Vancouver, BC 
Little Mountain DGC-Q.E. Park Share
Uploaded By: Drivethrutke Hole #3 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 272ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Long Live the Queen!

1    3/26/2014   4/4/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a well-groomed, popular park, Little Mountain DGC is western Vancouver's oldest, most popular course. The course plays in its own little section of the park, and seems to do a good job avoiding conflict with non-disc golfing park goers.

For a 9 hole public park course tending towards shorter hole lengths, there's a good bit of variety present: fairways across sloping hills (a Vancouver standard, it seems), uphill and downhill (8!) shots, some low ceilings, some varied lines (uphill RHFH hyzer on 3), some OB (fence on 2, with discs being easily retrievable if a bit awkward owing to the golf course present), and even an over-the-water hyzer to close things out, with enough trees present along the fairway or guarding the pin to make things interesting. Although the holes are often short, throwaways are largely avoided. Besides a longer hole or two, you couldn't ask for much more in the variety department given the setting.

Each hole has two sets of concrete tees. Baskets are solid and get the job done.

Course is conveniently nearby two others (Quilchena and Jericho Hill), making it easy to hit all three in the span of an afternoon.
Cons: While Little Mountain DGC makes great use of the available land, there's only so much that that land can offer. Shot shaping is maximized but still lacking in overall challenge factor: shooting under 27 from either tee would not be that difficult. The holes themselves don't have much wow factor, although that's nobody's fault: it's a city park course.

The course is in a fairly tight space, and the longer tees feel squeezed in. My guess is that they were put in after the shorts, owing to their different appearance and sense of being simply as far behind the short tees as they can be given the available space; other than adding a little distance, they don't seem to offer much.

The short tees are weirdly hexagonal, allowing more space than usual when moving from left to right but are too short, for my comfort anyway, front to back. There aren't any big drives here so a long run up isn't essential, but I did feel a little constrained on the hexagons.

There are no tee signs or indications of distance. Short tees have a hole number embedded into them.

Little Mountain seems to be the most popular course with the locals. Because of how small it is, it can crowd easily. With 4-5 groups on the course it seems crowded. On weekends I can imagine it being packed.

The grass around some of the pins was worn away on my visit, so that a rainy day can result in a mudpit. Living in New Orleans, I'm no stranger to muddy, soggy courses, but I've never seen the kind of quagmire that surrounded a few of the pins at Little Mountain. Not a huge deal, but if it's rained, be prepared to get dirty.

No alt pin positions. No readily-accessible facilities in the disc golf area of the park.
Other Thoughts: Little Mountain was my second favorite of the three western Vancouver courses I played on my visit. I preferred Quilchena's greater variety, particularly in terms of whole length (although there are some more technically challenging shots there, too). However, as that course has the potential to get overrun by non-disc golf park goers, I can see why heading to Little Mountain might be preferred. The two courses are close enough and short enough that you can easily hit both, or try one and then head to the other if needed.

On my visit we played the short tees 1-9, then played backwards, skipping a hole (so 9's tee to 7's basket, 8's tee to 6's basket, etc). This made for a fun safari course with lots of interesting shots. On a busy day this isn't doable, but keep it in mind as a way to get 18 holes in if the course is quiet enough.

Thanks to JedV for being a gracious host on my visit!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun in the City

5+    8/2/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: DiscWestYoungMan
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2013
Pros: Fantastic Tee Pads and baskets. Full set of back pads as well make for a challenging back 9, with two really cool water shots.

Good use of the area, with a good variety of shots for a par 3.

Easy location as well at Queen Elizabeth Park, and a great shop for all your discs and such right around the corner called Abbies.

Lots of friendly locals (who are also great to watch as they play all sorts of alternates here).

There are two warm up baskets as well, a wide open spot for your warm up if you like.
Cons: Popular park. Can be very busy sometimes. Walkers sometimes have no clue they are even on a Frisbee course.
Be prepared to have groups playing in front and behind you during peak times.

The course is on a slope, and the bottom of the slope can get wet during rainfall/rain season.
Other Thoughts: The course is fairly wide open, with just a few trees, so it's a great spot to keep track of your discs, and for beginners to not get frustrated.
The back pads play tough, and a couple of fairly difficult water shots should keep the more experienced players happy here.
The sport shop "Abbies" has a lost and found for discs as well, so if you hit the pond, don't be afraid to drop by the shop and see if your disc has shown up.
Also, this course is quite close to Quilchena, so its a great chance to play two courses in one afternoon.

Perfect little Course

5+    7/8/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: joelwpg
Played: 79  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great short hole course in a beautiful park, always busy on nice days. a must play for me every time i am in Vancouver. One of the best uses of space i have seen for a course. 9 baskets and 18 concrete tee pads are all top notch. Elevation changes and lots of mature trees force a really great variety of shots for such a short course. There is no rough, but a water hazard and some O.B. can make it interesting. There are also many alternate courses here. ask a local and you can get a sheet that has them all written down. This gives this course almost endless variety. Love it!
Cons: wait times for tees, or pedestrians sometimes due to high use.
Other Thoughts: This is mostly, a beginner/intermediate course, but it is a fun, quick play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short, Quick Round

1    4/13/2013   4/13/2013
Review By: jhkovac
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 24.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course to fit in a quick 9 or 18. Wonderfully poured concrete tee pads. Real baskets on each hole. Hole 4 & 8 have great elevation loss shots from the tee pads.
Cons: I didn't leave this course with a magical feeling. It was simply a "I have 20min to get in a bit of tossing in so this'll do."
I don't mind short courses. My hometown course (Cornwall Park, Bellingham, WA) is a short 9-holer as well, but I would have loved to see a bit more variety that challenges the way you have to play.
The water hazard on hole 9 is the only "holy shit" moment that gets the pulse racing. Other than that the course is a bit pedestrian.
A big qualm I had was that the baskets are extremely close to the next hole's tee pads. Way too many opportunities to hit the people playing in front of you. Poor layout in that aspect. There were too many times that I had to wait for the group in front of me to tee off, then walk half their hole just so I could begin to tee off on my hole for fear of hitting them with my tee shot.
Other Thoughts: Again, a great way to fit in a bit of tossing if you have 20min to kill. Not a destination course or a must play. I was visiting a friend in the city and wanted to check out the local courses, and this one was on the list. Now it's off it. :-)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Mountain Fun!

