Zephyr Cove, NV 
Zephyr Cove Park Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #13
3 / 335ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course

1    3/24/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: Okiewildcat
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I try to play anytime I go on the road and have played many different courses across the US. I really enjoyed playing here amid the beautiful backdrop of Lake Tahoe. Great layout and difficult holes going up hill while less challenging holes downhill but just enjoyable.
Cons: Alittle difficult to find the holes the first round but no problems after that.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the best

5+    8/5/2009   1/23/2010
Review By: Shepack
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Elvation changs the whole time. The views are great. Alternet local T posstions if you know where they are. Short loop on course alows you to play a quick round or another small one. At the beach. See the same people every day. Only disc players on course.
Cons: The fire protection thinning of the forest is a bummer Mazinita can eat discs.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. It was next to my highschool and i would play around be for classalmost everyday and one after. Go to the beach then shoot then back to the beach can't beat it. Every one is supper chill and all locals know the course like the backof their hands. Got me started on disc, can't wait to play it all summer.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/7/2010   1/7/2010
Review By: JHoff
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The views alone make this course a must play.
-Good tees
-Good quality baskets.
-A variety of different holes to challenge most players.
-Amazing elevation change while you climb up and down this mini mountain.
-A variety of different pin placements.
This was one of the only courses where my wife came along and didn't get bored because of the courses beauty and the views.
Cons: I would of liked some of the holes to be a little longer. You tee off on top of this course and you can barely throw it because the hole is so short. Not all of the holes are short but it just seems to missing that hole where you can just let it rip. Long pants might be a good idea because the bushes can be a little scratchy. You can avoid this by staying in the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while on vacation in Tahoe. We were very pleased to have such a beautiful course so close to our condo. If you are vacationing in the Tahoe area you might want to add this course to your agenda.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/29/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.4 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - 2 to 3 pin placements per hole
- quality, large cement tees
- good signs showing basket positions, distances and landmarks on each hole
- good facilities in surrounding park
- good directions to course
Cons: - holes 1-8 all play UPHILL, either directly or indirectly, making for a grueling front 9
- no signs leading you to the next tee
- many people that play this course are vacationing in Tahoe and don't know the etiquette about letting faster players or smaller groups play through
- very hot and dry, and can be easy to roll an ankle on most fairways
Other Thoughts: I came into this course not knowing what to expect, and I was actually quite pleasantly surprised. Aside from having to constantly walk uphill for the first half of the course, it was really a great course. Everything was in good shape and seemed to be well maintained. There were benches for resting every few holes.

You need to bring good shoes and water with you when you play this course. The constant hills will quickly make you tired and dehydrated, and many of the fairways are covered in wood 'chunks.' No, not small wood chips, but substantially large wood 'chunks.' The kind that make it easy to roll an ankle.

I honestly loved this course and would happily come back and play it again. The multiple pin positions allow for different challenges each time (though I don't know how often they are changed), and the large cement pads make it easy to throw. It is a true mountain course, NOT on a pre-existing ski hill, which was a nice change. If you're in the Tahoe area definitely take some time to play this course. Easily in my Top 50.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Mountain Course

1    8/15/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: gmoney
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Dynamic view on hole #8. Great Workout with extreme elevation changes. Layout is challenging and varied. Manzanita not as thick as it once was according to the locals. Not crowded on a beautiful Saturday afternoon.
Cons: Not for out of shape players. No benches to rest after long hikes uphill. Downhill shots are too short to let big arms make epic shots. Path from 17 to 18 difficult to locate for new players (go right 17 basket about 100 feet).
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to go back. No wimps on this course. Serious players only.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth seeking out

1    8/4/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting--breathtaking view of Tahoe at the basket on hole 8
Great elevation changes
Awesome use of natural terrain (Huge boulders, giant trees)
Well thought out design
Pretty intuitive (There's no map available and the only hole that is not intuitive is #2--if you walk on the "well worn path" it leads you to the tee off to 18 and since the sign is behind the pro tee pad, you could easily tee off from the amatuer pad or even the pro pad thinking it was #2--once you finish hole one, turn around and walk downhill toward the picnic pavillion--that is the tee off for #2)
Excellent mixture of uphill, long downhill, right and left doglegs and threading the needle shots
No real redundancy
Multiple pin placements on every hole and dual tee pads on most holes
Good signage (it would be excellent signage if they identified which pin placement the hole was at on that particular day)
Forces you to use all kinds of strategy and throws
Even the holes with many trees that need to be navigated had at least one, most had two very distinct paths to the basket
Great risk and reward situations
Extremely helpful locals
FREE parking (a rarity at Lake Tahoe)
Excellent baskets
Cons: Most of the rubber tee pads are extreme uneven and very short
No benches at the tee pads, plenty of rocks to sit on at some tee pads
No garbage cans on the course (I was VERY impressed at how clean the course is with no garbage cans)
Other Thoughts: If you are anywhere near south Tahoe, you should make the time to play this course.
I was playing by myself and it only took about 1:15--there were 5 other groups on the course but well spaced out...two groups let me play through and were super friendly and helpful
I usually wear Chaco sandals, but since I lived on north shore Tahoe for a couple of years in the early 80's I knew the type of terrain and wore tennis shoes...I STRONGLY suggest wearing tennis shoes and not sandals because the fine granite will eat your feet alive.
You don't need long pants--the under brush is not that bad
Make sure to bring twice the water you usually take because the dry air, very high elevation and up and downhill hiking will dehydrate you more than normal
If you come up from sea level, try to give yourself at least one day before playing the course or REALLY pace yourself so you are not effected by the altitude too badly---HYDRATION, HYDRATION, HYDRATION

