Zebulon, NC 
Zebulon Community Park Share
Uploaded By: lbaggers Hole #5 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Zebulon

2-4    3/17/2010   3/17/2010
Review By: 1978
Played: 181  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2010
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course. I played in the winter and it was absolutly beautiful. There are plenty of birdie holes mixed with long wooded holes. 5-6 holes allow you to air it out. Maybe not max drivers but they are open so you can grip and rip the perfect disc for that distance. Many of the holes play under pines and the needle straw makes nice smooth fairways with little underbrush in many cases. Signage and tee pads were great.
Cons: There are few cons to complain about so I will have to be picky. I didn't really like hole 3's fairway. The safest shot lands you in the middle of a gravel road that is hard on discs. Some teepads are close to pin locations or adjacent fairways. Holes 13-16 are basically the same shot (for me) around a big mowed field. With the beauty of the rest of the course these holes kind of stick out as "blah." There is nice woods and a pond surrounding them and it makes you wonder if the course builders just got tired and threw in the last few holes. Those holes keep me from rating this course a 4.5. For some people this is a (-) the course does not figure 8. In fact 9 takes you as far away from hole 1 as any other hole.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, I would suggest that you play here. If the approvals could be gotten, I would suggest redesigning holes 13,14,15 to utilize the woods a little more.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 All-around solid course

5+    2/27/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A well balanced course with lots of variety. You are able to use every shot in your bag. This is the kind of course that you can play often and never get bored with it. It reminds me a lot of playing UNC. There are heavily wooded holes, open holes, long bombs and even some use of the little elevation available. Course flows well and has very well designed holes. If you like courses with solid hole design and a variety of features this is a good course for you. Baskets are all in good shape. There is a port-a-potty in the parking lot and a practice basket next to hole #1. There is also a playground and picnic area on site.
Cons: Not all the tee pads are concrete. The dirt pads are all in decent shape, but concrete would be nice. Very limited signage. Not good information as to basket location and distances. Hole #3 plays over a gravel road that people use to get to the back softball fields. That can be a hassle when those fields are being used. My buddy's favorite disc got pancaked once. I didn't mind, but it sucked for him. Hole #18 can be real swampy and muddy. There is a small creek running through the area, and water just seems to stay there forever. Hole #9 also sits in a low area that can get fairly muddy.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun to play and, I wish it were closer to my house so I could play it more often. It is a great place to use all your shots. There is also very little risk of losing a disc here. There is some small creeks, but no real water hazards. If you are tired of throwing discs into Harris Lake at Buckhorn then this would be a good alternative for you. If you are in the Raleigh area I would recommend trying to get to Zebulon.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Play there A-LOT!

5+    2/14/2009   12/18/2009
Review By: Chingy
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 12/12/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: COURSE DESIGN: The course layout is excellent. There is a variety of mixed holes - short/long/wooded/ & open. The course is beautiful - mature trees with awesome skyline.

TERRAIN: There is a good mix of slight elevation changes throughout the course. Holes 1, 4 & 17 are slight downhill shots (17 = most extreme). Holes 5, 10, 12, 13 & 16 are slight uphill drives (10 = most extreme).

Holes 2, 3, 6, 7, 8*, 9*, 11, 14*, 15 & 18 are pretty much flat. *Holes 8, 9 & 14 have slight downward declines in elevation ~50 - 125ft. before basket.

The grounds are well maintained by the City, grass well cut in summer, trail well kept.
CHALLENGING: The course is actually quite difficult on some holes. There are a lot of challenging holes where the creek, brush & trees come in to play. (1,2,6,8,10,17,18)

I find holes 1, 5, 8, 10, 11, 17 & 18 to be the most challenging & rewarding once you make it past the trees on your drive, in the fairway & able to receive a nice putt or upshot.
Cons: Watch out for people on walking trail
Other Thoughts: Seems like Zebulon is off to a good start for 2010! New tee signs, fairways cleared, scorecards, website looks great, bridge on 18 replaced, monthlies are being held, overall excellent game on!

Holes for a good backhand: 2, 3, *4, 5, *6, *7, 8, *9, 10, 12, 13, 14, *15, *16, 17.

Holes for a good forehand: *1, *3, *4, *5, *6, *7, *9, 11, *15, *16, 18.

* = can go either way.

Straight holes (pretty much) = 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 13, 14, 15.


7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    9/7/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Kiknwitcooper
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tough Course, with good mixture of open and wooded holes. All holes except for 2 are all par 3.
Cons: Watch out for ticks and water moccasins.
Other Thoughts: If you shoot par there you have played one hell of a round of golf

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 happy with my visit

1    9/17/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: 3monsterboys
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: pretty good lay out. the fairways are very clean and fairly freindly. lots of good obsticals when your in the woods. A few blind holes but i think i like those the best. lots of elevation change with both up hill and down hill drives. if i'm ever driving through NC again i will stop by!
Cons: SIGNAGE! this course opened in 1998 and still no tee signs or next tee signs. someone took the time to actually draw a tee sign with permanent marker, good job. but it's a guessing game on where the next hole might be.
Other Thoughts: very fun course! my 4 year old son and i had a great adventure. even though it had some play around the baseball field and basketball courts we still had plenty of wooded holes to hike. we even got to see two deer run out in front of us on hole 12. i was traveling to the outer banks on a family vacation and this course was recommended. now i can recommend it to others as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good DGC

1    6/6/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: The Fleez
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging and well kept disc golf course. Uses a good variety of open and wooded holes, also varies in distance throughout the course (240ft -600+ft). Many holes on the front nine play around a creek and make it more challenging to keep it down certain sides of the fairway. Nice concrete tee boxes and signs on every tee of hole layout.

