Disc Golf Store
Zebulon, NC 
Zebulon Community Park Share
Uploaded By: lbaggers Hole #11 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Zebulon rocks

1    6/29/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: Techimike
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Zebulon is my home course so I am fairly partial. That being said this course offers a bit of everything. #1 starts off right next to the practice basket and a beautiful covered bench structure which also holds the course map. There is a ton of variety on this course offering challenges for everyone. There is an excellent mix of wooded and open shots. One of the more challenging holes is #7 which is a tough anny or forehand shot for RHBH players along a creek with a mando tree forcing you to play it well or go OB. There are also some nice tunnel shots and fairway drives that will force you to learn how to manipulate your shots.
Cons: I honestly can't come up with any cons. If I had to give one just to be critical it would be that they could use some alternate pin locations. They way it is designed alternate boxes wouldn't really work but alternate pin locations absolutely could.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a fairly long course that will both challenge your wooded game and also allow you to air out some drives all the while being in a beautiful setting this is your place. Some things have changed with the course since previous reviews as well. All the holes have moved forward one #. So #18 is now #1 and so on. They are working on spreading mulch to improve the standing water in some places (not that big a deal honestly). This place is constantly getting better. The community really cares about this course and it shows!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gr8 Course

5+    5/20/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: Mandoe
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a great course for the beginner or intermediate. A combination of open and woooded holes gives the course a good flow of variety.
Cons: Depending on the time of day, you have to watch out for all the jobless moms strolling their kids through the park.
Other Thoughts: This is a safe great and easy to access course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice course in nice park

1    5/21/2012   11/28/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in a nice park - through some woods and nearby other activities (playground, baseball, etc.)
- Community park location makes the course easy to find with plenty of parking
- Pavillions can provide for tourney central or weather shelter
- Restrooms and water fountain located near hole #1
- Practice basket allows for quick warmup
- Bulletin board/kiosk for league/tourney/rules postings - there are scorecards for the taking
- Benches and trash cans found throughout
- One tee and basket location per hole - sign at each tee shows an accurate hole map, distance, par, next tee arrow and nearby items (parking lot, playground, baseball field, exposed water pipe, etc)
- Level, concrete tee pad on each hole
- Nice variety of short, long, wooded, open, etc. holes - fairways well-defined on the wooded holes
- Many different types of shots needed to score well, as the holes change up left, right, grip-and-rip, finesse, etc. - some holes do give you options off the tee, which is nice
- Not a big chance for lost discs (except maybe the trees lining the left side of #13 and #14 - the wooded holes are pretty mature and worn-down and there aren't many long, blind shots
- Easy navigation from basket to next tee - not crowded, but not too spread out
- Basket on hole #18 brings you back close to the parking lot
- Holes #1 and 2 are in a pretty little grove section with a creek crossing the fairways to keep you honest, hole #6 is a wooded beauty with some angled trees/vines scattered to create some fun lines (creek is also slightly in play off to the left), hole #9 is a long, sweeping, downhill hyzer (RHBH) that finishes along side an exposed water pipe which adds a fun unique obstacle, hole #17 is a cool little downhill hyzer pitch to a blind basket location (not enough hyzer can leave you stuck in some thick shrubbery), hole #18 is a medium-long anny that requires you to hit a precise line or face trouble
Cons: - Hole #3 is a big bomb that was fun when the park was empty, but it plays along a gravel road and I could see this creating interference - the gravel itself is not exactly fun to throw a disc onto either (although I think I remember a temp sign that said the road itself is OB)
- Holes #13 through 16 were a throw-away basically pitching back and forth across an open field - they didn't mesh well with the rest of the course and got boring
- Fairway on hole #18 was a bit messy
- Due to the move of basket #3 (see below), it's a bit of backtracking to get to tee #4 and you're kind of walking along the side of its open fairway
- Baskets on wooded holes blend into the background
- Even though the course flows very nicely and easily, an overall course map would be nice
- Playground and walking path near holes 1 and 2 could get in the way if there are little ones running around
Other Thoughts: - Basket for hole #3 has been moved to the left treeline, rather than over the corner of the baseball field - there was a sign explaining this, but the hole map is not updated yet
- A bit removed from the city itself (maybe a 20-30 minute drive east), but very easy to get to
- Although the park was empty when I played early on a weekday, I think there is a concession stand for the baseball field, which probably offers food/drink which would be a nice addition mid-round

