Yucaipa, CA 
Yucaipa Regional Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: RYFLE Hole #10 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / --   3 / 211ft.   3 / 211ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course

1    1/10/2013   5/21/2014
Review By: The_Warwolf
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautifully maintained course with an excellent variety of shots. Challenging elevation changes (both uphill and downhill), over water shots, wide open bombs, wooded throws. This place has it all.
Cons: There weren't any park goers when I was there but I could see that being an issue.
Other Thoughts: Costs a few bucks to get in the park but well worth it. Beautiful course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

March Outing

1    3/8/2014   3/11/2014
Review By: Oruatyrim
Played: 61  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2014
Pros: -There is definitely a good mixture of hole types. It's a good place to work on all types of shots from rollers, flicks, backhands, anhyzers, thumbers, and even opportunities to work on scrambling out of the woods should your shot not go as intended.
-The majority of holes aren't designed to specifically be played any one way and have a few options when choosing your line.
-Beautiful scenery and a lot to take in while you're there.
-Baskets and Teepads were in good condition and properly labeled as to what hole they were for.
-Map provided at the park entrance for being able to navigate the course easily.
-Once inside the park there is plenty of parking available near holes 1,2,3,4,9,10,11,19. So even if you can't park near hole #1, it's easy to start on a hole that you park near since the entire course loops around into itself!
-Bathrooms and trash cans are available within every 2-3 holes.
Cons: -Payment is just to get into the park itself. Pay to play is always a con in my book if the fees aren't directly going to course upkeep and improvement.
-The course map provided at the entrance to the park wasn't completely accurate and caused some confusion when navigating the course in the hole 17/18 area. Plus it only lists 18 holes, when there are 19 holes on the course.
-Even for a cool Saturday at the begining of March, holes 12-17 were crowded and the fairways were being used for other park activities.
-While the layout of 15/16/17/18 is very well selected and the terrain is also nicely used; I think it was just mean to design that many holes in a row throwin up the steep hill, just to walk back down to the next tee-pad! ;p
Other Thoughts: The issue that people are having when navigating through the course at hole 17 is probably due the fact pin 17 is missing, AND the park entrance map/scorecard provided only has18 holes on it. Also, the distances on that scorecard for each hole are extremely off. It should be updated with the current .GIF map provided on this site. You are much better off printing off a scorecard and map from this site instead of trying to use their maps. That way you can still easily locate the pins even when they are in alternate positions, much like they were the day I went out to play.

Not really a 'con' but I didn't see any 'Caution: Flying Disc' danger signs anywhere on the course. The addition of these might help with the Disc Golfer/Park Patron relationship to help maybe not 'prevent' but at least make playing through the holes in the crowded areas easier.

Also, again not a Con, but some of the holes aren't maintained as well as they are in the pictures. 90% of them are phenominally kept up, but the other 10% just have some trimming issues around the basket to deal with (hole 16 specifically). Although this may be due the time of year and all parks in the area are just starting up their landscaping upkeep again.

Adding some Tee signs, some course maintenance, and managing a bit of the overcrowding park issues would bump my review up to a 4.0-4.5 rating. All in all it was a fun course and I look forward to playing it again a lot for the time I'm stationed out here. Plus it's nice to be able to throw on grass again instead of out on the hard sand in the desert!

Home Course

5+    3/6/2013   3/7/2013
Review By: lion
Played: 542  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 8.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. To start the course has very nice, grippy teepads that are marked by the hole numbers.
2. The course has 32 pin placements.
3. The local club and park rotate the baskets regularly, nice to see so the course doesnt get stagnate.
4. Course features many holes with elevation changes and challenges.
5. OB, lots of OB on the course that feels like a risk and reward kind of feature. 16 holes on the course have OB areas and some really test your shot selection.
6. Bathrooms are located near holes 1,2,4,8,10,11,12, and 18. So you have many chances to use it.
7. Drinking fountains are located near 4-5 holes.
8. The beautiful lakes come into play on a few holes and the scenary is amazing. Some of the best views of the mountains and valley can be seen from the course.
9. All the Innova discatchers are in good shape and solid.
10. Parking, there are around 20-30 spots near hole 1 and another 10 spots near hole 2's teepad/ hole 8's basket.
11. Course features grass fairways with plenty of tree canopys for the summertime.
12. In the spring and summer months on the weekends, the park has an employee driving around in a golf cart selling drinks and food.
13. course features two island holes that are pretty cool, especially since there back to back holes.
14. course allows you to empty your bag and throw any type of shot. from rollers to thumbers.
15. There are plenty of trash cans scattered throughout the course and this allows you to empty your bags quicker and no need to pack any trash out on this course.
16. Park also features many more ammenities like water park, fishing, hiking, camping, picnicing, and more.
Cons: 1. First noticeable thing I find bad about this course is the lack of signs to tell you where to start or go at first when entering the park.
2. No tee signs, sure the pads have numbers on them but you have no hole distances to reference or go off of.
3. No arrows or signs to follow to the next tee pads.
4. The walk from hole 1 to hole 2 can be confusing and long.
5. The walk from hole 16 to hole 17's tee pad is a design flaw.
6. The actual pad for hole 17 is there but the basket is rarely in and can be confusing to first timers at the park.
7. 19 hole course with only 18 baskets.
8. The park entrance fee can be seen as a con and pricey, especially on the weekends.
9. Hole 6 runs along the water and can be pretty crowdedattimes making the hole unplayable.
10. Park gets heavy traffic from picnicers in the spring and sumer making many holes unplayable.
11. Park doesnt limit the parking areas for the fisherman and a lot of times hole 11 will have cars park near the basket, this also occurs on hole 10 and 18.
12. There is a huge wooden board near hole 1 thats blank , this needs to be used as a sign or something to promote the disc golf course. Even if it just said disc golf start here.
13. Closest store is about 1-2 miles down the road from the course, make sure to keep your receipt if you leave the park so you dont get charged again when u come back.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course to visit and play anytime of the year. Park is really geared for all ages with all the extra ammenities. Another cool feature is the veterans life time pass for free admission into the park. I play this course all the time and feel it has been a perfect launching pad for me to winning many tournaments around southern california. This course will give anyone a solid test and good time. I try to play the course early in the summer months and usually the rest of the year its fine to play anytime of the day. Park has plans to expand the disc golf course to two 18 hole courses in the future.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

