Vancouver, BC 
Little Mountain DGC-Q.E. Park Share
Uploaded By: Drivethrutke Hole #8 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / --   3 / 269ft.   3 / 282ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Nice beginner course

1    10/15/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to find (GPS coordinates are off, but go by intersection), easy to park for free, well-marked tees.
Cons: Tiny. Barely par 3 on all holes. No maps, but to be honest you don't need one. Discs will frequently sail into the path of oncoming cars/pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I played this course in passing; it took us 35 minutes for both of us to finish the front 9 from the octagon tees and another 15 for me to finish the back 9 from the rectangle tees. Very small course. I played the entire back 9 (basically, the same holes from the "advanced" tee) with my approach disc, as I overshot every single hole with my distance driver on the front 9; I still got under par. This park is definitely not for anyone over intermediate level. The difficulties come not from distance, but from accuracy - you have to keep your shots low enough to get under the branches, and not throw your discs onto the surrounding streets or onto the pitch 'n putt golf course next to the second hole. A couple of the holes are interesting (#9/#18 - shooting over a pond), but for the most part it's a very easy course.

Upgraded this to 2 discs, because it's not a bad course - just small, and very easy.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate Course Set In A Beautiful Park!

1    8/15/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you play here, take time to explore the rest of Queen Elizabeth Park. It's stunningly beautiful and immaculately maintained featuring spectacular views of the citie's skyline. The course is set in one small corner of the park. It has some scattered trees, slight elevation and one nasty looking pond to throw over. The unique feature is the two different shaped teepads: octagonial for 1-9 and then the regular rectangular shaped for 10-18. The octagonial ones don't allow much room for any run-up but you really don't need it here. I think this is a clever (and simple way) to distinguish between the two. I felt that # 9- # 18 over the pond was as close as this course comes to a signature hole here. It just might get your heart beating a little faster.
Cons: There is very little challenge here for anyone above the intermediate level. So that leaves it for what it is. It's a nice little throw in a city park. Good place to get in a practice round or introduce a newbie to our game. It was fairly crowded with groups but they were quick to let me play through. The pond is certainly hungry for discs and definitely gobbles it's share.
Other Thoughts: I'd hate to be a Canadian golfer with a big arm because there just aren't a lot of courses in the Vancouver area to show that arm off. I played five courses and all five would fall into the beginner/intermediate catagory. As Mr. Stengle mentioned in an earlier review, the course does seem kind of stuck here in this small corner of this large park. Even if they had incorporated the area where the practice baskets are, they could have helped.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Average at best

5+    8/5/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: maniak
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice setting on the side of a gradual slope in a huge park right in the middle of Vancouver. The slope is not quite as severe as the course at Jericho Hill but this course layout makes better use of the hill as it goes across the hill, up and down. The tee pads are always in great shape and there's two sets which makes the most out of the nine basket layout.

This is the most popular course in Vancouver but never gets too busy. I've never experienced anything more than a 5 minute wait and waiting at tees very uncommon. Because there are two sets of tees, the course caters well to beginners and intermediate players.
Cons: The course doesn't cater to advanced players. I have about a years worth of experience and recently played the long tees after taking a two week break from disc golf and shot even par from the back tees.

Some people might say the signature hole is #9 over the pond but I think it's a boring hole. None of the holes are particularly picturesque or force you to use different shots. From the short tees I exclusively use my putter on five holes.

The front and back tees are shaped differently which is nice as you can easily tell which to use however, the front tees are an octagonal shape and as a result are not long enough to allow a proper run up.

Hole #4 is a short downhill shot and its very easy to throw your disc onto Ontario Street. This is dangerous for pedestrians or people on bikes. I've actually seen someone hit a person riding a bike past the course.
Other Thoughts: Others have said the locals who play here are unfriendly. (See a review on the Langley Passive Park Reviews page) I disagree, I've run into the Q Club many times, they're great guys. They usually are playing a safari style game but they always allow those playing the proper layout to play through and are always appreciative of a good shot or putt.

This has been my home course for the last year and I've grown rather bored of it. I feel like I've out grown it and I want some more challenge. I'm not a big believer in playing safari golf, I would much prefer a course be tough and rewarding by design.

Other than disc golf, there's many other activities available in this park. There is a pitch and putt right next to the disc golf course. It costs about $10 plus club rentals if you need them. There's also a swanky restaurant at the top of the hill with spectacular views of downtown and to North Shore Mountains.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    7/10/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: TKCerbs
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A nice open course that is easy to get to and excellent of beginners.
Cons: Course lacks difficulty and has a pond that consumes discs. Only 9 holes with a cop-out second set of tees behind the first ones.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played, and I've given up at least 6 discs to the water gods on hole 18 over the pond. I generally go into the pond after them as you can walk out with discs (on my best day 14 discs) from the pond, but rarely do you ever find your own. Course etiquette is to drop off discs with names and number at Abbie's, and anything un-labelled is a nice prize for the effort.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Had fun.

1    10/6/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: flyskyhi
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Atmosphere. Location.

Course is on the side of a hill, and forces you do finesse around trees.
Cons: Too compact. Needs more space. I dont care for double t pads. Just makes the back 9 longer. Seems odd to be standing on Tee 1 and have a disc sail directly over you.
Other Thoughts: If your disc does meet the pond, there is a nice young man that fishes out all that he can find. Come back the next day, kick in a few bucks and get your disc back!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the Vancouver courses?

