Disc Golf Store
McMinnville, OR 
Wortman Park Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #5
3 / 354ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cram Brle

1    11/10/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 61  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Wortman provides technical shots, short and long holes and a fun variety of shot types.
-The course is fairly balanced with short/long, tech/open, and RHBH/LHBH.
-Wortman park is a well manicured park.
-The course has a set of alternate tees
-Nice bathrooms near the parking lot
Cons:
-Poor, short and unlevel teepads often uneven with the ground and make run-ups awkward.
-This course has no signage which if you don't know where you're going is a bit confusing.
-Also confusing is the layout, without a map or any signage, knowing where to go is not easy.
-Some of the baskets are near property lines and errant shots run the risk of going into backyards of park neighbors.
-The holes feel pretty crammed together, especially when factoring in the alternate tees and all the crossing fairways they create.
Other Thoughts:
-This is fun little course one that, if you live in the area, could be played regularly. However if traveling for more than 30 minuets it's probably not worth the trip. Maybe just for the occasional 'change it up' type round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wortman Park

5+    8/18/2012   11/10/2012
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 47  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2014
Pros: -12 holes
-Set in a really nice and lush city park
-Pretty challenging for the beginner
-Has plenty of shade for those middle of the afternoon summer rounds
-2 bathrooms on the park grounds
-Good park to bring the family along with, stroller friendly.
-Box with map and scorecard behind 1st tee box
-"Back 12" adds a few different looks at the holes
Cons: -Tee pads are maybe 2.5 feet wide and 6 feet long
-A few of the baskets need some work
-Only signage is on back of tee box spray painted
-Some fairways cross walking paths
-Lots of opps to chop down some trees with your discs
-Can get very soggy during wet months
Other Thoughts: Living in Newberg, this course is still too close not to play on a routine basis. Make sure that if your playing for the first time you take someone that knows the course. The course is mostly flat with a creek that runs right through the middle of it.
And also, there is a local tourney every Tuesday night during the spring and summer.

 

1    7/20/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 46  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice open park setting. Course is cared for. Nothing too long so it's good for families. Good tte boxes.
Cons: Some holes near creek/ditch could be wet/muddy after raining. Needs better signage. Watch out for picnic'ers.
Other Thoughts: Overall good smaller course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for a quick round

1    8/18/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: GeoWolf
Played: 58  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I played this course (12 holes) in a little over an hour after meeting a local on the first tee to show me around. I was really surprised at how well the course was set up for such a multi-use park. Good use of the little elevation there is out there and the variety of shots is awesome - never thought that I would be forehanding, backhanding, and tossing thumbers when I walked up to the first tee.
Cons: There were kids playing around on one of the baskets, but thye got the idea and moved out of the way for us to play through.
Other Thoughts: I was driving to a job site in McMinnville and saw a basket in the park. Not knowing anything else, I stopped on the way back to Portland and had a great time. The local were friendly and helped me navigate the course. All in all, glad I stopped to play the course and will be hitting it up again!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    6/29/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: JonnyQuest
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -open course with some tricky shots.
-great variation of open to tight wooded holes.
-well maintained
Cons: the locals extra 12 holes can really be dangerous or just annoying because they use the same baskets as the 1st 12 holes. but of course we let the locals play through.
Other Thoughts: great course for a quick game, i really enjoyed the layout and hole design. next time we go were gonna play 2 rounds.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasently Surprised

1    4/4/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a highly underrated park, being from Seattle I had heard nothing of this course so I had low expectations as I have heard a lot about most Oregon courses and I was very happy to see a decent little park. There are plenty of thought provoking and challenging holes out here to make this a really fun place to play. There was even a sign on the course that told you about the local league and where to buy discs. A little water creek ran through parts of the course that put the thought of going out of bounds in your head and the basket locations here are well done. Some reviews before me have spoke of navigation issues and though there is no sign telling you of the course or where to start I found it fairly easy with most concrete tees being in site of the previous basket.
Cons: It's a little hard to find the course and where to park and then hole one is a little far away at least from where we parked at. Though concrete tees are nice it would be nice to have them be longer than three feet. This place is just dying for a course bulletin board, and all types of signage.
Other Thoughts: It looks as if the locals have made other tee pads to round this out to 18+ holes but with no signage it is hard to know how it's supposed to be played but safari golf is a fun way to go here anyway. I can't see much more they could of done to utilize the area or make better holes which is nice; so many small local parks are so horribly designed but whom ever was working on this did a great job to maximize potential.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lunch Time

