Zephyr Cove, NV 
Zephyr Cove Park Share
Uploaded By: Hwy1DG Hole #9
3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9: Lake Tahoe backdrop

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Amazing views and great golf

5+    7/27/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: Blazer530
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Where do I start? The views of Lake Tahoe from the higher holes are magnificant. There are boulders all around the course that make it even more beautiful. The golf is phenomenal. There are shots that will test your game to it's fullest. There are no 2 shots that feel the same.
Cons: Boulders can be a little rough on discs, and there is some low growing manzanita, but other than that I can't find any flaws with this course.
Other Thoughts: Play here. Play here! PLAY HERE!!!

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Round to Remember

1    8/11/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Steve G
Played: 27  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out, easy to find your way to the next hole. Great rubber tee boxes. (concrete would not last very long, under a few feet of snow)
Pace of play moved right along and we were a group of 8. Got in two rounds with a lunch break at the very nice picnic area. Pack a lunch and enjoy more then just the Disc course.
Plenty of shot variations to test your game.
Cons: Shorts (in the summer months) can lead to some nasty scratches from the manzanita. Watch your step.
We were warned, by a local, that bears and a mountain lion had been spotted in and around the area but we saw no signs of either, luckily.

No garbage cans, as is pretty much the norm with a mountain course. So, pack out what you packed in and keep the course looking good for those that follow.
Other Thoughts: Pleasant folks on and around the course. Very easy to find. Great picnic area. We drove up from Roseville, beat all the traffic coming up the hill and were 1st on the course at 7:30.
Pack a camera for some momentous views from the highest tee's.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    5/12/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: rmcguire86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A lot of challenging, technical shots, mixed in several long downhill shots that you can really air it out on.

- Beautiful location, with the mountains and the lake in the back ground.

-Close to South Lake casinos and hotels

-Relatively uncrowded. Went at 8 o'clock on a Saturday morning and saw very few people on the course. Big change from my usual stomping grounds. I imagine it gets a bit more crowded during the summer months though.
Cons: -Tons and tons of uphill shots. Not a big fan of those personally.

-Bear country, so keep an eye out.

-Undergrowth EVERYWHERE, and several blind shots make for several lost discs. Be prepared to have to search for several minutes on several holes.
Other Thoughts: This isn't really a pro or a con, but it is a very physical course. It is quite a hike, so bring appropriate gear. I would recomend a good set of hiking shoes and long pants.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This Course Puts Hair On Your Chest

5+    12/17/2011   12/20/2011
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 107  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.2 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of Tahoe's greatest courses and that is saying a lot. There is no other course in the area that provides a player with two epic viewing spots of Lake Tahoe. This course has well maintained rubber tee pads and Innova chainstar baskets. Not one hole on this course feels like a repeat I'm not freaking kidding you. The local DG community puts a lot of work into making this course play at the level it does. You will most likely be the only one out on the course (I know it is hard to imagine such an awesome course and nobody is playing). It is free to play and very dog friendly. The park area where the course starts has lots of amenities: volleyball, BBQ's, running water, picnic tables, baseball fields, hiking trails, oh yeah an a huge freaking lake across the hwy to swim in.
Cons: This is not my home course and I wish it was. You could get very lonely being that you will be the only one playing the course (most of the time). Distances on the signs are from the old tee's and are completely inaccurate.
Other Thoughts: This is the newer layout of this course. The older course was shorter and had more brush so be very thankful for the condition that the course is in. Go play this course. If you even thought twice if you should play this or not, your an idiot. Don't bring your little kid or grandpa because they cannot handle the terrain of this course. Bring water because there are no drinking fountains on the mountain. I played this course for the first time in 2.5' of fresh snow, it was epic. So anyone who cannot navigate this course has no sympathy from this guy. It would also be advisable to wear proper shoes, you will die in flip flops. I love this course.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  The Most Beautiful Course in the World!

