Zephyr Cove, NV 
Zephyr Cove Park Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #3
3 / 315ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Chipmunk Metropolis

1    6/25/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Tee areas: 4'x8' flat rubber mat in wooden frame. Teesigns showing all possible positions, including current position, Brooms at every basket. Benches at many baskets.

Views from tee-9 - a perfect place for a much-needed rest. Ski-built bench at tee-15 isn't too shabby, either.

A few baskets are well guarded by boulders - 11C, atop a rocky outcropping, was particularly challenging.
Cons:
It was a bit mentally and physically taxing the few times you throw upwards to a basket, then walk downwards the next tee, just to throw upward again to the next basket.
Other Thoughts:
Course is set upon a moderately steep slope, where you will find: many mid-sized pines, with branches primarily towards the top; a plethora homogeneous, small bushes; a smattering of variably-sized boulders; pine cones from the aforementioned trees littering the scattered dirt paths/open space; and a seemingly infinite number of chipmunks - or maybe it was just one uber-chipmunk who managed to appear at every hole.

Roughly half the holes play directly up the slope, and nearly all these are found in the first half of the course. There's very little shot-shaping required this first half - heave the disc as far as you can up straight the slope, hope to miss a particular tree or two enroute mid/late, and keep track of your disc's last whereabouts (there is no underbrush to speak of, but with all the pines and bushes appearing so similar, you'll need to keep track of which particular tree/bush combo your disc was last seen heading for when you initiate your search.) None of these upslope are bad, it's just the nearly-continuous early steady diet of them was a bit overbearing - but you certainly see an increase your pulse rate!

Beginning with short-but-sharply-down number-9, finesse, disc selection, and shot-shaping come into play. The trees become denser, at times requiring certain windows to be hit, and with many of the holes having some type of elevation loss, accounting for fade becomes a major issue. Due to the elevation changes, distance has no meaning here - I was throwing distance drivers on 200' holes, and midranges on 300' holes, which is inverted for my nominal game.

Navigation: fairly easy with the online map, although a few "next tee" arrows at the bottom of some the baskets where the next tee wasn't readily visible would make things easier. Most visible tee/basket isn't necessarily the proper one - confirm with map.

This is a very nice course in an impressive setting, which will challenge you physically early, and mentally late - very much worth a play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    5/9/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice use of terrain
New basket placements
Great tee boxes
Great signage showing where baskets are
Baskets are in great shape and hold up through the winter months
Course open in snow, sun, and rain
Plenty of parking
Brooms on the course for sweeping off the tee pads
Uphill and downhill shots; great variety of skills needed
Cons: There is nothing really bad I can say about this course. Everything about this is a positive and I really have nothing negative to add.
Other Thoughts: Bring water, snacks, sunscreen and a chair if you have one. There are some "benches" along the tee boxes for relaxing between hikes from hole to hole. Please pack out what you bring in to keep this one of the best looking courses in the area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very fun

1    9/22/2013   10/4/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays in a beautiful park with nice mature pine trees and some scattered underbrush. There are great boulders and rock piles all over the course, and several are used as obstacles or features to add some cool shots and neat visuals. There is significant elevation throughout, you have to throw a lot of tough uphill shots and get a couple fun downhills as payoff. There are several greens with rocky landings and rollaway potential adding difficulty to the short game.

Though the trees aren't all that dense, it still felt like a good variety of different shots was required here. The alternate pin placements change things up quite a bit and add some nice variety (and there appear to be some longer tourney placements added since the signs were made). The tees are plenty adequate, and the baskets are in good shape. The locals obviously put a lot of effort into this course and it shows.
Cons: The signs didn't seem totally accurate, and there wasn't an indicator of the current pin position. There were a couple spots that could have used next tee signs with multiple paths leading away from the previous basket. The distances are mostly pretty similar, it seemed like there was room to have a little more variety and a few more cross- or downhill shots to go with the great uphill holes. Though there is some brush, it's mostly low enough that it doesn't affect your next shot too much after an errant drive.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course a tough hike, but it's reasonably approachable for newer players. More experienced players will find some really nice tests of some line shaping skills along with plenty of chances for exciting birdies. There are some really great views from a couple high points on the course, and it's a beautiful park for a walk. I definitely recommend a stop here when you're in the Tahoe area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not what I expected

1    4/26/2013   5/1/2013
Review By: Yell
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Baskets
Cons: Poor signage - never knew where the next tee was or where the basket really was as there seemed to be different options. Skipped 4 holes on accident because we didn't know where we were to go next.

Further, the last 4 holes are bunched together - easy to get hit on a busy day
Other Thoughts: The rating is much higher than I would think after playing on a nice day

1 of 18 people found this review helpful.


1    10/30/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: frolfer97
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Good signage at each hole
-Good variety of shots and obstacles to shoot around
-Amazing views of Lake Tahoe
-Very low crowds, I only saw one other person on the course while I was there
Cons: -Although most tee pads were easy to spot, a couple were hard to find, it would be nice to have signs pointing to the next hole
-Thick brush in spots, I spent about 45 minutes looking for one of my discs
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of my favorite courses I've played on so far.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Raise Your Hand If You Like Hiking Or Throwing Uphill!