better than expected

1    1/27/2013   1/27/2013
Review By: adamtheviking5
Played: 73  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging layout in well maintained regional park. Lots of risk/reward shots.
Cons: Bathrooms are disgusting. Most drinking fountains are broken. Costs $10 to get in. Lots of opportunities to lose discs (i scoured the rough and found a dozen discs during my round)
Other Thoughts: Im from norcal and have lived down here for 6 or 7 months and this is one of the better courses ive played since i moved here. Its no Sky High or Lake Casitas but its a solid course and definetly the best of the 3 regional park courses.It doesnt get a lot of recognition so it took me a while to check it out. I will be playing it a lot more in the future.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Yu- fly-pa

5+    7/13/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: Magnum
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -a very good use of the park
- many different style holes
- well kept
- never too busy of a park
- Great to bring family
Cons: - No tee markers
- you have to pay..booho
Other Thoughts: Its one of the better parks in so cal. very easy to bring the family and picnic and play.. You can even bring a off road stroller for the real little ones.

More state parks need to start disc golf parks- use this course as the model

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely done

1    12/9/2010   4/27/2011
Review By: chillis
Played: 91  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The views here are great! The surrounding foothills/mountains and he overall cleanliness of the park equal an memorable environment.
Although the layout felt a little tight, it works well circling the park.
Some high risk-reward here with a couple shots over the water, with about 10ft between pin and h2O! Good, fun challenge!
Good mix of throws to make from the tees. Decent shot shaping here, as trees and other obstacles provide some difficulty.
Also, some Ace Run and easy birdy holes throw in the mix here (which we all like, at least sometimes!)
Cons: A big negative is No signs at the tee pads - this frustrates me some, but it's not too difficult to look around and figure it out.
I knock the course because of the lack of distance here. There were only a couple holes to really let loose, if that.
It seems to me the pins won't move much because of the lack of space.
Other Thoughts: Coming westward from Phoenix on a Cali Disc Golf road trip, this was the first CA course we played. It was a great start to the trip! It was a preview of things to come, bigger and better things. This was a great warm-up course before Sylmar, Oak Grove, Coyote Point, etc. If I'm ever passing by, I'll likely think about playing Yucaipa again, but I don't see it as a destination course.

I'm sure this park can get crowded. It felt cramped when I was there even with only a few carloads of people. So, some planning should be used to play this course when the park isn't busy.

Overall, great facilities here! Pay-to-play isn't much, and totally worth it for such a well-kept park providing space for lots of different activities.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Park - Fun Course

5+    3/21/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: Discette
Played: 241  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 17.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Yucaipa Regional Park is a beautiful park with mature trees, three fishing ponds and mountain views. The course provides a good challenge for all skill levels. Big drives are not always necessary, but accurate shots are. Course requires a variety of shots to score well. Players that know how to throw roller shots and overhead shots will find several birdie opportunities. Excellent course for those that like a technical challenge rather than throwing one long drive after another. Course design makes the most of the terrain and park features. OB drainage ditch, roadways and lakes add to the challenge.
Holes 1 and 2 play on grass areas with OB park road to left and OB ditch to right. Hole 3 has two positions. Tee is on south side of park road and one basket position is across park road, the other stays on the same side of the road. Hole 4 is on grassy area with mature trees for obstacles and has two pin placements. Hole 5 plays downhill to the basket next to middle pond. Throw putters only on this hole or your drive could end up in the water. Hole 6 plays along middle pond to basket above spillway. It is very easy for those without a big arm to avoid throwing over the lake by throwing to the left early. Hole 7 plays uphill. Seven's fairway has become much easier over the years as player traffic has cleared out excess vegetation on the hillside. Hole 8 plays on the grassy area though large shade trees with brush filled drop off on the left. Hole 9 is the second longest hole on the course at 330 feet in middle position. Hole 10 is located on island surrounded by parking lots and main road. Hole 11 plays to basket on island surrounded by park road. Hole 12 plays down hill to two great basket locations. Hole 13 plays over picnic shelters to short pin position to left of park road. Long position is near spillway fence. Holes 14, 15 and 16 play uphill away from first pond. Hole 17 plays along lake edge. Double mandatory is used during events. There always seems to be fisherman on this hole no matter the time of day or day of the week. Players should proceed with caution. Hole 18 was changed from original design. Current Hole 18 is straight uphill on narrow fairway surrounded by thick brush. The tournament play uses the original hole from spillway up along dirt access road to current Hole 18 pin position. Hole 19 plays along park road with OB drainage ditch to right.
In addition to disc golf, the park offers fishing, swimming beach, paddleboat rentals, hiking and mountain bike trails, group tent camping area, RV camping with full hook ups and a water park.
Cons: Update: Course is now permanent.