1    8/3/2010   10/3/2011
Review By: texaspeacemon
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Beauty surrounded by difficulty that outweighs the difficulty. You dont mind your lack of ability.
Cons: I have a traveling job, I play all over the country, I dream about playing this course every time I nail a shot.
Other Thoughts: WOW

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Lake views and lots of fun

2-4    8/26/2010   3/10/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 124  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 10.5 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of elevation change, uphills, downhills, side-hills
- Great views of Lake Tahoe from the higher holes
- Variety of throws required to play well, lefts, rights, and straight ahead.
- Cool rock outcropings around on the course
- Hole 14 would qualify for an epic hole, with it's elevated teepad bult off of the hillside, big downhill throw, and views of Lake Tahoe
- Mostly heavy woods with a couple more open holes
- Short drive to 27 more holes of golf at Bijou
- Rubber teepads in good shape
- A large amount of work has been put in to take out alot of the manzanita that used to be around the course
- Some ace-able holes
- Fun and friendly locals
- Good Signage
Cons: - May be a bit too hard for some beginers
- May be too much hikeing for older players, kids, people who arn't in shape, etc...
- Some trash on course from the school next door
- Still some Manzanita on the course, but not neer as much as there was in 2008 when I first played it
- Probably gets snowed in, in the winter.
Other Thoughts: Another epic course in the Lake Tahoe area. There are 18 holes here and I can't think of one hole that doesn't have at least a little bit of elevation change. There are alot of rock outcropings around the course that help add a unique feel to the course. As you get to the holes that are higher on the hill you will be treated to beutifull views of Lake Tahoe and the surounding mountains. When I played here last time I could definatly tell that there was alot of work put in sence the first time that I played here in 2008, they took out alot of the small manzanita bushes that would swallow discs, and it definatly helps me put up a more solid rating.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch Golf!

5+    6/28/2010   1/7/2011
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 85  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/5/2011
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Zephyr Cove is definitely one of the best courses I've ever played! It all starts with a great drive up to Lake Tahoe which is awesome in itself; driving around the lake and catching the great views always puts you in high spirits!
Most of the time the course isn't too packed, which is odd because of the caliber!
The course is laid out on the side of a mountain and has great terrain to golf in!
*Rubber Tee Pads
*Innova Discatchers
*Great Signage
are just a few of the major pluses to the course!
The fairways and versatility on each Hole makes for a great challenging round!
Tons of elevation change / blind shots / LONG bombs and can be windy at times to keep you on your toes.
This course always offers a great time for Pro/Advanced Players and avid hikers... if your not afraid of a good workout and some hard core golf! Hit this course!
Cons: Not any big cons other than it's too far away from me. Tahoe golfers.. you are truly blessed!
Hike is pretty intense - course not suited for beginner golfers!
Other Thoughts: This course alone is worth the trip there! The air is so fresh and the views are stunning! You might even forget that your golfing while your there.. I could honestly sit on Hole 15 all day and have lunch and a few cold ones and couldn't be happier!

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Jewel of the Sierra

2-4    9/26/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 224  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.5 Years
30 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy access, Great views, Very clean, Not crowded, Good signage, Challenging, High Risk with great reward opportunities, restrooms , multiple pin locations, fairly easy to navigate, friendly locals, Other amenities close by and best of all FREE!
Cons: Not available year round, during winter months it's covered with snow. It would help out navigating if there were a few more next tee signs and if the baskets had maybe a flag or coloring to locate easier. My vision could be getting worse with age though.
Other Thoughts: This course can be easily accessed from Hwy 50 by turning onto Warrior Way and an immediate right at the end of the parking lot is the disc golf kiosk and the first tee. You may see vehicles parked alongside of Hwy 50 or even on Warrior Way, don't be discouraged about the course being crowded this is just overflow parking from the beach.
This course was established in 1998 and has been in the making since; and with the hard work from local sponsors, businesses, DGR's and community has recently been recognized on DGCR.
This course is laid out over mountainous terrain covered with 150-200ft deciduous pine trees, granite boulders, Manzanita and other native foliage with views of Lake Tahoe. Each hole has custom made signage with multiple pin locations and distances. As far as the figuring out what location the baskets at (A, B, C...). When I played I didn't realize it till about hole #10, but there was a piece of blue tape over the location on the signs. All holes offer you elevation challenges let alone the fact that you are at 6500 ft elevation. Remember thinner air causes discs to fly more stable. The course offers many high risk reward pin locations and requires you to pull every shot out of your bag. There is some underbrush but not enough to fear about losing your favorite disc, go big or go home! There are distinguished paths between holes making the hike and flow easy to navigate. If you are particular about debris on the tee pad you should bring a whisk broom. Bring plenty of water and a snack and enjoy the scenery.

