Zephyr Cove, NV 
Zephyr Cove Park Share
Uploaded By: Skwirly Hole #3 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Very fun

1    9/22/2013   10/4/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays in a beautiful park with nice mature pine trees and some scattered underbrush. There are great boulders and rock piles all over the course, and several are used as obstacles or features to add some cool shots and neat visuals. There is significant elevation throughout, you have to throw a lot of tough uphill shots and get a couple fun downhills as payoff. There are several greens with rocky landings and rollaway potential adding difficulty to the short game.

Though the trees aren't all that dense, it still felt like a good variety of different shots was required here. The alternate pin placements change things up quite a bit and add some nice variety (and there appear to be some longer tourney placements added since the signs were made). The tees are plenty adequate, and the baskets are in good shape. The locals obviously put a lot of effort into this course and it shows.
Cons: The signs didn't seem totally accurate, and there wasn't an indicator of the current pin position. There were a couple spots that could have used next tee signs with multiple paths leading away from the previous basket. The distances are mostly pretty similar, it seemed like there was room to have a little more variety and a few more cross- or downhill shots to go with the great uphill holes. Though there is some brush, it's mostly low enough that it doesn't affect your next shot too much after an errant drive.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course a tough hike, but it's reasonably approachable for newer players. More experienced players will find some really nice tests of some line shaping skills along with plenty of chances for exciting birdies. There are some really great views from a couple high points on the course, and it's a beautiful park for a walk. I definitely recommend a stop here when you're in the Tahoe area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Raise Your Hand If You Like Hiking Or Throwing Uphill!

1    8/17/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Zephyr Cove is set in a park that has a library, a ballfield along with the other attractions. The natural setting is truly spectacular with the course playing on a mountainside with these awesome rock outcroppings and through a scattered pine forest. It's just about a perfect beautiful setting for a course.
The course has great rubber mats and Innova Chainstar baskets with the yellow rims. There are A and B basket positions but no indicators of which position the basket is currently in.
Holes 1,2 and 3 are all uphill. After # 5 you walk downhill a spell only to tee it off for the fourth uphill hole. # 7 was a level hole and then # 8 is an uphill. This makes 5 of the first 8 holes playing uphill. From here it was a short climb to the # 9 teepad. The view here is EPIC! You're looking over the clear blue water of Lake Tahoe! A cool mountain breeze was refreshing after all the previous uphill climbs. And I'm expecting my first EPIC downhill crank on this celebrated highly rated course and what do I get? A short 220' featherly touch shot! Now, I love these short touch ACE runs and I'm not complaining. It's just after all this climbing, I was kinda thinking I'd be bringing out my driver sooner or later!
# 14 is a 208 foot uphill which plays like it's 300 foot.
There are more great views from the # 15 teebox. This is probably the big air toss on this course. I love it with the basket visible way down below.
At 4 in the afternoon, the only other person on the course was a local working on the teepads-no other players?

Cons: I gotta question the overall design of this course with all the uphill holes. I realize you have to walk up the mountain in order to throw down it but this was a little over the top.

I wonder about this course being so close to the local high school just below. Does it suffer any vandalism? Some high schoolers do seem to be especially hard on disc golf courses.
Other Thoughts: The course is as beautiful as any course I've played. It was really a magical moment when I reached the # 9 teepad, to sit in the sun, take in the breathtaking view of the lake and surrounds, let the mountain breeze cool me off and think to myself, "There is no where else I'd rather be at this moment."

As special as that moment was, I have to question why most reviewers always point out the fact that this incredibly beautiful course always seems to be empty. Is it because you need to have Lance Armstrong's lungs and a mountain goat's agility to navigate it's steep slopes? After playing here, I drove the 5 miles over to Bijou Community Park and it's 27 slightly more user friendly holes and it was filled with players. Just wondering.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Round to Remember

1    8/11/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Steve G
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out, easy to find your way to the next hole. Great rubber tee boxes. (concrete would not last very long, under a few feet of snow)
Pace of play moved right along and we were a group of 8. Got in two rounds with a lunch break at the very nice picnic area. Pack a lunch and enjoy more then just the Disc course.
Plenty of shot variations to test your game.
Cons: Shorts (in the summer months) can lead to some nasty scratches from the manzanita. Watch your step.
We were warned, by a local, that bears and a mountain lion had been spotted in and around the area but we saw no signs of either, luckily.

No garbage cans, as is pretty much the norm with a mountain course. So, pack out what you packed in and keep the course looking good for those that follow.
Other Thoughts: Pleasant folks on and around the course. Very easy to find. Great picnic area. We drove up from Roseville, beat all the traffic coming up the hill and were 1st on the course at 7:30.
Pack a camera for some momentous views from the highest tee's.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Zephyr

5+    10/1/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: Swiftacle
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation.
Beautiful views of Lake Tahoe.
Great variety throughout the course.
A fair challenge.
Cons: Tough course to locate the next tee, but they've been making progress.
Other Thoughts: Since they cut some of the trees on the course last summer, it has opened up a lot, which was probably needed. The course plays much fairer now.
#15, the signage at the tee is incorrect. They've since moved the basket about 100' up the hill, a bit to the left.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play

