Disc Golf Store
Zebulon, NC
Zebulon Community Park Share
Uploaded By: lbaggers Hole #1 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great variety of holes, some DULL ones

1    11/8/2010   11/16/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 158  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Despite the neighborhood leading up to the park, the park is beautiful, clean, and somewhat quiet.
There is a very good variety of holes here, a few 600' long ripper holes (3 & 9), tight short holes (6-8), and good mix of left/right/straight. There is no real huge elevation here, but the rolling terrain is used well to play uphill, downhill, and crosshill. Most notably on the long #9 that plays downhill along a pipeline right of way.
#18 is a memorable signature hole. It is a 380' long anny (RHBH) but just slightly drawn out at first and then a harder turn in the last 75' or so. If your drive is not long enough to get around the turn, you'll be in some thick and thorny rough on the right. You start in an open tee area and then throw into the woods which are framed beautifully by a few large trees. It has a drainage creek that runs the entire length of the left side of the hole. About where you need to cut the corner and turn right, the creek makes a Y-shaped split and crosses the fairway to the right side requiring you to cross.
Slight water is in play in the form of a creek. #1 & 2 play across it, it runs the left side of #6, and as I eluded to it plays a vital role on #18.
The tees are level concrete, decently flush with the ground, and long, wide, and grippy enough.
There are benches on almost every tee I think.
Tee signs were very good with a depiction of the hole and accurate distances.
Cons: There is just one tee. I'm a believer that city parks courses should take up the expense of a short tee installed for first time players and families with smaller kids to help them enjoy and learn some love of the game.
There is just one pin location. Alternate pins here could introduce some real risky greens perched nearer the little creek, out of the wide open spaces and on the edge of some woods, and on the edges of a few ridges and mounds throughout the park.
None of the greens are real risky. They are fairly wide open within 20-30' and pins aren't perched on some of the neat physical features like mounds or ridges, or the edges of ravines. Alternate pins would help.
#13-15 are three throwaway holes, especially the wide open 13. This area really takes away from the course and the holes play too close to one another too. Pins could be tucked into the woods - like the ridge left of 13, or maybe deeper into the woods left of 14. An alternate pin on one of the mounds around the #14 green is what I'm talking about with alternate pins showcasing more of the unique terrain as well as adding some challenge. Or the entire area of 3 holes could be redesigned into 2 really challenging holes playing into and out of the woods for greater distances (not just 20-40').
#17 is also a risky OB, interference hole entirely too close to basketball and baseball areas. The ridge between 16 and 17, and the pond on left, would yield an amazing hole.
I don't think it was identified as such, but the gravel road on 3, 5, and 12 would offer more challenge if played as OB.
Other Thoughts: Alternate pins and second set or tees (longer and shorter in some cases) would create a very well rounded design that even more showcases the park features, introduces more or less challenge, and offers a much more well rounded and varied course.
The park has good variety as I commented on, so it is not boring. You'll get wide open, tight woods, some water OB, long, and short holes that will challenge an advanced player. It just needs some spice and failed to impress me, but #18 was a real winner. A picturesque beauty of good disc golf holes with good design using the physical elements of the terrain. A few more options (tees, pins) and a bit of redesign on the last third would help immensely in my opinion.
I'd say this is a White/Blue level course. I never play as well my first time through a course, but it didn't challenge me too bad to consider it purely Blue.
Considering it's out of the way (17 miles east of eastern Raleigh highway system) I wouldn't recommend it over a plethora of others in the area, and especially considering the great courses west in Durham! It is definitely worth a play if you have the time. I didn't regret it.
After pulling into the park, you should pull immediately into the lot on your left and park near the playground. The first tee is on the right side of the lot. There is a nice playground here for kids, and lots of walking trails through the park.
(The order of favorites on my Raleigh trip is as follows - UNC, Leigh Farms, Harris Lake, Cedar Hills, Zebulon, Middle Creek, and Valley Springs. UNC and Leigh farms were runaway winners but with vastly different reasons. Harris Lake was repetitive being almost all wooded, but real fun to play and lots of risk. Cedar Hills, Zeb, and Middle creek were all tied around the average for different reasons. Valley Springs was very fun, but repetitively grueling.)

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/2/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: justinmd44
Played: 57  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very well maintained park with some good disc golfing to be had. Some of the earlier holes play through some narrow to not so narrow woods. The back nine is mostly open with enough space to duce some lengthy holes. The variety here is nice and the long holes can test your D.
Cons: The course is well designed for the park it is in. There is almost no elevation change here and for the most part the wooded holes aren't very difficult. Also there is a stretch of holes in the back nine that have you throwing back and fourth in and out of the woods (it just feels repetitive).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Zebulon

