Zephyr Cove, NV 
Zephyr Cove Park Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #3
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Jewel of the Sierra

2-4    9/26/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 224  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.5 Years
30 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy access, Great views, Very clean, Not crowded, Good signage, Challenging, High Risk with great reward opportunities, restrooms , multiple pin locations, fairly easy to navigate, friendly locals, Other amenities close by and best of all FREE!
Cons: Not available year round, during winter months it's covered with snow. It would help out navigating if there were a few more next tee signs and if the baskets had maybe a flag or coloring to locate easier. My vision could be getting worse with age though.
Other Thoughts: This course can be easily accessed from Hwy 50 by turning onto Warrior Way and an immediate right at the end of the parking lot is the disc golf kiosk and the first tee. You may see vehicles parked alongside of Hwy 50 or even on Warrior Way, don't be discouraged about the course being crowded this is just overflow parking from the beach.
This course was established in 1998 and has been in the making since; and with the hard work from local sponsors, businesses, DGR's and community has recently been recognized on DGCR.
This course is laid out over mountainous terrain covered with 150-200ft deciduous pine trees, granite boulders, Manzanita and other native foliage with views of Lake Tahoe. Each hole has custom made signage with multiple pin locations and distances. As far as the figuring out what location the baskets at (A, B, C...). When I played I didn't realize it till about hole #10, but there was a piece of blue tape over the location on the signs. All holes offer you elevation challenges let alone the fact that you are at 6500 ft elevation. Remember thinner air causes discs to fly more stable. The course offers many high risk reward pin locations and requires you to pull every shot out of your bag. There is some underbrush but not enough to fear about losing your favorite disc, go big or go home! There are distinguished paths between holes making the hike and flow easy to navigate. If you are particular about debris on the tee pad you should bring a whisk broom. Bring plenty of water and a snack and enjoy the scenery.

The park has a sand volleyball court and large BBQ grill with pavilion a small playground and two softball fields. There is so much more the area has to offer and normally I would not acknowledge this but since these other amenities/activities are only within 200 yds. from the course.
There is the Zephyr Cove Beach across the way with four volleyball courts allowing anyone to challenge a game for the court, usually occupied with a couple dark-tanned and leather skinned looking guys.
Watercraft rentals to enjoy the lake and surrounding shoreline and coves. You can check on hourly and daily rates here
http://www.zephyrcove.com/acc...s.aspx[/link]
Daily cruises from the beach taking you to Emerald Bay or for a dinner cruise and even a catamaran cruise, check out the the M.S. Dixie here
http://www.zephyrcove.com/msdixie.aspx

Or on the Tahoe Queen here
http://www.zephyrcove.com/tahoequeen.aspx
You can enjoy a day of Fishing too. There is a general store across the way with your basic needs. There is a bar on the beach with cocktail waitresses walking up and down the beach.
Cabins on the lake and very reasonable here
http://www.zephyrcove.com/acc...e-cabins.aspx
You can enjoy camping too check out the link
http://www.zephyrcove.com/acc...mpground.aspx
Next to the disc course you can enjoy horseback check it out here
http://www.zephyrcove.com/hor...k-riding.aspx
as a matter of fact I seen people riding while on the course.
If you plan on visiting during any of the holidays or major three day weekends check for availability this is a very popular spot for locals and tourist.
Growing up this would have been my home course if it was around.

30 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 Zephyr

5+    10/1/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: Swiftacle
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation.
Beautiful views of Lake Tahoe.
Great variety throughout the course.
A fair challenge.
Cons: Tough course to locate the next tee, but they've been making progress.
Other Thoughts: Since they cut some of the trees on the course last summer, it has opened up a lot, which was probably needed. The course plays much fairer now.
#15, the signage at the tee is incorrect. They've since moved the basket about 100' up the hill, a bit to the left.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Tahoe

1    9/23/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: coldshark
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8 Years
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros:
Everything. Seriously.

-Spectacular setting. Unbeatable views of Lake Tahoe and the surrounding mountains.