1    8/17/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Zephyr Cove is set in a park that has a library, a ballfield along with the other attractions. The natural setting is truly spectacular with the course playing on a mountainside with these awesome rock outcroppings and through a scattered pine forest. It's just about a perfect beautiful setting for a course.
The course has great rubber mats and Innova Chainstar baskets with the yellow rims. There are A and B basket positions but no indicators of which position the basket is currently in.
Holes 1,2 and 3 are all uphill. After # 5 you walk downhill a spell only to tee it off for the fourth uphill hole. # 7 was a level hole and then # 8 is an uphill. This makes 5 of the first 8 holes playing uphill. From here it was a short climb to the # 9 teepad. The view here is EPIC! You're looking over the clear blue water of Lake Tahoe! A cool mountain breeze was refreshing after all the previous uphill climbs. And I'm expecting my first EPIC downhill crank on this celebrated highly rated course and what do I get? A short 220' featherly touch shot! Now, I love these short touch ACE runs and I'm not complaining. It's just after all this climbing, I was kinda thinking I'd be bringing out my driver sooner or later!
# 14 is a 208 foot uphill which plays like it's 300 foot.
There are more great views from the # 15 teebox. This is probably the big air toss on this course. I love it with the basket visible way down below.
At 4 in the afternoon, the only other person on the course was a local working on the teepads-no other players?

Cons: I gotta question the overall design of this course with all the uphill holes. I realize you have to walk up the mountain in order to throw down it but this was a little over the top.

I wonder about this course being so close to the local high school just below. Does it suffer any vandalism? Some high schoolers do seem to be especially hard on disc golf courses.
Other Thoughts: The course is as beautiful as any course I've played. It was really a magical moment when I reached the # 9 teepad, to sit in the sun, take in the breathtaking view of the lake and surrounds, let the mountain breeze cool me off and think to myself, "There is no where else I'd rather be at this moment."

As special as that moment was, I have to question why most reviewers always point out the fact that this incredibly beautiful course always seems to be empty. Is it because you need to have Lance Armstrong's lungs and a mountain goat's agility to navigate it's steep slopes? After playing here, I drove the 5 miles over to Bijou Community Park and it's 27 slightly more user friendly holes and it was filled with players. Just wondering.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing views and great golf

5+    7/27/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: Blazer530
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Where do I start? The views of Lake Tahoe from the higher holes are magnificant. There are boulders all around the course that make it even more beautiful. The golf is phenomenal. There are shots that will test your game to it's fullest. There are no 2 shots that feel the same.
Cons: Boulders can be a little rough on discs, and there is some low growing manzanita, but other than that I can't find any flaws with this course.
Other Thoughts: Play here. Play here! PLAY HERE!!!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Round to Remember

1    8/11/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Steve G
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out, easy to find your way to the next hole. Great rubber tee boxes. (concrete would not last very long, under a few feet of snow)
Pace of play moved right along and we were a group of 8. Got in two rounds with a lunch break at the very nice picnic area. Pack a lunch and enjoy more then just the Disc course.
Plenty of shot variations to test your game.
Cons: Shorts (in the summer months) can lead to some nasty scratches from the manzanita. Watch your step.
We were warned, by a local, that bears and a mountain lion had been spotted in and around the area but we saw no signs of either, luckily.

No garbage cans, as is pretty much the norm with a mountain course. So, pack out what you packed in and keep the course looking good for those that follow.
Other Thoughts: Pleasant folks on and around the course. Very easy to find. Great picnic area. We drove up from Roseville, beat all the traffic coming up the hill and were 1st on the course at 7:30.
Pack a camera for some momentous views from the highest tee's.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/12/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: rmcguire86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A lot of challenging, technical shots, mixed in several long downhill shots that you can really air it out on.

- Beautiful location, with the mountains and the lake in the back ground.

-Close to South Lake casinos and hotels

-Relatively uncrowded. Went at 8 o'clock on a Saturday morning and saw very few people on the course. Big change from my usual stomping grounds. I imagine it gets a bit more crowded during the summer months though.
Cons: -Tons and tons of uphill shots. Not a big fan of those personally.

-Bear country, so keep an eye out.

-Undergrowth EVERYWHERE, and several blind shots make for several lost discs. Be prepared to have to search for several minutes on several holes.
Other Thoughts: This isn't really a pro or a con, but it is a very physical course. It is quite a hike, so bring appropriate gear. I would recomend a good set of hiking shoes and long pants.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 This Course Puts Hair On Your Chest

5+    12/17/2011   12/20/2011
Review By: MikePinchico
Played: 105  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.2 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of Tahoe's greatest courses and that is saying a lot. There is no other course in the area that provides a player with two epic viewing spots of Lake Tahoe. This course has well maintained rubber tee pads and Innova chainstar baskets. Not one hole on this course feels like a repeat I'm not freaking kidding you. The local DG community puts a lot of work into making this course play at the level it does. You will most likely be the only one out on the course (I know it is hard to imagine such an awesome course and nobody is playing). It is free to play and very dog friendly. The park area where the course starts has lots of amenities: volleyball, BBQ's, running water, picnic tables, baseball fields, hiking trails, oh yeah an a huge freaking lake across the hwy to swim in.
Cons: This is not my home course and I wish it was. You could get very lonely being that you will be the only one playing the course (most of the time). Distances on the signs are from the old tee's and are completely inaccurate.
Other Thoughts: This is the newer layout of this course. The older course was shorter and had more brush so be very thankful for the condition that the course is in. Go play this course. If you even thought twice if you should play this or not, your an idiot. Don't bring your little kid or grandpa because they cannot handle the terrain of this course. Bring water because there are no drinking fountains on the mountain. I played this course for the first time in 2.5' of fresh snow, it was epic. So anyone who cannot navigate this course has no sympathy from this guy. It would also be advisable to wear proper shoes, you will die in flip flops. I love this course.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.