Zebulon, NC 
Zebulon Community Park Share
Uploaded By: vonDrehle Hole #7 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Zebulon

5+    6/29/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: logjammin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The signage is very good.
The teepads are ample concrete slabs. Very wide and long, and level with the ground where possible.
There is a good variety of holes, and I didn't get bored there.
After you make it through hole 3, there isn't too much non disc golf traffic to worry about.
The parking lot is right next to hole 1. There is a kiosk with a map. And there's a practice basket right there. And hole 18 ends up right there.
Although there are several "water holes," there's no danger of losing a disc in the water.
You might have to wade in a shallow creek, though.
And there really isn't a lot of undergrowth where you could lose a disc easily.
Cons: It has the old time baskets that are just gray metal. They don't stand out as I'm peering through the woods for the basket.
The layout has you walking back and forth a lot. Hole 5, for example, has the basket close to basket 4. You just walk across a field, throw back to where you came from, and walk back across the field.
Hole 5 also frequently has a swampy area just short of the basket.
On holes 2 and 3, there are usually a lot of kids in the way.
At hole 4, there's a sign that says the Pampas grass is out of bounds. I don't know what Pampas grass is, but almost the entire fairway is grass.
In the summer, there is a lot of baseball activity. It's not really in the way, but it can be distracting.
Other Thoughts: Sometime in the last couple of years, they changed the hole numbers around. The old 18 is now hole 1, and the old 17 is now 18, etc. I like this arrangement better. The big map and the practice basket are right by the parking lot, and tee # 1 is right there too. This works out better. There's a creek running through 1-3, and you have to throw across the creek on each one. No big deal. But the family area by 2 and 3 can be a problem. Lots of kids and parents there. 1-3 are moderate length holes, with a few obstacles, and doglegs at the end. 4 is very long, and the fairway runs next to a fenced soccer field. The basket is in the woods off to the left. Then the #5 detour, and back into the woods for 6, which runs parallel to 4, in the opposite direction. 7 runs along the right side of the creek, and is kinda short. 8 is longer, in a mildly wooded area. 9 is a lazy left turning fairway, with a tight squeeze in the middle.
Then is 10! a long downhill left turning fairway, with mowed grass, and a pipeline along the edge. 11 and 12 are average lanes through the woods, and the tee for 13 is right next to the tee for 10. They really could have used the same concrete tee, and had signs facing 2 different directions. Anyway, 13 comes out of the woods, uphill slightly, and ends up next to the baseball complex. There's an open field next to it, where you'll throw the next 4 holes back and forth. Then 18 is a downhill left-turning blind throw that ends up next to a fenced basketball court.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Zebulon rocks

1    6/29/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: Techimike
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Zebulon is my home course so I am fairly partial. That being said this course offers a bit of everything. #1 starts off right next to the practice basket and a beautiful covered bench structure which also holds the course map. There is a ton of variety on this course offering challenges for everyone. There is an excellent mix of wooded and open shots. One of the more challenging holes is #7 which is a tough anny or forehand shot for RHBH players along a creek with a mando tree forcing you to play it well or go OB. There are also some nice tunnel shots and fairway drives that will force you to learn how to manipulate your shots.
Cons: I honestly can't come up with any cons. If I had to give one just to be critical it would be that they could use some alternate pin locations. They way it is designed alternate boxes wouldn't really work but alternate pin locations absolutely could.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a fairly long course that will both challenge your wooded game and also allow you to air out some drives all the while being in a beautiful setting this is your place. Some things have changed with the course since previous reviews as well. All the holes have moved forward one #. So #18 is now #1 and so on. They are working on spreading mulch to improve the standing water in some places (not that big a deal honestly). This place is constantly getting better. The community really cares about this course and it shows!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best Community Park Course I've Played

