Stevens Point, WI 
Yulga Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 270ft.   3 / 335ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun Course

1    7/30/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: shinypickle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Red, White, and Blue tees that are placed out very well.
-Beautiful Scenery
-Great mix of shots needed to complete a hole
-Large concrete tee pads
-Lots of trees that make the course more challenging.
-No two holes are the same.
Cons: -Most of the tee signs have been destroyed or damaged
-Since the holes signs are messed up it is hard to find your way to the next hole
-No garbage cans; there is tons of litter throughout the course
-Very little elevation throughout the course
Other Thoughts: This course was fun to play but we kept getting lost because the tee signs have been damaged so you can't see were to go for the next hole. Bring lots of bug spray. It was a fun course to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  The Essentials

5+    7/5/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: NatePio
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots required to do well. Doesn't restrict players to one type of shot per hole. Reds and Whites great for beginners, while Blues provide a good challenge for veteran players. Well posted signage, easy to follow.
Cons: Lacking garbage cans. Gets very crowded in spring and fall. Due to proximity to Stevens Point, a lot of people who have no respect for the game or its courses frequent it.
Other Thoughts: Out of all the courses in the Stevens Point area, this is the one that provides the most bang for its buck as its free. Not as good as Standing Rocks, but very close.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Stevens Point's Gem

5+    5/15/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of holes in terms of path, distance, and tree obstacles. Course is carved from tall trees with thin trunks. Mature forest provides for a memorably scenic round. Majority of holes have signs intact for all three sets of tees. Large, concrete tee pads and benches made from tree trunks. Most holes are 250-350 feet but require precise turns and fades in order to successfully negotiate trees. Finish the round with your best bomb drive (420 feet with trees guarding the basket area). No two holes are alike. Ground is blanketed with pine needles and other brush so that losing a disc is a rare event.
Cons: Those who crave elevation change will be left wanting. For only a few holes you will find yourself throwing similar drives. A few of the most heavily wooded holes can seem cheap in difficulty of finding a workable path (#16). Your discs will pick up some tree sap during a round!
Other Thoughts: Gravel parking lot plus another lot across the street. If both lots are full, it will probably worth your time to haul over to Standing Rocks instead.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but flat

1    6/7/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small flat park that is disc golf exclusive. The area is pretty heavily wooded, with some brush on many holes to snare errant drives. Though the course is all in a pretty small area, there are enough trees that the designers were able to keep the holes separate so there is very little chance of throwing onto another fairway. Most holes have defined fairways with woods and rough lining the edges, and several holes throw through stands of trees with multiple lines to the hole. There is a good mix of left and right turning holes to keep it interesting through the whole course.

There are three tees on most holes, and this is one of the best designs I've seen using multiple tees. Often one tee will use an entirely different fairway or line to the hole, changing up the course entirely. I only got to play the white tees, but it looked like the kind of course where all three sets of tees are worth playing. There are signs at each tee, with the map and distance for all three tees on each hole. The tee pads are all nice concrete with some texture for good grip. The baskets are showing a little wear but catch fine.
Cons: The course is very flat, and there's not a huge variety of different hole lengths, so it all feels a little bit the same after a while. The design does a great job with the space available, but there just isn't really room for any longer holes to mix things up a little bit. There are a couple holes where I pulled out a driver, but for the most part this is a mids and putters course.

The hole signs were decent, but not very durable. A significant number of them were destroyed or gone, and many tee posts were ripped out of the ground. At least the information was duplicated (triplicated?) on all three tees, so often at least one was intact, but that means walking to another tee to get the distance.
Other Thoughts: This is another fun course in the Stevens Point area, and definitely worth a stop if you're in the area, and has great replay-ability with the multiple and very different sets of tees. It's a great course for newer players from the short tees, with reasonable distance and a variety of lines to learn. More experienced players will find good variety and some challenge here, especially with all the different tees to choose from. I recommend this course if you're passing through, though it's not worth a huge drive all by itself.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Yulga - first impressions

2-4    5/31/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Carno364
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well laid out, from the start. Nicely has a blue, white, and red tee on almost all holes and is designed to have a different experience no matter what tee you use. The course was well kept up with no over growth considering it is through the woods. Baskets and markers are easily visible.
Cons: Litter throughout the course, only trash cans available are by the parking lot. Beware broken beer bottles.

Routes to the next tees can get a little confusing if you don't know the area, and a bunch of map and hole number markers are missing from the stakes at the beginning of each hole.
Other Thoughts: Although it is well laid out, and presents some challenges, its flat, has no water, and trees are the only obstacle.

A few of the back 9 holes feel like they were giving up on creating the course, and just put the holes in to finish the course up. It edges on a neighborhood with some houses, and hole 14 is an easy 2 shot.