-Tons of elevation change. Come to think of it, I don't think there is a single hole that's flat.

-Challenging options at every hole. Countless high risk/reward opportunities. You can/will use every throw in your arsenal.

-Primarily a Disc Golf park. I played in the late morning and didn't see another sole until just before I left.

-Excellent signage. Current pin locations are marked with tape on the signs. I found all but one or two pins from the tee boxes.

*Bonus: for some of the less obvious holes, there were markings pointing to the next tee.

-Well laid out, great use of the space.

-Excellently maintained tee pads w/ alternate pads on some holes.

-Alternate pin locals for variety if you play here often.

-Easy to find. Just off Hwy 50, simply follow the directions on the main description page.
Cons:
-None for me.

-If you'd have any, they'd be personal.

-Even the Manzanita bushes weren't very hindering. Not much risk for eating discs. I was fine in shorts, but if you're a whimp about scratches on your legs, wear long pants.
Other Thoughts:
I'd have to say one of the premiere courses I've played, period. Not just in Tahoe. I LOVE the elevation change on each hole. This course makes no effort to hide it either. The first three holes are straight up the mountain--a quick break on 4, then right back up the next three holes to 9's tee at the top.

Some of the tee's can be a bit tricky to find, but only the first time through--and nothing absurd like I've experienced elsewhere. The path is usually pretty clear if you look for the long logs on the ground that line it.

I like to hike, as well as play disc, so this was the best of both worlds for me. But even if you're not an avid hiker, don't let Zephyr's uphill climbs keep you away. It's not ridiculously grueling. Plus the view is so spectacular that stopping for a break to look around is something you'll want to do regardless. Bring plenty of water, the air can be dry. And pace yourself, especially if you're not used to playing/hiking at high elevations.

On my road trip I played here, Bijou, Turtle Rock, and Kirkwood. All fun courses, but Zephyr was clearly the cream of the crop. Consistently interesting and challenging holes, elevation change galore, and the unbeatable setting. Play them all if you can, but if I had to pick only one, it'd be Zephyr Cove, hands down.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Bad A!

1    7/7/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 11.4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good Tees
-Good Signs
-Good Hiking
-Great Views
-Great holes
-Great elevation changes
-Great variety: up, down, left, right, long, short
-Solid difficulty
This is a must play in the Tahoe area, one of my favorite courses. It's funny, I liked playing there so much that I almost can't put it into words.
Cons: Can't really just go and bust out a quick round, but that's also part of the reason I like it so much. It's an experience.

Hmm, here's a con, I can't really think of a legit one.

ok, ok, here's one. I got there at 7am, I was cold and stiff and the first 4 or 5 holes are bombs straight up the mountain. More of a con about myself I guess though.
Other Thoughts: This course is sooo much fun. This is the last course I have played in the tahoe area and by far my favorite. Awesome views, great layout, really fun holes, and unlike other mountain courses, it's not loaded with brush to lose your discs in. You can just huck it up, over, and through the woods, walk to it and throw it again. All the great things about mountain disc golf and none of the bad.

To paraphrase the great Ricky Bobby:

"If you don't like [Zephyr Cove] then $!&% you!"

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tahoe's Ultimate Course

2-4    6/20/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 9.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is it, folks. Think you've got game? Think you're tough? Think you're in decent physical shape? Do you have what it takes for real mountain golf, holes that demand huge arms, accuracy, and versatility? Holes that require wisdom in the ways of your disc in the wind?

Zephyr Cove is beyond any doubt the most beautiful course I've ever played. This place is perfect! Stately pine forests rise up into rocky ridge lines, whirring in the constant wind that blows off that gorgeous deep blue lake, and framed by snowy peaks all across the horizon. Simply stunning!

