Zephyr Cove, NV 
Zephyr Cove Park Share
Uploaded By: Hwy1DG Hole #1
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Best Views of Lake Tahoe

5+    1/3/2015   2/1/2015
Review By: Yogi
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the prettiest course I have ever played. There are many lake views and incredible granite outcroppings coming into play. Excellent tees, and pin placements. Tough uphill holes with a few birdie opportunities. I love the way back down, with my favorite hole being #10. Very little traffic and very clean.
Cons: Outdated tee signs, however rumors have it that new signs are being designed.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great destination, with casinos and hotels 15 minutes away, but still in a mountain setting. The beach is right across the road.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1    5/9/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 36  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 0.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice use of terrain
New basket placements
Great tee boxes
Great signage showing where baskets are
Baskets are in great shape and hold up through the winter months
Course open in snow, sun, and rain
Plenty of parking
Brooms on the course for sweeping off the tee pads
Uphill and downhill shots; great variety of skills needed
Cons: There is nothing really bad I can say about this course. Everything about this is a positive and I really have nothing negative to add.
Other Thoughts: Bring water, snacks, sunscreen and a chair if you have one. There are some "benches" along the tee boxes for relaxing between hikes from hole to hole. Please pack out what you bring in to keep this one of the best looking courses in the area.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    10/30/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: frolfer97
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Good signage at each hole
-Good variety of shots and obstacles to shoot around
-Amazing views of Lake Tahoe
-Very low crowds, I only saw one other person on the course while I was there
Cons: -Although most tee pads were easy to spot, a couple were hard to find, it would be nice to have signs pointing to the next hole
-Thick brush in spots, I spent about 45 minutes looking for one of my discs
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of my favorite courses I've played on so far.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 This Course Puts Hair On Your Chest

5+    12/17/2011   12/20/2011
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 107  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.2 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of Tahoe's greatest courses and that is saying a lot. There is no other course in the area that provides a player with two epic viewing spots of Lake Tahoe. This course has well maintained rubber tee pads and Innova chainstar baskets. Not one hole on this course feels like a repeat I'm not freaking kidding you. The local DG community puts a lot of work into making this course play at the level it does. You will most likely be the only one out on the course (I know it is hard to imagine such an awesome course and nobody is playing). It is free to play and very dog friendly. The park area where the course starts has lots of amenities: volleyball, BBQ's, running water, picnic tables, baseball fields, hiking trails, oh yeah an a huge freaking lake across the hwy to swim in.
Cons: This is not my home course and I wish it was. You could get very lonely being that you will be the only one playing the course (most of the time). Distances on the signs are from the old tee's and are completely inaccurate.
Other Thoughts: This is the newer layout of this course. The older course was shorter and had more brush so be very thankful for the condition that the course is in. Go play this course. If you even thought twice if you should play this or not, your an idiot. Don't bring your little kid or grandpa because they cannot handle the terrain of this course. Bring water because there are no drinking fountains on the mountain. I played this course for the first time in 2.5' of fresh snow, it was epic. So anyone who cannot navigate this course has no sympathy from this guy. It would also be advisable to wear proper shoes, you will die in flip flops. I love this course.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Lake views and lots of fun

2-4    8/26/2010   3/10/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 124  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 10.5 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of elevation change, uphills, downhills, side-hills
- Great views of Lake Tahoe from the higher holes
- Variety of throws required to play well, lefts, rights, and straight ahead.
- Cool rock outcropings around on the course
- Hole 14 would qualify for an epic hole, with it's elevated teepad bult off of the hillside, big downhill throw, and views of Lake Tahoe
- Mostly heavy woods with a couple more open holes
- Short drive to 27 more holes of golf at Bijou
- Rubber teepads in good shape
- A large amount of work has been put in to take out alot of the manzanita that used to be around the course
- Some ace-able holes
- Fun and friendly locals
- Good Signage
Cons: - May be a bit too hard for some beginers
- May be too much hikeing for older players, kids, people who arn't in shape, etc...
- Some trash on course from the school next door
- Still some Manzanita on the course, but not neer as much as there was in 2008 when I first played it
- Probably gets snowed in, in the winter.
Other Thoughts: Another epic course in the Lake Tahoe area. There are 18 holes here and I can't think of one hole that doesn't have at least a little bit of elevation change. There are alot of rock outcropings around the course that help add a unique feel to the course. As you get to the holes that are higher on the hill you will be treated to beutifull views of Lake Tahoe and the surounding mountains. When I played here last time I could definatly tell that there was alot of work put in sence the first time that I played here in 2008, they took out alot of the small manzanita bushes that would swallow discs, and it definatly helps me put up a more solid rating.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Jewel of the Sierra

