Appling, GA 
IDGC - WR Jackson Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 241ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Floyd Mayweather of Disc Golf Courses

1    7/24/2015   7/24/2015
Review By: prerube
Played: 234  Reviewed: 215  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a top notch Gold Course. There are very few courses that have this level of challenge and even less with a distance of over 9,000 feet.

Nice signage, good concrete tees, top notch baskets, signs to guide you to the next tee.

Map on Kiosk as well as paper maps and score cards available.

11 holes over 500 feet.

Lots of elevation and variety. This course will require every shot in your arsenal. Multiple lines on every hole, but you need to be able to hit one of those lines.

Facility Pros:
Air conditioned lounge where you can watch disc golf on a flat screen while you rest.
Pro shop that sells a wide variety of discs, clothes, and even saved my round by selling Advil.
Vending Machine that dispenses 38 degree drinks.
2 other courses on site
Disc Golf Museum.
Cons: Course was designed for one level of player with no options for lower levels. This is not a course you are going to bring a group of buddies to on a road trip unless your buddies are all 950 rated players.

Course started with a single concrete pad covered in sand.

The grass was getting very high on the fairway and the rough is not very forgiving.

The walk from 7 to 8 was pretty long.

Hole 11 was my only duece, and it was an accident. I was aiming at the visable 13 basket and faded too early to park hole 11.

Flow struggled a little between 9 and 10. Hole 10 is in the middle of the back yard,
Other Thoughts: This course was like sparring with Floyd Mayweather. You know you are going to get your butt kicked, but you are just glad to be in the ring enjoying the few good hits you can sneak in. Hole 8 was one of the hardest holes I played, then Hole 10 made me think maybe that was the hardest hole. 14 was crazy too and 18 finishes with a 716 foot heavily wooded uphill shot.

If the grass were mowed I might be persuaded to give this course a 4.5.

This course rivals any other courses longest layouts. Top level players will be in heaven here. Recreational players will need to bring a lap counter to keep track of their score.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Most Challenging Course at the IDGC

5+    9/21/2014   7/4/2015
Review By: Discette
Played: 280  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 19 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had the honor of playing this course at the Tim Selinske US Masters in 2010 and again for the United States Women's Disc Golf Championships. This is the longest and most challenging course at the IDGC.


I used bullet points for those that don't want to read the entire review.

Pros

IDGC -Worth the Trip
IDGC is a disc golf destination with three excellent disc golf courses on site. The IDGC houses the PDGA headquarters, Pro Shop and Disc Golf museum. Players can pick up custom discs and shirts in the pro shop. There is a large warm up area and putting green of the back deck of the IDGC building. Fun and amazing place to warm up before the epic rounds begin. The WR Jackson course is the longest of the three courses.

Par 69
This is a beautiful and challenging Par 69 Championship course. The best part of the design is that it requires placement shots from players off the tee and on the fairway. If you are playing more than one course at the IDGC, plan to play this course when you are fresh as it is long and requires a lot of energy.

Two Nines
I love that the front and back nine both start from next to the IDGC building. This means you can stop by your car or the Pro shop on your way from 9 to 10. Or you can start the round on Hole 10 and play the back nine first. It is great to be able to take a small break between nines.

Multiple Routes
This really is a thinking man's course. Many of the holes have divided fairways. Players can choose if they would like to traverse the hole to the left, right, or the middle. Multiple fairways adds to the challenge as the more times you play the course, the more you are tempted to try the alternate routes.

Exclusive to Disc Golf
As with all courses at the IDGC, the course is reserved just for disc golf. You never have to worry about some random jogger, dog walker or picnicker in your fairway. If you see anyone but a disc golfer on the course, one of you is lost.

Wooded and hilly
This course is the most wooded of the three. However, it does have nice open wide grassy fairways on most of the holes. The rolling terrain means there are elevation changes on many of the holes. This course is really a great use of the land and highlights the beauty. You feel miles away from the world while playing here.

Water Holes
There are no lake holes on WR Jackson, but water can come into play from the small stream winding through the course. Players should have no problem retrieving discs that go into the creek, unless it just rained and the water is high.

DISCatchers, Signs and Benches
There are signs on all tees with basic graphics and hole information. Many of the holes also have benches. Hole 8 has a really nice shelter area. This course uses DISCatcher Targets. The yellow band on the targets makes them easy to spot in the woods.

