Nanaimo, BC 
Bowen Park Share
Uploaded By: jungledonkey Hole #11 (Taken 2/2012)
4 / 298ft.   3 / 479ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Best course on Vancouver Island

5+    6/15/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: Schleyer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beauty park. Lots of old growth trees in the park, with grassy fairways. Impossible to lose a disc. 2 sets of concrete teepads
Cons: Busy in summertime. All par 3's, although the White tees are quite long
Other Thoughts: Awesome park and awesome course. The best on Vancouver Island!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

local

5+    5/27/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Islandgolfer
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful park.
variety of holes.
fun.
well marked tee pads.
friendly locals.
Cons: can be very busy in summer months.
people tend to leave garbage on the course.
Other Thoughts: There will be many upgrades in 2013 for this course.
stay tuned!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellently maintained, varied shot seletion

5+    3/25/2013   3/27/2013
Review By: LaManganesse
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Features a wide selection of shots for people who throw left, right, forehand, backhand.

Tee pads for beginners and the experienced.

The course is excellently maintained by the city.

Features a good variety of long and short holes.

Excellent tee pads, signage, and baskets.

You won't have to hack through low lying brush, manicured lawns as far as the eye can see.
Cons: Some of the shorter holes are lacking in creativity.

Only two exceptionally long holes.

A few crossing fairways require you to be conscious of safety
Other Thoughts: The course can become quite busy during the summer months as its location in the heart of nanaimo attracts quite a crowd.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

My home course

5+    9/8/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: jungledonkey
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well groomed
-two sets of concrete tee pads for each hole
-beautiful park
-in the heart of the city
-decent variety of shots
-18 baskets
- short tees and long tees play differently on most holes
-Every teebox has a number marker and a map, and is really easy to navigate. On top of that, the office has scorecards and maps
-Two sets of washrooms
-water fountains at hole 9 and behind hole 12
-trash cans with recycling bins scatter the course as well as benches.
-there are stairs for the main elevation holes
-forehand, backhand, rollers, and thumbers could all be utilized but not all are required. A good forehand and backhand make the course much more fun, and people with a consistent overhand shot can park many of the holes
Cons: -A couple crossing fairways
-Last few holes are repetitive
-Often busy
-Sometimes people will see a "frisbee" lying on the ground and will throw it around
-Holes 7 and 8 have volleyball courts come into play. It is out of bounds but can't always be avoided
-Could use a bit more variety in distance and could be a bit longer
-Some of the tee pads are a bit too close to the previous basket
Other Thoughts: A really nice course to play at. The course plays through a light to moderately wooded city park. Every hole has obstacles, some are pretty tight and some are more open. There's no underbrush that comes into play, though in summer there is often long grass in the lower part of the course.

The short tees are what most people play and are great for beginners but don't offer much challenge (with the exceptions being 7 and 11) to experienced players. I've seen multiple people score under -10 on the short tees. Most holes have one or two trees lining the fairway and a bunch of trees guarding the basket. Many are aceable. Length varies between 170 and 370ft.

The long tees vary in length from 220 to 535 feet. Par is a good score for these. If you only have time for one game, play the advanced holes.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 DB-TT

5+    11/1/2009   2/26/2010
Review By: DB-TT
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice looking Park, Good baskets, good tee pads.
Cons: Way to short, Crossing fairways, U only need 1 disc to play
Other Thoughts: This course is great for beginers, Does not allow for a full bagged day of golf. Bring your Roc.. thats all u will need..

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great layout

1    4/16/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: Bobbily
Played: 37  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great layout. 18 holes, lots of people playing the course. I got my first Ace here on #3! Lots of Ace opportunities througout. There are 2 sets of tees, the longer of the two are REALLY long (a few at over 500 feet). There are some GREAT elevation holes here. Big arms will LOVE it. Overall an outstanding course.
Cons: Busy busy. Try to play mid-week to avoid crowds. A little short. (Some will call it REALLY short). For those who like wooded hiking style courses, (like me) this may not be for you... I still think this course is worth a go though. Update: Not at all as short as I remember it. Possibly a new layout. Course is fantastic now.
Other Thoughts: That pic makes no sense to me, because its all baskets here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but could be better

1    9/12/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: maniak
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is right in the heart of Nanaimo in a busy park and is easily accessible by foot, bike, car and presumably public transportation. The park is full of amenities such as benches, a water tap near the course, picnic tables, gazebos, swimming pools and many other things of interest. For more, check out http://www.nanaimoinformation...wen-park.php.

