Zebulon, NC 
Zebulon Community Park Share
Uploaded By: lbaggers Hole #4 (Taken 11/2013)
4 / 581ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good mix of open/wooded

2-4    7/2/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of open wooded
Challanging
Nice scorecards
Big bombs/short tech. holes
left/right equality shots
Nice park
Clean/trashcans/benches
Solid Golf holes
Cons: One set of pins
One set of tees
Not for beginners
No flag markings or color on baskets can cause a problem because of older dga baskets.
People on road for #3 and other sports to be watchful of like baseball/softball/walkers.
No real wow factors.
Other Thoughts: Great course just needs some glitter.
Seriously I know this is a championship style course, but they need to do some things like paint the baskets/alternate pins or just not make it seem like an older style course. Not for the faint of heart for you young golfers out there with no beginner tees.
I like Zeb. it needs some love and that "WOW" factor but I think with some sparkle I'm sure this course could be one of the best in N.C.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    3/11/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: Thumper35
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A good mix of wooded and open holes. There are a few holes you gotta bomb it to hope to finish par.
Cons: The holes in the wide open field feel a little tacked on. All the other holes feel like there were Alot of time and preparation in creating them. It is just a bummer that the bomb holes didn't feel that way.
Other Thoughts: Over a pretty good course

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Zeb

5+    1/20/2012   1/27/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 144  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 4.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Atmosphere - Nice park feel to the course. It's open and landscaped very well. Some of the holes are very scenic, a few have a creek running through them. Never really that crowded either.

Equipment - Baskets and teepads are in good shape. There are benches and trashcans on a lot of holes, restrooms/fountain at #1.

Layout - Zeb has a good mix of hole types. Even though it's mostly lightly wooded or open it uses the trees it does have very well to create tight shots and multiple paths. It has a good mix of long and short holes as well with some long bomb opportunities.

For the most part Zeb is a gap hitting course, not that many placement shots are required. It uses the available land features very well to accomplish it. It's a marginal risk reward course, some holes have it and some don't. It will force you to be fairly accurate off the tee in a few places which is a plus for me.

The course has pretty good flow for the most part, you won't find yourself walking really far to the next tee or being lost. It's a big loop and 18 spits you back out right at the parking lot.
Cons: Atmosphere - In the summer you'll run in to an army of angry insects on the front 9. It can be really bad depending on where your disc lands. If it rains heavily some holes can be mucky, some bad drainage areas.

The park is also used for baseball, kids, basketball.. these people can be in your way.

Equipment - the signs are small, old and sometimes not there. they need to be updated. i do wish #3's teepad was either bigger or positioned better; for a long bomb hole you aren't given any room to run up from off the teepad.

Layout - The course is mostly flat which is something that I don't normally enjoy. It works with the course a bit though. It could mix in a couple more really technical holes that require more than just straightish gap hitting shots.

Only one set of tees... that's lame.

While I really like a lot of the holes on this course some are just so bad and positioned so poorly that it really detracts from the overall feel.

#3 is a long bomb hole that runs right up a dirt road which is sometimes heavily used. the road is also right next to the baseball field which is OB and a pain if you land over there because there's only one gate to go in and out of.

#12 - I actually like the design of this hole but again the park road comes in to play and you're throwing blind at it. Could be dangerous if people aren't aware of what's going on.

#13-16 - they're all almost completely open holes in a big field kinda crammed together. it would be better if it were just 2 out of the 4; i'd go 14 & 16. just really detracts from the feel of the course.

#18 - it's a good hole but it's swampy and can be a real muck at times. not the best finishing hole in the world.
Other Thoughts: Zeb has it's fair share of really solid dg holes that are scenic as well. It's a fun course to play in good conditions. Let's you really rip which is a big contrast from most of the other area courses.

My favorite holes include -

#1 - One of the best opening holes in the area. Gives you two routes to go slightly downhill to where the basket is located across a creek. Gorgeous hole.

#6 - Perhaps the best looking hole on the course; runs next to the creek and has a few randomly placed trees in the fairway that keep it shaded. Basket sits next to the creek, multiple routes.

