Yucaipa, CA 
Yucaipa Regional Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: RYFLE Hole #10 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / --   3 / 211ft.   3 / 211ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Yucaipa

5+    12/1/2012   12/7/2012
Review By: Mspot
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of holes - wooded, tight lines balanced with open shots
Plenty of mature trees
Well used obstacles
Elevation change
Quality baskets and cement tee pads
Good flow of course design (except for 16 and 17 uphill shot, downhill walk, uphill shot)
Signature 'over the lake' shot
Well maintained, scenic park
Other activities at park (playgrounds, waterslide, swim lake, hiking, camping, fishing, picnic areas)
Fun, enjoyable course to play
Cons: Entry fee
Can be crowded with non-disc golfers (mainly on weekends during summer)
Other Thoughts: A second 18 holes has been talked about and could make this a premier course of so cal...

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/3/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 71  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers great variety. It makes great use of the varied elevation, wooded areas, and water available in the park. It even uses roads for some creative OB in some areas.

The park itself is clean and well maintained and provides a very scenic setting for disc golf.

There is a nice mix of short technical holes as well as longer, more open holes.

I really like hole 6. It provides a nice picturesque water carry, while offering a safe route for anyone intimidated by the water.
Cons: There are a few potential trouble spots where the course plays near areas that could be in use by other park users. When I played there was a whole crowd of fishermen by the water. They were all aware of the course and made sure to watch out while we threw, but there is potential trouble here.

Also using roads as OB always presents potential dangers. Particularly hole 10 which plays up an island between a road and parking area. It plays uphill towards a bend in the road such that oncoming traffic is not directly visible off the tee.

Some better signage would be nice, but not necessary as navigation is pretty straight forward.
Other Thoughts: This was one of my favorite courses on my Southern California trip. It's not as polished as other courses in terms of signage and tees, but the actual hole design more than makes up for it. The nice variety of holes kept the course from feeling repetitive. Each hole felt like it was very well thought out and brought a new unique feature of the landscape into play.

I would definitely return to this course over and over again.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good course in a nice park.

1    12/24/2011   12/24/2011
Review By: CBass
Played: 80  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park with lots of trees and holes placed fairly well within established obstacles. OB difficulty surrounds most holes to keep things interesting. Water comes into play on a few holes as well. Several small elevation changes to navigate. Lots of shade to hide in during hot days.
Cons: Traversing the course was a challenge for a first timer as the map provided from the gatehouse was quite inaccurate. The last few holes seemed to be mislabeled or had a hole missing. Could be that we were just missing something.
Other Thoughts: Obviously it takes funds and a lot of effort to build and maintain a course, That being said, with an updated map, course signage, and OB designations, this course could be much better. Don't let this steer you away because it is definitely worth playing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Yu- fly-pa

5+    7/13/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: Magnum
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -a very good use of the park
- many different style holes
- well kept
- never too busy of a park
- Great to bring family
Cons: - No tee markers
- you have to pay..booho
Other Thoughts: Its one of the better parks in so cal. very easy to bring the family and picnic and play.. You can even bring a off road stroller for the real little ones.

More state parks need to start disc golf parks- use this course as the model

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Design!

1    6/5/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee-Pads are excellent.
Scenery is beautiful.
Cages are excellent.
Layout and course flow is decent until the last couple holes.
Map is good.
Good variety of shots required and cage locations.
Cons: Course could be crowded on the weekend and then become almost unplayable.
Scorecard does not have yardage or pars.

Other Thoughts: Really fun course with a good mix of shots required. A beginner can play most holes and have a good time and the seasoned vet will have a good time with the distance and accuracy to shoot low scores. All in all, I'd make it a stop for sure on your way to Palm Springs or any time you're in the area!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely done

1    12/9/2010   4/27/2011
Review By: chillis
Played: 91  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The views here are great! The surrounding foothills/mountains and he overall cleanliness of the park equal an memorable environment.
Although the layout felt a little tight, it works well circling the park.
Some high risk-reward here with a couple shots over the water, with about 10ft between pin and h2O! Good, fun challenge!
Good mix of throws to make from the tees. Decent shot shaping here, as trees and other obstacles provide some difficulty.
Also, some Ace Run and easy birdy holes throw in the mix here (which we all like, at least sometimes!)
Cons: A big negative is No signs at the tee pads - this frustrates me some, but it's not too difficult to look around and figure it out.
I knock the course because of the lack of distance here. There were only a couple holes to really let loose, if that.
It seems to me the pins won't move much because of the lack of space.
Other Thoughts: Coming westward from Phoenix on a Cali Disc Golf road trip, this was the first CA course we played. It was a great start to the trip! It was a preview of things to come, bigger and better things. This was a great warm-up course before Sylmar, Oak Grove, Coyote Point, etc. If I'm ever passing by, I'll likely think about playing Yucaipa again, but I don't see it as a destination course.

