Zebulon, NC
Zebulon Community Park Share
Uploaded By: vonDrehle Hole #14 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Best Community Park Course I've Played

1    7/21/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: alecfalzone
Played: 54  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4 Years
Pros: Baskets - Both the placement and quality of the baskets are pretty good for where the course is located. There is also a practice basket before hole 1 with some interesting putting opportunities.
Course Layout - There are tight fairways, bomb shots, RHFH and RHBH drives, short holes, par 4's are real par 4's, OB's make sense, decent sized tee-pads
Facilities - Cold water fountains, bathrooms, park for the kids/wife
Cons: Signage - Most of the signs are sun-bleached and illegible. In addition to not accurately depicting the basket placement when you can read them.
Navigation - Definitely not the easiest to navigate, but not terrible. You can figure it out as I did after some walks on the fairway and back to the tee. Holes 3/4 shoot at the same basket also, not a fan of that really.
Mandos - There are at least 2 mandos, maybe three? These are pointless and limit your shot selection. They make the holes easier if anything. Especially the forehand along the creek on #6 or #7?
Traffic - Holes 1-3 have a lot of park patrons even when there aren't baseball games going on. I am guessing the back 9 will be unplayable when there is a ball game in progress.
Other Thoughts: I had a little kid start to pick up my disc that I parked on #1, I had to yell at her to leave it alone. Beware of kids on the first few holes. Be sure to bring good bug spray, mosquitos on the back 9 are awful with a lot of standing water in the woods. I left with at least 6 bites all over me. I am being generous with a 3.5 I think, if it wasn't the best park-based course I've played I would rate it a 3/5. If the signage is updated with directions to the next pads in addition to individual baskets/fairways for every hole I would have no problem giving this a 4/5. 14-16 are on the same exact fairway, where is the variety here? I am happy I finally found a course in the Raleigh area where I can air out my drives for once :).

Mixed Bag Delivers the Woods

1    7/15/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 145  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Zebulon is best described as a mixed bag. You start out shooting through a playground. The next shot runs parallel to a creek. Then you go into the woods. You venture deeper until you reach a 640-foot bomb alongside a pipeline. From there you turn back. You emerge from the woods to throw a few times back and forth across an open meadow. From there, you play along athletic fields until you return to the start.

For the most part, this is a very well-designed course, with a lot of variety, not just in terms of terrain, but in length and shape of hole. There is a lot to like here, but it delivers the best holes in the wooded section. The highlight holes are 2 which run along the brook. (After that, the brook turns away from the course sadly) The clear water bubbles along swiftly. (Not disc stealing swift, anything that lands in there will almost certainly catch on a rock.

1 and 18 are pretty fantastic as well. Both cages sit just over that same brook from 2. The one issue is that these holes are all in pedestrian-rich parts of the park. I think they are worth the wait.

4 is also good now that it has been moved and you no longer have to shoot over the soccer field. (The field is still parallel to the fairway but the basket is now in the woods to the left though the map has not been updated.
Cons: Where the course falters is in some of the more open throws. I appreciate the opportunity to air it out midway through the course, but using the exact same field for three fairways is less than innovative and if the course had been more crowded, I could see this being a danger zone.

The worst hole though is seventeen. The tee is elevated and it would be a nice left swinging hook if it wasn't so precariously close to the baseball field. Add in the fact that you throw directly into the sun in the evening and many a disc tosser will find themselves walking all the way around the outfield fence.

Still, this would be a four-star course if it weren't for the water. I don't mean water hazards, the brook itself is awesome. I mean the standing water that collects in several areas, unmarked on the map. I'm sure it isn't usually as bad as it was when I saw it. They would have had a hard time pouring the fifteenth tee under a foot of water. That isn't the worst part though. It's the 20-foot puddle that you find where from the tee and map looked like an ideal landing spot for your drive. (4 and 14)

Other Thoughts: Would definitely return. Would definitely make sure it was after a dry spell.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gr8 Course

5+    5/20/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: Mandoe
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a great course for the beginner or intermediate. A combination of open and woooded holes gives the course a good flow of variety.
Cons: Depending on the time of day, you have to watch out for all the jobless moms strolling their kids through the park.
Other Thoughts: This is a safe great and easy to access course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

2-4    1/21/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 45  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely in my top 2, its a drive for me all the way from fayetteville. But it's not waisted time.
- Fairly close to the highway
- great park for the kids
- very easy to navigate
- great mix of holes, this course will test your skills
- you go through some technical holes, than open up.Rinse and repeat.
- Hole 17
- Tons of parking, to include overflow parking if needed.
Cons: I could not give you 1 con to this course, it is truly the best of the best. -caution- this course will test your disc slinging abilities.
Other Thoughts: I hope you all enjoy this course as much as I do.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Nice course in nice park