#7 - Great layout to this hole, it's got length but requires you to hit one of a couple gaps. Green is semi-protected with a grouping of trees which forces another route choice.

#9 - Bomber hole with a 50' wide fairway that turns left and drops down at the end where the basket sits next to an exposed water pipe. Fun hole to let one go.

#11 - big sweeping anny hole, probably the most technical hole on the course. it's one of the most wooded you'll see.

#14 - i like this hole, if it wasn't crammed in with the other four i'd love it. it's open and long but you're along the wood line and the hole ends up guarded by another wood line. you'll need a long but very well placed shot to deuce.

#17 - fun elevated blind hyzer shot. gives the course some variety when it desperately needs it.

I'd give this course a 4 if they did something with the holes I mentioned; but overall it's one to hit if you're in the area.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/6/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: NCStatePlaya
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I prefer this course over Cedar Hills and Kentwood in the area. A nice mix of distances, RH/LH shaped, open/tight holes. This course seriously can test your accuracy off the tee and let you stretch that new driver to its potential on holes 3 and 9. Although the terrain is relatively flat, the course has been designed to take advantage of the few rolling hills on the property. Nice accurate tee signs (ones that were missing have been replaced) are at every hole along with benches at most. Something I find appealing about the course is how hard it is to lose a disc here. On the few holes where water comes into play, your discs are always retrievable. (thumbs up)!!!
Cons: During spring and summer months the park can become crowded. Peds walking along the holes crossing the fairways, or standing/playing in the creek at the basket on hole #6 (for like 10 minutes...finally I just had to tee off), vehicles barrelling down the gravel "fairway" on 3 only to park on the tee pad of hole 16 and extend over half of the fairway. Lots of poison ivy during the summer months, so keep it in the fairway. ;-)
Other Thoughts: My favorite holes are #9, 17, and 18. Most of my cons are concerning the other facilities at the park, not representative of the course itself. If you are in the area or happen to be driving through...I would highly suggest stopping by this course. You will not regret it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great variety of holes, some DULL ones

1    11/8/2010   11/16/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 169  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Despite the neighborhood leading up to the park, the park is beautiful, clean, and somewhat quiet.
There is a very good variety of holes here, a few 600' long ripper holes (3 & 9), tight short holes (6-8), and good mix of left/right/straight. There is no real huge elevation here, but the rolling terrain is used well to play uphill, downhill, and crosshill. Most notably on the long #9 that plays downhill along a pipeline right of way.
#18 is a memorable signature hole. It is a 380' long anny (RHBH) but just slightly drawn out at first and then a harder turn in the last 75' or so. If your drive is not long enough to get around the turn, you'll be in some thick and thorny rough on the right. You start in an open tee area and then throw into the woods which are framed beautifully by a few large trees. It has a drainage creek that runs the entire length of the left side of the hole. About where you need to cut the corner and turn right, the creek makes a Y-shaped split and crosses the fairway to the right side requiring you to cross.
Slight water is in play in the form of a creek. #1 & 2 play across it, it runs the left side of #6, and as I eluded to it plays a vital role on #18.
The tees are level concrete, decently flush with the ground, and long, wide, and grippy enough.
There are benches on almost every tee I think.
Tee signs were very good with a depiction of the hole and accurate distances.
Cons: There is just one tee. I'm a believer that city parks courses should take up the expense of a short tee installed for first time players and families with smaller kids to help them enjoy and learn some love of the game.
There is just one pin location. Alternate pins here could introduce some real risky greens perched nearer the little creek, out of the wide open spaces and on the edge of some woods, and on the edges of a few ridges and mounds throughout the park.
None of the greens are real risky. They are fairly wide open within 20-30' and pins aren't perched on some of the neat physical features like mounds or ridges, or the edges of ravines. Alternate pins would help.
#13-15 are three throwaway holes, especially the wide open 13. This area really takes away from the course and the holes play too close to one another too. Pins could be tucked into the woods - like the ridge left of 13, or maybe deeper into the woods left of 14. An alternate pin on one of the mounds around the #14 green is what I'm talking about with alternate pins showcasing more of the unique terrain as well as adding some challenge. Or the entire area of 3 holes could be redesigned into 2 really challenging holes playing into and out of the woods for greater distances (not just 20-40').
#17 is also a risky OB, interference hole entirely too close to basketball and baseball areas. The ridge between 16 and 17, and the pond on left, would yield an amazing hole.
I don't think it was identified as such, but the gravel road on 3, 5, and 12 would offer more challenge if played as OB.
Other Thoughts: Alternate pins and second set or tees (longer and shorter in some cases) would create a very well rounded design that even more showcases the park features, introduces more or less challenge, and offers a much more well rounded and varied course.
The park has good variety as I commented on, so it is not boring. You'll get wide open, tight woods, some water OB, long, and short holes that will challenge an advanced player. It just needs some spice and failed to impress me, but #18 was a real winner. A picturesque beauty of good disc golf holes with good design using the physical elements of the terrain. A few more options (tees, pins) and a bit of redesign on the last third would help immensely in my opinion.
I'd say this is a White/Blue level course. I never play as well my first time through a course, but it didn't challenge me too bad to consider it purely Blue.
Considering it's out of the way (17 miles east of eastern Raleigh highway system) I wouldn't recommend it over a plethora of others in the area, and especially considering the great courses west in Durham! It is definitely worth a play if you have the time. I didn't regret it.
After pulling into the park, you should pull immediately into the lot on your left and park near the playground. The first tee is on the right side of the lot. There is a nice playground here for kids, and lots of walking trails through the park.
(The order of favorites on my Raleigh trip is as follows - UNC, Leigh Farms, Harris Lake, Cedar Hills, Zebulon, Middle Creek, and Valley Springs. UNC and Leigh farms were runaway winners but with vastly different reasons. Harris Lake was repetitive being almost all wooded, but real fun to play and lots of risk. Cedar Hills, Zeb, and Middle creek were all tied around the average for different reasons. Valley Springs was very fun, but repetitively grueling.)