The park has a sand volleyball court and large BBQ grill with pavilion a small playground and two softball fields. There is so much more the area has to offer and normally I would not acknowledge this but since these other amenities/activities are only within 200 yds. from the course.
There is the Zephyr Cove Beach across the way with four volleyball courts allowing anyone to challenge a game for the court, usually occupied with a couple dark-tanned and leather skinned looking guys.
Watercraft rentals to enjoy the lake and surrounding shoreline and coves. You can check on hourly and daily rates here
Daily cruises from the beach taking you to Emerald Bay or for a dinner cruise and even a catamaran cruise, check out the the M.S. Dixie here

Or on the Tahoe Queen here
You can enjoy a day of Fishing too. There is a general store across the way with your basic needs. There is a bar on the beach with cocktail waitresses walking up and down the beach.
Cabins on the lake and very reasonable here
You can enjoy camping too check out the link
Next to the disc course you can enjoy horseback check it out here
as a matter of fact I seen people riding while on the course.
If you plan on visiting during any of the holidays or major three day weekends check for availability this is a very popular spot for locals and tourist.
Growing up this would have been my home course if it was around.

30 of 31 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/1/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: Swiftacle
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation.
Beautiful views of Lake Tahoe.
Great variety throughout the course.
A fair challenge.
Cons: Tough course to locate the next tee, but they've been making progress.
Other Thoughts: Since they cut some of the trees on the course last summer, it has opened up a lot, which was probably needed. The course plays much fairer now.
#15, the signage at the tee is incorrect. They've since moved the basket about 100' up the hill, a bit to the left.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Tahoe

1    9/23/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: coldshark
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Everything. Seriously.

-Spectacular setting. Unbeatable views of Lake Tahoe and the surrounding mountains.

-Tons of elevation change. Come to think of it, I don't think there is a single hole that's flat.

-Challenging options at every hole. Countless high risk/reward opportunities. You can/will use every throw in your arsenal.

-Primarily a Disc Golf park. I played in the late morning and didn't see another sole until just before I left.

-Excellent signage. Current pin locations are marked with tape on the signs. I found all but one or two pins from the tee boxes.

*Bonus: for some of the less obvious holes, there were markings pointing to the next tee.

-Well laid out, great use of the space.

-Excellently maintained tee pads w/ alternate pads on some holes.

-Alternate pin locals for variety if you play here often.

-Easy to find. Just off Hwy 50, simply follow the directions on the main description page.
-None for me.

-If you'd have any, they'd be personal.

-Even the Manzanita bushes weren't very hindering. Not much risk for eating discs. I was fine in shorts, but if you're a whimp about scratches on your legs, wear long pants.
Other Thoughts:
I'd have to say one of the premiere courses I've played, period. Not just in Tahoe. I LOVE the elevation change on each hole. This course makes no effort to hide it either. The first three holes are straight up the mountain--a quick break on 4, then right back up the next three holes to 9's tee at the top.

Some of the tee's can be a bit tricky to find, but only the first time through--and nothing absurd like I've experienced elsewhere. The path is usually pretty clear if you look for the long logs on the ground that line it.

I like to hike, as well as play disc, so this was the best of both worlds for me. But even if you're not an avid hiker, don't let Zephyr's uphill climbs keep you away. It's not ridiculously grueling. Plus the view is so spectacular that stopping for a break to look around is something you'll want to do regardless. Bring plenty of water, the air can be dry. And pace yourself, especially if you're not used to playing/hiking at high elevations.

On my road trip I played here, Bijou, Turtle Rock, and Kirkwood. All fun courses, but Zephyr was clearly the cream of the crop. Consistently interesting and challenging holes, elevation change galore, and the unbeatable setting. Play them all if you can, but if I had to pick only one, it'd be Zephyr Cove, hands down.

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.