Restrooms
IDGC has restrooms while open. The course is heavily wooded, so there are plenty of opportunities for privacy during the round.

Parking - First Tee
The IDGC has a large parking area. Follow the signs for disc golf when you enter. You should be able to spot a target or two on your way in. . Park on the left side of the lot so you can stop by the car from 9 to 10. The first tee for WRJackson is behind the IDGC on the left side of the practice area.

Worth the entry fee
The courses are free to play, but the park has a daily entry fee per vehicle. A small price to pay to enjoy such an epic disc golf experience.
Cons: Championship Course
As mentioned by others, the stretch of holes from 11 to 13 seem quite out of place. This is a premier Championship Level course and IMHO, this stretch is not to that level. These holes are also randomly punitive in tournament play. Casual players do not have to play the creek and across as OB for more enjoyment.

Routing
There are a couple of long and potentially confusing walks during the round.

Guardian Trees
I am not of fan of guardian trees. Many holes on WRJ have a group of tree surrounding or among the 10 meter putting circle. This means you finally get down a 600 or 700 foot hole, only to find a couple of trees guarding the route to the target.

Other Thoughts: Pay to Play
While the courses are actually free to play, you do have to pay a fee to enter the park. The entry fee is well worth it.

Worth the trip
Some things are worth repeating. The IDGC is worth the trip. You get to experience three top notch courses in a top notch facility. Everything you would expect in a disc golf destination.

Lake with Camping
The park has a lake with day use areas, beaches, boat ramps and overnight camping. There are several campground areas available with many spots right on the lake. You can go swimming off Hole Holes 4 and 5 on the Steady Ed course in search of your lost discs.

IDGC is a 5 disc destination and the challenge and setting of WR Jackson is 5. The amenities and experience are all 5 discs. This course earns a 4.5 as it just misses the highest mark.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Put on your Big Boy Pants...

1    4/2/2015   4/2/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 3.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is considered the most difficult of the three at the IDGC, and I agree. It is crazy long, with an average hole length of over 500' and a course par of 69. I didn't time my round, but wouldn't be surprised if I was out there for three hours.


What sets this course apart from most others is the excellent design of the par 4 and par 5 holes. These are not just stretched out par 3's, but rather holes that require a drive to a specific landing area to properly set you up for your next shot. Cranking out 400' drives isn't going to get you anything if you cannot hit your line. Better a modest, but accurate drive than a long one out into the trees.

Many of the holes offer two or even three different lines to play. Having a choice of BH or FH adds interest to many of the shots.

Like the other courses, good level concrete tee pads with perfect texture. The usual excellent John Houck signs with accurate hole diagrams, routes to the basket, etc. Baskets are all in good shape and catch well. And plenty of "next tee" signs to aid navigation.

The course is set up so that you loop back to the parking lot/pro shop after Hole 9. This is handy if you need to pick up additional discs, water or a snack.

The forest in which the course is built is a beautiful plot of land. The various courses are separated from the rest of the park, and you feel like you're alone in the woods while playing.
Cons: The only thing that keeps this course from being a 5 for me is the lack of "something else", like water or significant elevation. The Steady Ed course has some great water holes, and the Warner course offers plenty of elevation. This course lacks either of those elements.

The other potential "con" for some folks is that this is a tough course, plain and simple. If you don't enjoy a challenge I'd suggest skipping it and playing the other two.
Other Thoughts: Great pro shop on site, along with the PDGA museum and hall of fame. The location itself (Wildwood Park) is a great place to camp. We spent four nights here and enjoyed ourselves.

The modest fee to play ($3 a day for PDGA members) is more than fair, considering how nice these courses are.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

9325ft

1    1/19/2015   1/24/2015
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 120  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jackson is LONG and wooded. Coming in at 9325 this course is probably the longest of the 100+ courses I have played. It really challenges your physical game as well as your mental game. Most courses that set out to be "Long" end up with poor hole design which equates to less fun DG. This is not the case for Jackson. Houck's design is fantastic and a lot of thought appears to be put into every tree.

While Warner had the thick rough where you essentially add a stroke every time you get off the fairway, Jackson was a little more forgiving. While the rough here is definitely a tough out you still have the opportunity to save a stroke in most cases.

I loved the gulleys and creeks winding through the back 9 that add to both the challenge and the beauty on many holes.