2-4    5/26/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: WOW, what a killer course. 18 holes through the Tahoe woods, all kinds of different holes. Uphill, downhill, over what seems like a canyon...(stay on the trail as you go down) This is a must play course. Not to had to find my way on my first time out. Some blind shots off the tee but there signage is quite good. Park in the far back of the lot, the course starts there.
Cons: nothing I could think of. Not baby friendly if you have a little one in a stroller.
Other Thoughts: If you are anywhere near here play this course! I cant wait to go back. Met a few locals who were totally cool.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/1/2009   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful setting
-extreme elevation change
-has downhill and uphill holes
-well maintained
-nice baskets and tee pads
-Nice variety of technicality
-The downhill holes on this coarse are amazing.
-Long and short holes
-Great variety of shots, nice coarse design
-not over crowded
Cons: -Front nine is a little too uphill. This was very humbling. Great place to practice your uphill game however
-Very hard to find your footing with all the bushes, pine cones, and bark on the fairway.
-Very easy to loose your disc (this includes in ground brush and getting stuck in pine trees)
-Easy to crack a disc. Cracked a DX Beast on a rock on this coarse
Other Thoughts: It's always a pleasure to play a true mountain coarse such as Zephyr Cove. One of the most beautiful settings I've ever played DG in.
I would qualify this as a destination coarse - world class.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    3/24/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: Okiewildcat
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I try to play anytime I go on the road and have played many different courses across the US. I really enjoyed playing here amid the beautiful backdrop of Lake Tahoe. Great layout and difficult holes going up hill while less challenging holes downhill but just enjoyable.
Cons: Alittle difficult to find the holes the first round but no problems after that.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/7/2010   1/7/2010
Review By: JHoff
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The views alone make this course a must play.
-Good tees
-Good quality baskets.
-A variety of different holes to challenge most players.
-Amazing elevation change while you climb up and down this mini mountain.
-A variety of different pin placements.
This was one of the only courses where my wife came along and didn't get bored because of the courses beauty and the views.
Cons: I would of liked some of the holes to be a little longer. You tee off on top of this course and you can barely throw it because the hole is so short. Not all of the holes are short but it just seems to missing that hole where you can just let it rip. Long pants might be a good idea because the bushes can be a little scratchy. You can avoid this by staying in the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while on vacation in Tahoe. We were very pleased to have such a beautiful course so close to our condo. If you are vacationing in the Tahoe area you might want to add this course to your agenda.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Mountain Course

1    8/15/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: gmoney
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Dynamic view on hole #8. Great Workout with extreme elevation changes. Layout is challenging and varied. Manzanita not as thick as it once was according to the locals. Not crowded on a beautiful Saturday afternoon.
Cons: Not for out of shape players. No benches to rest after long hikes uphill. Downhill shots are too short to let big arms make epic shots. Path from 17 to 18 difficult to locate for new players (go right 17 basket about 100 feet).
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to go back. No wimps on this course. Serious players only.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth seeking out

1    8/4/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting--breathtaking view of Tahoe at the basket on hole 8
Great elevation changes
Awesome use of natural terrain (Huge boulders, giant trees)
Well thought out design
Pretty intuitive (There's no map available and the only hole that is not intuitive is #2--if you walk on the "well worn path" it leads you to the tee off to 18 and since the sign is behind the pro tee pad, you could easily tee off from the amatuer pad or even the pro pad thinking it was #2--once you finish hole one, turn around and walk downhill toward the picnic pavillion--that is the tee off for #2)
Excellent mixture of uphill, long downhill, right and left doglegs and threading the needle shots
No real redundancy
Multiple pin placements on every hole and dual tee pads on most holes
Good signage (it would be excellent signage if they identified which pin placement the hole was at on that particular day)
Forces you to use all kinds of strategy and throws
Even the holes with many trees that need to be navigated had at least one, most had two very distinct paths to the basket
Great risk and reward situations
Extremely helpful locals
FREE parking (a rarity at Lake Tahoe)
Excellent baskets
Cons: Most of the rubber tee pads are extreme uneven and very short
No benches at the tee pads, plenty of rocks to sit on at some tee pads
No garbage cans on the course (I was VERY impressed at how clean the course is with no garbage cans)
Other Thoughts: If you are anywhere near south Tahoe, you should make the time to play this course.
I was playing by myself and it only took about 1:15--there were 5 other groups on the course but well spaced out...two groups let me play through and were super friendly and helpful
I usually wear Chaco sandals, but since I lived on north shore Tahoe for a couple of years in the early 80's I knew the type of terrain and wore tennis shoes...I STRONGLY suggest wearing tennis shoes and not sandals because the fine granite will eat your feet alive.
You don't need long pants--the under brush is not that bad
Make sure to bring twice the water you usually take because the dry air, very high elevation and up and downhill hiking will dehydrate you more than normal
If you come up from sea level, try to give yourself at least one day before playing the course or REALLY pace yourself so you are not effected by the altitude too badly---HYDRATION, HYDRATION, HYDRATION

I personally like courses like this (very demanding, technical, requires well thought out strategy, requires good execution of every type of throw I know) and if you are like me you will want to try to get here and play this course--it will be worth the effort

I played each hole as 3 par -- shot even par and found myself smiling most of the way back down to Carson City, wishing I had time to play one more round

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.