Disc Golf Store
Appling, GA 
IDGC - WR Jackson Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10 (Taken 10/2011)
5 / 849ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My arm fell off..........

1    10/25/2009   10/28/2009
Review By: CatFish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging. If you can get good at this course, you'll be good anywhere. Keeps you out for a long time. Benches have been put in.
Cons: LONG!!! my arm fell off, still waiting to get it reinstalled. We were planning on playing this one and another while we were out at the IDGC. However, after we finished this course we were done.
Other Thoughts: I'd definitely play this course again, not on a day that I had anything else to do though. Some of the par 4's should be 5's in my opinion. I can launch a disc pretty well 320' about, and there were a few par 4's that are impossible to birdie i believe.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Serious Disc Golf

2-4    6/5/2008   8/5/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: When you're ready for a challenge, W.R. Jackson is ready for you.

This course is cut through tall pine forests, both level land and big hills. Most fairways are long, but fair. There's a lot of fairway management here, not just hitting the fairway but the sweet spot in the fairway to line up the next shot. True par-5s.

....with a break in the middle, a series of short, rather technical shots clustered along a deep ravine.

And, since it's at the IDGC, you have all the amenities---pro shop, restrooms, water, air conditioning, multiple practice baskets. You also have 2 other courses you can play, if you've still got the energy.

Front and Back 9s loop back to the HQ, so you can break halfway through if you need it.

No water, little underbrush, little risk of losings discs.
Cons: About the only bad thing I can think to say is that this course will wear you out.

Oh, and it takes a long time to play. I think my tournament round there was 5 or 5 1/2 hours. Casual play is quicker, of course, but you can't sneak it in on a lunch break.

Not especially scenic.

No benches---and if ever a course needed them, it's this one. (I've heard that bench installation is pending some design tweaking).
Other Thoughts: I think I'm in the minority of liking this course better than the Steady Ed---despite the mismatch of my 280' arm on this 9000'+ course. It's just one great challenge after another, particularly on 2nd & 3rd fairway shots.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Truly A "Holy Shit" Course!

1    7/16/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the three courses here at the PDGA International Disc Golf Center. This course isn't as picturesque as the Ed Headrick Memorial Course but it will take you for a ride. I call this an "Holy Shit" course. As in, you walk up to the tee and say, "Holy Shit! What madmen designed this hole?" I mean that in good way that there are players in this game who are so strong and accurate that they need a course like this to challenge them. Everything about this course from the over-whelming length to it's always narrow fairways to the constant elevation ups and downs make this a Gold level course. It has the best signs, teepads and baskets anywhere, just like the Ed.
Cons: I have to agree with the previous reviewers who asked when two more sets of pads were going in so that all the players who aren't pros can play and experience this amazing course. And while it's an amzingly difficult, challenging disc golf course, IMO, it's not a beautiful course. There's no water in play other than a small mostly dried up little creek and you're still playing in the Georgia woods with the bugs and ticks and not in a beautiful, green park somewhere.
Other Thoughts: I've played a couple of the monster courses around the country which are considered amongst the toughest, Paw Paw in West Virginia and the Circle R courses in Wimberly, Texas. While they were totally long and brutal and completely over my head, I don't think they in any way compare to the overall constistent challenges presented by the WR Jackson Memorial Course. Play it and Good Luck!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beast of a Course

1    7/1/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: Kurt Hodges
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The WR Jackson Memorial course is on the grounds of the PDGA International Disc Golf Center with two other 18 -hole gold courses. As you would expect, the course is very well taken care of and the tee pads, signs and baskets are the finest. It has lots of topography and forces you to compensate for elevation differences. There are lots of trees (and shade), but, the course is so well maintained that a disc from even a very errant shot can still be located. Water is a non-issue and is only in the form of little streams (i.e., you won't loose the disc but you might loose a stroke).
Cons: This courses only real drawback is the lack of shorter (or alternate) tee pads (there is only one set). It would be nice to have another set of pads that would allow players of lesser caliber to enjoy the same wonderful course the big boys do.
Other Thoughts: The WR Jackson Memorial is very similar to the Jim Warner Memorial except it is considerably longer. The WR Jackson Memorial is a very long course that is fairly heavily wooded. The course is around 9,325' long (as of July 1, 2009). So, the average hole is 518' and fairly heavily wooded. The WR Jackson Memorial is a course that was designed to challenge pros, and that is exactly what it does. There really are true par 4's & 5's for top notch players (i.e., 970+ rated). Two great examples of the extreme length in a wooded course are hole 8 (915' par 5) and hole 18 (810' uphill, par 5). In order to score at the WR Jackson Memorial you must not only possess a big arm, but you also must be able to control it. That being said, the course is fair. There are adequate holes, but they are long and once you are offline, it is hard to get back on. Being a recreational-intermediate golfer (i.e., 840-860 player) it really did eat my lunch. If you are in the area I would recommend it to anyone, but if you aren't a very skilled player, I wouldn't travel to it unless you have time to play the other courses as well; as you will be frustrated.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best anywhere

2-4    6/1/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a challenging, gold-level course, WR Jackson leaves very little to be desired. The challenge is fair and complete, the terrain is beautiful, and it is located in an amazing park with the International Disc Golf Center.

From the challenge perspective: the course has fairways that are the appropriate width for the length of shots required. There is a good variety in distance and shot shape that requires many different discs/types of shots.

There are several "fast" greens with the baskets on slopes and/or near drop-off's that make putting and approaching more dynamic.