5+    8/7/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: mmedlock
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great lunch time/beginners course. It would appear to have 18 holes (holes 13-18 do not have a pad). There are several holes that require technical shots. The advanced player can work on rhfd, rhbh, and thumbers throws to improve their game. There are 3-4 holes that are good for good for mid-range discs. Overall, a great course to work on the advance players technical game and for the beginners to experience this wonderful sport.
Cons: The cons that i would have to list would be the size of the tee pads, course markings, cherries, and the lack of tee pads for holes 13-18. The tee pads are small for some of the longer holes. Not a huge issue, but worth noting. The course is slightly tough to navigate, but the locals are very nice and willing to help. For example, the first week of playing Wortman we were using the 12th basket as the first hole and the 1st basket as the 12th. Actually made the 12th much more difficult :). During the past month or so there are several cherry trees that can stick to your shoes and get on your discs. Not a big deal though. Finally, I would really enjoy playing the last 6 holes of this course but have not met any locals to show me, or had the time. these cons are very minor and do not affect my opinion of the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Wortman is a great lunchtime/course. If anyone see us out there in slacks and dress shirts, feel free to say hi! We have been visiting the course 3-4 times a week for the last 3 months and will continue to do so. It is a fun course to learn different paths on some of the holes. On a side note, i got my 2nd hole in one on 12 the other day. extremely lucky shot! :)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 McMinnville City Park

5/24/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a pretty little city park. The holes are challenging enough but would also be a great course for newbies or families. Concrete teepads and baskets are OK. There's a slight bit of elevation and lots of trees to throw around. I liked # 6, a sweet little anhyser shot over the ditch/creek to a basket guarded by 3-4 trees. Also # 10, a short technical throw with two distinct flightpaths to the basket.
Cons: This course is not easy to follow. There are no signs of any kind. I'm surprised someone hasn't placed a 2" x 6" or two across the little ditch/creek so players can cross without caving in the banks so much.
Other Thoughts: First of all, I would like to see something telling me there's a course there. Secondly, this course could really benefit from the simple low to the ground signs that Cascade Gateway in Salem has. If the parks dept. won't let you do that, at least neatly spray or stencil the # on the teepad and finally take a permanent marker and neatly write the basket # on the inside pole of the basket. This course deserves a higher rating and would get it with any kind of better signage. I wasn't lucky enough to run into any local players and left feeling pretty frustrated.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Friendly people

4/29/2008   5/5/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Good practice course, some challenge.
Cons: Difficult to figure out on own. If you can't find the map, ask the locals, they are very friendly.
Other Thoughts: Easy to determine what disk to use, possibilities for birdie.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 -

3/24/2008   3/24/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 161  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets in great shape
-Lots of fun tee shots
-Great variety of trees in the park
-Course flow is good
-Uncrowded (I've only played it once, though)
-Great variety of distances on holes
Cons: -No tee signs
-No maps
-Tee pads aren't the greatest
-Very muddy in the wet season
-Some fairways cross walking paths
Other Thoughts: When I first arrived at Wortman I was pretty excited. It's been quite a while since I've played a new course, and I've heard that Wortman is a pretty good course for being a 12 holer in a city park. The reports were right, it's pretty good!

Upon arrival, it took us a few minutes make sure that we were in the right place. We didn't see any signs for DG or anything about the course. Walking around a bit, we found a basket, then walked back to the car and got the DG bags out of trunk. After finding a basket, we then had to try to find the appropriate tee pad, no luck. We saw a group of DGers on another part of the course and I had to walk up to them and ask for some help on where to start and etc. The locals were very friendly and helpful, telling us where to start and the general direction the holes flow.

Evidently, the tee pads have a number on them in the back left, however the mud was too much and we couldn't make out numbers.

The course is really fun, with lots of great tee shots, and the greens are pretty good as well. There is a creek that winds through the entire park, and the trees are awesome, lots of large oak trees, large cedars, cherry trees, and some big doug firs.

The course is mostly flat, but there are a couple holes with a few feet of elevation, and it is used well.

All in all, I enjoyed Wortman DGC quite a bit. It will play much better once the mud dries up, and the trees fill in their leaves. If you're in the area, definitely make a stop and throw a round or two.

P.S. There is also an alternate course layout that the locals know, I've heard it makes the course play much more challenging.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.