There are so many fantastic holes on this course that it really is impossible to pick just one. My personal favorites would be holes 1,5, and 12.
Cons: I believe that the length of this course is both a pro and a con. It does not tailor to newer players, that's for sure and will even leave experienced players wondering why they still play this sport. It gets a little daunting when every other hole is 500+. Hole 10 is a beast.

Navigation gets a little tricky after hole 9. It leads you to two paths, one leading to the club house and the other back to hole 1 and it isn't immediately obvious where to go. A little sign is needed pointing you past hole 1's tee pad.

While the clubhouse is fantastic complete with museum and pro shop, I really wish there was more in the realm of food options. There is nothing out here and you are really in trouble if you brought no snacks. I think a food truck here would make bank.
Other Thoughts: This was the best $3 I have ever spent. $3 to play 3 incredible courses it really doesn't get any better than that. If you're serious about disc golf, you need to make a trip out to the IDGC!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

One of the best of the best

5+    10/30/2014   12/30/2014
Review By: Pbmercil
Played: 39  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've played some beastly courses in my 10 years in the game. There very few courses on the planet that can compete with Jackson's length and difficulty, and of that elite crop of courses I'll take Jackson over the field. This is the best monster course I've ever played. The fairways are decently sized, while still punishing poor throws. The rough is a pain and will make you scramble, without wishing you'd have brought a machete. Most of the other championship level courses have at least one hole that made me say "No effing way... this is impossible". Jackson is challenging but fair from 1 to 18. This is the one course I've played that I can't pick out a signature hole, because so many of them are so good. (1! 2! 5! 8! ...I give up)

I can't rave enough about Houck's design of this course. It is virtually perfect. Every tree is there for a reason. Almost every shot has multiple approaches, with a risk/reward factor that will make you question how much fairway you really want to bite off every throw. Blind guardians are frequently lurking around corners to punish guys who want to bomb, but the more you lay up the longer it'll take to get to the bucket.

This courses is heavy on the par 4's and 5's, which is a direction I love that the sport is heading it. Even the 6 par 3's are not easy by any stretch of the imagination.

Speaking of par 3's, I like the 3 in a row aspect of 11,12,13. It makes for a really nice change of pace from all the big holes to have multiple tee shots in a row that you can get to the basket in 1. Especially coming off of the monster #10, throwing midranges from the tee for a bit is welcomed respite.

This would normally be the part of the review where I single out particularly nice holes I haven't mentioned yet, but they're all great.... so.... yeah.

The facilities and amenities at the IDGC are great, as is the fact that you can get a classic golf style pre back nine break back at the club house. Refill your water bottles before teeing off on 10, you're gonna need it!
Cons: I only have 2 incredibly minor nitpicks.

1) Hole 10 is very close to too hard. Having the teebox 100 feet back from the already challenging fairway tunnel makes getting off the tee brutally difficult. Even the professionals struggle mightily with this tee shot. Its already a beast, the tee being set so far back makes it cruel and unusual punishment.

2) the 11-13 cycle is a shooting gallery during tournaments. I love these holes during casual round, but it sucks when there are 12+ people piled in that small area.
Other Thoughts: If you can't throw at least 300 feet accurately with control (350+ would be better) this is NOT the course for you, and I don't think you'd have much fun.

Pack lots of water, snacks, bug spray, ect. This is a lot of golf and it will wear you out. My buddy and I have a rule: No Jackson on Sundays, because we can barely make it through work on Monday.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

