Stevens Point, WI 
Yulga Share
Uploaded By: TenaciousMV  
A beautiful view of the tree line



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Great Mid-Wisconsin DG Course!

5+    5/17/2013   1/17/2014
Review By: JeremyAD
Played: 63  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * 3 tee pads for most holes
* Heavily and appropriately wooded on ALL holes
* Several deuce opportunities on short pads, and (sometimes) difficult pars on long pads
* great flow of course layout
* excellent tee signs and nearly perfect tee pads - even during the winter (local disc golf enthusiasts keep them clear).
* GREAT winter course!
* Nearly all holes have at least one alternate pin placements
* Locals are mostly open and enjoyable to toss with
* Rarely "too crowded" of a course
* Tight and challenging (yet fair) fairways
* TONS of fun!!!
Cons: * Few long-distance holes
* If you love "open-throwing"courses you will hate this place
* Completely void of elevation variation
Other Thoughts: Whenever I have disc-golf dreams this course somehow seems to be in them. Not a top Championship course, but one that you will never forget. So much fun and so many memories. Although it does not quite compete with the extravagance of Standing Rocks, nor does it match the challenge of Big Eau Pleine, Yulga stands alone for enjoyment. Play this course!!! You will not regret it!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tons of Fun

1    9/6/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 46  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great scenery focused around tall pines.
-Each hole requires different movement on the disc, even though some pins are straight ahead, trees require you to shape your shots.
-Mid-to-short distance holes optimizing chances for ace shots and a quicker round. Aces and near misses make a course fun imo.
-Signage on every hole.
-multiple pads for each hole
-multiple pin locations on each hole
-concrete pads throughout the course
-Although still "in town", you really get a secluded feeling out on this course.
-Did i say this course is fun to play?
Cons: -Garbages - I only seen a few out on the course. With the kind of traffic this course apparently gets, it seems necessary to have a garbage at every hole.
-A few distance holes to satisfy the big armed players would help this course fulfill everyones needs.
-I can imagine this course getting very buggy at the right times, on the right days.
-It is the local college course hangout. I would imagine this results in heavy traffic and waiting at times.
-Lack of elevation.
-This land is as flat as it gets.
-No water holes. Just a couple would be nice.
Other Thoughts: I just made a road trip with 2 friends hitting up 7 great courses in wisconsin including Yulga, Big Eau Pleine, Standing Rocks, Rolling Ridge, Silver Creek and Winter Park.....this course was a ton of fun. In fact of those, this course was in all of our top 3, and questionably the #1. It may not have the ammenities and hole variation that Rolling Ridge has, but it definately has the fun factor and in general i liked the scenery much better than Rolling Ridge. This course is way underrated in my groups opinion. Don't be scared by its rating under a 4. All three of us felt this was a 4.25 caliber course strictly because it made us want to play again and again. I rated it a 4.5 because 4.25 is not an option as a rating and since i felt the course current avg rating was lower than expected I decided to round up instead of down on my rating. I will definately hit this course up if ever traveling within an hour of it. I can see it be disatisfying to the guy who prefers long bomb holes. To call this course boring, however, as one rater did is just downright crazy. Boring is a course that has all open holes that are extremely long (basically the exact opposite of this course). If throwing open bomb shots time after time is your thing, dont waste your time. This course is playable for all experience levels and i would consider it to be a fairly easy course. Lots of fun though.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

yulga

1    8/28/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: CaptainMo
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: > Nice tee boxes, hole diagrams and directions from hole to hole.
> Multiple basket locations.
> Nice scenery.
> Nice benches.
> Felt very secluded and private from hole to hole, even though the course was relatively busy.
> "Rough" was forgiving so losing a disc is tough, even when you inevitably plink off the trees.
Cons: > Mostly short holes.
> All but 1 or 2 holes are VERY tightly wooded, which was fun a few times, but got a little boring.
> No trash cans, so tee boxes were littered.
> A little buggy, which I'm sure can be a lot buggy.
> On the multi-basket holes, basket placement wasn't indicated at the tee box, so if you couldn't see it from the tee box you had to walk down to figure out where to throw.
Other Thoughts: I like the wooded holes and there were a few really cool ones, but this course felt like ONLY wooded holes with very tight fairways. If your release is off by a little, be prepared to walk though the trees.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Yulga

2-4    6/22/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: SleekrBeekr
Played: 47  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: 18 hole layout
Multiple concrete tee positions.
Multiple pin positions.
Well maintained.
Not far out of town.
Walking trails surround course.
Cons: All the hole maps are missing.
Bugs!
Layout gets a little cramped in some spots.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful wooded course. It can be a bit easy, but the multiple tee pads and multiple pin locations can help ramp things up a bit.
Most of the holes require a bit of finesse, with an abundant amount of trees. The course is very clean though, not a lot of thick, unmanageable brush or tall grass. The local clubs and parks department do a great job maintaining the course.
There's a few long holes, a few lefts, a few rights, a good amount of straight on shots, a lot of trees, and little to no elevation changes. There are a couple elevated baskets to make up for the flatland.
The course can get a bit tricky to follow in some spots, especially with no maps, but it's not bad. And if it gets crowded, there's a lot of back-ups.
All in all, this is a very fun course and can be played relatively quickly if there aren't too many people out there. The multiple tee and pin positions add to the enjoyment level of this course.
This course has a high replay value, especially when paired with some of the courses in the area. If there were maps on the pins and some slight layout adjustments, this course would easily get a 4.