2-4    9/26/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 224  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.5 Years
30 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy access, Great views, Very clean, Not crowded, Good signage, Challenging, High Risk with great reward opportunities, restrooms , multiple pin locations, fairly easy to navigate, friendly locals, Other amenities close by and best of all FREE!
Cons: Not available year round, during winter months it's covered with snow. It would help out navigating if there were a few more next tee signs and if the baskets had maybe a flag or coloring to locate easier. My vision could be getting worse with age though.
Other Thoughts: This course can be easily accessed from Hwy 50 by turning onto Warrior Way and an immediate right at the end of the parking lot is the disc golf kiosk and the first tee. You may see vehicles parked alongside of Hwy 50 or even on Warrior Way, don't be discouraged about the course being crowded this is just overflow parking from the beach.
This course was established in 1998 and has been in the making since; and with the hard work from local sponsors, businesses, DGR's and community has recently been recognized on DGCR.
This course is laid out over mountainous terrain covered with 150-200ft deciduous pine trees, granite boulders, Manzanita and other native foliage with views of Lake Tahoe. Each hole has custom made signage with multiple pin locations and distances. As far as the figuring out what location the baskets at (A, B, C...). When I played I didn't realize it till about hole #10, but there was a piece of blue tape over the location on the signs. All holes offer you elevation challenges let alone the fact that you are at 6500 ft elevation. Remember thinner air causes discs to fly more stable. The course offers many high risk reward pin locations and requires you to pull every shot out of your bag. There is some underbrush but not enough to fear about losing your favorite disc, go big or go home! There are distinguished paths between holes making the hike and flow easy to navigate. If you are particular about debris on the tee pad you should bring a whisk broom. Bring plenty of water and a snack and enjoy the scenery.

The park has a sand volleyball court and large BBQ grill with pavilion a small playground and two softball fields. There is so much more the area has to offer and normally I would not acknowledge this but since these other amenities/activities are only within 200 yds. from the course.
There is the Zephyr Cove Beach across the way with four volleyball courts allowing anyone to challenge a game for the court, usually occupied with a couple dark-tanned and leather skinned looking guys.
Watercraft rentals to enjoy the lake and surrounding shoreline and coves. You can check on hourly and daily rates here
Daily cruises from the beach taking you to Emerald Bay or for a dinner cruise and even a catamaran cruise, check out the the M.S. Dixie here

Or on the Tahoe Queen here
You can enjoy a day of Fishing too. There is a general store across the way with your basic needs. There is a bar on the beach with cocktail waitresses walking up and down the beach.
Cabins on the lake and very reasonable here
You can enjoy camping too check out the link
Next to the disc course you can enjoy horseback check it out here
as a matter of fact I seen people riding while on the course.
If you plan on visiting during any of the holidays or major three day weekends check for availability this is a very popular spot for locals and tourist.
Growing up this would have been my home course if it was around.

30 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 Bad A!

1    7/7/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 10.4 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good Tees
-Good Signs
-Good Hiking
-Great Views
-Great holes
-Great elevation changes
-Great variety: up, down, left, right, long, short
-Solid difficulty
This is a must play in the Tahoe area, one of my favorite courses. It's funny, I liked playing there so much that I almost can't put it into words.
Cons: Can't really just go and bust out a quick round, but that's also part of the reason I like it so much. It's an experience.

Hmm, here's a con, I can't really think of a legit one.

ok, ok, here's one. I got there at 7am, I was cold and stiff and the first 4 or 5 holes are bombs straight up the mountain. More of a con about myself I guess though.
Other Thoughts: This course is sooo much fun. This is the last course I have played in the tahoe area and by far my favorite. Awesome views, great layout, really fun holes, and unlike other mountain courses, it's not loaded with brush to lose your discs in. You can just huck it up, over, and through the woods, walk to it and throw it again. All the great things about mountain disc golf and none of the bad.

To paraphrase the great Ricky Bobby:

"If you don't like [Zephyr Cove] then $!&% you!"

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.