Yucaipa, CA 
Yucaipa Regional Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: RYFLE Hole #17 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / --   3 / 204ft.   3 / 204ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Crowded park

1    1/18/2013   2/27/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 755  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nicely groomed multi-use park. The fairways were maintained beautifully, and the tees and baskets were in nice shape. There is a nice mix of some more open shots with some reasonably technical holes. Most of the shots have at least some trees in play to avoid, creative line shaping skills are definitely needed to score low here. It felt pretty balanced between left and right turning shots with lots of straight holes.

There is tricky OB on a lot of holes here, with roads, a drainage ditch and the ponds in play. I liked the handful of holes around the ponds, they all offered the risk of going in the water but none forced you to carry water if you didn't want to take the risk. I especially liked the pin placement on top of the spillway, to get an ace or birdie you had to throw across the water, but the bailout option was readily available for those who wanted a safe par.
Cons: There are a lot of potential conflicts here between disc golf and other park uses. Fishing is popular along the ponds, so there were people to avoid on all the water holes when I played. Many other holes play right next to or even over shelters, picnic areas and other park features. The roads are in play way too much for my taste.

The layout is a little tricky in spots, make sure to print or pull up the course map as there is no signage on the holes. The distances don't have a ton of variety, and with no rough most holes end up feeling a bit similar without a ton of punishment for missing your line. Line shaping will help here, but it's open enough that you can get by with a pretty limited arsenal of different shots.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, especially if you can play it at a time when other park users aren't as prevalent. Beginners might find some of the water holes a little intimidating, but otherwise it's a very approachable course. Experienced players won't find this course terribly challenging, but it does have some fun shots and is worth a stop.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Big Fun

1    3/13/2012   1/17/2013
Review By: Corvallischarlie
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 32.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Wide open, only couple of chances to loss your disc. Good challenges, some technical holes as well. During the mid-week in Winter not a lot of people around.
Cons: Could be difficult to play if the park is busy. Some holes play over or around parked cars. Some holes play near park benches and other public places that could prevent a fun experience.
Other Thoughts: Not a lot a privacy for safety meetings

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good course in a nice park.

1    12/24/2011   12/24/2011
Review By: CBass
Played: 80  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park with lots of trees and holes placed fairly well within established obstacles. OB difficulty surrounds most holes to keep things interesting. Water comes into play on a few holes as well. Several small elevation changes to navigate. Lots of shade to hide in during hot days.
Cons: Traversing the course was a challenge for a first timer as the map provided from the gatehouse was quite inaccurate. The last few holes seemed to be mislabeled or had a hole missing. Could be that we were just missing something.
Other Thoughts: Obviously it takes funds and a lot of effort to build and maintain a course, That being said, with an updated map, course signage, and OB designations, this course could be much better. Don't let this steer you away because it is definitely worth playing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/29/2011   2/1/2011
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course maps, large concrete tee pads with # stamped, new baskets, Variety of challenging pin placements, Water hazards, well maintained grounds, Restrooms, Water and other amenities.
Cons: Fee of $10 weekends and $7 for weekdays and $2 to walk-in. No tee signs and Public safety hazards throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: : The course terrain ranges from open flat manicured grass to steep tunnels offering challenging +/- in elevation and water hazards. This course is laid out inside a county park with picnic areas, parking lots, walking paths, horseshoe pits and service roads winding through normally having theses amenities would be an asset to a course, unfortunately here they border or interfere with the tee pads, fairways and basket locations. With the exception of holes #7, #15, #16 all other poses a possible hazard to the public. For instance basket #17 has been removed due to the threat of flying disc hitting someone. I experienced an incident where a family that was using the picnic area in the fairway of hole #13. They had kids and I walked down towards them to warn them and a lady was just furious that I was just warning them instead of teeing off from a different location. She said,"My grandchild was almost hit in the head with a disc by the previous disc golfers."That is why I am warning you" was my reply. They threatened to sue me if I hit their kids. I teed off and they packed up and left.
I recently camped for a weekend here and enjoyed the clean amenities the park has to offer. Fishing is also on-site in their weekly stocked ponds of 1000 lbs. of trout. The water slide park was not open at the time nor was the paddle boats available these are seasonal.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging Yet Frustrating

2-4    9/18/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: biggdaddyrik
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 27.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a great challenge. Lots of trees, hills and even a nice big water hazard. I enjoyed it much more this second time around.
Cons: I learned an important lesson the first time I played or attempted to play this course. DO NOT attempt to play this course on Labor Day weekend, even first thing in the morning. Overflow parking allows #3 tee pad to be covered by cars. #4 is unplayable due to the big picnic area right in between the tee and pin. #5 tee pad becomes a place for people to hang their hammock. #6 gets skipped due to all of the people fishing on the little dock and along the shore. The map of the course that you can get when you enter the park needs to be updated. hole 19 was eliminated and #17 and #18 were moved up. Unfortunately as a first timer on the course you can only figure that out by taking a hike to figure it out. The lack of some sort of sign at the tee pads made it difficult to find them in the tall grass also.
Other Thoughts: Knowing WHEN and WHAT TIME to play this course will help keep it more fun than disappointing. My second round there was today and we made it through the whole 18. It was fun. Going right when they open is the optimal time.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/17/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful mountainside course. Good baskets and cement tee pads (with hole number, a nice touch). Some holes offer challenging drives through low hanging trees (8,9,12). Hole 5 is a fun drive down a hill. Hole 6 is a challenging water hole drive. Lots of wildlife, including squirrels and birds (including a heron and a bluebird while I was there).
Cons: Holes near roads are poorly designed (1, 3, 10). Occasionally others in park can be in the way, though they were nice enough to let me pass. Basket for Hole 17 is missing. When is this course open or closed, anyway?
Other Thoughts: A nice inland California course that's worth a look.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.