Zebulon, NC 
Zebulon Community Park Share
Uploaded By: lbaggers Hole #7 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Very Good Park Course

1    9/10/2014   9/11/2014
Review By: Cripes
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Zebulon community park is a very nice and well maintained park. The course winds around the edges of the park and overall does a nice job of avoiding the high traffic areas. This course is longer that your typical pitch and putt around a park and there are some legitimate par 4s here.

The holes are mostly well thought out with a nice mix of wooded and open. The width of the fairways on the wooded holes are very fair. They are narrow enough to be challenging but always offer a line that intermediate players should be able to hit.

The concrete tee pads are all in good shape and the hole signage is excellent. They give an accurate depiction of the hole and the line. This comes in handy because the baskets can be hard to see. The tee signs also clearly describe the OB areas. The park has also done a good job of putting up signs to alert other park users of the disc golf course.
Cons: Holes 2 and 3 are very close to the playground.
Water drainage issues on hole 1 and 5.
The signs by the teepads are very nice but I would have liked a few more navigational signs to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: This is definately one of the nicest winding through a park courses I have played. Overall it makes great use of the terrain and mostly avoids the high traffic areas. There are a lot of great holes here and it is worth checking out if you are in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Zebulon

5+    6/29/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: logjammin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The signage is very good.
The teepads are ample concrete slabs. Very wide and long, and level with the ground where possible.
There is a good variety of holes, and I didn't get bored there.
After you make it through hole 3, there isn't too much non disc golf traffic to worry about.
The parking lot is right next to hole 1. There is a kiosk with a map. And there's a practice basket right there. And hole 18 ends up right there.
Although there are several "water holes," there's no danger of losing a disc in the water.
You might have to wade in a shallow creek, though.
And there really isn't a lot of undergrowth where you could lose a disc easily.
Cons: It has the old time baskets that are just gray metal. They don't stand out as I'm peering through the woods for the basket.
The layout has you walking back and forth a lot. Hole 5, for example, has the basket close to basket 4. You just walk across a field, throw back to where you came from, and walk back across the field.
Hole 5 also frequently has a swampy area just short of the basket.
On holes 2 and 3, there are usually a lot of kids in the way.
At hole 4, there's a sign that says the Pampas grass is out of bounds. I don't know what Pampas grass is, but almost the entire fairway is grass.
In the summer, there is a lot of baseball activity. It's not really in the way, but it can be distracting.
Other Thoughts: Sometime in the last couple of years, they changed the hole numbers around. The old 18 is now hole 1, and the old 17 is now 18, etc. I like this arrangement better. The big map and the practice basket are right by the parking lot, and tee # 1 is right there too. This works out better. There's a creek running through 1-3, and you have to throw across the creek on each one. No big deal. But the family area by 2 and 3 can be a problem. Lots of kids and parents there. 1-3 are moderate length holes, with a few obstacles, and doglegs at the end. 4 is very long, and the fairway runs next to a fenced soccer field. The basket is in the woods off to the left. Then the #5 detour, and back into the woods for 6, which runs parallel to 4, in the opposite direction. 7 runs along the right side of the creek, and is kinda short. 8 is longer, in a mildly wooded area. 9 is a lazy left turning fairway, with a tight squeeze in the middle.
Then is 10! a long downhill left turning fairway, with mowed grass, and a pipeline along the edge. 11 and 12 are average lanes through the woods, and the tee for 13 is right next to the tee for 10. They really could have used the same concrete tee, and had signs facing 2 different directions. Anyway, 13 comes out of the woods, uphill slightly, and ends up next to the baseball complex. There's an open field next to it, where you'll throw the next 4 holes back and forth. Then 18 is a downhill left-turning blind throw that ends up next to a fenced basketball court.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best Community Park Course I've Played

1    7/21/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: alecfalzone
Played: 60  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets - Both the placement and quality of the baskets are pretty good for where the course is located. There is also a practice basket before hole 1 with some interesting putting opportunities.
Course Layout - There are tight fairways, bomb shots, RHFH and RHBH drives, short holes, par 4's are real par 4's, OB's make sense, decent sized tee-pads
Facilities - Cold water fountains, bathrooms, park for the kids/wife
Cons: Signage - Most of the signs are sun-bleached and illegible. In addition to not accurately depicting the basket placement when you can read them.
Navigation - Definitely not the easiest to navigate, but not terrible. You can figure it out as I did after some walks on the fairway and back to the tee. Holes 3/4 shoot at the same basket also, not a fan of that really.
Mandos - There are at least 2 mandos, maybe three? These are pointless and limit your shot selection. They make the holes easier if anything. Especially the forehand along the creek on #6 or #7?
Traffic - Holes 1-3 have a lot of park patrons even when there aren't baseball games going on. I am guessing the back 9 will be unplayable when there is a ball game in progress.
Other Thoughts: I had a little kid start to pick up my disc that I parked on #1, I had to yell at her to leave it alone. Beware of kids on the first few holes. Be sure to bring good bug spray, mosquitos on the back 9 are awful with a lot of standing water in the woods. I left with at least 6 bites all over me. I am being generous with a 3.5 I think, if it wasn't the best park-based course I've played I would rate it a 3/5. If the signage is updated with directions to the next pads in addition to individual baskets/fairways for every hole I would have no problem giving this a 4/5. 14-16 are on the same exact fairway, where is the variety here? I am happy I finally found a course in the Raleigh area where I can air out my drives for once :).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Bag Delivers the Woods