I'm sure this park can get crowded. It felt cramped when I was there even with only a few carloads of people. So, some planning should be used to play this course when the park isn't busy.

Overall, great facilities here! Pay-to-play isn't much, and totally worth it for such a well-kept park providing space for lots of different activities.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/29/2011   2/1/2011
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course maps, large concrete tee pads with # stamped, new baskets, Variety of challenging pin placements, Water hazards, well maintained grounds, Restrooms, Water and other amenities.
Cons: Fee of $10 weekends and $7 for weekdays and $2 to walk-in. No tee signs and Public safety hazards throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: : The course terrain ranges from open flat manicured grass to steep tunnels offering challenging +/- in elevation and water hazards. This course is laid out inside a county park with picnic areas, parking lots, walking paths, horseshoe pits and service roads winding through normally having theses amenities would be an asset to a course, unfortunately here they border or interfere with the tee pads, fairways and basket locations. With the exception of holes #7, #15, #16 all other poses a possible hazard to the public. For instance basket #17 has been removed due to the threat of flying disc hitting someone. I experienced an incident where a family that was using the picnic area in the fairway of hole #13. They had kids and I walked down towards them to warn them and a lady was just furious that I was just warning them instead of teeing off from a different location. She said,"My grandchild was almost hit in the head with a disc by the previous disc golfers."That is why I am warning you" was my reply. They threatened to sue me if I hit their kids. I teed off and they packed up and left.
I recently camped for a weekend here and enjoyed the clean amenities the park has to offer. Fishing is also on-site in their weekly stocked ponds of 1000 lbs. of trout. The water slide park was not open at the time nor was the paddle boats available these are seasonal.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging Yet Frustrating

2-4    9/18/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: biggdaddyrik
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 27.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a great challenge. Lots of trees, hills and even a nice big water hazard. I enjoyed it much more this second time around.
Cons: I learned an important lesson the first time I played or attempted to play this course. DO NOT attempt to play this course on Labor Day weekend, even first thing in the morning. Overflow parking allows #3 tee pad to be covered by cars. #4 is unplayable due to the big picnic area right in between the tee and pin. #5 tee pad becomes a place for people to hang their hammock. #6 gets skipped due to all of the people fishing on the little dock and along the shore. The map of the course that you can get when you enter the park needs to be updated. hole 19 was eliminated and #17 and #18 were moved up. Unfortunately as a first timer on the course you can only figure that out by taking a hike to figure it out. The lack of some sort of sign at the tee pads made it difficult to find them in the tall grass also.
Other Thoughts: Knowing WHEN and WHAT TIME to play this course will help keep it more fun than disappointing. My second round there was today and we made it through the whole 18. It was fun. Going right when they open is the optimal time.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorite!

1    4/22/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Nozzledog
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 29.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All holes very different, Very easy for first timers to find both tees and baskets. Love the over-the-lake shot, very intimidating though.
A wonderful park for the whole family, Many activities for non-golfers.
Cons: Had to deal with a school feild trip the day I went, this park can get very busy with non-DGolfers.
Other Thoughts: Just talked to the guys @ Mt. High, and they said Yucaipa has there own baskets now and will be opening up year round. They may be changing the location however to a less crowded area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course to spend a few days at playing and camping

5+    4/5/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: Crazyman29
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 19 holes, great up hill and down hill shots. Some really crazy water shots. GREAT tee pads supper grippy. Multiple basket placements, long and short. Locals are way cool played with a few, and had a great time. You can drink BEER and smoke always a plus. Hole 18 is out of this world one of the hardest holes if you dont make it up top. Hole 5 is a short but very technical shot can end up short or its trouble or long and you are wet in the lack.
Cons: hole 1,2,19 are some what the same, 1 however has a few pin locations and 3 as well. Lake shots can be an easy way to lose plastic if you go for it and dont have the arm. the weekend can be busy but i was able to throw all 19 holes ever time.
Other Thoughts: I will make this a course i go to at least twice a year, i drove 90+ miles one way and was glade i got to make it to this course. Highly recommend you play it worth the entry fee at the gate.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.