1    0/0/0000   5/31/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 94  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park yada, yada. Really good variety, a lot of holes have interesting features like hole # 9 that features a big pipeline. A few holes have you playing into or out of the woods which is always nice in my opinion, especially when the gaps are a challenge, which #18 fairly was. Holes are mostly wooded except with a string of 300'+ field holes that appear on the back 9 starting with #13. Would have preferred that I started with these holes to help warm up the guns kind of like Yadkinville but I digress. Nice, smooth, large cement tees, benches on most holes. The tee signs are probably the best feature of the course because they are fairly accurate and they indicate where the next tee pad is after you hole out. The course flows well enough but there are a few confusing instances, just remember to consult the tee signs. Not the easiest course around but I can see how some veteran players could whip it easily after a few repeated visits. Many holes are fairly aceable for the average player and most are deuceable if you're on target.
Cons: A couple of tee signs were missing but I've been informed that this is an oddity that is soon to be mended. Could have used some more trash cans, I was surprised at the amount of litter on the course but it was Memorial Day so I don't think it was all disc golfer contributed. Some guesswork involved in getting to certain tees, particularly at the end of #16, follow the little dirt road by that pond to #17. Hole #3 is not good at all. The fairway is literally a gravel road with a baseball field on the right. The problem is that the basket at the end of this ball field and at some point to get a good score on this hole you pretty much have to throw over this field. I'm not crazy about the playground immediately to the right of hole #1, a really bad grip lock could decapitate a kid on the slide like a Flying Guillotine. Much of the course follows some sort of "Fit Trail," some sort of exercise obstacle course thingy that apparently nobody uses.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really fun course to play and it's in some nice pretty, shaded woods for the most part, including a couple that run alongside a creek.

Favorite hole: #6. Runs along a creek to the left, some funky growing trees force you to shape an anhyzer or sneak a turnover through said trees.

Signature hole: #9 with the pipe line.

Infamous hole: #3 with the stupid baseball field and gravel road fairway.

Tricky hole: #18. Got to hit a gap into the woods with an anyzer or a good FH if you got it, creek just inside gap is OB.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice sidetrip off the highway

1    4/3/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of wooded and open holes, as well as some elevation changes.
Park is easy to find, nice course map on the kiosk (take a pic with your cell phone, you may need it)
Nice tee signs on most of the holes
Pipeline adds interesting aesthetics on hole 9.
Cons: No sign to guide you to hole 3 or 6
Hole 3 has a gravel road that can chew up DX plastic, this gravel road can also get busy during the wrong time of day causing a safety hazard.
Baseball field is used as OB on several of the holes which can also be a safety hazard to spectators and players.
A lot of straight shots, more than half the course is striaght shots.
Hole 18 ended the game in a stinky bug infested swamp, a horrible final impression.
Other Thoughts: It's a shame that you walk by the water after hole 16, but the water is never used.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Variety

1    4/6/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of wooded and open fairway holes in a nice city park. Where this course really excels is in it's wooded holes - some which are cleared fairways with heavy trees on the edges, and others that have speckled trees throughout the fairway to force shaped shots and more accuracy. You are challenged to stay in the fairways or you will certainly be carding bogeys on many of the forested holes.
The tee signs were really nice, and saved this first-timer a lot of walking, as the maps and distances were very dependable.
Highlights to me were holes 1 & 18 with OB streams waiting right at the 275' danger zone. Hole # 9 has a classic wide golf fairway, but punishes you (as it did me, with a double bogey) if you shank one in the woods.
Cons: Some dangerous parts of the course: Hole 3 goes right down a well-used gravel road (especially during baseball season) - who wants their disc run over? A couple of other issues with fairways should be noted- 12 intersects this gravel road & brushes the back of tee #4; Holes 13 & 16 edge the baseball parking lot and are a danger to cars parked there and people playing pepper on the sidelines (#16).

The field that criss-crosses 13-16 gets a bit redundant as these holes are all pretty open, straight and one after the other.
Other Thoughts: The designers have done such a fine job with a majority of the course - particularly the holes in the woods - if somehow they could utilize more of the woods to create some new holes to replace a few dangerous spots - this course would be top notch.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Mixture for a NC Course

5+    4/8/2010   4/8/2010
Review By: Toomes
Played: 95  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The biggest strength of Zebulon is the mixture of shots. Hyzers, Anyzers, Open Shots, Tight Fairways, Bombs and Finesse.
- Favorite opening hole in the Triangle area. Nice Late Turnover/Flick shot with a OB creek running 40ft front of the basket. Risk/Reward shot right off the bat, not to mention it's the prettiest hole on the course.
- Only a couple of easy deuces holes (2, 5, 13, 17). The rest of the course is fairly challenging. Two or three Par 4s depending on what you call the tweener hole 16. SSA in the high 40's.
- Usually a good place to practice in the wind. The wind doesn't effect many of the heavily wooded courses in the area.
- Hole highlights: Hole 1 (see above)
Hole 9: Par 4, Straight shot off the tee, slight hyzer down to a basket with pipe running down the right side of the fairway.
Hole 18: Tough finishing hole. 380ft Turnover shot into a tunnel. 18 can make or break a round.
- New Signage this year. The course flows pretty easy too. Hole 2 to 3 is probably the trickiest transition.
- P&R keeps the course looking nice.
Cons: - The Open holes on the course can be a bit bland due to the lack of obstacles, especially hole 13.
- It can get really soggy on some parts of the course after rain. Hole 4 comes to mind.
- People parking for baseball/softball games have no respect or just don't know better as the park right in the middle of Hole 13's fairway. I even seen someone park on Hole 16s Tee Pad.
- In a small town 25 minutes outside of Raleigh, so it's a bit of drive for most people.
- Flat course for the most part. Some elevation changes on 9,10, 16, 17, but that's it.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in the Triangle along with Buckhorn and UNC. Great mixture of holes including the open holes which are rare in NC.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Zebulon

