Zephyr Cove, NV 
Zephyr Cove Park Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #1
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Tahoe's Ultimate Course

2-4    6/20/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is it, folks. Think you've got game? Think you're tough? Think you're in decent physical shape? Do you have what it takes for real mountain golf, holes that demand huge arms, accuracy, and versatility? Holes that require wisdom in the ways of your disc in the wind?

Zephyr Cove is beyond any doubt the most beautiful course I've ever played. This place is perfect! Stately pine forests rise up into rocky ridge lines, whirring in the constant wind that blows off that gorgeous deep blue lake, and framed by snowy peaks all across the horizon. Simply stunning!

This course has so many epic shots, and makes you work for par on every hole. Huge bombs over wooded canyons, big uphill hucks into rocky coves, putter tee shots off steep ridge lines in extreme wind, 400'-500' drives through some of the tightest and most tantalizing tunnels this side of the Mississippi, and a handful of top-of-the-world-esque downhill gut shots...what more can you ask for? I think I emptied my entire bag about 5 times during just my first round, that's how much fun these holes were!

The tee pads are very nicely maintained. There are nice bathrooms near the 1st tee, the course is super clean, the tee signage is spot on, and there is even a little wooden lean-to after one of the holes to sit inside and enjoy the fine ambiance of the surroundings. The trees provide lots of shade, and there is always a wind to keep you cool.
Cons: The only cons I can think of are the handful of wimps complaining about having to hike up and downhill. Get in shape, tubbies! Sheesh.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the world's most challenging and fun disc golf courses, for sure. It definitely rates a 5/5 for me, there is no question in my mind this time. No doubts at all. The course was set up in the long tournament configuration when I last played it (this was just before King of the Lake), so other set-ups might not rate as high...but definitely you must play this course!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play

2-4    5/26/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 36  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: WOW, what a killer course. 18 holes through the Tahoe woods, all kinds of different holes. Uphill, downhill, over what seems like a canyon...(stay on the trail as you go down) This is a must play course. Not to had to find my way on my first time out. Some blind shots off the tee but there signage is quite good. Park in the far back of the lot, the course starts there.
Cons: nothing I could think of. Not baby friendly if you have a little one in a stroller.
Other Thoughts: If you are anywhere near here play this course! I cant wait to go back. Met a few locals who were totally cool.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/1/2009   5/7/2010
Review By: trevorchreid
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful setting
-extreme elevation change
-has downhill and uphill holes
-well maintained
-nice baskets and tee pads
-Nice variety of technicality
-The downhill holes on this coarse are amazing.
-Long and short holes
-Great variety of shots, nice coarse design
-not over crowded
Cons: -Front nine is a little too uphill. This was very humbling. Great place to practice your uphill game however
-Very hard to find your footing with all the bushes, pine cones, and bark on the fairway.
-Very easy to loose your disc (this includes in ground brush and getting stuck in pine trees)
-Easy to crack a disc. Cracked a DX Beast on a rock on this coarse
Other Thoughts: It's always a pleasure to play a true mountain coarse such as Zephyr Cove. One of the most beautiful settings I've ever played DG in.
I would qualify this as a destination coarse - world class.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    3/24/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: Okiewildcat
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I try to play anytime I go on the road and have played many different courses across the US. I really enjoyed playing here amid the beautiful backdrop of Lake Tahoe. Great layout and difficult holes going up hill while less challenging holes downhill but just enjoyable.
Cons: Alittle difficult to find the holes the first round but no problems after that.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the best

5+    8/5/2009   1/23/2010
Review By: Shepack
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Elvation changs the whole time. The views are great. Alternet local T posstions if you know where they are. Short loop on course alows you to play a quick round or another small one. At the beach. See the same people every day. Only disc players on course.
Cons: The fire protection thinning of the forest is a bummer Mazinita can eat discs.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. It was next to my highschool and i would play around be for classalmost everyday and one after. Go to the beach then shoot then back to the beach can't beat it. Every one is supper chill and all locals know the course like the backof their hands. Got me started on disc, can't wait to play it all summer.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/7/2010   1/7/2010
Review By: JHoff
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The views alone make this course a must play.
-Good tees
-Good quality baskets.
-A variety of different holes to challenge most players.
-Amazing elevation change while you climb up and down this mini mountain.
-A variety of different pin placements.
This was one of the only courses where my wife came along and didn't get bored because of the courses beauty and the views.
Cons: I would of liked some of the holes to be a little longer. You tee off on top of this course and you can barely throw it because the hole is so short. Not all of the holes are short but it just seems to missing that hole where you can just let it rip. Long pants might be a good idea because the bushes can be a little scratchy. You can avoid this by staying in the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while on vacation in Tahoe. We were very pleased to have such a beautiful course so close to our condo. If you are vacationing in the Tahoe area you might want to add this course to your agenda.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/29/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 14.3 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - 2 to 3 pin placements per hole
- quality, large cement tees
- good signs showing basket positions, distances and landmarks on each hole
- good facilities in surrounding park
- good directions to course
Cons: - holes 1-8 all play UPHILL, either directly or indirectly, making for a grueling front 9
- no signs leading you to the next tee
- many people that play this course are vacationing in Tahoe and don't know the etiquette about letting faster players or smaller groups play through
- very hot and dry, and can be easy to roll an ankle on most fairways
Other Thoughts: I came into this course not knowing what to expect, and I was actually quite pleasantly surprised. Aside from having to constantly walk uphill for the first half of the course, it was really a great course. Everything was in good shape and seemed to be well maintained. There were benches for resting every few holes.