This is a real solid course that I would definitely return to. If some more land could be opened up (maybe the pond near 16 and 17?) to eliminate the monotony of 13-16, it would be even better. It was the first course I played on my visit to Raleigh and was definitely a good sign of things to come.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very good course

1    10/25/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: geffy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course is very well kept and extremely fun. The pars are a little excessive. 600+ yard par 4 is crazy but still a fun hole!
Cons: The pars are crazy and the direction of the holes are not there as good as they should be. I wish they had yellow topped disc catchers. I wish there was a water hole that was in play. That being said, I can't wait to play there again!
Other Thoughts: Loved it!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Zebulon

1    0/0/0000   5/31/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 100  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park yada, yada. Really good variety, a lot of holes have interesting features like hole # 9 that features a big pipeline. A few holes have you playing into or out of the woods which is always nice in my opinion, especially when the gaps are a challenge, which #18 fairly was. Holes are mostly wooded except with a string of 300'+ field holes that appear on the back 9 starting with #13. Would have preferred that I started with these holes to help warm up the guns kind of like Yadkinville but I digress. Nice, smooth, large cement tees, benches on most holes. The tee signs are probably the best feature of the course because they are fairly accurate and they indicate where the next tee pad is after you hole out. The course flows well enough but there are a few confusing instances, just remember to consult the tee signs. Not the easiest course around but I can see how some veteran players could whip it easily after a few repeated visits. Many holes are fairly aceable for the average player and most are deuceable if you're on target.
Cons: A couple of tee signs were missing but I've been informed that this is an oddity that is soon to be mended. Could have used some more trash cans, I was surprised at the amount of litter on the course but it was Memorial Day so I don't think it was all disc golfer contributed. Some guesswork involved in getting to certain tees, particularly at the end of #16, follow the little dirt road by that pond to #17. Hole #3 is not good at all. The fairway is literally a gravel road with a baseball field on the right. The problem is that the basket at the end of this ball field and at some point to get a good score on this hole you pretty much have to throw over this field. I'm not crazy about the playground immediately to the right of hole #1, a really bad grip lock could decapitate a kid on the slide like a Flying Guillotine. Much of the course follows some sort of "Fit Trail," some sort of exercise obstacle course thingy that apparently nobody uses.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really fun course to play and it's in some nice pretty, shaded woods for the most part, including a couple that run alongside a creek.

Favorite hole: #6. Runs along a creek to the left, some funky growing trees force you to shape an anhyzer or sneak a turnover through said trees.

Signature hole: #9 with the pipe line.

Infamous hole: #3 with the stupid baseball field and gravel road fairway.

Tricky hole: #18. Got to hit a gap into the woods with an anyzer or a good FH if you got it, creek just inside gap is OB.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good Mixture for a NC Course

5+    4/8/2010   4/8/2010
Review By: Toomes
Played: 95  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The biggest strength of Zebulon is the mixture of shots. Hyzers, Anyzers, Open Shots, Tight Fairways, Bombs and Finesse.
- Favorite opening hole in the Triangle area. Nice Late Turnover/Flick shot with a OB creek running 40ft front of the basket. Risk/Reward shot right off the bat, not to mention it's the prettiest hole on the course.
- Only a couple of easy deuces holes (2, 5, 13, 17). The rest of the course is fairly challenging. Two or three Par 4s depending on what you call the tweener hole 16. SSA in the high 40's.
- Usually a good place to practice in the wind. The wind doesn't effect many of the heavily wooded courses in the area.
- Hole highlights: Hole 1 (see above)
Hole 9: Par 4, Straight shot off the tee, slight hyzer down to a basket with pipe running down the right side of the fairway.
Hole 18: Tough finishing hole. 380ft Turnover shot into a tunnel. 18 can make or break a round.
- New Signage this year. The course flows pretty easy too. Hole 2 to 3 is probably the trickiest transition.
- P&R keeps the course looking nice.
Cons: - The Open holes on the course can be a bit bland due to the lack of obstacles, especially hole 13.
- It can get really soggy on some parts of the course after rain. Hole 4 comes to mind.
- People parking for baseball/softball games have no respect or just don't know better as the park right in the middle of Hole 13's fairway. I even seen someone park on Hole 16s Tee Pad.
- In a small town 25 minutes outside of Raleigh, so it's a bit of drive for most people.
- Flat course for the most part. Some elevation changes on 9,10, 16, 17, but that's it.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in the Triangle along with Buckhorn and UNC. Great mixture of holes including the open holes which are rare in NC.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Zebulon