1    5/21/2012   11/28/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in a nice park - through some woods and nearby other activities (playground, baseball, etc.)
- Community park location makes the course easy to find with plenty of parking
- Pavillions can provide for tourney central or weather shelter
- Restrooms and water fountain located near hole #1
- Practice basket allows for quick warmup
- Bulletin board/kiosk for league/tourney/rules postings - there are scorecards for the taking
- Benches and trash cans found throughout
- One tee and basket location per hole - sign at each tee shows an accurate hole map, distance, par, next tee arrow and nearby items (parking lot, playground, baseball field, exposed water pipe, etc)
- Level, concrete tee pad on each hole
- Nice variety of short, long, wooded, open, etc. holes - fairways well-defined on the wooded holes
- Many different types of shots needed to score well, as the holes change up left, right, grip-and-rip, finesse, etc. - some holes do give you options off the tee, which is nice
- Not a big chance for lost discs (except maybe the trees lining the left side of #13 and #14 - the wooded holes are pretty mature and worn-down and there aren't many long, blind shots
- Easy navigation from basket to next tee - not crowded, but not too spread out
- Basket on hole #18 brings you back close to the parking lot
- Holes #1 and 2 are in a pretty little grove section with a creek crossing the fairways to keep you honest, hole #6 is a wooded beauty with some angled trees/vines scattered to create some fun lines (creek is also slightly in play off to the left), hole #9 is a long, sweeping, downhill hyzer (RHBH) that finishes along side an exposed water pipe which adds a fun unique obstacle, hole #17 is a cool little downhill hyzer pitch to a blind basket location (not enough hyzer can leave you stuck in some thick shrubbery), hole #18 is a medium-long anny that requires you to hit a precise line or face trouble
Cons: - Hole #3 is a big bomb that was fun when the park was empty, but it plays along a gravel road and I could see this creating interference - the gravel itself is not exactly fun to throw a disc onto either (although I think I remember a temp sign that said the road itself is OB)
- Holes #13 through 16 were a throw-away basically pitching back and forth across an open field - they didn't mesh well with the rest of the course and got boring
- Fairway on hole #18 was a bit messy
- Due to the move of basket #3 (see below), it's a bit of backtracking to get to tee #4 and you're kind of walking along the side of its open fairway
- Baskets on wooded holes blend into the background
- Even though the course flows very nicely and easily, an overall course map would be nice
- Playground and walking path near holes 1 and 2 could get in the way if there are little ones running around
Other Thoughts: - Basket for hole #3 has been moved to the left treeline, rather than over the corner of the baseball field - there was a sign explaining this, but the hole map is not updated yet
- A bit removed from the city itself (maybe a 20-30 minute drive east), but very easy to get to
- Although the park was empty when I played early on a weekday, I think there is a concession stand for the baseball field, which probably offers food/drink which would be a nice addition mid-round

This is a real solid course that I would definitely return to. If some more land could be opened up (maybe the pond near 16 and 17?) to eliminate the monotony of 13-16, it would be even better. It was the first course I played on my visit to Raleigh and was definitely a good sign of things to come.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very good course

1    10/25/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: geffy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is very well kept and extremely fun. The pars are a little excessive. 600+ yard par 4 is crazy but still a fun hole!
Cons: The pars are crazy and the direction of the holes are not there as good as they should be. I wish they had yellow topped disc catchers. I wish there was a water hole that was in play. That being said, I can't wait to play there again!
Other Thoughts: Loved it!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good mix of open/wooded

2-4    7/2/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of open wooded
Challanging
Nice scorecards
Big bombs/short tech. holes
left/right equality shots
Nice park
Clean/trashcans/benches
Solid Golf holes
Cons: One set of pins
One set of tees
Not for beginners
No flag markings or color on baskets can cause a problem because of older dga baskets.
People on road for #3 and other sports to be watchful of like baseball/softball/walkers.
No real wow factors.
Other Thoughts: Great course just needs some glitter.
Seriously I know this is a championship style course, but they need to do some things like paint the baskets/alternate pins or just not make it seem like an older style course. Not for the faint of heart for you young golfers out there with no beginner tees.
I like Zeb. it needs some love and that "WOW" factor but I think with some sparkle I'm sure this course could be one of the best in N.C.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    3/11/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: Thumper35
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good mix of wooded and open holes. There are a few holes you gotta bomb it to hope to finish par.
Cons: The holes in the wide open field feel a little tacked on. All the other holes feel like there were Alot of time and preparation in creating them. It is just a bummer that the bomb holes didn't feel that way.
Other Thoughts: Over a pretty good course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Zeb

5+    1/20/2012   1/27/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 121  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 3.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Atmosphere - Nice park feel to the course. It's open and landscaped very well. Some of the holes are very scenic, a few have a creek running through them. Never really that crowded either.