You need to bring good shoes and water with you when you play this course. The constant hills will quickly make you tired and dehydrated, and many of the fairways are covered in wood 'chunks.' No, not small wood chips, but substantially large wood 'chunks.' The kind that make it easy to roll an ankle.

I honestly loved this course and would happily come back and play it again. The multiple pin positions allow for different challenges each time (though I don't know how often they are changed), and the large cement pads make it easy to throw. It is a true mountain course, NOT on a pre-existing ski hill, which was a nice change. If you're in the Tahoe area definitely take some time to play this course. Easily in my Top 50.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Mountain Course

1    8/15/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: gmoney
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Dynamic view on hole #8. Great Workout with extreme elevation changes. Layout is challenging and varied. Manzanita not as thick as it once was according to the locals. Not crowded on a beautiful Saturday afternoon.
Cons: Not for out of shape players. No benches to rest after long hikes uphill. Downhill shots are too short to let big arms make epic shots. Path from 17 to 18 difficult to locate for new players (go right 17 basket about 100 feet).
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to go back. No wimps on this course. Serious players only.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth seeking out

1    8/4/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 26.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting--breathtaking view of Tahoe at the basket on hole 8
Great elevation changes
Awesome use of natural terrain (Huge boulders, giant trees)
Well thought out design
Pretty intuitive (There's no map available and the only hole that is not intuitive is #2--if you walk on the "well worn path" it leads you to the tee off to 18 and since the sign is behind the pro tee pad, you could easily tee off from the amatuer pad or even the pro pad thinking it was #2--once you finish hole one, turn around and walk downhill toward the picnic pavillion--that is the tee off for #2)
Excellent mixture of uphill, long downhill, right and left doglegs and threading the needle shots
No real redundancy
Multiple pin placements on every hole and dual tee pads on most holes
Good signage (it would be excellent signage if they identified which pin placement the hole was at on that particular day)
Forces you to use all kinds of strategy and throws
Even the holes with many trees that need to be navigated had at least one, most had two very distinct paths to the basket
Great risk and reward situations
Extremely helpful locals
FREE parking (a rarity at Lake Tahoe)
Excellent baskets
Cons: Most of the rubber tee pads are extreme uneven and very short
No benches at the tee pads, plenty of rocks to sit on at some tee pads
No garbage cans on the course (I was VERY impressed at how clean the course is with no garbage cans)
Other Thoughts: If you are anywhere near south Tahoe, you should make the time to play this course.
I was playing by myself and it only took about 1:15--there were 5 other groups on the course but well spaced out...two groups let me play through and were super friendly and helpful
I usually wear Chaco sandals, but since I lived on north shore Tahoe for a couple of years in the early 80's I knew the type of terrain and wore tennis shoes...I STRONGLY suggest wearing tennis shoes and not sandals because the fine granite will eat your feet alive.
You don't need long pants--the under brush is not that bad
Make sure to bring twice the water you usually take because the dry air, very high elevation and up and downhill hiking will dehydrate you more than normal
If you come up from sea level, try to give yourself at least one day before playing the course or REALLY pace yourself so you are not effected by the altitude too badly---HYDRATION, HYDRATION, HYDRATION

I personally like courses like this (very demanding, technical, requires well thought out strategy, requires good execution of every type of throw I know) and if you are like me you will want to try to get here and play this course--it will be worth the effort

I played each hole as 3 par -- shot even par and found myself smiling most of the way back down to Carson City, wishing I had time to play one more round

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pristene

1    6/30/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: bongripper0420
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course is amazing!! beautiful views, Great layout, lots of trees, and nice baskets. EXTREME elevation changes make this course great to play and get some great excerise. Talked to some locals and was told alot of people dont play it because of the mountains, but dont listen. The uphill walking is a small price to pay to play this amazing course.
Cons: Course was a little tough to navigate, could use a few more signs, other than that nothing.
Other Thoughts: I played this course at sunset after already playing 3 other courses that day, so I was a little beat. Wish I had more time to play again. Dont pass up this one if your in the area!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.