Near my house.

5+    5/12/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: Nambrik
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice scenery.
-Awesome concrete tees.
-3 choices of tees to drive from.
-Parking lot
-Outside of town, pretty peaceful.
Cons: -College kid swarm every Saturday afternoon, have fun finding a parking spot.
-Beer cans all over.
-Main sign was stolen, and hasn't been returned.
-Many of the signs are ripped or gone.
-Paths are hard to get around for people new to the course, but after a few games, you will get used to it.
Other Thoughts: Try to go on weekdays. It will be packed on Saturdays and Friday nights. It is hard to get around, but try to follow the people ahead of you. Please pick up the garbage.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate

1    8/25/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a decent sized park that has a walking path going through in a few spots, and plays by a road in another. All in all, there shouldn't be any interference with other park goers at any point.
- A good majority of the holes are set within an abundance of pine pole trees, the lines are carved out of these trees with little margin for error. There are sneaky, lucky, local lines that can be found, but hitting the lines is definitely necessary to stay out of tree jail or nasty rough. #1, #2, #4, #12, and #16 are the most populated, with varying lines.
- Some of the other holes have more forgiving lines, with not sooo many trees to worry about. #3 is a dogleg right around dense woods, #6 is a nice RHBH hyzer, #8 and #9 are tunnelish shots with woods on both sides, and so on. These holes demand hitting a gap in the fairway, or just staying out of the rough on either side.
- A few other holes are more open, #14 is a blind hyzer/anhyzer around a big clump of bushes, #15 is fairly open hyzer into some shrubbery, and #17 is a tall anny or RHFH shot over a big patch of bushes. Definitely more room to work with shot shaping, but they still have a real potential for punishment.
- Three distinct teepads on each hole provide a lot of different looks, and change the difficulty as well. Some holes change from straight to hyzer, hyzer to anny, long to short, tunnel to dogleg. Really helps with the variety on some similar holes.
- A few tricky pin locations; #4's in on a stump, #8's is behind some trees, and #15's is tucked left in some bushes.
- Very nice teepads, good baskets, signs would be good if they were there - almost all are missing. Practice basket in front of course. Navigation isn't terrible, but it isn't great either with the missing signs. Map can help the first time through.
Cons: - Land is almost perfectly flat here, #2 being an exception with a slight, slight uphill slope. With some of the holes being fairly similar already, it can get a little repetitive at times. The landscape doesn't change that much either, kind of one-dimensional in that regard.
- Hole lengths are pretty uniform from the different tees. For instance, the blues range from 265'-360', with one outlier at 420'. Kind of similar from start to finish.
Other Thoughts: - Not many cons to think of at this course! The different sets of teepads really help to make things different from round to round, such as shorter vs. longer, easier vs. harder, and providing a variety of lines. Some very tight holes with tricky lines, and others that punish errant shots off the tees. My only gripe is that it is fun, but not too exciting.
- The short tees are good for beginners and the longs are tough. Should be a good fit for almost any skill level.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Dang Vandals

1    8/13/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 333  Reviewed: 331  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great scenery with the tall forests, reminiscent of BRP
-3 tees on most every hole. They are of varying difficulty and offer a different angle of shot as well as distance. Tees are also concrete and plenty big.
-Moving pins.
-Nice baskets.
-Space for signage (see cons)
-Map and bulletin board at parking lot. Parking lot is plenty big for the average day to day flow.
-Practice basket.
-Barry Schultz sponsors a hole here!
-Course is shaded and scenic, a bike path runs along the edge. Unless there are lots of other golfers around you will be alone. It is cool to hear the other players hitting the chains through the woods.
-The course designer is good and active in the local dg community and they have a club.
-The designer did good for the land he had to work with. Other than the trees it isn't that good. The course also loops back to the lot after the front 9 so you can play the front 9 or back 9 if you want to.
-It does require a wide variety of shots and more importantly, accuracy. The lines can be tight on this course. If you do hit the lines, the distances allow for some good birdie and ace runs.
-For some reason, the underbrush isn't that thick and I wasn't too afraid to throw around a blind corner.
Cons: -Every tee has a place for a signage but I think only holes 1,2 and 12 actually had the signage. It made navigation incredibly difficult. On most holes there were lots of paths leading away from the baskets and you couldn't know which one it is on your first time. Then you get to the tee and it isn't marked so you throw to the basket and you might know if it is the right hole if the basket is still marked.
-They could alleviate the signage problem if they put more permanent signs on. It seems like they were just laminated paper stapled to the boards.
-I think vandalism is a problem and has caused the issues in signage.
-Beer cans and other trash laying near tees. The sign at the start of the course written by the designer warns people like this but they seem to not heed the warning.
-The course wasn't very long and although I enjoyed the woods, some holes were too similar. There was also no elevation, water or open holes.
-I played early in the morning so I didn't experience any crowds but I imagine that this course would be very busy. It is the only 18 in town and is more fun than the two 9s.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course and if it had better signage, it would have better flow and if it had those I would give it a 4. It is good in other aspects than that. It is limited by the flat land and water. I wish that the vandalism and trash would stop but I don't know if it will. This course is the 2nd best in the Stevens Point area. Standing Rocks is great and is the best course in the area. McDill is the third best and Mead is last. Even so, I would recommend making a day and playing all of these courses. They are all different and interesting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Yugla