Some of the holes are among the most unique and interesting anywhere. Hole 18, in particular is one of the best holes in disc golf. That hole is a 780 ft. par 5 that starts with a drive down and across a ravine, before turning sharply uphill for the next 500 ft. The fairway narrows considerably approaching the basket. It's a great par 5 in that an eagle 3 is possible for the big-big arms, a birdie 4 is desired, but not easy, and 6+ is definitely a possibility following bad shots and/or excessive greed.

Course management is paramount for scoring well. While power comes in handy throughout the course, it is not necessary to have huge D to score well on this track. A 350 ft. thrower could win the Open division.

Much of the course has shade cover from the large tree canopies. The trees themselves are beautiful. For such a huge course, the staff has done an amazing job of prepping the grounds, The hills and valleys make for many pretty vistas and fun shots.
Cons: While this course is nearly flawless, it does have a few opportunities.

At present, there are only gold-level tees. This course is way too beautiful and awesome not to be enjoyed by players of all abilities. I certainly hope that two more sets of cement tees are added at some point in the near future.

There are a couple squirrelly routing situations, with a couple holes crowding each other unnecessarily on such a big piece of property. In particular, hole 16's tee is only 20 ft. from the edge of hole 17's fairway.

Holes 11-13 crowd each other and are an odd stretch of 3 short par 3's in the middle of a massive course. Also, hole 11's basket isn't visible from hole 11's tee, but hole 13's basket is.

Hole 12 is somewhat of a random-luck hole as many discs come into the side of a hill, with some getting "parked" and some rolling into the ditch that may or may not have OB water. A winding ditch with random puddles of water is not a good hazard. I guess the problem could be fixed by making any water in the ditch casual.

Hole 3 is either just plain silly or not done. The tee sign says 440 ft., par 4, but the hole is a classic luck-luck-dink-dink tweaner. I play the hole by standing and flicking a Roc and then standing and throwing a putter. 75% of the time my tee shot lands clean and it's an easy upshot for a tap-in 3, but 25% of the time the disc gets a funky deflection or bad landing that causes it to roll into the OB ravine. No difference in shot quality, just dumb luck. The hole could be fixed and become an interesting par 3 by cutting a tight, direct route to the basket and taking out some of the "pimp" trees on the existing route. Then a decision could be made on the tee to go for the risky deuce route or play the dink-dink par route sans the luck-luck.
Other Thoughts: Find a way to get to the IDGC! It is absolutely worth any length of trip. The courses, the park, the museum, and the friendly PDGA staff make this an absolute must-visit for all disc golfers.

Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Par 4 Golf: Yummy Yummy Yummy!

2-4    5/31/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 126  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is Disc GOLF. Requires a full arsenal of left, right and straight shots at a variety of power ranges. Optimal landing zones demand precise control of 150' to 400+' tee shots, with multiple routes to many of the baskets. The front nine is long and challenging, and places a premium on long (350+) drives with tight landing zones for setting up the next shot. The back nine features a stretch of deucable holes with fast greens and a nearby creek that require mostly straight finesse shots with the proper length and landing angle, and scores can range from 1 to 5+. Do not relax, or this course will eat you alive! You must execute the shot with the next shot in mind, and when you get in trouble you have to be creative, play smart and minimize damage. I could play endless rounds at this course, since shots that land a few feet apart can require completely different lines of attack. This is a great course for top level pros. I highly recommend visiting the IDGC for some serious DG.
Cons: Multiple tee pads would help make this course accessible to the older or less advanced players who cannot throw 350+ with control. Several fairways along the creek on the back nine are very close together which can result in waits, but the land is so pretty along this stretch that it is worth it (provided it is not raining heavily). Don't forget the bug spray, as there are ticks and horse flies.
Other Thoughts: I look forward to returning every two years for the Hall of Fame Classic, which is a wonderful tournament held at the IDGC. The three courses are amazing. I wish I was 20 again so I could enjoy attacking these courses for years to come!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 B = Be too long for me!

1    6/18/2008   4/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
7 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- A
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

7 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/4/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: Marc B.
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome! True par 4's and 5's on a championship layout. Requires skill, endurance and smart shot selection. #8 (I think?) is a monster of a hole! Course plays through thick woods and in and around ravines and creeks which hold running water when levels are high.
Cons: I've only kept it under 70 once (68) and I felt damn good about it. Not the courses fault though. Not much forgiveness. Can be punishing! I played this course in heavy, heavy rain for one of the monthly''s and the elements were brutal. I felt like Survivorman. The IDGC is still fairly new and the courses are slowly but surely taking shape. more seating and better signage would be a plus.
Other Thoughts: If you live in GA or anywhere near it, and have not gone to the IDGC, what the hellare you waiting for?

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Challange

1    1/22/2009   1/22/2009
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 19.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A true championship caliber course, fun and challanging holes. Well marked.
Cons: The course flow and the proximity of several holes close together really hurt this design. On the surface each hole is well thought up of, and is correct given the nature of the course. However, several holes are too close together and make play 'clunky', obtrusive, and out of sequence. Namely these holes would be #6, and #'s 12-17.

My next con would be that there is not a lot of gray areas on the course , and that if you miss landing zones often you only choice is to do a short pitch-out. I also noticed that some of the landing zones require shots of well over 300+ ft to be near the next turn of the hole.
Other Thoughts: This course is a good course, NO, a great course. However it seems that some of the holes are too close for comfort. At the IDGC it is my least favorite course...but I still like it.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Incredible

1    11/25/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: rnance7
Played: 71  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The most physically demanding course ive ever played...semi-open course which meanders throughout woods and a creek marked OB...very very long..contains true par 4s and 5s which is really cool.
Cons: no benches on any hole..like i said above, this course is extremely long, and to have no benches really wears you out.
Other Thoughts: Very fun, and its at a great facility in the IDGC

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.