2-4    11/1/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/17/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
What made QE Little Mountain good was its location and atmospere. Set in a beautiful park right next to a pitch and putt, this course has some elevation, water, and plenty of trees. Even though this course is short it makes great use of the land and does a nice job incorporating the obstacles. The tee pads are in great condition and are easy to figure out due to their distinct shapes (octogons are front, rectangles are back). The baskets are in good shape as well, and the map on the kiosk near tee 1/10 is clear and accurate. The course design seemed to flow, as the front and and back nine loop around to the start. Foliage and maintenance is apparent, with a bench and a water fountain near basket 4/13 and tee 5/14. Water comes in to play on holes 9, 10 and 18. If you are accurate and have a nice hyzer you have no worries. The two other course Quilchena and Jericho Hill are just a few minutes away which makes it nice when looking for more of a variety.
Cons:
QE Little Mountain lacked distance and a whole lot of difficulty. For being the best course in Vancouver, it could of been more challenging (as I shot under playing my first time with little difficulty). It would be great to see tee signs to help with navigation besides the map at the kiosk near hole one. Also, the course could benefit from more garbage cans, a restroom on or near the course (besides the temporary port a potty that is there only during the road construction), and better guarded baskets.

Even though they made great use of one side of the park, there was still a lot of room there to incorporate longer more challenging holes. They have two practice baskets installed clear across the park yet they are only used for tournaments or gorilla golf. The one practice basket directly across hole 9/18 would be a prefect alternative pin placement, making it MUCH more challenging as you throw over the pond.
Other Thoughts:
This course truely is beautiful, especially during the fall when all the leaves are vibrant and full of color. The park is perfect for practice or a quick round and I am told that they hold a tournament at the end of their series in Spring where they rent out the rest of the park and turn it into a 26 hole course. I will definately be up for that because this course has a lot of potential and the locals are great! If you are in Vancouver I recommend hitting this course up first, then Quilchena, and if you have time then Jericho Hill.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of Vancouver's Better Courses

2-4    9/19/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: dcookie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with lots of options. Some hexagonal teepads allow users to invent their own holes and mix things up. Near and far tee pads work well for taking beginners, they can shoot from the closer pads.
Cons: Not a lot of space. The course would benefit from some more real estate from the park to really stretch it's wings and fly.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the pond. It eats discs and it's hungry! It's pretty gross water. I wouldn't go in there after a disc.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf in Vancouver

1    8/30/2008   9/2/2008
Review By: jsalyers1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a short trip from downtown Vancouver. The park is nice, and very well maintained. Good use of limited trees, water, and other landscape features.
Cons: The park is quite small, open, with hole duplication use. There really are only 9 unique holes here... the remainder are just secondary tee placements. For the size of the park - many pedestrians feel the need it seems to play with their dogs and picnic on the course. This is a bit of an obstacle, and one that is not typical of many of the courses I have played. The real dissappointment here is for the size of the park - there was not more space consideration for disc golf.
Other Thoughts: I was with a friend who does not play that often... he wanted me to state to watch out for the goose poop - there was a lot of it. Also doggie doo.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Look out for the Pond!

5/17/2008   5/24/2008
Review By: nexanimal
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - well marked tees, course map at the entrance, easy to follow the course
- nine holes, with second teepads farther back for the "back nine" -- more experiences players can just shoot from the back pads the whole game to add difficulty
- pro AND con: water hazards on at least four holes, see below for more
- Q.E. is one of the prettiest parks I've seen, built on an old quarry with breathtaking views of the cities and mountains from the area near their arbouretum. Take some time to explore and enjoy the park while you're there
- easy to get to using transit: bus #15 runs from downtown Vancouver to 33rd/Cambie, get off there and walk east through the park to the other side, parking lot and DG course are at 33rd/Ontario
Cons: - the pond is a disc watery grave with many abandoned discs visible, it's difficult/impossible to retrieve a disc from the pond without waders
- holes 9 and 10 shoot directly across the pond and you can't lay up to get there, if you're not confident shooting over water, you can bypass these two holes and go directly from 8 to 11
- water also a significant hazard on holes 1 and 4, and on several others if you toss a poorly controlled shot
Other Thoughts: - my buddy lost his favorite driver on the first tee shot into the pond, he tried to lay up the shot well away from the pond, but it struck a tree root, rolled straight into the pond at high speed, and was impossible to locate in the muck. Beware the disc eating pond!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 QE Little Mountain is a fun course with great people and culture

4/22/2008   4/23/2008
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course makes excellent use of a hillside on the eastern edge of Queen Elizabeth park. With wonderful views of the Coast Range and downtown Vancouver to the north, this is one of the most pleasant places to hang out in this part of town. The atmosphere is casual, with low profile beer consumption and what-not. Hop over to Main St to the east and crawl through the pubs all the way north after a few rounds.

There are 9 holes, with backpads extending to 18. The course is very well-marked, and full of locals who've been playing it for decades...it is a treat to see their mastery of the course. Lots of long holes, big down hill drives, open fairways, big mature trees, and a water hazard make this a fun time by any measure.
Cons: The course is somewhat small, and given Vancouver's rainy climate some holes become mudpits after long periods of rain. For tournaments the course is expanded into other parts of QE park, but apparently it is difficult to get a permanent installation in the other portions which would otherwise make this a world-class course.
Other Thoughts: If you're in Vancouver, check it out. It is the city's greatest disc golf experience. There is a sporting goods store on Main and 33rd, called Abbie's, which has a full selection of discs and acts as a sort of pro shop for this course.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.