So good that Chuck Norris wears WR Jackson pajamas

1    8/5/2014   8/14/2014
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 203  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2015
29 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: WR Jackson is a whole new level of disc golf course than I've played before. Take a great course, make everything bigger, and you have this course.
- From the first shot off the first tee until the final putt, this is as close to 18 great holes as I've played. The first 10 holes is the best stretch of holes I've yet to play. Things only slow down for several holes before picking up for a challenging stretch.
- The best way I can describe this course is that it's a great course that is then expanded by 50%. For example, two very good to great courses I've played are Hornets Nest (in Charlotte), which plays at 6100 feet and Fox Chase (in Albemarle, NC), at 6500 feet. Stretch those out by about 50% and you have WR Jackson at 9300 feet.
- To its credit, Jackson doesn't feel like a killer long course. The fairways are, for the most part, wide enough that you can pull out driver and attack this course. The course lets you be aggressive without penalizing shots that are less than perfect. You see this displayed on hole #8, the longest at the IDGC at 916 feet. The course has a split fairway, while giving you plenty of room to chop it down to size.
- Plenty of chances to make up for mistakes here. One of the benefits of having so many par 4s is that you can still salvage par even with one poor shot. On hole #4, a 642 foot, winding fairway hole, I played a perfect tee shot, my best at the IDGC, uncorking one in the 350 - 375 range. Don't worry. I'm not bragging. That's also the number I bench. That shot was followed by a dud that smacked a tree 125 feet down the fairway. I was still able to salvage par with a good up and down, thanks to this being a par 4.
- Course takes great advantage of the terrain. #5 is an awesome looking, but somewhat intimidating tee shot. It's a downhill, 631 foot, dogleg right. Don't worry, there's an even more intimidating tee shot on the back 9. #15 is a tight fairway to land on this 524 foot, par 4. From there you have an uphill shot to the basket.
- One of the best things I can say about this course is that it's tough but fair. I've played tough courses where it seems the designer was just trying to stroke his ego, making holes and pin placements comically tough. This course almost penalizes shots that are too cautious. In that vein, this is a course clearly aimed at experienced players, not one for the faint of arm. Or noodle-armed. Or one-disc owner. Whereas Warner is a mental and physical grind, I could enjoy this course while playing it.
- I enjoy the station-to-station hole layouts on this course. By that I mean there are holes that you want to hit a certain distance to set up your next hole, often on doglegs. You get a good sense of this on #2, a 499 foot dogleg right, #17, a 512, uphill dogleg right and #18, a 716 foot, par 5, multi-station-to-station layout.
- There are plenty of benches throughout this course. You'll need them quite often throughout the round. Also, these are the best tee signs, and most useful of any of the IDGC courses.
Cons: The biggest con, and it's relatively minor, is the three-hole stretch of #11 - 13. They're the three shorts holes on the course, all between 238 - 285 feet. All three have the same basic vibe to them - wooded and tight gaps to hit. Maybe because they were clumped so close together, and were all in a row, they felt a little repetitive. Ideally they would be spread out a little more, and not in such in such a tight awkward loop. They feel like they had to be squeezed in between #10 and 14, so they jump clumped them together.
- There were two long transitions and places where it could get easy to turn around. Going from #2 to 3, you go past #7, and then from #7 to 8, you (naturally) go back past #2. The hardest hole to find was #3, simply because it seemed to need another 'next tee' sign or two.
- This is going to be a copy and paste comment for all three IDGC courses. The overall difficult of the courses, terrain and elements are going to be a negative for some players. Basically, if you're not a good enough player, you should not play here. Know what you're getting into before you tackle this three-headed monster.
- Another copy and paste note. These courses probably present a higher than normal 'lost disc' factor. For errant throws, be prepared to spend considerable time searching or be prepared that you might lose a disc or two while playing.
- Final copy and paste note. Be prepared when playing. Pack plenty of food, water, bug spray and other essentials. You can purchase some items inside the center. Besides that there's one gas station a mile from the park. After that, it's another 15 minutes back towards Augusta and restaurants, gas stations, etc.
Other Thoughts: There are courses one plays when you can tell it's something great. I've only played a couple that seemed like they have access to the VIP room. Jackson is part of that club.
- This course seems like it's so effortlessly great. You see Usain Bolt blow past the field in a 100m race, and it seems like he's not running hard. Courses like Renny, Stoney Hill and Sugaree are great (and are also in the VIP room), but those are all grinders. If a course could seem great without appearing to try too hard, this is it.
- There are about five or six holes on this course that would probably be the signature hole on a majority of courses. At Jackson, a couple of those are nearly forgotten.
- This course wasn't the most challenging, and didn't have to be. I really enjoyed that pars were all tough, but fair expectations. For the intermediate-level player that I am, getting par after par was a good thing. It beat the alternative.
- It goes without saying that the IDGC is a must play, must visit for any serious disc golfer. While the museum, shop and other courses are all great, this was the highlight of my visit.
- Jackson did seem to have the best mix of everything on any course I've played to date. I've played courses that were more fun, courses that were more challenging, courses that were more scenic and courses that had other small aspects that were better. Despite all of that, this seemed like the best overall course I've played. It's the new standard bearer in my book.

29 of 30 people found this review helpful.