2-4    7/26/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: AH14203
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout, trees make it fun but hard at the same time.
Fun to play from all tees
pins move
some fun long holes to let loose on!!
Cons: Hard to follow if you havent played there before. would be more helpful if they had some signs up pointing to the next hole so you dont get off track.
Other Thoughts: Fun Course, would recomend that you play with someone who has played the course before so they can show you where to go. Also try to take a picture of the map to use as a reference. Also if you would want to have fun play all of the tees. it would be great practice and tons of fun

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby

1    10/9/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: Kimando
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good concrete pads. The course was not very busy and easy too find. Discs were easy to find when off course due to the pine needles keeping vegetation down.
Cons: Not marked well at all. Hole 1 had the sign up explaining the hole, while the other holes had signs down or missing. Broken glass and garbage spewed out on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Good place to play if you live in the area. Holes are short overall, but some play tough with the large amount of trees and bends.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/9/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes set on land solely used for disc golf. It plays back and forth through two distinct types of forests- mostly in a tall pine forest but some in your typical deciduous forest. The baskets are in good condition and each hole has 2-3 possible locations that get moved around offering variety for locals. The holes have a pretty good mix of left, straight, and right with a nice variety of density of trees. The course has 3 sets of tees- blue, white, red- which are the main strength of the course. The distances are not all that different on most, but the angle to the basket is substantially different, and in many cases the shorter tee may not necessarily be the easiest.

This course was really fun, relaxing, and overall enjoyable. It offers enough challenge without being stressfully difficult. The fairways are well-worn and the undergrowth is not thick making it easy to find your disc after errant shots and unfortunate deflections.
Cons: The tee signs were horrible- most were broken or missing. This is especially bad when there are 3 sets of tees as you don't know which ones are for what hole. In many spots the holes are really close to one another adding to the confusion. Navigation is harder than it should be for this reason and we spent a lot of time wandering down paths only to find a tee with no hole # on it. Not helping this problem are the numerous worn dirt paths that are not the one you want (if in doubt take the most worn one, it is usually the way). This may be because the locals (mainly younger kids and beginners and recreational players of which there were lots there the day I played) appeared to just run around and jump to whatever hole they wanted to play in seemingly random order. I like that the multiple tees played from different angles more so than different distances, but there are many that are blind from the other tee so you have no idea if somebody else is teeing off- makes it difficult if some members in your group are playing from the other, but almost chaotic with other people approaching tees from the other direction blindly out of order and teeing off the same time as you. Also, there are not always 3 tees on each hole. Sometimes the white (middle) tee was the same as the red, sometimes the same as blue, and others by itself.

Not the courses fault, but there is pretty much no elevation and no water, not so much making the holes somewhat repetitive, but more just the fact that these factors are just not present (the kinds of things I expect from a 4.0+ rated course). Also the distance from one hole to the next does not vary drastically.

The parking lot is dirt/gravel and very small. There are no restrooms or water- there was a port-a-pottie though- for restrooms, not water. ;)
Other Thoughts: This is fun course, geared mainly towards local recreational level players. Experienced disc golfers can enjoy the basic challenges offered here, but should be able to score well. Birdies are possible on many holes, and pars are expected and not too difficult, even from a poor tee shot. This is a nice stop on the way to and from Highbridge, but not a disc golf destination on its own. (I wish we had had time to play Standing Rocks, but having 2 decent courses in the same area is a bonus.)

I think this course has a lot of potential because the land it is on is great for disc golf and the overall hole design is very good. However, there are too many cons and the course is in desperate need of some maintenance- mainly new (more durable) tee signs.

I know many others think this course is a 4.0, but to me it only has the potential to be a weak 4.0. My first thoughts after walking off hole #18 was a strong 2.5- just better than average. After thinking about it a while, I did really like the holes themselves, but it needs more than that to be put into the top 10% of courses I have played. I hope I was able to explain in my Cons why I feel this way. That being said, I liked the course and do recommend it to disc golfers traveling nearby.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.