought it was amazing. lots of potential out there. :)

Try it out, you will enjoy it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    9/15/2008   3/13/2009
Review By: nevermore321
Played: 163  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Camping and waking up and being able to golf on site is always a pleasure.
-Nice variety of tree species present
-Moderate Water hazards on two holes during the winter
-A few nice tight fairways with little chance of losing a disc due to short length of these holes
Cons: -Some holes were just short open field shots
-Camp Host was NOT friendly contrary to the prior reviewer's experience
-the last two holes meander precariously adjacent to campsites and kids playground portion of the campground.
Other Thoughts: The creek was dried up when I played this course but I assume that earlier in the spring it would make the two holes that you shoot over it that much more memorable. This course had a polarized mix between cool shorter holes with tight fairways, one downhill shot, and two water shots, However, there are a couple beginer shots. I wouldn't drive any distance to play this course, But if you want a decent course to strech your legs on off of I-5 then you have a good southern oregon choice here/ BTW-The Wolf Creek Inn is a historic inn that is pretty cool to check out. There's also a nice 5-mile round trip trail to the top of nearby London Peak that you can catch a killer view of the surrounding mountain range if you have time.


7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Needs love

6/22/2008   7/30/2008
Review By: dg_hudlow
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.9 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Holes 1 - 4 Short, ace possibility, in nice forest and stream setting. Super nice hosts that have maps available.
Cons: To get to good holes you must cross the creek and that can only be done in summer. Also holes 5 - 7 are open field, unmarked tees. Holes 8 & 9 are awkwardly placed in the middle of campsites.
Other Thoughts: Pay to park. Be ready to cross the stream and wonder around looking for tees.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.