1    7/21/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: alecfalzone
Played: 56  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets - Both the placement and quality of the baskets are pretty good for where the course is located. There is also a practice basket before hole 1 with some interesting putting opportunities.
Course Layout - There are tight fairways, bomb shots, RHFH and RHBH drives, short holes, par 4's are real par 4's, OB's make sense, decent sized tee-pads
Facilities - Cold water fountains, bathrooms, park for the kids/wife
Cons: Signage - Most of the signs are sun-bleached and illegible. In addition to not accurately depicting the basket placement when you can read them.
Navigation - Definitely not the easiest to navigate, but not terrible. You can figure it out as I did after some walks on the fairway and back to the tee. Holes 3/4 shoot at the same basket also, not a fan of that really.
Mandos - There are at least 2 mandos, maybe three? These are pointless and limit your shot selection. They make the holes easier if anything. Especially the forehand along the creek on #6 or #7?
Traffic - Holes 1-3 have a lot of park patrons even when there aren't baseball games going on. I am guessing the back 9 will be unplayable when there is a ball game in progress.
Other Thoughts: I had a little kid start to pick up my disc that I parked on #1, I had to yell at her to leave it alone. Beware of kids on the first few holes. Be sure to bring good bug spray, mosquitos on the back 9 are awful with a lot of standing water in the woods. I left with at least 6 bites all over me. I am being generous with a 3.5 I think, if it wasn't the best park-based course I've played I would rate it a 3/5. If the signage is updated with directions to the next pads in addition to individual baskets/fairways for every hole I would have no problem giving this a 4/5. 14-16 are on the same exact fairway, where is the variety here? I am happy I finally found a course in the Raleigh area where I can air out my drives for once :).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Bag Delivers the Woods

1    7/15/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 176  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Zebulon is best described as a mixed bag. You start out shooting through a playground. The next shot runs parallel to a creek. Then you go into the woods. You venture deeper until you reach a 640-foot bomb alongside a pipeline. From there you turn back. You emerge from the woods to throw a few times back and forth across an open meadow. From there, you play along athletic fields until you return to the start.

For the most part, this is a very well-designed course, with a lot of variety, not just in terms of terrain, but in length and shape of hole. There is a lot to like here, but it delivers the best holes in the wooded section. The highlight holes are 2 which run along the brook. (After that, the brook turns away from the course sadly) The clear water bubbles along swiftly. (Not disc stealing swift, anything that lands in there will almost certainly catch on a rock.

1 and 18 are pretty fantastic as well. Both cages sit just over that same brook from 2. The one issue is that these holes are all in pedestrian-rich parts of the park. I think they are worth the wait.

4 is also good now that it has been moved and you no longer have to shoot over the soccer field. (The field is still parallel to the fairway but the basket is now in the woods to the left though the map has not been updated.
Cons: Where the course falters is in some of the more open throws. I appreciate the opportunity to air it out midway through the course, but using the exact same field for three fairways is less than innovative and if the course had been more crowded, I could see this being a danger zone.

The worst hole though is seventeen. The tee is elevated and it would be a nice left swinging hook if it wasn't so precariously close to the baseball field. Add in the fact that you throw directly into the sun in the evening and many a disc tosser will find themselves walking all the way around the outfield fence.

Still, this would be a four-star course if it weren't for the water. I don't mean water hazards, the brook itself is awesome. I mean the standing water that collects in several areas, unmarked on the map. I'm sure it isn't usually as bad as it was when I saw it. They would have had a hard time pouring the fifteenth tee under a foot of water. That isn't the worst part though. It's the 20-foot puddle that you find where from the tee and map looked like an ideal landing spot for your drive. (4 and 14)

Other Thoughts: Would definitely return. Would definitely make sure it was after a dry spell.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Gr8 Course

5+    5/20/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: Mandoe
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a great course for the beginner or intermediate. A combination of open and woooded holes gives the course a good flow of variety.
Cons: Depending on the time of day, you have to watch out for all the jobless moms strolling their kids through the park.
Other Thoughts: This is a safe great and easy to access course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

2-4    1/21/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 45  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely in my top 2, its a drive for me all the way from fayetteville. But it's not waisted time.
- Fairly close to the highway
- great park for the kids
- very easy to navigate
- great mix of holes, this course will test your skills
- you go through some technical holes, than open up.Rinse and repeat.
- Hole 17
- Tons of parking, to include overflow parking if needed.
Cons: I could not give you 1 con to this course, it is truly the best of the best. -caution- this course will test your disc slinging abilities.
Other Thoughts: I hope you all enjoy this course as much as I do.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Nice course in nice park