2-4    3/17/2010   3/17/2010
Review By: 1978
Played: 148  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2010
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course. I played in the winter and it was absolutly beautiful. There are plenty of birdie holes mixed with long wooded holes. 5-6 holes allow you to air it out. Maybe not max drivers but they are open so you can grip and rip the perfect disc for that distance. Many of the holes play under pines and the needle straw makes nice smooth fairways with little underbrush in many cases. Signage and tee pads were great.
Cons: There are few cons to complain about so I will have to be picky. I didn't really like hole 3's fairway. The safest shot lands you in the middle of a gravel road that is hard on discs. Some teepads are close to pin locations or adjacent fairways. Holes 13-16 are basically the same shot (for me) around a big mowed field. With the beauty of the rest of the course these holes kind of stick out as "blah." There is nice woods and a pond surrounding them and it makes you wonder if the course builders just got tired and threw in the last few holes. Those holes keep me from rating this course a 4.5. For some people this is a (-) the course does not figure 8. In fact 9 takes you as far away from hole 1 as any other hole.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, I would suggest that you play here. If the approvals could be gotten, I would suggest redesigning holes 13,14,15 to utilize the woods a little more.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 All-around solid course

5+    2/27/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A well balanced course with lots of variety. You are able to use every shot in your bag. This is the kind of course that you can play often and never get bored with it. It reminds me a lot of playing UNC. There are heavily wooded holes, open holes, long bombs and even some use of the little elevation available. Course flows well and has very well designed holes. If you like courses with solid hole design and a variety of features this is a good course for you. Baskets are all in good shape. There is a port-a-potty in the parking lot and a practice basket next to hole #1. There is also a playground and picnic area on site.
Cons: Not all the tee pads are concrete. The dirt pads are all in decent shape, but concrete would be nice. Very limited signage. Not good information as to basket location and distances. Hole #3 plays over a gravel road that people use to get to the back softball fields. That can be a hassle when those fields are being used. My buddy's favorite disc got pancaked once. I didn't mind, but it sucked for him. Hole #18 can be real swampy and muddy. There is a small creek running through the area, and water just seems to stay there forever. Hole #9 also sits in a low area that can get fairly muddy.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun to play and, I wish it were closer to my house so I could play it more often. It is a great place to use all your shots. There is also very little risk of losing a disc here. There is some small creeks, but no real water hazards. If you are tired of throwing discs into Harris Lake at Buckhorn then this would be a good alternative for you. If you are in the Raleigh area I would recommend trying to get to Zebulon.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Play there A-LOT!

5+    2/14/2009   12/18/2009
Review By: Chingy
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 12/12/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: COURSE DESIGN: The course layout is excellent. There is a variety of mixed holes - short/long/wooded/ & open. The course is beautiful - mature trees with awesome skyline.

TERRAIN: There is a good mix of slight elevation changes throughout the course. Holes 1, 4 & 17 are slight downhill shots (17 = most extreme). Holes 5, 10, 12, 13 & 16 are slight uphill drives (10 = most extreme).

Holes 2, 3, 6, 7, 8*, 9*, 11, 14*, 15 & 18 are pretty much flat. *Holes 8, 9 & 14 have slight downward declines in elevation ~50 - 125ft. before basket.

The grounds are well maintained by the City, grass well cut in summer, trail well kept.
CHALLENGING: The course is actually quite difficult on some holes. There are a lot of challenging holes where the creek, brush & trees come in to play. (1,2,6,8,10,17,18)

I find holes 1, 5, 8, 10, 11, 17 & 18 to be the most challenging & rewarding once you make it past the trees on your drive, in the fairway & able to receive a nice putt or upshot.
Cons: Watch out for people on walking trail
Other Thoughts: Seems like Zebulon is off to a good start for 2010! New tee signs, fairways cleared, scorecards, website looks great, bridge on 18 replaced, monthlies are being held, overall excellent game on!

Holes for a good backhand: 2, 3, *4, 5, *6, *7, 8, *9, 10, 12, 13, 14, *15, *16, 17.

Holes for a good forehand: *1, *3, *4, *5, *6, *7, *9, 11, *15, *16, 18.

* = can go either way.

Straight holes (pretty much) = 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 13, 14, 15.


7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    9/7/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Kiknwitcooper
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tough Course, with good mixture of open and wooded holes. All holes except for 2 are all par 3.
Cons: Watch out for ticks and water moccasins.
Other Thoughts: If you shoot par there you have played one hell of a round of golf

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.