Vancouver, BC 
Little Mountain DGC-Q.E. Park Share
Uploaded By: maniak Hole #7 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / --   3 / 341ft.   3 / 335ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee: Tee is in the background on the right.



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Perfect little Course

5+    7/8/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: joelwpg
Played: 69  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great short hole course in a beautiful park, always busy on nice days. a must play for me every time i am in Vancouver. One of the best uses of space i have seen for a course. 9 baskets and 18 concrete tee pads are all top notch. Elevation changes and lots of mature trees force a really great variety of shots for such a short course. There is no rough, but a water hazard and some O.B. can make it interesting. There are also many alternate courses here. ask a local and you can get a sheet that has them all written down. This gives this course almost endless variety. Love it!
Cons: wait times for tees, or pedestrians sometimes due to high use.
Other Thoughts: This is mostly, a beginner/intermediate course, but it is a fun, quick play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mountain Fun!

1    2/9/2013   2/11/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well set up little course on the lower slopes of Queen Elizabeth Park. There is a nice variety of hyzer and anhyzer holes and the baskets are well placed to use the trees, and mountain slope. There are two tee sets. the rectangular ones are farther with the octagons being shorter. Either offers good footing. I played on a rainy day, and there was no issue with tee shots. There was a good fun factor with most holes birdieable while offering a moderate challenge. There were some low ceiling shots along with some nice line shaping along with straight forward throws. The last hole has a water shot, and it's definitely a nice basket position. The pond isn't too deep if you lose a disc. There was a guy walking around and pulling out discs while I was there.
Cons: The course is fairly short so you don't have much use for drivers. There are no signs on the holes. There is a course map, but it was hard to read. Really not much wrong here. It's a nice little course.
Other Thoughts: If you need discs, Abbies on 32nd and main has a good selection. Steve was very helpful. The first hole is between the duck pond and ball golf course. I loved the uphill and downhill. We don't get this much where I'm from. If I lived close, I would play this course frequently! Had a great time here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very cool!

1    7/12/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Discraft FTW
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with some very cool shots. Good use of the hill it's on. The holes were reasonable distances and most were easily seen. Great place to learn how to play the sport too!
Cons: We had people just walking across the park so you have to wait for them. Also some holes and tee pads are right next to eachother so you may run the risk of hitting someone else.
Other Thoughts: Probably the best course I played while visiting Vancouver.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Vancouver Course

5+    4/10/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: theHip
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a great course, one of the best in Vancouver. 9 holes, and you can make it an 18 by playing the expert tee's last. Cool water hazard, some long holes.
Cons: It's a tight course, the holes are close to one another, and a couple holes run along the fence that separates you from the golf course.
Other Thoughts: Close to Abbies sports world, check this place out, ton's of discs here!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of Vancouver's Better Courses

2-4    9/19/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: dcookie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with lots of options. Some hexagonal teepads allow users to invent their own holes and mix things up. Near and far tee pads work well for taking beginners, they can shoot from the closer pads.
Cons: Not a lot of space. The course would benefit from some more real estate from the park to really stretch it's wings and fly.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the pond. It eats discs and it's hungry! It's pretty gross water. I wouldn't go in there after a disc.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Look out for the Pond!

5/17/2008   5/24/2008
Review By: nexanimal
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - well marked tees, course map at the entrance, easy to follow the course
- nine holes, with second teepads farther back for the "back nine" -- more experiences players can just shoot from the back pads the whole game to add difficulty
- pro AND con: water hazards on at least four holes, see below for more
- Q.E. is one of the prettiest parks I've seen, built on an old quarry with breathtaking views of the cities and mountains from the area near their arbouretum. Take some time to explore and enjoy the park while you're there
- easy to get to using transit: bus #15 runs from downtown Vancouver to 33rd/Cambie, get off there and walk east through the park to the other side, parking lot and DG course are at 33rd/Ontario
Cons: - the pond is a disc watery grave with many abandoned discs visible, it's difficult/impossible to retrieve a disc from the pond without waders
- holes 9 and 10 shoot directly across the pond and you can't lay up to get there, if you're not confident shooting over water, you can bypass these two holes and go directly from 8 to 11
- water also a significant hazard on holes 1 and 4, and on several others if you toss a poorly controlled shot
Other Thoughts: - my buddy lost his favorite driver on the first tee shot into the pond, he tried to lay up the shot well away from the pond, but it struck a tree root, rolled straight into the pond at high speed, and was impossible to locate in the muck. Beware the disc eating pond!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.