Stevens Point, WI 
Yulga Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 290ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 White/Red Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Mid-Wisconsin DG Course!

5+    5/17/2013   1/17/2014
Review By: JeremyAD
Played: 63  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * 3 tee pads for most holes
* Heavily and appropriately wooded on ALL holes
* Several deuce opportunities on short pads, and (sometimes) difficult pars on long pads
* great flow of course layout
* excellent tee signs and nearly perfect tee pads - even during the winter (local disc golf enthusiasts keep them clear).
* GREAT winter course!
* Nearly all holes have at least one alternate pin placements
* Locals are mostly open and enjoyable to toss with
* Rarely "too crowded" of a course
* Tight and challenging (yet fair) fairways
* TONS of fun!!!
Cons: * Few long-distance holes
* If you love "open-throwing"courses you will hate this place
* Completely void of elevation variation
Other Thoughts: Whenever I have disc-golf dreams this course somehow seems to be in them. Not a top Championship course, but one that you will never forget. So much fun and so many memories. Although it does not quite compete with the extravagance of Standing Rocks, nor does it match the challenge of Big Eau Pleine, Yulga stands alone for enjoyment. Play this course!!! You will not regret it!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tons of Fun

1    9/6/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 46  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great scenery focused around tall pines.
-Each hole requires different movement on the disc, even though some pins are straight ahead, trees require you to shape your shots.
-Mid-to-short distance holes optimizing chances for ace shots and a quicker round. Aces and near misses make a course fun imo.
-Signage on every hole.
-multiple pads for each hole
-multiple pin locations on each hole
-concrete pads throughout the course
-Although still "in town", you really get a secluded feeling out on this course.
-Did i say this course is fun to play?
Cons: -Garbages - I only seen a few out on the course. With the kind of traffic this course apparently gets, it seems necessary to have a garbage at every hole.
-A few distance holes to satisfy the big armed players would help this course fulfill everyones needs.
-I can imagine this course getting very buggy at the right times, on the right days.
-It is the local college course hangout. I would imagine this results in heavy traffic and waiting at times.
-Lack of elevation.
-This land is as flat as it gets.
-No water holes. Just a couple would be nice.
Other Thoughts: I just made a road trip with 2 friends hitting up 7 great courses in wisconsin including Yulga, Big Eau Pleine, Standing Rocks, Rolling Ridge, Silver Creek and Winter Park.....this course was a ton of fun. In fact of those, this course was in all of our top 3, and questionably the #1. It may not have the ammenities and hole variation that Rolling Ridge has, but it definately has the fun factor and in general i liked the scenery much better than Rolling Ridge. This course is way underrated in my groups opinion. Don't be scared by its rating under a 4. All three of us felt this was a 4.25 caliber course strictly because it made us want to play again and again. I rated it a 4.5 because 4.25 is not an option as a rating and since i felt the course current avg rating was lower than expected I decided to round up instead of down on my rating. I will definately hit this course up if ever traveling within an hour of it. I can see it be disatisfying to the guy who prefers long bomb holes. To call this course boring, however, as one rater did is just downright crazy. Boring is a course that has all open holes that are extremely long (basically the exact opposite of this course). If throwing open bomb shots time after time is your thing, dont waste your time. This course is playable for all experience levels and i would consider it to be a fairly easy course. Lots of fun though.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  awesome course

1    10/8/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: WIGS
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: We drove over from Kaukauna and started at mead. Wasnt bad..... But the next course was out of this world. If i was to rate Yulga, it would be a 10. Awesome tee's-awesome tee pads and good description of every hole. It also showed where the next tee pad is located. It was worth the drive. We got there early and by the time we were done, it was crowded(NOON). Would recommend this course to anyone. Compared to my home course in Kaukauna(GRIGNON). this place was spotless.
Cons: NONE WHAT SO EVER
Other Thoughts: WE WILL BE BACK!!!!!!

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 WOW

1    6/21/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: matrathvy
Played: 91  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It was a very fast play, we were enjoying the course and actually let a group play through on us a few times. We still played it as fast as our regular course. Meaning it is easy to follow and set up very well and we could understand how to play every hole fairly well, quickly. Many different options for tee and hole locations.
Cons: The underbrush is hard to figure out, when you think it is thin its thick with raspberry vines, and when you think it thick your disc is sitting in the open with a spotlight on it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Yulga

5+    5/20/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Ckrogs
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Yulga is a challaning course. Dog legs left and right forcing you to throw in ways that you may not be comfortable with.Concrete pads are really nice. There are also alternate pins. Has allternate tees sot that it is fun for the whole family.
Cons: Really flat.
Other Thoughts: Nice trails, park upkeep is really nice.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pine trees...

4/14/2008   4/14/2008
Review By: pointdisc
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Multiple concrete tees (usualy 2-3 per hole) with multiple pin placements for a few holes. Technical and tight fairways and excellent mix of shots with long and shorts. Well kept.
Cons: No elevation.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.