This course has so many epic shots, and makes you work for par on every hole. Huge bombs over wooded canyons, big uphill hucks into rocky coves, putter tee shots off steep ridge lines in extreme wind, 400'-500' drives through some of the tightest and most tantalizing tunnels this side of the Mississippi, and a handful of top-of-the-world-esque downhill gut shots...what more can you ask for? I think I emptied my entire bag about 5 times during just my first round, that's how much fun these holes were!

The tee pads are very nicely maintained. There are nice bathrooms near the 1st tee, the course is super clean, the tee signage is spot on, and there is even a little wooden lean-to after one of the holes to sit inside and enjoy the fine ambiance of the surroundings. The trees provide lots of shade, and there is always a wind to keep you cool.
Cons: The only cons I can think of are the handful of wimps complaining about having to hike up and downhill. Get in shape, tubbies! Sheesh.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the world's most challenging and fun disc golf courses, for sure. It definitely rates a 5/5 for me, there is no question in my mind this time. No doubts at all. The course was set up in the long tournament configuration when I last played it (this was just before King of the Lake), so other set-ups might not rate as high...but definitely you must play this course!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play

2-4    5/26/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 36  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: WOW, what a killer course. 18 holes through the Tahoe woods, all kinds of different holes. Uphill, downhill, over what seems like a canyon...(stay on the trail as you go down) This is a must play course. Not to had to find my way on my first time out. Some blind shots off the tee but there signage is quite good. Park in the far back of the lot, the course starts there.
Cons: nothing I could think of. Not baby friendly if you have a little one in a stroller.
Other Thoughts: If you are anywhere near here play this course! I cant wait to go back. Met a few locals who were totally cool.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/1/2009   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful setting
-extreme elevation change
-has downhill and uphill holes
-well maintained
-nice baskets and tee pads
-Nice variety of technicality
-The downhill holes on this coarse are amazing.
-Long and short holes
-Great variety of shots, nice coarse design
-not over crowded
Cons: -Front nine is a little too uphill. This was very humbling. Great place to practice your uphill game however
-Very hard to find your footing with all the bushes, pine cones, and bark on the fairway.
-Very easy to loose your disc (this includes in ground brush and getting stuck in pine trees)
-Easy to crack a disc. Cracked a DX Beast on a rock on this coarse
Other Thoughts: It's always a pleasure to play a true mountain coarse such as Zephyr Cove. One of the most beautiful settings I've ever played DG in.
I would qualify this as a destination coarse - world class.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    3/24/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: Okiewildcat
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I try to play anytime I go on the road and have played many different courses across the US. I really enjoyed playing here amid the beautiful backdrop of Lake Tahoe. Great layout and difficult holes going up hill while less challenging holes downhill but just enjoyable.
Cons: Alittle difficult to find the holes the first round but no problems after that.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the best

5+    8/5/2009   1/23/2010
Review By: Shepack
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Elvation changs the whole time. The views are great. Alternet local T posstions if you know where they are. Short loop on course alows you to play a quick round or another small one. At the beach. See the same people every day. Only disc players on course.
Cons: The fire protection thinning of the forest is a bummer Mazinita can eat discs.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. It was next to my highschool and i would play around be for classalmost everyday and one after. Go to the beach then shoot then back to the beach can't beat it. Every one is supper chill and all locals know the course like the backof their hands. Got me started on disc, can't wait to play it all summer.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/7/2010   1/7/2010
Review By: JHoff
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2010
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The views alone make this course a must play.
-Good tees
-Good quality baskets.
-A variety of different holes to challenge most players.
-Amazing elevation change while you climb up and down this mini mountain.
-A variety of different pin placements.
This was one of the only courses where my wife came along and didn't get bored because of the courses beauty and the views.
Cons: I would of liked some of the holes to be a little longer. You tee off on top of this course and you can barely throw it because the hole is so short. Not all of the holes are short but it just seems to missing that hole where you can just let it rip. Long pants might be a good idea because the bushes can be a little scratchy. You can avoid this by staying in the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while on vacation in Tahoe. We were very pleased to have such a beautiful course so close to our condo. If you are vacationing in the Tahoe area you might want to add this course to your agenda.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.