Stillwater, OK
Hoyt Grove Share
Uploaded By: DeadOn Hole #17 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 359ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Scenic Alternative to Boomer

5+    2/19/2014   2/23/2014
Review By: sbaser13
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hoyt Grove Park is a decent course and an alternative to Boomer Lake. I play this course on the windy days because it's more protected than boomer. The course generally isn't too busy which is nice. Has a nice variety of technical and open shots.

Favorite holes:
Hole 5- The tunnel shot.
Hole 6- Birdie Birdie.
Hole 9- Water Hazard to the left. High Risk/Reward.
Cons: Improvements are definitely needed. The course has a few cheap signs, but only on about 5 holes or so. All dirt pads. First time players should either bring someone with them or follow another person. Difficult course to figure out on your own due to lack of signs.
Other Thoughts: This course is not going to compete with the best of courses in the state. Its a great alternative if you are stuck in Stillwater and are looking for something different than boomer. All 18 baskets are there. The tee pad for #1 is right as you walk up the hill to the left. I would call the teepad to the right an alternate, easier and more open drive.

Directions:
As a resident of Stillwater, I still had a problem finding it the first time. So on 12th and east of Perkins road. It is the parking lot across from the Senior Center. Walk across the bridge and up the hill for #1.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent mix of shots

5+    12/18/2012   4/29/2013
Review By: fritothedog
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It is a fun course with a mix of shots from open to wooded. A good mix of technical throws and long throws.
Cons: The baskets for 14 and 18 are are missing.

At least I think it is 14, there is no signage to speak of and no good tee boxes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Liked what I could find

1    3/20/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: DGRZ001
Played: 179  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 36.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is in a nice area, with great view of the cemetery. Baskets are in decent shape. Long grass not a problem, and course was dry, so mud was not a problem. Holes had a range from short to long, and the overall hole designs were fine.
Cons: NO tee pads, NO tee signs, NO numbers on the baskets! Pretty big NOs in my book. I followed a twosome for most of the front 9 so I could find the tees and holes, but I decided to skip a couple of holes so I could get home earlier. One basket actually had a number, I think (two sprayed on vertical stripes was meant to be "11"). After that hole, I had no idea where the next 7 holes were. I saw no holes that I had not seen or played before.
Other Thoughts: A rating of 2.0 is defined as reasonable, and a 1.5 is passable.. Rudimentary tee signs would help immensely, and would marking the baskets with numbers. That would bring the rating up to a 3, which is "Good". Do NOT play this course without a local to guide you, unless you enjoy just walking around a disc golf course with a clueless look on your face.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Get out your roller face, son!

5+    1/2/2011   1/2/2011
Review By: notBOB
Played: 123  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hoyt GRove doesnt get the respect it deserves in my opinion. It is a must hit if youre near stilly.
-tehnical, tight
-unique hallway shots typically not offered in central OK
-great use of the land, creek and tree layout
-good balance of left to rights, long and tights
-ROLLERS YEA!!!
-course is in a valley hidden from major winds
-almost always have the course to yourself
Cons: -hit or miss on course conditions- can get overgrown
-natural tee pads (not necessarily a bad thing...)
-course can get confusing hole to hole- not well marked-easy to figure out numerous times through
-2 baskets missing :( i typically throw both anyway, why not?
-one or two tees are near other fairways, keep your head up dawg!
Other Thoughts: Fun course, watch out for horses on people-back and the occasional OSU hottie
other than the missing baskets this course is close to being the shiz

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice technical course.

5+    12/20/2009   6/4/2010
Review By: okie_thumber
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots. A few very tight fairways that require pin point accuracy. On every hole there are trees to contend with. There are a few holes that a player could uncork a drive on, but not very many. Nice, scenic course.
Cons: Grass is not always kept up. Course can get confusing since there are no signs or teepads.
Other Thoughts: I brought friends to both Boomer Lake Course across town and this one and they really enjoyed and preferred this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/14/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: Basoos1
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course, varied holes.
mid distances, most obstacles are small trees.
Cons: Durring the summer they may only mow a portion the fairways, this makes it very difficult to find discs (unless you're very accurate).
one hole you're shooting down hill at a water hazard (the creek is about 7' drop off the bank)
Other Thoughts: while there is water 'present' on 7 holes, its only problematic on 5 (the other two are a canal which has a depth of a few inches)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    3/15/2008   8/6/2009
Review By: bigghigg
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course with a nice variety considering the terrain to work with.
Cons: Could have been a little better marked and maintained. The tee-boxes that were marked were marked well, but there were a few missing. A lot of standing water when I played, probably typical during rainy seasons.
Other Thoughts: Nice course with a variety of shots. Some tee-boxes were well marked with hole photographs, and some seemed to be missing completely. There were a couple underwater, but this is probably seasonal.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Need Help

1    12/1/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: Robert Scott
Played: 52  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 17.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of variety on this course, a couple somewhat open to very tight holes. And some water holes too. 18 holes with 3 tees per hole Blue, White, and Red. Great signs (Photos of hole/marked tees all three) but all but two were missing
Cons: No signs, I found two on the ground. The tees are hard to find if you can find any. I never found any tee for hole 8 and 12, Looks like the tee for 10 is not where players have been playing from. Also looks like tee 17 is used for 15 too. I like the water holes but the creek is nasty. Basket for 18 is missing. Looked like Holes 7, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, 18 may flood when it rains heavy.
Other Thoughts: I only played a few of the holes, I was taking photos to post and spent most of the time looking for tees and the next hole. I wished the person that made the signs could post the photos on here if they still have them. Bring a disc that floats and something to get it out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Has potential

5+    7/11/2008   7/24/2008
Review By: Unkles27
Played: 66  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides many different options, from tunnel shots to a few open drives and a few holes that run along a creek. Provides good risk/reward options that could leave you with and easy birdie or a wet disc. Many mature trees line, and block the fairways to provide a fun and shady experience. When mowed this is a beautiful park. It is a great contrast to the mostly wide open Boomer Lake course across town.
Cons: Throughout the summer only a small 10' wide fairway is cut, so if you get off track a little bit you could wind up losing your disc in the tall grass. After rains this course stays pretty wet. Most of the signs are down which makes it nearly impossible to navigate if you don't already know the way. Tee-pads are dirt or grass.
Other Thoughts: Play this course when the grasses are dead or cut if you want to avoid tall grass and all the creatures that come with it. The places needs some work but could be a very fun and challenging course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

6/21/2008   6/24/2008
Review By: ryandr
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very large park to play in. Poles are set in a variety of challenge locations from creek-side to surrounded by trees to open field locations.
Cons: Tees are not marked well. The course was overgrown at the time. It was difficult to determine fairways and which pole to throw at and from where.
Other Thoughts: If taken care of (mowed) this course would provide a wide range of challenges. However, if you are just visiting Stillwater, you need to play the course at Boomer Lake (located on the west side of the park) if you only have time for one game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.