Zephyr Cove, NV 
Zephyr Cove Park Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #4
3 / 425ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Amazing views and great golf

5+    7/27/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: Blazer530
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Where do I start? The views of Lake Tahoe from the higher holes are magnificant. There are boulders all around the course that make it even more beautiful. The golf is phenomenal. There are shots that will test your game to it's fullest. There are no 2 shots that feel the same.
Cons: Boulders can be a little rough on discs, and there is some low growing manzanita, but other than that I can't find any flaws with this course.
Other Thoughts: Play here. Play here! PLAY HERE!!!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  The Most Beautiful Course in the World!

1    8/3/2010   10/3/2011
Review By: texaspeacemon
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Beauty surrounded by difficulty that outweighs the difficulty. You dont mind your lack of ability.
Cons: I have a traveling job, I play all over the country, I dream about playing this course every time I nail a shot.
Other Thoughts: WOW

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch Golf!

5+    6/28/2010   1/7/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 78  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/5/2011
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Zephyr Cove is definitely one of the best courses I've ever played! It all starts with a great drive up to Lake Tahoe which is awesome in itself; driving around the lake and catching the great views always puts you in high spirits!
Most of the time the course isn't too packed, which is odd because of the caliber!
The course is laid out on the side of a mountain and has great terrain to golf in!
*Rubber Tee Pads
*Innova Discatchers
*Great Signage
*AMAZING VIEWS OF THE LAKE!
are just a few of the major pluses to the course!
The fairways and versatility on each Hole makes for a great challenging round!
Tons of elevation change / blind shots / LONG bombs and can be windy at times to keep you on your toes.
This course always offers a great time for Pro/Advanced Players and avid hikers... if your not afraid of a good workout and some hard core golf! Hit this course!
Cons: Not any big cons other than it's too far away from me. Tahoe golfers.. you are truly blessed!
Hike is pretty intense - course not suited for beginner golfers!
Other Thoughts: This course alone is worth the trip there! The air is so fresh and the views are stunning! You might even forget that your golfing while your there.. I could honestly sit on Hole 15 all day and have lunch and a few cold ones and couldn't be happier!

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Tahoe

1    9/23/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: coldshark
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
Everything. Seriously.

-Spectacular setting. Unbeatable views of Lake Tahoe and the surrounding mountains.

-Tons of elevation change. Come to think of it, I don't think there is a single hole that's flat.

-Challenging options at every hole. Countless high risk/reward opportunities. You can/will use every throw in your arsenal.

-Primarily a Disc Golf park. I played in the late morning and didn't see another sole until just before I left.

-Excellent signage. Current pin locations are marked with tape on the signs. I found all but one or two pins from the tee boxes.

*Bonus: for some of the less obvious holes, there were markings pointing to the next tee.

-Well laid out, great use of the space.

-Excellently maintained tee pads w/ alternate pads on some holes.

-Alternate pin locals for variety if you play here often.

-Easy to find. Just off Hwy 50, simply follow the directions on the main description page.
Cons:
-None for me.

-If you'd have any, they'd be personal.

-Even the Manzanita bushes weren't very hindering. Not much risk for eating discs. I was fine in shorts, but if you're a whimp about scratches on your legs, wear long pants.
Other Thoughts:
I'd have to say one of the premiere courses I've played, period. Not just in Tahoe. I LOVE the elevation change on each hole. This course makes no effort to hide it either. The first three holes are straight up the mountain--a quick break on 4, then right back up the next three holes to 9's tee at the top.

Some of the tee's can be a bit tricky to find, but only the first time through--and nothing absurd like I've experienced elsewhere. The path is usually pretty clear if you look for the long logs on the ground that line it.

I like to hike, as well as play disc, so this was the best of both worlds for me. But even if you're not an avid hiker, don't let Zephyr's uphill climbs keep you away. It's not ridiculously grueling. Plus the view is so spectacular that stopping for a break to look around is something you'll want to do regardless. Bring plenty of water, the air can be dry. And pace yourself, especially if you're not used to playing/hiking at high elevations.

On my road trip I played here, Bijou, Turtle Rock, and Kirkwood. All fun courses, but Zephyr was clearly the cream of the crop. Consistently interesting and challenging holes, elevation change galore, and the unbeatable setting. Play them all if you can, but if I had to pick only one, it'd be Zephyr Cove, hands down.

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Tahoe's Ultimate Course

2-4    6/20/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is it, folks. Think you've got game? Think you're tough? Think you're in decent physical shape? Do you have what it takes for real mountain golf, holes that demand huge arms, accuracy, and versatility? Holes that require wisdom in the ways of your disc in the wind?