1    7/15/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Zebulon is best described as a mixed bag. You start out shooting through a playground. The next shot runs parallel to a creek. Then you go into the woods. You venture deeper until you reach a 640-foot bomb alongside a pipeline. From there you turn back. You emerge from the woods to throw a few times back and forth across an open meadow. From there, you play along athletic fields until you return to the start.

For the most part, this is a very well-designed course, with a lot of variety, not just in terms of terrain, but in length and shape of hole. There is a lot to like here, but it delivers the best holes in the wooded section. The highlight holes are 2 which run along the brook. (After that, the brook turns away from the course sadly) The clear water bubbles along swiftly. (Not disc stealing swift, anything that lands in there will almost certainly catch on a rock.

1 and 18 are pretty fantastic as well. Both cages sit just over that same brook from 2. The one issue is that these holes are all in pedestrian-rich parts of the park. I think they are worth the wait.

4 is also good now that it has been moved and you no longer have to shoot over the soccer field. (The field is still parallel to the fairway but the basket is now in the woods to the left though the map has not been updated.
Cons: Where the course falters is in some of the more open throws. I appreciate the opportunity to air it out midway through the course, but using the exact same field for three fairways is less than innovative and if the course had been more crowded, I could see this being a danger zone.

The worst hole though is seventeen. The tee is elevated and it would be a nice left swinging hook if it wasn't so precariously close to the baseball field. Add in the fact that you throw directly into the sun in the evening and many a disc tosser will find themselves walking all the way around the outfield fence.

Still, this would be a four-star course if it weren't for the water. I don't mean water hazards, the brook itself is awesome. I mean the standing water that collects in several areas, unmarked on the map. I'm sure it isn't usually as bad as it was when I saw it. They would have had a hard time pouring the fifteenth tee under a foot of water. That isn't the worst part though. It's the 20-foot puddle that you find where from the tee and map looked like an ideal landing spot for your drive. (4 and 14)

Other Thoughts: Would definitely return. Would definitely make sure it was after a dry spell.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good mix of open/wooded

2-4    7/2/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of open wooded
Challanging
Nice scorecards
Big bombs/short tech. holes
left/right equality shots
Nice park
Clean/trashcans/benches
Solid Golf holes
Cons: One set of pins
One set of tees
Not for beginners
No flag markings or color on baskets can cause a problem because of older dga baskets.
People on road for #3 and other sports to be watchful of like baseball/softball/walkers.
No real wow factors.
Other Thoughts: Great course just needs some glitter.
Seriously I know this is a championship style course, but they need to do some things like paint the baskets/alternate pins or just not make it seem like an older style course. Not for the faint of heart for you young golfers out there with no beginner tees.
I like Zeb. it needs some love and that "WOW" factor but I think with some sparkle I'm sure this course could be one of the best in N.C.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    3/11/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: Thumper35
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A good mix of wooded and open holes. There are a few holes you gotta bomb it to hope to finish par.
Cons: The holes in the wide open field feel a little tacked on. All the other holes feel like there were Alot of time and preparation in creating them. It is just a bummer that the bomb holes didn't feel that way.
Other Thoughts: Over a pretty good course

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Zeb

5+    1/20/2012   1/27/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 144  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 4.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Atmosphere - Nice park feel to the course. It's open and landscaped very well. Some of the holes are very scenic, a few have a creek running through them. Never really that crowded either.

Equipment - Baskets and teepads are in good shape. There are benches and trashcans on a lot of holes, restrooms/fountain at #1.

Layout - Zeb has a good mix of hole types. Even though it's mostly lightly wooded or open it uses the trees it does have very well to create tight shots and multiple paths. It has a good mix of long and short holes as well with some long bomb opportunities.

For the most part Zeb is a gap hitting course, not that many placement shots are required. It uses the available land features very well to accomplish it. It's a marginal risk reward course, some holes have it and some don't. It will force you to be fairly accurate off the tee in a few places which is a plus for me.

The course has pretty good flow for the most part, you won't find yourself walking really far to the next tee or being lost. It's a big loop and 18 spits you back out right at the parking lot.
Cons: Atmosphere - In the summer you'll run in to an army of angry insects on the front 9. It can be really bad depending on where your disc lands. If it rains heavily some holes can be mucky, some bad drainage areas.

The park is also used for baseball, kids, basketball.. these people can be in your way.

Equipment - the signs are small, old and sometimes not there. they need to be updated. i do wish #3's teepad was either bigger or positioned better; for a long bomb hole you aren't given any room to run up from off the teepad.

Layout - The course is mostly flat which is something that I don't normally enjoy. It works with the course a bit though. It could mix in a couple more really technical holes that require more than just straightish gap hitting shots.

