Hartford, WI 
Woodlawn Union Park Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #6 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 155ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Average, short park nine hole

1    9/8/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 153  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 10.6 Years
Pros: Course plays through a well maintained little city park. Park was well taken care of. Navigation was easy to figure out here. The first tee was on the north side of the parking lot next to the big board with disc golf related info on it. The baskets were Mach 5's and were in good shape and caught nicely. The tee pads were gravel with a stone with the hole number painted on them in the back corner of the tee. Apparently these stones used to be in the middle of the tee which would be really dumb. These must've been moved to the back corner of the tees since their reviews. There is very slight elevation around hole 3, or else trees are your main concern here. The course does a pretty solid job of staying away from other park activities as well.
Cons: The distances here are all very short and easily birdieable. Also the distances are all almost exactly the same. Hole 8 was slightly longer than the rest but not by much. The gravel tees have ruts in them towards the front and seem as if they would collect water after a lot of rain.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a very short easy ace run course. Not worth a trip out of your way to play it but is a quick 15 minute round if you're in the area.

 Not much going on

1    10/1/2011   2/16/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small pretty park. The grass is nicely mowed and the park seemed generally well taken care of. The baskets are in pretty good shape, and the tees have markers with the hole number. Despite lots of picnic areas throughout the park and a walking path, the course didn't seem to conflict with other park uses.
Cons: The golf here is very easy and not very interesting. The majority of the shots are short and straight, and many of them don't bring the nice mature trees throughout the park into play. There aren't really any different lines forced throughout the course, if you can throw basic straight and hyzer shots you're in good shape. The tees are terrible, the gravel is rutted out and the frames now serve to hold water and muck. Because the gravel has been kicked out of many of the tees, the numbered stones stick up right in the middle of the tees, luckily you don't really need a runup here.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will enjoy the straightforward shots and lack of punishment for errant shots, though new players won't learn to shape different lines by playing here. More experienced players won't find much challenge here, it's short enough for a putter round but doesn't even provide a good challenge for your short game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 decent

1    10/28/2010   11/6/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Trapezoidal tees with crusher run; done well and surrounded by wooden frame. A block of stone sits flat in the middle of each, and has hole number on it.
No distance listed; but tees are flush with ground and very well done for this type of tee.
Pretty little park.
Hole #7 is @ 300 ft. Hole #8 a little more than 300 ft. (this from rough notes; see below)
Good for beginners/families/ace runs.
We played at 7 a.m. to stretch our legs after driving for an hour plus. Nice stop in for this sort of thing and to make some charges at buckets for the ace.
Start to finish done quite quickly.
Cons: So, I just went to check the real numbers and #7 comes in at 245 ft. (though the topography is slightly uphill at the finish); and #8 is listed at 299 ft. So, goes to show you how playing holes straight, and under 200 ft., makes these two seem like long holes; by the time you get to them!
In other words, course is short.
There is not much interesting disc terrain either. Park is pretty; but golf very basic.
Other Thoughts: Probably won't be back unless it's the perfect leg stretch point again. Even then, there are better options nearby.
I did enjoy this early morning, dew on the ground, course to yourself, round though.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easy Play

1    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: barrykatiejones
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice for starters. Fast play if in a hurry. Not a lot of tall grass and bushes to search through if you're like me and always in there. Not to many bugs.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Some real short holes (>100') Not enough garbage cans, beer cans laying around. Markings for course was just a stone on ground with number and arrow no map or par information.
Other Thoughts: Nice park to bring kids and cook out. Was nice for a quick game before work.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Not good... in fact a bit boring...

1    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: Orangesuitcases
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is in good shape, baskets are very nice.

Convenient location- with park right there it's nice if you are having a bbq or something like that. In fact most of the people on the course were families having a bbq throwing a few discs around.

Very cute park

Not a terrible place to learn the ropes.
Cons: BORING!!! Straight up dull... not very fun... get my drift?

This course is just a series of short straight shots with very few obstacles (the biggest obstacle is 4 or 5 tall flowers near a flagpole on the first hole... although I have to admit I did accidentally cut off one of the heads with my driver... which was cool...)

Busy, super busy... I did go on labor day, so maybe on other days it is less busy...
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course to teach someone on... HOWEVER I would just go to Erin Go Braugh in Thompson... That course is not terribly difficult at all, in fact fairly easy, and is much prettier and much better even...

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 D+ = Doesn't have much happenin' for a 9 holer

1    5/7/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short fairly simple beginners course

2-4    6/4/2011   3/21/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Baskets are in good shape.

2) Nice small little park, where the rest of the park doesn't really infringe upon the disc golf course.

3) Very beginner friendly because it is so short and the trees don't really make too many of the holes difficult.
Cons: 1) Not very challenging. Simple short straight away holes for the most part.

2) Tee areas have gotten some gravel in place . . . it might be better than dirt but they placed the stone that marked the tees right in the middle. They even framed the tees up with wood to keep the stone in place. All in all the tees are a negative in my opinion even though an effort was made.

3) Again I always say this, being only 9 holes can't make the course bad, but because it is only 9 holes and very much a beginners course I probably won't be back to visit it often, but it is nice for the locals to have a course too.
Other Thoughts: This was a average little course to play. I made a loop of 5 new courses (for me)starting in Grafton at Lime Kiln, Tendick Nature Park in Saukville, Villa Park in West Bend, then on to Woodlawn in Hartford and Erin go Bragh in Thompson. I would rank this one as #5 out of the 5.

Not much has changed about this course since i was here almost three years ago. I did enjoy seeing my scores have dropped 3-4 shots in that timeframe.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short easy holes for rookie and family fun

5/26/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: slingerman99
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Short easy holes makes anyone feel like a pro. Clean cut park. No weeds or woods to trample through, searching for discs.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Park is in City area and can be used alot on some busy days.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners or amatuers. Great course for kids to learn the game

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.