A step in the right direction

2-4    8/12/2013   1/12/2014
Review By: Highway Bill
Played: 65  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a step in the right direction for many reasons. John Houck is responsible for easily the strongest design on the IDGC grounds and clearly has his finger on the pulse of the future of disc golf course design.
Lucky for me, I was in the area for a wedding last summer and was able to visit the IDGC for an extended afternoon. As a dg lifer, I was pretty excited at the prospect of playing these courses and seeing the museum. I'd been following the development of the facility online for years and was anxious to see the finished product for the 1st time.
The museum was certainly small but cool at the same time. It was great seeing the first golf discs and Steady Ed's Tribute. Also, Stevie's statue delivers.
I started my day on the Steady Ed course but that only lasted for about 5 or 6 holes as the "fairways" were riddled with trees and near impossible, flukey gaps. I wasn't having it.
I quickly made my way to WR Jackson and found what I was looking for.
This is the best course I've played thus far. It's well balanced, safe, and fair but it goes far beyond that. This course represents the next level of disc golf course design. Par 4's and 5's outnumber par 3's to create a challenge worthy of carrying the name "golf". I think it was a shame they couldn't squeak a par 70 out of this track but that aside, this course was a pure joy to play.
For the most part, the fairways are ample and on many occasions, offer options of attack. The landing zones are quite generous and I feel like they really nailed the correct proportions and distances for the blue/gold level player. The tee boxes, signs, and baskets are all top notch and the bridges that span the creek crossings add a touch that helps elevate this place from excellent to memorable. This course is a must play! I can only hope designs like this become the norm in the future. Golf is not a par 3 game. It's nice to see that concept recognized and a solid design executed.

Cons: There aren't many cons to speak of. WR Jackson delivered on many levels. That being said, holes 11-13 don't belong on this course (at least not together). This series of holes represents a weak link in the design. These holes are sub 300' par 3's and feel like they were all kinda stuffed here because the builders were running short on space. Hole 13 really isn't a bad hole but after playing 11 and 12, it just seemed redundant. This may sound nit-picky but this series of holes was kind of a sore thumb on an otherwise delightful course.
Other Thoughts: Aside from the problem of holes 11-13, the only way to improve this course would be to add lower level tee boxes, add multiple pin placements, and shape greens for added challenge. Overall, very well done indeed!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

promise delivered

1    12/26/2013   12/28/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 239  Reviewed: 235  Exp: 4.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: the day I visited the IDGC, I woke up at 6:30. I didn't need to leave for several hours but the anticipation kept me from returning to sleep. It would be cliche to liken the experience to Christmas morning but in this case it was, in fact, the day after Christmas. It's a long drive to Appling, GA. It seems like it's a long drive to the Augusta area from anywhere. Then you take that left off the main park road, catch a glimpse of a few baskets and even before you park, you see the gates. Jim Warner. Ed Headrick. WR Jackson. Intoxicating.

I managed a few throws at the putting green before the lure of the gates called me and I walked into WR Jackson. The view from the first tee makes an impressive promise. A long, tough hole. A wooded, clearly-defined fairway bending to the left. Trees interspersed along said path to the basket. Tree-lined rough that will definitely force a pitch-out but isn't that nasty to walk through.

The rest of the course delivers on the promise. This is a long, tough course. At over 9000 feet in distance from tee to target and plenty of space between holes, the walk along can be grueling for the unprepared. These fairways are wide enough to offer different lines to the basket, but narrow enough so that it will be a challenge to consistently keep it in-bounds. True par-fours, with doglegs at the appropriate points and multiple opportunities to choose the right or left route to the basket.

Many of the fairways have trees in the middle here, and this is something I usually dislike. Often mid-fairway trees can introduce randomness to the outcome of drives. Not so here. These trees are spread out enough, and thick enough that all can be seen and lines can be carved around them. It makes the course tougher, but it in a fun, challenging way, not in an aggravating way.

While many of the holes maintain a similar look, the third hole introduces the ravine. It's a small creek that was dry when I was there. It winds through several of the shorter holes and on 3 it bends so that you pass over it twice on the way to the pin. Dry or wet, you don't want to land down there, as it's a hazardous climb and it's OB as well. It adds a aesthetically pleasing challenge to several holes and they're some of the best on the course. As much as this course boasts length, it's the shorter holes that often have the most ingenuity. 13 is probably my favorite. Over the ravine/creek and hang right all the way to the basket.