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/2/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: justinmd44
Played: 57  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very well maintained park with some good disc golfing to be had. Some of the earlier holes play through some narrow to not so narrow woods. The back nine is mostly open with enough space to duce some lengthy holes. The variety here is nice and the long holes can test your D.
Cons: The course is well designed for the park it is in. There is almost no elevation change here and for the most part the wooded holes aren't very difficult. Also there is a stretch of holes in the back nine that have you throwing back and fourth in and out of the woods (it just feels repetitive).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Zebulon

1    0/0/0000   5/31/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park yada, yada. Really good variety, a lot of holes have interesting features like hole # 9 that features a big pipeline. A few holes have you playing into or out of the woods which is always nice in my opinion, especially when the gaps are a challenge, which #18 fairly was. Holes are mostly wooded except with a string of 300'+ field holes that appear on the back 9 starting with #13. Would have preferred that I started with these holes to help warm up the guns kind of like Yadkinville but I digress. Nice, smooth, large cement tees, benches on most holes. The tee signs are probably the best feature of the course because they are fairly accurate and they indicate where the next tee pad is after you hole out. The course flows well enough but there are a few confusing instances, just remember to consult the tee signs. Not the easiest course around but I can see how some veteran players could whip it easily after a few repeated visits. Many holes are fairly aceable for the average player and most are deuceable if you're on target.
Cons: A couple of tee signs were missing but I've been informed that this is an oddity that is soon to be mended. Could have used some more trash cans, I was surprised at the amount of litter on the course but it was Memorial Day so I don't think it was all disc golfer contributed. Some guesswork involved in getting to certain tees, particularly at the end of #16, follow the little dirt road by that pond to #17. Hole #3 is not good at all. The fairway is literally a gravel road with a baseball field on the right. The problem is that the basket at the end of this ball field and at some point to get a good score on this hole you pretty much have to throw over this field. I'm not crazy about the playground immediately to the right of hole #1, a really bad grip lock could decapitate a kid on the slide like a Flying Guillotine. Much of the course follows some sort of "Fit Trail," some sort of exercise obstacle course thingy that apparently nobody uses.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really fun course to play and it's in some nice pretty, shaded woods for the most part, including a couple that run alongside a creek.

Favorite hole: #6. Runs along a creek to the left, some funky growing trees force you to shape an anhyzer or sneak a turnover through said trees.