Zephyr Cove is beyond any doubt the most beautiful course I've ever played. This place is perfect! Stately pine forests rise up into rocky ridge lines, whirring in the constant wind that blows off that gorgeous deep blue lake, and framed by snowy peaks all across the horizon. Simply stunning!

This course has so many epic shots, and makes you work for par on every hole. Huge bombs over wooded canyons, big uphill hucks into rocky coves, putter tee shots off steep ridge lines in extreme wind, 400'-500' drives through some of the tightest and most tantalizing tunnels this side of the Mississippi, and a handful of top-of-the-world-esque downhill gut shots...what more can you ask for? I think I emptied my entire bag about 5 times during just my first round, that's how much fun these holes were!

The tee pads are very nicely maintained. There are nice bathrooms near the 1st tee, the course is super clean, the tee signage is spot on, and there is even a little wooden lean-to after one of the holes to sit inside and enjoy the fine ambiance of the surroundings. The trees provide lots of shade, and there is always a wind to keep you cool.
Cons: The only cons I can think of are the handful of wimps complaining about having to hike up and downhill. Get in shape, tubbies! Sheesh.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the world's most challenging and fun disc golf courses, for sure. It definitely rates a 5/5 for me, there is no question in my mind this time. No doubts at all. The course was set up in the long tournament configuration when I last played it (this was just before King of the Lake), so other set-ups might not rate as high...but definitely you must play this course!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the best

5+    8/5/2009   1/23/2010
Review By: Shepack
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Elvation changs the whole time. The views are great. Alternet local T posstions if you know where they are. Short loop on course alows you to play a quick round or another small one. At the beach. See the same people every day. Only disc players on course.
Cons: The fire protection thinning of the forest is a bummer Mazinita can eat discs.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. It was next to my highschool and i would play around be for classalmost everyday and one after. Go to the beach then shoot then back to the beach can't beat it. Every one is supper chill and all locals know the course like the backof their hands. Got me started on disc, can't wait to play it all summer.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Pristene

1    6/30/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: bongripper0420
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course is amazing!! beautiful views, Great layout, lots of trees, and nice baskets. EXTREME elevation changes make this course great to play and get some great excerise. Talked to some locals and was told alot of people dont play it because of the mountains, but dont listen. The uphill walking is a small price to pay to play this amazing course.
Cons: Course was a little tough to navigate, could use a few more signs, other than that nothing.
Other Thoughts: I played this course at sunset after already playing 3 other courses that day, so I was a little beat. Wish I had more time to play again. Dont pass up this one if your in the area!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Zephyr Cove

5+    9/10/2008   3/27/2009
Review By: Peterb
Played: 69  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 21.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Masterful course design which incorporates the best that the landscape has to offer: views of the lake, huge granite boulders around tees and pins, awesome trees, and elevation. The lake is only a 5 minute walk from the course, and the west facing beach is one of the nicest anywhere on the planet. Swimming is awesome in the summer. The course starts at a park where there are BBQ facilities, easy places to fill water bottles, and there are horseshoe pits, beach volleyball, tennis courts, and softball fields (good place to get warm)
Cons: none. This place is awesome. The course designer is on a spree right now up in Tahoe, with the opening of Tahoe Vista last year and the announcement of the building of a course in Tahoe Donner this year.
Other Thoughts: Holes 10 and 15 are among my all time favorites. Holes 3, 4, 5, and 13 are downright nasty.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Tahoe

5+    7/26/2008   12/4/2008
Review By: Hwy1DG
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/10/2008
6 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: A disc golf dedicated course in a mountain side park on the shores of Lake Tahoe. A must play! Only a couple of unreachable holes (350+). Most holes are short(-300), but tough birdies. It weaves amongst a redwood forest, with huge rocks, amazing views of Lake Tahoe, and lots of down hill holes. A challenge for all skill levels. Tee signs and rubber mats.
Cons: Snow covered in winter(late Nov- late Apr). Be prepared for a hike. Plays about 3 hours per round. You Must watch your discs closely! 'till they land! The Manzanita bushes make it tough to see where your disc lies, but they are not so thick that you'll lose a disc in them. It's best to wear pants here(but don't worry, It doesn't get too hot wearing pants in the summer, because the course stays very shaded). Bad drives are penalized and long approach shots are extra tough due to little or no run-up room in the bushes.
Other Thoughts: Follow "Next Tee" signs and beaten paths. Only 6, 10, & 12 have alternate(short) tee pads. This is an amazing, creatively designed course with good tee signs and rubber pads. The park/course is well maintained and has a great finishing 18th hole. Located behind(in) the Zephyr Cove Park on the South-West shores of Lake Tahoe. Turn off the HWY 50 at the Fire Station(close to zephyr cove beach and boat launch), and its the 1st right turn into the park. Just a couple of miles up the road from the South Lake State Line Amenities.

6 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.