Equipment - Baskets and teepads are in good shape. There are benches and trashcans on a lot of holes, restrooms/fountain at #1.

Layout - Zeb has a good mix of hole types. Even though it's mostly lightly wooded or open it uses the trees it does have very well to create tight shots and multiple paths. It has a good mix of long and short holes as well with some long bomb opportunities.

For the most part Zeb is a gap hitting course, not that many placement shots are required. It uses the available land features very well to accomplish it. It's a marginal risk reward course, some holes have it and some don't. It will force you to be fairly accurate off the tee in a few places which is a plus for me.

The course has pretty good flow for the most part, you won't find yourself walking really far to the next tee or being lost. It's a big loop and 18 spits you back out right at the parking lot.
Cons: Atmosphere - In the summer you'll run in to an army of angry insects on the front 9. It can be really bad depending on where your disc lands. If it rains heavily some holes can be mucky, some bad drainage areas.

The park is also used for baseball, kids, basketball.. these people can be in your way.

Equipment - the signs are small, old and sometimes not there. they need to be updated. i do wish #3's teepad was either bigger or positioned better; for a long bomb hole you aren't given any room to run up from off the teepad.

Layout - The course is mostly flat which is something that I don't normally enjoy. It works with the course a bit though. It could mix in a couple more really technical holes that require more than just straightish gap hitting shots.

Only one set of tees... that's lame.

While I really like a lot of the holes on this course some are just so bad and positioned so poorly that it really detracts from the overall feel.

#3 is a long bomb hole that runs right up a dirt road which is sometimes heavily used. the road is also right next to the baseball field which is OB and a pain if you land over there because there's only one gate to go in and out of.

#12 - I actually like the design of this hole but again the park road comes in to play and you're throwing blind at it. Could be dangerous if people aren't aware of what's going on.

#13-16 - they're all almost completely open holes in a big field kinda crammed together. it would be better if it were just 2 out of the 4; i'd go 14 & 16. just really detracts from the feel of the course.

#18 - it's a good hole but it's swampy and can be a real muck at times. not the best finishing hole in the world.
Other Thoughts: Zeb has it's fair share of really solid dg holes that are scenic as well. It's a fun course to play in good conditions. Let's you really rip which is a big contrast from most of the other area courses.

My favorite holes include -

#1 - One of the best opening holes in the area. Gives you two routes to go slightly downhill to where the basket is located across a creek. Gorgeous hole.

#6 - Perhaps the best looking hole on the course; runs next to the creek and has a few randomly placed trees in the fairway that keep it shaded. Basket sits next to the creek, multiple routes.

#7 - Great layout to this hole, it's got length but requires you to hit one of a couple gaps. Green is semi-protected with a grouping of trees which forces another route choice.

#9 - Bomber hole with a 50' wide fairway that turns left and drops down at the end where the basket sits next to an exposed water pipe. Fun hole to let one go.

#11 - big sweeping anny hole, probably the most technical hole on the course. it's one of the most wooded you'll see.

#14 - i like this hole, if it wasn't crammed in with the other four i'd love it. it's open and long but you're along the wood line and the hole ends up guarded by another wood line. you'll need a long but very well placed shot to deuce.

#17 - fun elevated blind hyzer shot. gives the course some variety when it desperately needs it.

I'd give this course a 4 if they did something with the holes I mentioned; but overall it's one to hit if you're in the area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/6/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: NCStatePlaya
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I prefer this course over Cedar Hills and Kentwood in the area. A nice mix of distances, RH/LH shaped, open/tight holes. This course seriously can test your accuracy off the tee and let you stretch that new driver to its potential on holes 3 and 9. Although the terrain is relatively flat, the course has been designed to take advantage of the few rolling hills on the property. Nice accurate tee signs (ones that were missing have been replaced) are at every hole along with benches at most. Something I find appealing about the course is how hard it is to lose a disc here. On the few holes where water comes into play, your discs are always retrievable. (thumbs up)!!!
Cons: During spring and summer months the park can become crowded. Peds walking along the holes crossing the fairways, or standing/playing in the creek at the basket on hole #6 (for like 10 minutes...finally I just had to tee off), vehicles barrelling down the gravel "fairway" on 3 only to park on the tee pad of hole 16 and extend over half of the fairway. Lots of poison ivy during the summer months, so keep it in the fairway. ;-)
Other Thoughts: My favorite holes are #9, 17, and 18. Most of my cons are concerning the other facilities at the park, not representative of the course itself. If you are in the area or happen to be driving through...I would highly suggest stopping by this course. You will not regret it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.