Signature hole: #9 with the pipe line.

Infamous hole: #3 with the stupid baseball field and gravel road fairway.

Tricky hole: #18. Got to hit a gap into the woods with an anyzer or a good FH if you got it, creek just inside gap is OB.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice sidetrip off the highway

1    4/3/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of wooded and open holes, as well as some elevation changes.
Park is easy to find, nice course map on the kiosk (take a pic with your cell phone, you may need it)
Nice tee signs on most of the holes
Pipeline adds interesting aesthetics on hole 9.
Cons: No sign to guide you to hole 3 or 6
Hole 3 has a gravel road that can chew up DX plastic, this gravel road can also get busy during the wrong time of day causing a safety hazard.
Baseball field is used as OB on several of the holes which can also be a safety hazard to spectators and players.
A lot of straight shots, more than half the course is striaght shots.
Hole 18 ended the game in a stinky bug infested swamp, a horrible final impression.
Other Thoughts: It's a shame that you walk by the water after hole 16, but the water is never used.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Variety

1    4/6/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of wooded and open fairway holes in a nice city park. Where this course really excels is in it's wooded holes - some which are cleared fairways with heavy trees on the edges, and others that have speckled trees throughout the fairway to force shaped shots and more accuracy. You are challenged to stay in the fairways or you will certainly be carding bogeys on many of the forested holes.
The tee signs were really nice, and saved this first-timer a lot of walking, as the maps and distances were very dependable.
Highlights to me were holes 1 & 18 with OB streams waiting right at the 275' danger zone. Hole # 9 has a classic wide golf fairway, but punishes you (as it did me, with a double bogey) if you shank one in the woods.
Cons: Some dangerous parts of the course: Hole 3 goes right down a well-used gravel road (especially during baseball season) - who wants their disc run over? A couple of other issues with fairways should be noted- 12 intersects this gravel road & brushes the back of tee #4; Holes 13 & 16 edge the baseball parking lot and are a danger to cars parked there and people playing pepper on the sidelines (#16).

The field that criss-crosses 13-16 gets a bit redundant as these holes are all pretty open, straight and one after the other.
Other Thoughts: The designers have done such a fine job with a majority of the course - particularly the holes in the woods - if somehow they could utilize more of the woods to create some new holes to replace a few dangerous spots - this course would be top notch.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Mixture for a NC Course

5+    4/8/2010   4/8/2010
Review By: Toomes
Played: 95  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The biggest strength of Zebulon is the mixture of shots. Hyzers, Anyzers, Open Shots, Tight Fairways, Bombs and Finesse.
- Favorite opening hole in the Triangle area. Nice Late Turnover/Flick shot with a OB creek running 40ft front of the basket. Risk/Reward shot right off the bat, not to mention it's the prettiest hole on the course.
- Only a couple of easy deuces holes (2, 5, 13, 17). The rest of the course is fairly challenging. Two or three Par 4s depending on what you call the tweener hole 16. SSA in the high 40's.
- Usually a good place to practice in the wind. The wind doesn't effect many of the heavily wooded courses in the area.
- Hole highlights: Hole 1 (see above)
Hole 9: Par 4, Straight shot off the tee, slight hyzer down to a basket with pipe running down the right side of the fairway.
Hole 18: Tough finishing hole. 380ft Turnover shot into a tunnel. 18 can make or break a round.
- New Signage this year. The course flows pretty easy too. Hole 2 to 3 is probably the trickiest transition.
- P&R keeps the course looking nice.
Cons: - The Open holes on the course can be a bit bland due to the lack of obstacles, especially hole 13.
- It can get really soggy on some parts of the course after rain. Hole 4 comes to mind.
- People parking for baseball/softball games have no respect or just don't know better as the park right in the middle of Hole 13's fairway. I even seen someone park on Hole 16s Tee Pad.
- In a small town 25 minutes outside of Raleigh, so it's a bit of drive for most people.
- Flat course for the most part. Some elevation changes on 9,10, 16, 17, but that's it.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses in the Triangle along with Buckhorn and UNC. Great mixture of holes including the open holes which are rare in NC.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.