Every hole in woods has a very well defined fairway and I would imagine it would be very hard to lose a disc due to ivy and weeds growing in the woods.
Cons: It was my first time playing and got lost on a few occasions, hole 3 is to the left of hole two back up the road. Also when you complete the hole to the left of the softball field parking lot you must walk behind the outfield fence and walk up stairs to get to the tee box. As stated before no alternate tees. Some holes extremely long, for short throwers or beginners could be too challenging to score well.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course, and a good mix up from the Chapel Hill and Raleigh courses, it was much longer and more challenging then any in the local area.

For longer throwers and people who like open courses this is ideal place to play, some holes are over 600 feet and are wide open, holes that are not this long are still quite lengthy and I would say the avg hole would be over 350 feet.

Although the creek was in play, I do not believe there were many places to actually lose your disc in them, they were majority very rocky and sandy shores and could be found easily.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 B = Decent course

1    9/18/2007   4/26/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2010
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B-
(Less than half of the holes will make you pay for errant throws and on all but maybe 3-4 you really got to screw up royally to be in a position where you can not recover for par.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B
(5 of the 15 par-3's are too long for me and hold no intrigue for me: birdies can never be hoped for, pars are routine and there is only downside that causes any score variation.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B
(Only about 3 holes really force you to shape your shot in a certain/exact way. Another 3-4 require shot shaping but give you enough room where the challenge/fun is diminished. Terrain is limited, and the design takes full advantage of what is available. Hole 1 is the most intriguing and best hole on the course, IMO.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C-
(Very drab and scraggly feeling. I am not a fan of the coastal sandhill thing - sorry. Hole 1 is by far the most beautiful. Hole 9 is nice too, but the pipeline ruins the natural beauty. Seclusion is good for about half the course.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
(The 3 par 4's simply add an extra throw - not added "strategery" of placement skills needed than if they were shorter and par 3's. I do like the feel of the pipeline hole, #9, due to the fun-factor of down hill throwing and the shaded grass fairway. But even that hole is a little too routine.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (150+ 18-hole, 90+ 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me…..and that's the fun of things here.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Out of the way but worth it

5+    3/27/2009   3/27/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course really surprised me the first time I played it. It's a decent drive from Raleigh but is definitely well maintained and has a great layout. In the past a few tees were missing signs but they've all been replaced; signs are hand-drawn but do a nice job of conveying the whole layout, distance, and par. Most every hole has signs pointing the way to the next tee and #3 is easier than it used to be to find (a previous reviewer mentioned it was a bit tough). To find it head left (when looking at the road) along the sidewalk after the #2 pin and then take the path through the woods after about 15 ft. As others have mentioned, minor elevation changes, good mix of open and wooded holes, makes use of the stream on a few of the holes, and thoughtful layout. The woods do not have a lot of brush unless you go well off the beaten path, so not too much time is usually wasted on disc finding. Course can be challenging to score well but is not punishing for a beginner.
Cons: There are no alternate tees or pin positions so the course is lacking a little replay variety (although it's yet to keep me from going back!).
Other Thoughts: I was tempted to put this as a Con but it may just be too much work to fix for the park system of this small city. The last hole has a couple of small stream beds that give the hole a bit of a challenge for an errant or short drive. However, the landing area past the fork of the creeks is a very small area because beyond it are two patches of extremely swampy/marshy area with a narrow path between them to the pin. These are easy to throw into and will easily ruin your day. Your disc will be wet and your shoes will most likely be after retrieval. That in itself isn't so bad, but the problem is this water is stagnant and has a lot of decomposed leaves in it, so it STINKS.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a Visit

5+    7/2/2007   2/2/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.2 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Having "grown up in the woods" so to speak (when it comes to DG) Zebulon makes me feel right at home. For the most part, this is a wooded course, maybe 1/3 of the course is out in the open, with a couple holes sort of in between, using the woods either as a border, or as a starting/finishing point. The course is largely flat, but does have some minor elevation, a creek that comes into play, and a nice mix of direction (lefts and rights) that keeps it interesting. This course is interesting to me because of the scoring diversity it ellicits. I've shot anywhere from 43 to 56 during tournament rounds. It's all there to get, but its all there to getya at the same time.
Porta John is permanent on site
Nice Shelter
Multi use park includes BBall, Baseball field, tot lot - hardly any of which conflicts with the DGC.
Cons: Although it flows well, the circuit doesn't return to the parking area until the end. So take your supplies with you or be prepared for a long walk for supplies.
Other Thoughts: Well taken care of, and definitely fun. Challenging, but not taxing. Definitely worth a visit.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The zeb

5+    11/4/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: ecupirate82
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome course. This course has it all. Good layout and tee boxes. Well kept. They just recently added signs for each hole....makes this course that much better!
Cons: Tough navigating your way around the first time. Hole 3 is kind of tough to find as well as hole 17.
Other Thoughts: One of the tougher courses that I have played. Very well worth the drive wherever you are coming from. Be prepared to be challenged though!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.