1    5/21/2012   11/28/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in a nice park - through some woods and nearby other activities (playground, baseball, etc.)
- Community park location makes the course easy to find with plenty of parking
- Pavillions can provide for tourney central or weather shelter
- Restrooms and water fountain located near hole #1
- Practice basket allows for quick warmup
- Bulletin board/kiosk for league/tourney/rules postings - there are scorecards for the taking
- Benches and trash cans found throughout
- One tee and basket location per hole - sign at each tee shows an accurate hole map, distance, par, next tee arrow and nearby items (parking lot, playground, baseball field, exposed water pipe, etc)
- Level, concrete tee pad on each hole
- Nice variety of short, long, wooded, open, etc. holes - fairways well-defined on the wooded holes
- Many different types of shots needed to score well, as the holes change up left, right, grip-and-rip, finesse, etc. - some holes do give you options off the tee, which is nice
- Not a big chance for lost discs (except maybe the trees lining the left side of #13 and #14 - the wooded holes are pretty mature and worn-down and there aren't many long, blind shots
- Easy navigation from basket to next tee - not crowded, but not too spread out
- Basket on hole #18 brings you back close to the parking lot
- Holes #1 and 2 are in a pretty little grove section with a creek crossing the fairways to keep you honest, hole #6 is a wooded beauty with some angled trees/vines scattered to create some fun lines (creek is also slightly in play off to the left), hole #9 is a long, sweeping, downhill hyzer (RHBH) that finishes along side an exposed water pipe which adds a fun unique obstacle, hole #17 is a cool little downhill hyzer pitch to a blind basket location (not enough hyzer can leave you stuck in some thick shrubbery), hole #18 is a medium-long anny that requires you to hit a precise line or face trouble
Cons: - Hole #3 is a big bomb that was fun when the park was empty, but it plays along a gravel road and I could see this creating interference - the gravel itself is not exactly fun to throw a disc onto either (although I think I remember a temp sign that said the road itself is OB)
- Holes #13 through 16 were a throw-away basically pitching back and forth across an open field - they didn't mesh well with the rest of the course and got boring
- Fairway on hole #18 was a bit messy
- Due to the move of basket #3 (see below), it's a bit of backtracking to get to tee #4 and you're kind of walking along the side of its open fairway
- Baskets on wooded holes blend into the background
- Even though the course flows very nicely and easily, an overall course map would be nice
- Playground and walking path near holes 1 and 2 could get in the way if there are little ones running around
Other Thoughts: - Basket for hole #3 has been moved to the left treeline, rather than over the corner of the baseball field - there was a sign explaining this, but the hole map is not updated yet
- A bit removed from the city itself (maybe a 20-30 minute drive east), but very easy to get to
- Although the park was empty when I played early on a weekday, I think there is a concession stand for the baseball field, which probably offers food/drink which would be a nice addition mid-round

This is a real solid course that I would definitely return to. If some more land could be opened up (maybe the pond near 16 and 17?) to eliminate the monotony of 13-16, it would be even better. It was the first course I played on my visit to Raleigh and was definitely a good sign of things to come.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very good course

1    10/25/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: geffy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course is very well kept and extremely fun. The pars are a little excessive. 600+ yard par 4 is crazy but still a fun hole!
Cons: The pars are crazy and the direction of the holes are not there as good as they should be. I wish they had yellow topped disc catchers. I wish there was a water hole that was in play. That being said, I can't wait to play there again!
Other Thoughts: Loved it!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good mix of open/wooded

2-4    7/2/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of open wooded
Challanging
Nice scorecards
Big bombs/short tech. holes
left/right equality shots
Nice park
Clean/trashcans/benches
Solid Golf holes
Cons: One set of pins
One set of tees
Not for beginners
No flag markings or color on baskets can cause a problem because of older dga baskets.
People on road for #3 and other sports to be watchful of like baseball/softball/walkers.
No real wow factors.
Other Thoughts: Great course just needs some glitter.
Seriously I know this is a championship style course, but they need to do some things like paint the baskets/alternate pins or just not make it seem like an older style course. Not for the faint of heart for you young golfers out there with no beginner tees.
I like Zeb. it needs some love and that "WOW" factor but I think with some sparkle I'm sure this course could be one of the best in N.C.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    3/11/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: Thumper35
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A good mix of wooded and open holes. There are a few holes you gotta bomb it to hope to finish par.
Cons: The holes in the wide open field feel a little tacked on. All the other holes feel like there were Alot of time and preparation in creating them. It is just a bummer that the bomb holes didn't feel that way.
Other Thoughts: Over a pretty good course

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.