Only one set of tees... that's lame.

While I really like a lot of the holes on this course some are just so bad and positioned so poorly that it really detracts from the overall feel.

#3 is a long bomb hole that runs right up a dirt road which is sometimes heavily used. the road is also right next to the baseball field which is OB and a pain if you land over there because there's only one gate to go in and out of.

#12 - I actually like the design of this hole but again the park road comes in to play and you're throwing blind at it. Could be dangerous if people aren't aware of what's going on.

#13-16 - they're all almost completely open holes in a big field kinda crammed together. it would be better if it were just 2 out of the 4; i'd go 14 & 16. just really detracts from the feel of the course.

#18 - it's a good hole but it's swampy and can be a real muck at times. not the best finishing hole in the world.
Other Thoughts: Zeb has it's fair share of really solid dg holes that are scenic as well. It's a fun course to play in good conditions. Let's you really rip which is a big contrast from most of the other area courses.

My favorite holes include -

#1 - One of the best opening holes in the area. Gives you two routes to go slightly downhill to where the basket is located across a creek. Gorgeous hole.

#6 - Perhaps the best looking hole on the course; runs next to the creek and has a few randomly placed trees in the fairway that keep it shaded. Basket sits next to the creek, multiple routes.

#7 - Great layout to this hole, it's got length but requires you to hit one of a couple gaps. Green is semi-protected with a grouping of trees which forces another route choice.

#9 - Bomber hole with a 50' wide fairway that turns left and drops down at the end where the basket sits next to an exposed water pipe. Fun hole to let one go.

#11 - big sweeping anny hole, probably the most technical hole on the course. it's one of the most wooded you'll see.

#14 - i like this hole, if it wasn't crammed in with the other four i'd love it. it's open and long but you're along the wood line and the hole ends up guarded by another wood line. you'll need a long but very well placed shot to deuce.

#17 - fun elevated blind hyzer shot. gives the course some variety when it desperately needs it.

I'd give this course a 4 if they did something with the holes I mentioned; but overall it's one to hit if you're in the area.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/6/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: NCStatePlaya
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I prefer this course over Cedar Hills and Kentwood in the area. A nice mix of distances, RH/LH shaped, open/tight holes. This course seriously can test your accuracy off the tee and let you stretch that new driver to its potential on holes 3 and 9. Although the terrain is relatively flat, the course has been designed to take advantage of the few rolling hills on the property. Nice accurate tee signs (ones that were missing have been replaced) are at every hole along with benches at most. Something I find appealing about the course is how hard it is to lose a disc here. On the few holes where water comes into play, your discs are always retrievable. (thumbs up)!!!
Cons: During spring and summer months the park can become crowded. Peds walking along the holes crossing the fairways, or standing/playing in the creek at the basket on hole #6 (for like 10 minutes...finally I just had to tee off), vehicles barrelling down the gravel "fairway" on 3 only to park on the tee pad of hole 16 and extend over half of the fairway. Lots of poison ivy during the summer months, so keep it in the fairway. ;-)
Other Thoughts: My favorite holes are #9, 17, and 18. Most of my cons are concerning the other facilities at the park, not representative of the course itself. If you are in the area or happen to be driving through...I would highly suggest stopping by this course. You will not regret it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/2/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: justinmd44
Played: 57  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very well maintained park with some good disc golfing to be had. Some of the earlier holes play through some narrow to not so narrow woods. The back nine is mostly open with enough space to duce some lengthy holes. The variety here is nice and the long holes can test your D.
Cons: The course is well designed for the park it is in. There is almost no elevation change here and for the most part the wooded holes aren't very difficult. Also there is a stretch of holes in the back nine that have you throwing back and fourth in and out of the woods (it just feels repetitive).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Variety

1    4/6/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of wooded and open fairway holes in a nice city park. Where this course really excels is in it's wooded holes - some which are cleared fairways with heavy trees on the edges, and others that have speckled trees throughout the fairway to force shaped shots and more accuracy. You are challenged to stay in the fairways or you will certainly be carding bogeys on many of the forested holes.
The tee signs were really nice, and saved this first-timer a lot of walking, as the maps and distances were very dependable.
Highlights to me were holes 1 & 18 with OB streams waiting right at the 275' danger zone. Hole # 9 has a classic wide golf fairway, but punishes you (as it did me, with a double bogey) if you shank one in the woods.
Cons: Some dangerous parts of the course: Hole 3 goes right down a well-used gravel road (especially during baseball season) - who wants their disc run over? A couple of other issues with fairways should be noted- 12 intersects this gravel road & brushes the back of tee #4; Holes 13 & 16 edge the baseball parking lot and are a danger to cars parked there and people playing pepper on the sidelines (#16).

The field that criss-crosses 13-16 gets a bit redundant as these holes are all pretty open, straight and one after the other.
Other Thoughts: The designers have done such a fine job with a majority of the course - particularly the holes in the woods - if somehow they could utilize more of the woods to create some new holes to replace a few dangerous spots - this course would be top notch.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.