Moorhead, MN 
Woodlawn Park Share
Uploaded By: TxDiscGolfBoy Hole #6
3 / 247ft.   3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
My Disc Golf "Home"

5+    7/13/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: TEDIUM
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very beginner friendly, little chance of losing discs.
Entire park mowed, not just fairways.
Not along river, so it gets soggy in spring, but rarely floods.
Almost always other players around to help direct you/look for discs.
Very courteous players, rarely have I been stuck behind slow players that wouldn't let me play through.
Cons: Most signage is missing
Unless you go in the middle of a weekday, it's usually pretty busy.
Not the most challenging course, but great for beginners.
If you do happen to get your disc in one of the ponds, they can be pretty mucky and smelly.
Low elevation, so after rain the course gets very muddy.
Mosquitoes are usually pretty bad.
Other Thoughts: Personally, I will always love this course as it was my first. I have played this course more times than I can remember, yet it is always fun. It's not too difficult so great for beginners, but it does have decent variety and use of elevation (for Minnesota anyway) and a few of the holes have their challenges (9, 15, 18). Lots of mature beautiful trees, but not many in the way of things to aggravate newer players. Also, make sure to check out the "Tomahawk Challenge" at the end of hole 15, in the tree just East of the basket is a slit that is just the right size for a disc thrown overhand. Oh, and between holes 3 and 10 is a nice big field that you can use to practice your drives.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good way to gain confidence

1    5/5/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: deadbody
Played: 103  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.5 Years
Pros: Nice teepads, and baskets. some minor elevation use, nice mature trees.
Cons: Lets see, the course plays in on itself a couple times (there are spots where the next tee is definetely in firing range for the previous hole. Super open (which is a major part of the problem, if the course were wooded the placements would be fine I think). There are also roads and walking paths in play. Frankly it is too easy, my first time out there, I shot a 54, and don't feel like I played well. Lots of holes in the 250' range, perfect for the noodle arm wanting to feel like a stud by driving to tap in distance. Only 3 holes much longer than 300'
Other Thoughts: Really was a fun afternoon, great weather, nice enough people on the course, I got 5 birdies which is a big number for me. I would play again next time I am in town, especially with my family as I think they would love feeling good about their game and dropping birdies. No real challenge here, but not a bad course, just not a great course.

Personal Favorite

5+    7/25/2013   7/25/2013
Review By: Znarf
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course design. Holes range from 180 to 550ft, and require hyzer, anny, tunnel, hyper bomb, uphill, downhill and skip shots to score well. I like that there are a couple par 4s and a 5 (pro pars). I personally like some par variance rather than the "understood" par 3 that most courses have regardless of difficulty and distance. I actually kind of like the "water hazards" that are on hole 8-10. They are just leftover water from the flood, but they have added a fun element to the holes. Wind is a factor, but not so much that it is frustrating. The course is very easy to navigate, just make sure you don't skip holes 9-11. Also, the tees are huge and the baskets are in pretty decent shape.
Cons: Recent floods have tore this place up. The signage is almost all destroyed, so look at the hole info here before going the first time. Trash is everywhere because of a lack of garbage cans through the course. Broken bottles can be seen near some baskets so be careful. This course just needs a little love right now and it can be beautiful again. Course is very busy in the evening. It is great seeing families out playing, but it can be frustrating since newbies don't understand golf etiquette. Go in the morning or early afternoon for the best golfing.
Other Thoughts: Worth a 4 for the area, 3.5 compared to elsewhere. Because of current conditions, solid 3.5. This course is on the easy side, but it is still fun to play because you will get to use your entire bag to throw different shots. Worth your time!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/5/2012   5/5/2013
Review By: HiFi
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 4/22/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good hole length for the most part
Variety of shots
A few downhill shots in the mix
Cons: Too wide open on some holes making them too easy
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course that is well worth playing. Many of the holes are open shots but others are in wooded areas. Holes 9 and 18 are the longest and most challenging to par by far. 9 goes over a hill to a blind pin and 18 is a long dog leg that ends on a small hilltop. I will say that despite it's easy appearance the course is more difficult to do well on than one might think.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/29/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: frolfer97
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice variety of long and short shots
-Nice variety of open and tree lined holes
-Uphill and downhill shots
Cons: -Crowded a lot of the time
-Very poor signage, the few signs that are still standing have been vandalized
-Very few garbage cans
Other Thoughts: One of the better courses in the Fargo-Moorhead area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/25/2010   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easier than the other Fargo- Moorhead courses and you can play it in a fairly short amount of time. Decent shot variety. Well signed.
Cons: There was quite a bit of standing water on the course when i played. Didn't think the course was quite challenging enough.
Other Thoughts: Great beginner course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/11/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 344  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good signage which makes the course easy to follow.
-Nice baskets
-Most of the course is away from other park activities
-Surprisingly there is some elevation on this course
-Some open holes and some under some nice, mature oak trees
-Some short aceable holes with some very long ones like 18
-You won't lose a disc here unless you really bomb it into the river.
Cons: -Not a ton of shot variety, it was pretty easy to maneuver around the trees
-Some shots are kind of close the playground
-Course may be flooded in the spring as it is in the floodplain of the Red
-It is likely to be very windy here
-High traffic. Garbage here and there.
Other Thoughts: This course and Oak Grove are similar in quality. If in the F-M area make sure to play these two courses first. From my experience, none of the courses in the area are spectacular.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Woodlawn Park Rundown!!!

1    6/1/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great Signage (shows pin loc., directions to next tee, trees, distance)
-Large concrete pads
-Terrain (open, treed, slight elevation changes)
-Easy to locate
-Nice parking
-Hole length variety...both short and long
-Even with some signs missing, I was still able to locate, with ease, the next box...nice flow.
Cons: -Sits on a small flood plane next to the N. Red River....so my guess is that it stays pretty squishy.
-Some pad signs are not there and others have been muddied up pretty good, more than likely because of flooding and being under H20.
-Not the most difficult course
-Fairly flat, for the most part. Wind could be a big factor.
-If it's sunny out, you'll need sunscreen
Other Thoughts: Other than the normal irritations of the average disc golf game, this is a really good course. Was told by locals that it was the better course in the area and I could see why.
Has a really nice flow to it with shots ranging anywhere from around 150 ft. to 540 ft. Worth your time to go to this course (traveled 1.5 hours myself), being that there are others in the area as well.

2 thumbs up from me. You won't be disappointed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Area

1    5/19/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: CaptainAwesome
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long Concrete Tees
Good Variety of Holes
Hole information at most tees
Cons: Lots of Course Traffic
Needs more Trash Cans
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the area. Most of the tees have distance information on them. There is a bit of river sludge due to flooding every year, but that's the only water hazard. Trees make for a good challenge, but make birdie-ing some of the later holes very difficult.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/18/2009   5/5/2010
Review By: Nitro
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Cement tee boxes.
About half of the course is through trees and half is in the open, making for a nice variety.
Good mix of shorter holes and longer holes.
Cons: Open course gets pretty wind.
Parts of the course seem to always be muddy.
Other Thoughts: Fun coarse to play as long as you bring some sunscreen.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.