Holes 1, 2, 3 right and 19 are repetitive, but still challenging.

Watch for fisherman on Holes 6 and 17.
Other Thoughts: This particular 18 hole layout will never be permanent. This park is absolutely packed in the summer months and park uses many of the fairways for overflow parking. Park intends to install a permanent 18 hole course in the area directly behind RV campground up and around third lake. However, the project is on hold until land dispute between Water Company and neighboring homeowners is settled.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 SWEEET, underexposed course

2-4    2/1/2010   2/3/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.2 Years
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Tees. Grippy concrete. Moisture has never been a problem when I played here.
-Solitude. Both times I played Yucaipa the disc golf course was virtually deserted.
-Park setting with plenty of beautiful vistas and natural beauty.
-Design. Phew. Where to start? Lots of up and down. Hole 5 is about 200' and -30' elevation change. Water in the background and trees to avoid in the foreground. Super fun hole to empty your bag on. A few more holes include water as a major hazard as the course is set along a large, stocked lake. Several are open and several are heavily wooded. 18 has a tiny tunnel and about +40' elevation change and is a doosie. all types of shots are necessary here. Not much fairway crossover and the maps, available at the parking booth, are accurate.
-Booze friendly
-RV and tent camping available
-Great fishing in a nearby stocked lake
-Solid discatchers. Feels like seeing old friends I usually play with in Wrightwood...:D
-Near another SWEEET 9-holer in Redlands, Ford Park
Cons: -Lots of fishermen. I had to skip hole 6 the last time I played there because of all the fishermen between the tee and basket.
-$7 per carload to drive in. $2 to walk in...but it's a hike.
-No signs. Most holes are obvious with the aid of the course map. You can easily see all but18 from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Yucaipa is where Dave's Wrightwood baskets winter and what a spot! Very scenic. Lots of risky setups and opportunities to show off. One of the better courses in SoCal.
Rumor is Wrightwood is getting its own baskets so Yucaipa can be a 12 month course which will be sweet. One more course to play in the summertime!
Awesome course, if it doesn't break you.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty course in So Cal

1    11/29/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -19 baskets
-Easy to navigate. Tees are all numbered, all concrete. Accurate map is provided at the entrance if you tell them you are there to disc it up.
-Lake comes into play on a few holes, but is pretty easy to avoid.
-Friendly locals, from what we saw anyway.
-Drinking appears to be legal at this park.
-Mostly a park course, but about a third of the holes are on dirt, which makes for some great variety.
-Hole 18 is unlike anything I have seen. Steep, narrow uphill shot to blind basket on a field at the top.
-The local people fishing helped my buddy fish his disc out of the lake!
Cons: -It was incredibly windy when we went. I don't know if the area is prone to this, it wasn't windy anywhere else that day, but it is what it is.
-Some tees throw DIRECTLY at picnic areas. I can see this being a problem if the park is busy.
-Holes 1, 2, and 19 are essentially exactly the same. Hole 3 crosses a road. 1, 2, 3, and 19 present a pretty sizable chance of hitting parked cars.
Other Thoughts: The course plays mostly on a grassy multi-use regional park. While many of the holes are your typical flat, grassy park shots, there are a number of wooded courses next to a picturesque lake. There is a good variety of up/down shots down in the lakeside area.

Hole 5 is a fun, short hole that gets you down to the lakeside with some very real danger of over throwing your disc into the water, or on a hillside if you come up short. Hole 18 is a narrow uphill tunnel that is something to write home about.

This course is open only in the wintertime, as the pins move to Wrightwood in the summer. Somebody mentioned that they are trying to keep the course open all year, but I don't really think this is feasible as many of the tees play through picnic areas. Not around them, but through them. Hole 13 drives literally directly at a picnic bench with a roof.

$10 to drive into the park, $2 per head if you park outside. Camping available.

Had a fantastic time at this course, but I am not rushing to go back. Maybe check it out again on a non-windy day. Beautiful and quiet setting though, but once again can see this being a different story if the park is busy.

The pictures of the tee's on this website are no longer accurate, they are all concrete and marked by a large number on the concrete.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.