Disc Golf Store
Yucaipa, CA
Yucaipa Regional Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: RYFLE Hole #14 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / --   3 / 265ft.   3 / 265ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 SWEEET, underexposed course

2-4    2/1/2010   2/3/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 16.9 Years
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Tees. Grippy concrete. Moisture has never been a problem when I played here.
-Solitude. Both times I played Yucaipa the disc golf course was virtually deserted.
-Park setting with plenty of beautiful vistas and natural beauty.
-Design. Phew. Where to start? Lots of up and down. Hole 5 is about 200' and -30' elevation change. Water in the background and trees to avoid in the foreground. Super fun hole to empty your bag on. A few more holes include water as a major hazard as the course is set along a large, stocked lake. Several are open and several are heavily wooded. 18 has a tiny tunnel and about +40' elevation change and is a doosie. all types of shots are necessary here. Not much fairway crossover and the maps, available at the parking booth, are accurate.
-Booze friendly
-RV and tent camping available
-Great fishing in a nearby stocked lake
-Solid discatchers. Feels like seeing old friends I usually play with in Wrightwood...:D
-Near another SWEEET 9-holer in Redlands, Ford Park
Cons: -Lots of fishermen. I had to skip hole 6 the last time I played there because of all the fishermen between the tee and basket.
-$7 per carload to drive in. $2 to walk in...but it's a hike.
-No signs. Most holes are obvious with the aid of the course map. You can easily see all but18 from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Yucaipa is where Dave's Wrightwood baskets winter and what a spot! Very scenic. Lots of risky setups and opportunities to show off. One of the better courses in SoCal.
Rumor is Wrightwood is getting its own baskets so Yucaipa can be a 12 month course which will be sweet. One more course to play in the summertime!
Awesome course, if it doesn't break you.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic and Challenging Course

5+    12/5/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: JonnyHyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots from tee and fairways. Excellent tee pads - 10 feet long and at grade with ground. Nice and tacky with stamped tee numbers on each box. Most holes have 3 different pin postions. Good use of OB using water, drainage channels, and roads. Good use of elevation. Mostly grassy fairways; however, the grass is usually thick which doesn't promote rollers or skips - can save the wayward shot though. Very scenic couse in a nice park setting with camping and fishing.
Cons: Not open in the summer due to heavy camping crowds and fishing.
Other Thoughts: They have a really good map of the course if you ask for one at the front. They hold monthlies on the first Saturday of the month, and have a pretty good turn out for most divisions.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty course in So Cal

1    11/29/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -19 baskets
-Easy to navigate. Tees are all numbered, all concrete. Accurate map is provided at the entrance if you tell them you are there to disc it up.
-Lake comes into play on a few holes, but is pretty easy to avoid.
-Friendly locals, from what we saw anyway.
-Drinking appears to be legal at this park.
-Mostly a park course, but about a third of the holes are on dirt, which makes for some great variety.
-Hole 18 is unlike anything I have seen. Steep, narrow uphill shot to blind basket on a field at the top.
-The local people fishing helped my buddy fish his disc out of the lake!
Cons: -It was incredibly windy when we went. I don't know if the area is prone to this, it wasn't windy anywhere else that day, but it is what it is.
-Some tees throw DIRECTLY at picnic areas. I can see this being a problem if the park is busy.
-Holes 1, 2, and 19 are essentially exactly the same. Hole 3 crosses a road. 1, 2, 3, and 19 present a pretty sizable chance of hitting parked cars.
Other Thoughts: The course plays mostly on a grassy multi-use regional park. While many of the holes are your typical flat, grassy park shots, there are a number of wooded courses next to a picturesque lake. There is a good variety of up/down shots down in the lakeside area.

Hole 5 is a fun, short hole that gets you down to the lakeside with some very real danger of over throwing your disc into the water, or on a hillside if you come up short. Hole 18 is a narrow uphill tunnel that is something to write home about.

This course is open only in the wintertime, as the pins move to Wrightwood in the summer. Somebody mentioned that they are trying to keep the course open all year, but I don't really think this is feasible as many of the tees play through picnic areas. Not around them, but through them. Hole 13 drives literally directly at a picnic bench with a roof.

$10 to drive into the park, $2 per head if you park outside. Camping available.

Had a fantastic time at this course, but I am not rushing to go back. Maybe check it out again on a non-windy day. Beautiful and quiet setting though, but once again can see this being a different story if the park is busy.

The pictures of the tee's on this website are no longer accurate, they are all concrete and marked by a large number on the concrete.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 very nice

1    4/25/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice park, easy to find each tee, couple different elevation changing shots, good distances from tee to basket, variety, cheap price (walk in is $2 and it takes 5 minutes to get to tee 1, worth the walk but if you have a few people in the car pay the car fee and check out the rest of the park) holes 5 7 12 16 18 are very challenging good job on those
Cons: some holes could have a lot of traffic of cars and people, 17 basket missing, not sure when the baskets get moved to wrightwood
Other Thoughts: i thought this course was thought out pretty good and could improve a couple of holes to make it a better course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/17/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 83  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 11.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful mountainside course. Good baskets and cement tee pads (with hole number, a nice touch). Some holes offer challenging drives through low hanging trees (8,9,12). Hole 5 is a fun drive down a hill. Hole 6 is a challenging water hole drive. Lots of wildlife, including squirrels and birds (including a heron and a bluebird while I was there).
Cons: Holes near roads are poorly designed (1, 3, 10). Occasionally others in park can be in the way, though they were nice enough to let me pass. Basket for Hole 17 is missing. When is this course open or closed, anyway?
Other Thoughts: A nice inland California course that's worth a look.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Park

1    3/10/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 111  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent mix of long crushes and short finesse shots with some well defined fairways and nice elevation changes. The lake comes into play and there is plenty of road OB that rewards well placed shots. The park is set in the foothills with wonderful views of snow capped mountains (at least today). Fairly easy to follow, even without tee signs. There are alternate pins on some of the holes, and I hear there may be some alternate tees for tournament play.
Cons: The layout we played today had several repetitive holes (1,2,19) and there were some missed opportunities for par 4 golf (for example holes 2 and 17). My partner (Snapper Pierson) shot -11 in our third round today, so the SoCal duece or die mentality prevails. The layout hiccups at hole 16, an uphill shot followed by a downhill walk essentially back to the tee pad, which begs the question, why 19 holes with this "connector" type hole?
Other Thoughts: A $5 entry fee during the week and $7 on the weekend. This course is fun to play, especially if you like throwing line drive laser shots. We drove 120 miles each way to check out the course, and I was not disappointed.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.