Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ 
Wood Land Share
Uploaded By: markmcc Hole #8 (Taken 9/2014)
4 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Solid Course

2-4    9/25/2014   9/25/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 74  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers the chance to air out many of your drives, but requires that you work around trees on every hole.

Most holes offer two or three pin positions, and a few have two tee pads as well. So this course can vary widely in hole distance.

A great variety of hole lengths from 180' to 550'. This is a more open course than either of the two in Show Low. Most of the holes begin with a relatively open drive toward a basket tucked in behind a treeline or within a grove of trees. So there are always trees to deal with, but the likelihood of a really early tree hit knocking down your drive is fairly low.

Concrete tee pads, good baskets (though hard to see in the shade) and excellent tee signs. The signs show all pin positions, distances, par, a good diagram of the hole including OB, and direction to the next tee.

There are some cool basket placements, including one in a large stump, another mounted up on a wooded pyramid, and a hanging basket.

Large parking area. No restrooms or water. Several well placed footbridges to get you across the wet-weather creek.
Cons: It is tough to spot the basket on many of the holes. You are often driving from a sunny, open area to a basket placed in a group of trees. Between the shade and the gray baskets it can be a real trial to spot the basket from the tee.

Some areas of the course are pretty compact. The basket for Hole 5 is very near the teepad for Hole 6. And both times I played my drive on hole 18 landed within 5' of the Hole 1 teepad.

Baskets for Holes 2, 5, and 17 are close enough together to cause confusion for travelers like myself.

The texture on the tee pads is very aggressive. If you usually twist or slide you may not care for them.
Other Thoughts: The first time I played a local gave me a map that helped a lot. I've scanned the map and placed it in the files section. It is a good compliment to the "picture" map already ther.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid & Challenging

1    10/7/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: chillis
Played: 91  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in scenic Mogollon Rim country, this area is prime for disc golf! The air is crisp and invigorating. The park is clean and feels very comfortable (an odd descriptor for a dg course, I know). A majority of tee areas have benches or wood block stools to rest you or your gear on. Plenty of trash receptacles. There are bridges over the stream as well as randomly placed throughout the course in areas that get a bit tricky.
Tee signs are, at times, oddly placed. But they are accurate and helpful in showing the multiple basket positions, and Next Tee locations.
Designers did a great job of utilizing the trees as obstacles on your way to the chains. The layout didn't seem repetitive at all and there is a great variety of throws to make from the tees.
Tee pads are cement, extremely grippy and have cool designs in them. Half of the holes have both Am & Pro tees.
Cons: Course is a bit tight, so it could get hectic when busy. It has a few criss-crossing holes, and there are a handful of tee pads within putting distance of another basket. Layout can be confusing here, so a Course Map is highly suggested!!
The habitat is raw, and although there are walking paths, much of the grounds are wild so there's lot of prickly plants and stuff to snag your clothes on when retrieving discs.
No truly epic hole (altho 11 & 17 are a hoot!), tourney layout probably fixes that.
Weak finish. Hole 18 is a wide-open, 300ft consolation birdie. It doesn't fit the course at all.
Other Thoughts: Wood Land is another AZ course teetering on the brink of something special. It doesn't quite amaze me or stand out in any area, but it's a very solid course that will make fine disc golfers out of those who frequent it. I would be proud to call this my home course and I'll be back to play it again in the future.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course maintained by a great club

5+    7/12/2010   2/5/2011
Review By: azbab
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has lots of variety in hole types, from tight wooded lines, to wide open big arm holes. The biggest pro to this course is its appeal to any skilled player due to the hole variety and spectacular views. This course is home to the White Mountain Disc Golf Club (and a couple of world champ. players). The club is very active and is always working to maintain and improve the course. Every time I play, I find a new change and/or improvement. Definitely worth the weekend trip from the valley (especially in the summer), or a stop over for anyone traveling across the northern part of the state (I-40).
Cons: This course lacks little, if anything in playing appeal. The only con is that it is located in destination location, that is really not near any of the larger cities in AZ.
Other Thoughts: Located in the White Mountains of Arizona, this is not what most people would imagine an Arizona course to be like. One of my top 3 favorites.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Secluded course in the woods

1    3/30/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A course on the edge of a park, with easy parking next to the first hole. Nicely done teesigns on every hole. Large cement teepads in great shape, most with a very rough surface that provides awesome grip. Definately a good mix of shots required, from long holes to short and right and left. Some holes are heavily wooded while others are wide open, an even balance. Multiple pins sites on each hole. Baskets in great shape. Nice landscaping around the teepads and baskets. Benches throughout the course made from tree trunks and turf on top, kind of unique. The part where the course is is secluded and thus no other park users.
Cons: Course was definately muddy when I played and that could be a problem. Standing water on some areas. The tee signs where placed funny. By that I mean the signs were not uniform in where they were placed next to the teepad. Some were right next to the pad, others were 20+ feet away. Some navigation issues at the hole 1 basket, lots of teepads around there, just head back to the right for teepad #2.
Other Thoughts: I preferred this course to the other one in town. A good all around course that is quiet and enjoyable. I would play this course again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the Pines

5+    6/2/2007   1/2/2010
Review By: rcmalamutes
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots (and I mean lots) of technical shots. Some very heavily treed holes. Also... several bunker style walls to shoot over or around. Some of the pines are heavily battle scarred from the rip of a solid driver. Also though, several holes in the meadow with the ability to grip and rip. I love this course..... BUT...
Cons: At least when I played the course was very inadequately marked. Go to white mountains online and print off the map... this will make things easier.
Other Thoughts: This was the first place I learned to play disc golf, and it is a fun time!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth checking out if you find yourself in nothern Arizona

2-4    6/18/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: domromer
Played: 42  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 12 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in scenic nothern Arizona.
A decent varitey of shots.
Water comes into play on a few holes.
Very close to town.
Friendly locals.
Cons: The course gets pretty cramped and a few areas have baskets and pads way too close together. On a busy day you here Four shouted a lot.
Other Thoughts: The course is situated on the boundry of the national forest so about a 3rd of the holes are in the woods and the rest are pretty wide open. The course has a good varitey of holes to throw on. There are big wide open bombs, extremley narrow alleys through the trees and a fair bit of murky water to hide your discs. There really aren't any gimmes on this course. If it's a wide open shot then it's 600ft long. If it's a short shot it's gonna be down a super narrow twisty alley. Most of the pins usually are hidden behind clumps of trees or bushes so upshots need to be really perfect. This course requires a well rounded game. It had enough varitey that it can't be won just by having a big arm.
There is a 3 day tournament in June called top of the pines. They turn the course into 27 holes a few of which play over a lake. This really makes the course more fun. If they could make it a permanent 27 I'd easily rate this course higher as the temporary holes are challenging and well thought out. So this isn't the best course in Az but one well worth checking out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 a darn good course!

2/17/2008   2/17/2008
Review By: bigarmboy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is awsome it offers alot of challenging shots it has tight wooded fairways. and also its long open fairways. it has produced 2 world champion players in back to back years (06 AM World ADV Men Champ Paul Ulibarri & 07 Am World Jr. 10 & Under Champ Nick Duran) so i guess you could say its champion caliber! its a real great course!
Cons: some tight fairways can make for a frustrating day! but also a very rewarding for others!
Other Thoughts: Go on out and play its worth the shot! or 54 if you can handle it!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.