Zephyr Cove, NV 
Zephyr Cove Park Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #12
3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee

Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4

1    10/14/2015   10/14/2015
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 89  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - excellent use of elevation change, lots of "wow" shots
- great flat rubber tee pads
- great tee signs that give you all the info you need
- good variety of distances and line shaping shots
- very challenging course that will test the best of players
Cons: - this course could really use some navigation signs, there were multiple times when I was just wandering, looking for the next tee
- tons of blind tee shots, and with the elevation scouting ahead can be quite daunting
- during early morning rounds the front 9 plays mostly into the sun
- if you are not in good shape and used to the elevation this course can really be exhausting
Other Thoughts: This is an incredible course that if some signage were put in and maybe some flags to mark the baskets this could easily be a 4.5. Bring water and hiking boots.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

1    7/24/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: AngelK
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great area. Good distances. Trees weren't too narrow and underbrush wasn't bad at all.
Cons: Watch out for boulders, they were unforgiving when my discs hit them. Trail could be marked better.
Other Thoughts: Manzanita undergrowth had speckles of yellow leaves, the exact same color as several of my yellow discs. Recommend against using yellow discs (at least during the summer).

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Mountains

5+    3/25/2015   4/17/2015
Review By: goat00
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course, fairly difficult overall, and well maintained. Most of the pins have multiple placements, and there are multiple tee pads for 2 or 3 of the longer holes. Decent signage and walking trails on each hole. Most of the pins lie straight off of the tee pads, making them easier to spot, but distance, obstacles, and elevation changes make them tough. New tee pads are really nice, with stonework around them and seating nearby. The front half plays mostly uphill with wooded fairways and lightly guarded pins, making shot selection important and lay up pars sometimes the smart play. The back 9 wanders back down and across the mountain, with one more hole, #15, going back up for the best view of the lake you'll have all round before heading back down to the car. Some really fun elevation drops, #s 10 and 15 being standout bombers. A great hike, but dont forget your water bottle. No matter what time of day or year, you can count on this course being uncrowded, the elevation and climb making most people go elsewhere. Those with enough energy to hike up above the course for a break are rewarded with amazing views of the lake and Sierras, and some shade to relax in.
Cons: A practice basket would be a very nice addition, but the 18th pin sits close to the first tee and parking, so some putting there before your round isnt out of the question, its usually not to busy. Manzanita bushes galore, but not as bad as before a lot of it was cleared out, making this course way more enjoyable and shots in the fairway easier to find. Lost discs still a possibility, though Only a handfull of bird runs the whole course, most holes long and wooded with narrow shot possibilities. Signage could use some updating (one hole's layout changed, but the old sign remains.) Some tee pads not obvious from previous pins, some small NEX-T signage in places, none in others. (there is a course layout on the board at hole one, a snap of it with the phone helps)
Other Thoughts: This may be my favorite course, between the location (close to home) and the quality of the course, I love it. Back when I first played it in '09, my rating would have been quite a bit lower, but with the new tee pads and brush clearing, its a whole new course, cleaner and more fun than ever. No mandos here, massive amounts of trees making them unnecessary, most of the holes having obvious lines for the best shot, others not seeming to have a good line at all. A great looking and playing course with some difficulty make this one a must if you're nearby.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best Views of Lake Tahoe

5+    1/3/2015   2/1/2015
Review By: Yogi
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the prettiest course I have ever played. There are many lake views and incredible granite outcroppings coming into play. Excellent tees, and pin placements. Tough uphill holes with a few birdie opportunities. I love the way back down, with my favorite hole being #10. Very little traffic and very clean.
Cons: Outdated tee signs, however rumors have it that new signs are being designed.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great destination, with casinos and hotels 15 minutes away, but still in a mountain setting. The beach is right across the road.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Chipmunk Metropolis

1    6/25/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 420  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Tee areas: 4'x8' flat rubber mat in wooden frame. Teesigns showing all possible positions, including current position, Brooms at every basket. Benches at many baskets.

Views from tee-9 - a perfect place for a much-needed rest. Ski-built bench at tee-15 isn't too shabby, either.

A few baskets are well guarded by boulders - 11C, atop a rocky outcropping, was particularly challenging.
It was a bit mentally and physically taxing the few times you throw upwards to a basket, then walk downwards the next tee, just to throw upward again to the next basket.
Other Thoughts:
Course is set upon a moderately steep slope, where you will find: many mid-sized pines, with branches primarily towards the top; a plethora homogeneous, small bushes; a smattering of variably-sized boulders; pine cones from the aforementioned trees littering the scattered dirt paths/open space; and a seemingly infinite number of chipmunks - or maybe it was just one uber-chipmunk who managed to appear at every hole.

Roughly half the holes play directly up the slope, and nearly all these are found in the first half of the course. There's very little shot-shaping required this first half - heave the disc as far as you can up straight the slope, hope to miss a particular tree or two enroute mid/late, and keep track of your disc's last whereabouts (there is no underbrush to speak of, but with all the pines and bushes appearing so similar, you'll need to keep track of which particular tree/bush combo your disc was last seen heading for when you initiate your search.) None of these upslope are bad, it's just the nearly-continuous early steady diet of them was a bit overbearing - but you certainly see an increase your pulse rate!

Beginning with short-but-sharply-down number-9, finesse, disc selection, and shot-shaping come into play. The trees become denser, at times requiring certain windows to be hit, and with many of the holes having some type of elevation loss, accounting for fade becomes a major issue. Due to the elevation changes, distance has no meaning here - I was throwing distance drivers on 200' holes, and midranges on 300' holes, which is inverted for my nominal game.