I personally like courses like this (very demanding, technical, requires well thought out strategy, requires good execution of every type of throw I know) and if you are like me you will want to try to get here and play this course--it will be worth the effort

I played each hole as 3 par -- shot even par and found myself smiling most of the way back down to Carson City, wishing I had time to play one more round

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pristene

1    6/30/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: bongripper0420
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course is amazing!! beautiful views, Great layout, lots of trees, and nice baskets. EXTREME elevation changes make this course great to play and get some great excerise. Talked to some locals and was told alot of people dont play it because of the mountains, but dont listen. The uphill walking is a small price to pay to play this amazing course.
Cons: Course was a little tough to navigate, could use a few more signs, other than that nothing.
Other Thoughts: I played this course at sunset after already playing 3 other courses that day, so I was a little beat. Wish I had more time to play again. Dont pass up this one if your in the area!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Goats

1    6/30/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 98  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Monsterous terrain with a great design makes this course super challenging, but the reward of incredible views of Lake Tahoe make this course unique to what it is. As with the other course in the Lake tahoe area that I palyed, you can tell that there is a good local crowd that loves and cares for their courses. The up hill holes will frustrate you with shorter than normal distance and the down hill holes are just a ton of fun. You are always throwing through trees. The best news of all is that the fire crews recently went through this park and cut out a ton of bushes that might have made finding a disc way more difficult than it currently is. I think the course was really easy to navigate with well worn paths and signs. Great tee signs that were helpful for the most part, only a couple of times did I have to scout a hole. Very few holes felt a like and each seemed to have its own unique challenge. The courses sits in a park that includes a library and yet there is really no fear that there will ever be pedestrian intereference. While there were other players, it was not crowded here by any means.
Cons: Watch out for roots of old bushes as they may try and trip you. There is a good chance that discs will roll. Most holes were within a small range of distances. This course will wear you out with all the hiking up hill, especially early in the round. There is a ton of dirt and you should expect to be dirty when you are done playing.
Other Thoughts: I have heard that they call this the Billy Goat Course and the description is really what you most need to know about this course. Remember when you come to this course to make your first right on Warrior to get into the park and then follow that all the way around to the very back parking lot to get to the course. I parked by the baseball field on Warrior and had to walk a while to get to the course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Don't you dare wear sandals...

1    6/30/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: tlandegent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing variety of shots. Trees were present but not overwhelming. Some markers showing the direction of the next pin, some great paths lined with boards. I can't think of a better way to hike a mile!
Cons: While there were some good, clear pathways to the next tee, sometimes it took a few minutes to find the next one.
No indication of par or which of the 3 pins the basket was located at. Because of the terrain, you sometimes couldn't see the basket, and it was annoying walking a few hundred feet to finally see the basket.
Other Thoughts: The artwork describing the 3 pin locations at each tee were very nicely done, but like I said before, no indication of par or if the basket was at A, B, or C.
Throwing from high terrain to low is amazingly fun. 10 and 15 have the potential for amazing 400+ drives...it gives a nice self-esteem boost to an ameteur like me. :)
As for the manzanitas, the Nevada park service did a forest restoration this past May. As you play this course, you will see LOTS of cleared/burned brush (mostly manzanitas and some trees). Older reviews may be valid, but the brush is not unbearable. Don't plan on losing discs.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Another Great Tahoe Course

5+    5/31/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: ntwrk
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2011
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Great variety of some fairly technical shots
-Beautiful course
-Challenging long and short holes
-Nice hike through the woods while you play
-Wasn't crowded at all when we played in May 2009
Cons: -A couple of the tee pads are a little short but nothing too bad
-Some of the tee pads are uneven due to rain/ware
-Depending on basket placement some shots are leaps of faith :)
Other Thoughts: We played this course after Bijou and were not disappointed. The city was cutting down some of the overgrowth while we were there so you had to contend with some downed trees/brush but it was still an amazing course. If you are in Tahoe HIT THIS COURSE!!!!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.