There may not be a standout hole here, but I think the way that 1 sets the tone for the rest of the round is enough to make it the signature hole here. With the anticipation provided by those amazing gates, its great to settle into a hole that represents just what the rest of WR Jackson will provide.
Cons: That said, it's hard not to compare it to Rock Ridge Park, the only other Houck design that I've played, and I feel that it didn't quite live up to the newer course. The terrain was probably better here but it wasn't carved through as exquisitely as at the course I'd experienced previously. I freely admit, however, that specific imperfect is not much of a con.

A slightly bigger issue is the flow. The hole-to-hole flow is a little out of whack here, and though there were plenty of naigational aids in place(except, oddly, at the place they were most needed, the 2-3 and 7-8 jumble) it still takes away from the pure enjoyment. And again, it's hard not to compare it to Rock Ridge which, unfinished, flows intuitively without map or sign.

And as much as I like the ravine, maximizing it's use means that the OB area for some holes is the fairway or green for others. This is particularly an issue for 15 and 16. It also creates the situation where unless you have eagle eyes that can read the numbers on the basket from a hundred yards away, you will likely target the 13 basket when teeing off on 11.
Other Thoughts: This course is not for the novice, and it is clearly intended for upper-echelon players, but I do feel that it is very playable for rec players of some experience. It will not be easy. They will be sorely tested, and likely worn out. But they should enjoy their time, and won't be too frustrated.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

WOWWY!

1    10/22/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 7.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As most people have said this course along with all the other courses on this land have the basics plus. Great Signs, Lots of benches, huge practice area, pro shop, grills before the course, maps/scorecards for all the courses and a power aid vending machine.

But lets get to WR Jackson

I will start with saying this I played doubles on this course and as a very bad REC player this may be to much of a course for me to play by myself.

Of all the long courses I have played, this one is the most fair, without being easy. There are multiple looks on almost all holes, and a good amount of short to help make things go well.

A good amount of Benches around the hole course.

Disc Catcher baskets with the charity belt, although not my favorite, still great baskets. Also they have next tee pointers on the bottom of all baskets.

A huge Pavilion (I forgot which hole, but I am pretty sure it's half way through the course)

This place is groomed to a tee, all courses here are groomed, and groomed well. They are all truly gold level courses.

Elevation on some of these holes were probably my favorite use of it over all.
Cons: Playing solo as a rec player makes this course very hard.

Not very many trash cans.
Other Thoughts: This course was by far the best over all course on the land to me. It's long, but fair, good short holes and a lot of great stuff. I can understand how others may not like it, but I think all three of the courses on the land are good in there own way, and two people who play the exact same, may think that others are better or worse.

Once again no drinking here, but that isn't a huge deal.

Camping close by in the same park.


The IDGC is worth coming to from anywhere. Great Pro Shop, and all three courses are of the Gold Caliber.
______________________________________
If you do not like my review, please give me a PM on what I can improve. Thanks!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Enter the Beast

2-4    6/26/2013   10/19/2013
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.3 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Huge teepads that are all equal and wonderful. Something that you'll find on each course out here.

DiscCatchers are on this course and they are all in excellent shape, it only seems fitting that the toughest of the three courses also provides you with a ringing sound of failure if you're a bit high on your putts.

An amazing amount of shot variety, close to what I would consider a perfect balance of up, down, left and right.

It's beautiful. Although I'd say Steady is the prettiest due to the water, all three of these are really lovely. Some of that Appalachian Beauty a la Dave242.

After you wrap up 9, you're right back at the clubhouse for a possible break,snack,drink, what have you, and you may want it if you're playing all three in one day.

Due to the length of this course it is extremely nice and appreciated to have excellent signage to help with your shot selection and also benches on every hole, huge plus.
Cons: To me, it's just not the most fun I've had on a course, it's probably not even in the top half in that regard. I'm a blue level player and this is a gold level course. I could still shoot even or maybe one or two better on a really, really good day but it won't ever be easy, which is where the "Other Thoughts" come into play.

Other Thoughts: This is an extremely rewarding course. If you're playing well you will probably be smiling a lot and having a great time. It is also very tough, but extremely fair.

Playing Steady Ed from the longs is more fitting for my skill level, which is probably why I enjoyed that course so much more. I'm an intermediate to advanced type player and Jackson is a beast. You will need to have distance, you will need to be accurate, but it is completely do-able to score well here.

Regardless of this course being challenging, it is still excellent. The layout is damn near perfect and you can't ask for much more in that sense, especially with two other great courses on the property.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.