1    2/9/2013   2/11/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well set up little course on the lower slopes of Queen Elizabeth Park. There is a nice variety of hyzer and anhyzer holes and the baskets are well placed to use the trees, and mountain slope. There are two tee sets. the rectangular ones are farther with the octagons being shorter. Either offers good footing. I played on a rainy day, and there was no issue with tee shots. There was a good fun factor with most holes birdieable while offering a moderate challenge. There were some low ceiling shots along with some nice line shaping along with straight forward throws. The last hole has a water shot, and it's definitely a nice basket position. The pond isn't too deep if you lose a disc. There was a guy walking around and pulling out discs while I was there.
Cons: The course is fairly short so you don't have much use for drivers. There are no signs on the holes. There is a course map, but it was hard to read. Really not much wrong here. It's a nice little course.
Other Thoughts: If you need discs, Abbies on 32nd and main has a good selection. Steve was very helpful. The first hole is between the duck pond and ball golf course. I loved the uphill and downhill. We don't get this much where I'm from. If I lived close, I would play this course frequently! Had a great time here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Tournament Course

5+    12/10/2011   2/16/2012
Review By: Dieno
Played: 32  Reviewed: 16
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice little niner course, good to learn on and can give you a fear of water. Plays good though. When they have the Abbies Open in April each year the course is expanded across the road of another 15 holes .... now these are incredible, great lines and views of Vancouver and the Mountains to die for. Just really really special. Best course in BC in my opinion. Super layout by MG.
Cons: Either short or long course both good, good, good.
Other Thoughts: Kind of Home of DG in B.C.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/7/2010   4/20/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course at Little Mountain is a fun, but average city park design which maintains the mostly shortish layout of many other area courses but makes up for it with a few more challenging par three holes and a nice over-the-water finishing hole.

Variety: Because of a nice hillside, some sparse trees, and a good water hazard, you'll get quite a bit of variety out of a round here. Most holes are quite short, but there is a nice low ceiling shot which requires a club up or a skip shot and a few longer lines from the pro tees which need a bit of pop. I threw mostly a mixture of putters with a fairway driver or two and even a roller.

Replayability: It is a little bit of a stretch, but I'd say that this course has a pretty good replay factor not because you could play from the permanent tees to baskets again and again but because Little Mountain makes for a really nice safari course. The hillside and sloping trees make for a great place to bring out an extra basket or two and make up some really fun holes which are a bit more challenging.
Cons:
Busy: We played on the same day as several other area Vancouver courses and found this one by far the busiest of the bunch. Not only was the course overrun with golfers, but a group that may be a little lax on course etiquette. Several times we were thrown on by groups behind us (although we were waiting on tees for a group ahead) and because of the very close fairways also by players on other holes and heard no 'fore' to alert us to the errant disc. This could have been an artifact of our single visit to the course but nearby Jericho and Quilcena were nearly empty on the same day.

Challenge: While there are a couple of holes which either have the distance or a tricky line to shape, this course largely consists of straightforward putter shots to greens which are relatively unguarded. Most of the challenge to be found is in managing the very fast, skippy greens.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Little Mountain does have a few redeeming holes and also the option to make a few really nice safari holes but with the crowds, lack of real length, and quite a few filler holes, it fails to separate from the other similar area courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very cool!

1    7/12/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Discraft FTW
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with some very cool shots. Good use of the hill it's on. The holes were reasonable distances and most were easily seen. Great place to learn how to play the sport too!
Cons: We had people just walking across the park so you have to wait for them. Also some holes and tee pads are right next to eachother so you may run the risk of hitting someone else.
Other Thoughts: Probably the best course I played while visiting Vancouver.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Vancouver Course

5+    4/10/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: theHip
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is a great course, one of the best in Vancouver. 9 holes, and you can make it an 18 by playing the expert tee's last. Cool water hazard, some long holes.
Cons: It's a tight course, the holes are close to one another, and a couple holes run along the fence that separates you from the golf course.
Other Thoughts: Close to Abbies sports world, check this place out, ton's of discs here!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great little course

5+    11/29/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: Bobbily
Played: 37  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I can't believe Mundy Park gets a better rating than this park. I am reviewing in particular the pro tees here, which I think makes easily the best course in Vancouver, and arguably one of the tops in the lower mainland. A great variety of holes. Lots of Danger, ie. OB, Water, elevation and trees. Some beautiful views, and the ballpark is right next door. Catch a C's game after your round at beautiful Nat Bailey Stadium.
Cons: Its really tight, as in the holes are very close to one another, and can be a bit overly busy. Its very much city disc golf.
Other Thoughts: Abbie's Sports on main is awesome, great selection of discs and friendly knowledgeable staff. Main st. also sports a myriad of great pubs and restaurants for before or after your game.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.