Navigation: fairly easy with the online map, although a few "next tee" arrows at the bottom of some the baskets where the next tee wasn't readily visible would make things easier. Most visible tee/basket isn't necessarily the proper one - confirm with map.

This is a very nice course in an impressive setting, which will challenge you physically early, and mentally late - very much worth a play.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1    5/9/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 36  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 0.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice use of terrain
New basket placements
Great tee boxes
Great signage showing where baskets are
Baskets are in great shape and hold up through the winter months
Course open in snow, sun, and rain
Plenty of parking
Brooms on the course for sweeping off the tee pads
Uphill and downhill shots; great variety of skills needed
Cons: There is nothing really bad I can say about this course. Everything about this is a positive and I really have nothing negative to add.
Other Thoughts: Bring water, snacks, sunscreen and a chair if you have one. There are some "benches" along the tee boxes for relaxing between hikes from hole to hole. Please pack out what you bring in to keep this one of the best looking courses in the area.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun

1    9/22/2013   10/4/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.8 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays in a beautiful park with nice mature pine trees and some scattered underbrush. There are great boulders and rock piles all over the course, and several are used as obstacles or features to add some cool shots and neat visuals. There is significant elevation throughout, you have to throw a lot of tough uphill shots and get a couple fun downhills as payoff. There are several greens with rocky landings and rollaway potential adding difficulty to the short game.

Though the trees aren't all that dense, it still felt like a good variety of different shots was required here. The alternate pin placements change things up quite a bit and add some nice variety (and there appear to be some longer tourney placements added since the signs were made). The tees are plenty adequate, and the baskets are in good shape. The locals obviously put a lot of effort into this course and it shows.
Cons: The signs didn't seem totally accurate, and there wasn't an indicator of the current pin position. There were a couple spots that could have used next tee signs with multiple paths leading away from the previous basket. The distances are mostly pretty similar, it seemed like there was room to have a little more variety and a few more cross- or downhill shots to go with the great uphill holes. Though there is some brush, it's mostly low enough that it doesn't affect your next shot too much after an errant drive.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course a tough hike, but it's reasonably approachable for newer players. More experienced players will find some really nice tests of some line shaping skills along with plenty of chances for exciting birdies. There are some really great views from a couple high points on the course, and it's a beautiful park for a walk. I definitely recommend a stop here when you're in the Tahoe area.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Not what I expected

1    4/26/2013   5/1/2013
Review By: Yell
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: Baskets
Cons: Poor signage - never knew where the next tee was or where the basket really was as there seemed to be different options. Skipped 4 holes on accident because we didn't know where we were to go next.

Further, the last 4 holes are bunched together - easy to get hit on a busy day
Other Thoughts: The rating is much higher than I would think after playing on a nice day

2 of 21 people found this review helpful.


1    10/30/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: frolfer97
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Good signage at each hole
-Good variety of shots and obstacles to shoot around
-Amazing views of Lake Tahoe
-Very low crowds, I only saw one other person on the course while I was there
Cons: -Although most tee pads were easy to spot, a couple were hard to find, it would be nice to have signs pointing to the next hole
-Thick brush in spots, I spent about 45 minutes looking for one of my discs
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of my favorite courses I've played on so far.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Raise Your Hand If You Like Hiking Or Throwing Uphill!

1    8/17/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Zephyr Cove is set in a park that has a library, a ballfield along with the other attractions. The natural setting is truly spectacular with the course playing on a mountainside with these awesome rock outcroppings and through a scattered pine forest. It's just about a perfect beautiful setting for a course.
The course has great rubber mats and Innova Chainstar baskets with the yellow rims. There are A and B basket positions but no indicators of which position the basket is currently in.
Holes 1,2 and 3 are all uphill. After # 5 you walk downhill a spell only to tee it off for the fourth uphill hole. # 7 was a level hole and then # 8 is an uphill. This makes 5 of the first 8 holes playing uphill. From here it was a short climb to the # 9 teepad. The view here is EPIC! You're looking over the clear blue water of Lake Tahoe! A cool mountain breeze was refreshing after all the previous uphill climbs. And I'm expecting my first EPIC downhill crank on this celebrated highly rated course and what do I get? A short 220' featherly touch shot! Now, I love these short touch ACE runs and I'm not complaining. It's just after all this climbing, I was kinda thinking I'd be bringing out my driver sooner or later!
# 14 is a 208 foot uphill which plays like it's 300 foot.
There are more great views from the # 15 teebox. This is probably the big air toss on this course. I love it with the basket visible way down below.
At 4 in the afternoon, the only other person on the course was a local working on the teepads-no other players?

Cons: I gotta question the overall design of this course with all the uphill holes. I realize you have to walk up the mountain in order to throw down it but this was a little over the top.

I wonder about this course being so close to the local high school just below. Does it suffer any vandalism? Some high schoolers do seem to be especially hard on disc golf courses.
Other Thoughts: The course is as beautiful as any course I've played. It was really a magical moment when I reached the # 9 teepad, to sit in the sun, take in the breathtaking view of the lake and surrounds, let the mountain breeze cool me off and think to myself, "There is no where else I'd rather be at this moment."

As special as that moment was, I have to question why most reviewers always point out the fact that this incredibly beautiful course always seems to be empty. Is it because you need to have Lance Armstrong's lungs and a mountain goat's agility to navigate it's steep slopes? After playing here, I drove the 5 miles over to Bijou Community Park and it's 27 slightly more user friendly holes and it was filled with players. Just wondering.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.