Overall I was very impressed with the course. I will definitely play it again if I am in the Stevens Point area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 central wisconsin strong

5+    10/24/2009   12/30/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of the finest examples of using 3 sets of tees to maximum potential that I have seen.
Perfect tees signs and perfect cement tees.
All types of lines offered.
Primarily low/flat shots needed. Therefore, this course puts everyone on the same scale; regardless of what one's max distance may be.
Overall feeling very nice here. Three types of forest; all clear for lower lines; but giving one a nice canopy feeling, higher up.
Though course can be crowded, the way the course is laid out, and the terrain it uses, you generally feel like you have the course to yourself; even when quite a number of others are also throwing.
Course flows back to parking lot more than twice, for those who might need to stop back at vehicle for provisions.
Even from blue (long) tees, aces are possible on most holes....at the same time; par is not a bad score for all but 950+ rated players.
Cons: Those above 950+ rated will find this course a bit short. They will also probably figure it allows lesser players too much of a chance to keep up with them; due to shots required (see above). This is why I'm giving it a 3.5....thinking of top players views here.
Very flat, absolutely no change in elevation.
No water in play.
Few long holes for those who like to bomb. (Though I would point out that this is not a pitch and putt by all but top player's standards; and even so, there are more than enough trees to keep all players honest.)
Other Thoughts: You will notice that Superberry, who is, in general, a very tough rater of courses; has given Yulga a 4. I am only slightly surprised at this. This course forces you to think about the line you want; and to hit it....for just about every hole; from every tee. In others words, he is rewarding the designer for a very well thought out design.
I am probably going to get some HBH (home boy hate), for this one. Homies not very happy with my Standing Rocks review either. However, I happen to think (and review suggestions back me up), that a 3.5 is a very good course. This is a very good course. Schukar designs are always done very well and maintained awesomely. Yulga is no exception. This overall course, especially if you play it from a couple of sets of tees, will leave you will a good, overall, "wow" feeling. But, in general, there a no particular, "wow" holes. Yulga, Standing Rocks, and Big Eau Pleine, provide a VERY GOOD THREESOME, in central Wisconsin. All three are worth a trip. I would consider such a trip to be a "4 rated journey."

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  awesome course

1    10/8/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: WIGS
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: We drove over from Kaukauna and started at mead. Wasnt bad..... But the next course was out of this world. If i was to rate Yulga, it would be a 10. Awesome tee's-awesome tee pads and good description of every hole. It also showed where the next tee pad is located. It was worth the drive. We got there early and by the time we were done, it was crowded(NOON). Would recommend this course to anyone. Compared to my home course in Kaukauna(GRIGNON). this place was spotless.
Cons: NONE WHAT SO EVER
Other Thoughts: WE WILL BE BACK!!!!!!

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Extremely well matured!

5+    5/2/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 170  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety, scenic beauty, woods, and not over-played. Three sets of tees (some shared on some holes) add variety and challenge, as well as vary your shot selection. Alternate pin placements on almost every hole I believe. The woods here are a mix of hardwoods toward the back of the course, jack pines through the middle, and a mix of prairie woods up front. This offers a nice change of scenery and feel of playing much more of a park than the actual land used. The balance here is great with long, short, right, and left. The signs are very nice and unique touches like the carved wood benches offer the finishing touch. The woods and brush offer both a canopy to limit the height of drives, and the trees themselves force specific flights as well as offer options for RH or LH players. I cannot complain about the concrete pads here because they are actually installed corrctly and flush with the ground for the most part.
Cons: Not much at all for elevation here, course is almost completely flat. No water hazards at all, and not real OB but some backyards for the new subdivision. So as far as the perfect balance, there is a little missing from an amazing course.
Other Thoughts: Yulga is a excellent course and well worth the trip to point. If you couple this course with a round at Standing Rocks, you're gonna be extremely glad you came to the area. Yulga alone is worth a trip for a travelling player. Yulga has far less (if any) poison ivy compared to Standing Rocks. Playing a night round here is FUN and DARK! With some elevation and water hazard, the course would rate nearly a 5! I've been palying this course since it was placed in the ground, and it has continued to mature and get better and better.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course!

1    8/19/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: ylfgd85
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2009
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: One of the best courses I've ever played. A great challenge to all types of players. The densely wooded to the long narrow fairways to the semi-wooded holes provide a good variety. Good tee-off platforms and markers. Multiple tees on each hole for different caliber of players.

Map posted at the beginning of the course. Holes are clearly marked.
Cons: If you haven't played it before, it can be a little difficult to follow were each hole is. I recommend snapping a picture of the map with your cell phone for reference.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course!

1    7/9/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: theycallmejg15
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is the best course I have ever played. Everything and I mean everything here is the best that it could be. The tee pads are amazing playing red white and blue. Some holes even have diamond shaped pads that slowly shrink down as you get to the end of the pad. Never seen that before! Sweet benches crafted from wood cut down in the park. The fairways are nicely cut through the tall pines. The risk of losing a disc is very minimal. They have 3 different alternate pin placements. The pines smell so good! Also have a porta potty on hole 9. Great course for anyone! Definitely will be back. Only 45 minutes from my house! Great mix of open and wooded holes as well.
Cons: Only thing I can say would be a con is the lack of garbage cans but this is the only con I have.
Other Thoughts: First hole is to the right of the parking lot. When we were there we were lucky to find a spot to park. Park is kinda out in the middle of nowhere but well worth finding it! Beautiful!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.