2-4    3/17/2010   3/17/2010
Review By: 1978
Played: 178  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2010
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course. I played in the winter and it was absolutly beautiful. There are plenty of birdie holes mixed with long wooded holes. 5-6 holes allow you to air it out. Maybe not max drivers but they are open so you can grip and rip the perfect disc for that distance. Many of the holes play under pines and the needle straw makes nice smooth fairways with little underbrush in many cases. Signage and tee pads were great.
Cons: There are few cons to complain about so I will have to be picky. I didn't really like hole 3's fairway. The safest shot lands you in the middle of a gravel road that is hard on discs. Some teepads are close to pin locations or adjacent fairways. Holes 13-16 are basically the same shot (for me) around a big mowed field. With the beauty of the rest of the course these holes kind of stick out as "blah." There is nice woods and a pond surrounding them and it makes you wonder if the course builders just got tired and threw in the last few holes. Those holes keep me from rating this course a 4.5. For some people this is a (-) the course does not figure 8. In fact 9 takes you as far away from hole 1 as any other hole.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, I would suggest that you play here. If the approvals could be gotten, I would suggest redesigning holes 13,14,15 to utilize the woods a little more.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    9/7/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Kiknwitcooper
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tough Course, with good mixture of open and wooded holes. All holes except for 2 are all par 3.
Cons: Watch out for ticks and water moccasins.
Other Thoughts: If you shoot par there you have played one hell of a round of golf

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Out of the way but worth it

5+    3/27/2009   3/27/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course really surprised me the first time I played it. It's a decent drive from Raleigh but is definitely well maintained and has a great layout. In the past a few tees were missing signs but they've all been replaced; signs are hand-drawn but do a nice job of conveying the whole layout, distance, and par. Most every hole has signs pointing the way to the next tee and #3 is easier than it used to be to find (a previous reviewer mentioned it was a bit tough). To find it head left (when looking at the road) along the sidewalk after the #2 pin and then take the path through the woods after about 15 ft. As others have mentioned, minor elevation changes, good mix of open and wooded holes, makes use of the stream on a few of the holes, and thoughtful layout. The woods do not have a lot of brush unless you go well off the beaten path, so not too much time is usually wasted on disc finding. Course can be challenging to score well but is not punishing for a beginner.
Cons: There are no alternate tees or pin positions so the course is lacking a little replay variety (although it's yet to keep me from going back!).
Other Thoughts: I was tempted to put this as a Con but it may just be too much work to fix for the park system of this small city. The last hole has a couple of small stream beds that give the hole a bit of a challenge for an errant or short drive. However, the landing area past the fork of the creeks is a very small area because beyond it are two patches of extremely swampy/marshy area with a narrow path between them to the pin. These are easy to throw into and will easily ruin your day. Your disc will be wet and your shoes will most likely be after retrieval. That in itself isn't so bad, but the problem is this water is stagnant and has a lot of decomposed leaves in it, so it STINKS.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Loved it from the 1st throw

1    8/31/2008   8/31/2008
Review By: Erindisc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course. Now, I have been playing golf since 1989, and have just started playing disc golf. So- based on a regular course - this course has many pros, but very few cons. First of all, this course was the 1st course I ever played as a beginner. I found it to be very challenging, extremely fun, and very well maintained. The grass was well cut, the tees well maintained, the OB cleared quite well for retrieval, and the water and terrain beautiful.
Cons: It was very difficult to find my way around the course. There are very few signs aiming you to the direction of the next hole. I wandered around aimlessly searching for hole 16. Note: It is located behind the baseball field, not where you would intend b/c it does not flow in the direction you are heading on 15, but could be easily found if a sign was simply placed there.
Other Thoughts: This course would be perfect if it had signs directing you to the next hole. It would also be nice if there was a course layout and score cards available.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.