Stevens Point, WI
Yulga Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 226ft.   3 / 226ft.   3 / 283ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Red Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
yulga

1    8/28/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: CaptainMo
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: > Nice tee boxes, hole diagrams and directions from hole to hole.
> Multiple basket locations.
> Nice scenery.
> Nice benches.
> Felt very secluded and private from hole to hole, even though the course was relatively busy.
> "Rough" was forgiving so losing a disc is tough, even when you inevitably plink off the trees.
Cons: > Mostly short holes.
> All but 1 or 2 holes are VERY tightly wooded, which was fun a few times, but got a little boring.
> No trash cans, so tee boxes were littered.
> A little buggy, which I'm sure can be a lot buggy.
> On the multi-basket holes, basket placement wasn't indicated at the tee box, so if you couldn't see it from the tee box you had to walk down to figure out where to throw.
Other Thoughts: I like the wooded holes and there were a few really cool ones, but this course felt like ONLY wooded holes with very tight fairways. If your release is off by a little, be prepared to walk though the trees.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Near my house.

5+    5/12/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: Nambrik
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice scenery.
-Awesome concrete tees.
-3 choices of tees to drive from.
-Parking lot
-Outside of town, pretty peaceful.
Cons: -College kid swarm every Saturday afternoon, have fun finding a parking spot.
-Beer cans all over.
-Main sign was stolen, and hasn't been returned.
-Many of the signs are ripped or gone.
-Paths are hard to get around for people new to the course, but after a few games, you will get used to it.
Other Thoughts: Try to go on weekdays. It will be packed on Saturdays and Friday nights. It is hard to get around, but try to follow the people ahead of you. Please pick up the garbage.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby

1    10/9/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: Kimando
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good concrete pads. The course was not very busy and easy too find. Discs were easy to find when off course due to the pine needles keeping vegetation down.
Cons: Not marked well at all. Hole 1 had the sign up explaining the hole, while the other holes had signs down or missing. Broken glass and garbage spewed out on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Good place to play if you live in the area. Holes are short overall, but some play tough with the large amount of trees and bends.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/9/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes set on land solely used for disc golf. It plays back and forth through two distinct types of forests- mostly in a tall pine forest but some in your typical deciduous forest. The baskets are in good condition and each hole has 2-3 possible locations that get moved around offering variety for locals. The holes have a pretty good mix of left, straight, and right with a nice variety of density of trees. The course has 3 sets of tees- blue, white, red- which are the main strength of the course. The distances are not all that different on most, but the angle to the basket is substantially different, and in many cases the shorter tee may not necessarily be the easiest.

This course was really fun, relaxing, and overall enjoyable. It offers enough challenge without being stressfully difficult. The fairways are well-worn and the undergrowth is not thick making it easy to find your disc after errant shots and unfortunate deflections.
Cons: The tee signs were horrible- most were broken or missing. This is especially bad when there are 3 sets of tees as you don't know which ones are for what hole. In many spots the holes are really close to one another adding to the confusion. Navigation is harder than it should be for this reason and we spent a lot of time wandering down paths only to find a tee with no hole # on it. Not helping this problem are the numerous worn dirt paths that are not the one you want (if in doubt take the most worn one, it is usually the way). This may be because the locals (mainly younger kids and beginners and recreational players of which there were lots there the day I played) appeared to just run around and jump to whatever hole they wanted to play in seemingly random order. I like that the multiple tees played from different angles more so than different distances, but there are many that are blind from the other tee so you have no idea if somebody else is teeing off- makes it difficult if some members in your group are playing from the other, but almost chaotic with other people approaching tees from the other direction blindly out of order and teeing off the same time as you. Also, there are not always 3 tees on each hole. Sometimes the white (middle) tee was the same as the red, sometimes the same as blue, and others by itself.

Not the courses fault, but there is pretty much no elevation and no water, not so much making the holes somewhat repetitive, but more just the fact that these factors are just not present (the kinds of things I expect from a 4.0+ rated course). Also the distance from one hole to the next does not vary drastically.

The parking lot is dirt/gravel and very small. There are no restrooms or water- there was a port-a-pottie though- for restrooms, not water. ;)
Other Thoughts: This is fun course, geared mainly towards local recreational level players. Experienced disc golfers can enjoy the basic challenges offered here, but should be able to score well. Birdies are possible on many holes, and pars are expected and not too difficult, even from a poor tee shot. This is a nice stop on the way to and from Highbridge, but not a disc golf destination on its own. (I wish we had had time to play Standing Rocks, but having 2 decent courses in the same area is a bonus.)

I think this course has a lot of potential because the land it is on is great for disc golf and the overall hole design is very good. However, there are too many cons and the course is in desperate need of some maintenance- mainly new (more durable) tee signs.

I know many others think this course is a 4.0, but to me it only has the potential to be a weak 4.0. My first thoughts after walking off hole #18 was a strong 2.5- just better than average. After thinking about it a while, I did really like the holes themselves, but it needs more than that to be put into the top 10% of courses I have played. I hope I was able to explain in my Cons why I feel this way. That being said, I liked the course and do recommend it to disc golfers traveling nearby.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short - Little variety

5+    6/20/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: ErixTheRed
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Close to town
-Good use of multiple tees
-New pin locations can completely change a hole
Cons: -Flat
-Narrow
-Short
-Repetitive
Other Thoughts: For someone who likes getting their driver some fresh air, this is not an ideal course. The tricky lines through the trees keep it interesting but are sometimes absurd.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.