There is a kiosk at the first tee with a map and for the most part, this course plays through a nice grassy area with tall trees all around. There is a very low chance of losing a disc as there is pretty much no underbrush here. If you play on a hot sunny day like I did, you'll be happy to get out of the sun. On the flip side, if it was raining, the trees would likely offer protection and allow for at least somewhat enjoyable rain golf. There are two sets of tees to choose from on this course and there are tee signs on each hole. The blue tees are the short ones and the white tees are the longer ones.

The short tees offer many birdie opportunities and ace runs. I only ended up playing eleven holes due to time constraints; I had to get back to ferry but I shot -6 on my first try through which is the lowest I've ever shot on a first time playing a course. I would attribute this to the short length of most holes.

Some holes offer some nice elevation changes (ie #7).

I met some of the locals who play there and they were a very friendly bunch.

Other than the above, the course is well kept, the tees are concrete and as far as amenities go, this course has most things you could want.
Cons: The only real downfall of this course I can speak about is how short it is. Even from the long tees, hardly any of the holes stretch over 300 feet. Not only are a lot of the holes short but a lot of them are the same distance between 175-210 feet. The course felt a little repetitive due to many of the holes being of similar distance.

Because of the shortness of many of the holes, I could see this course getting boring rather quickly. There are only so many times you can shoot -10 or -12 before you get bored. It is also hard to improve your game on a short course I've found.
Other Thoughts: As far as amenities go, this course has the most out of every course I've played. It has benches, garbage cans nearby, hole signs, two sets of tees, concrete tees, and a course map. There isn't much more I could think of that would make playing the course more enjoyable. It's such a shame how short this course is. I played 11 holes when I was there and I think I played all of them with my Aviar. It felt like a pitch and putt. Next time I go back I will definitely play the long tees and maybe I'll be able to use my Roc or Leopard.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bowen Disc Golf Course Review

1    6/29/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: josser
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some very interesting holes in the back 9 with elevation changes and lots of obstacles. Tons of birdie opportunities from the regular tees.
Cons: From the regular tees, most of the front 9 is all pretty similar with trees causing a narrow fairway and a semi-protected basket. The holes are packed together pretty closely so you have to be careful about the group in front and behind you.
Other Thoughts: It is great to have a true 18-hole course in a city park. I look forward to playing this course each and every time I pass through Nanaimo.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Bowen Disc Golf Course Review

5+    11/9/2008   11/11/2008
Review By: PhilP
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course in in a Provincvial Park, so the city of Nanaimo takes care of it pretty well.
The course has parking and restrooms at both ends of the golf course. So people could start at different points of the course.
This course is perfect for all types of skill levels. From the technical/finesse shots to the distance holes. The layout is pretty good there are 18 basket holes, and the length vary in distance from 177 feet to 337 feet. I myself like the tecnical hole on this course, i get close to the hole most of the time on my first shot. Each hole is east to follow, at the teepad there is a post with a map on it, telling where top shoot as well as obstacles that would be in the way. The teepads are made out of rubber so it is easy to plant your feet for the throw. There is a definate flow to the course, there is no general overlap of the fairways. There is not that underbush, the only thing that you would have to worry about are the garden areas and the hitting a tree. The middle holes are toughest because you need to have a reaaly good flick to get the distance, especially for hole 7. Hole 7 is a dogleg and is the longest hole at 337. The overall challenge is outstanding because you will need good distance and excellent finesse. The locals there are friendly and always willing to help.
Cons: The golf course always seems to be overrun by people drinking and smoking pot, so the smell could be a problem.
Other Thoughts: There is a local shop for those people that are begining this great game, that want to buy a disc. The shop is called the Velvet Paw and is located across the street.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and diverse Bowen Park Course

5+    11/3/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: BCDan
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's the best course on Van Island or any of the coastal Islands.

The course is located in Bowen park, which means the course is well groomed. The Grass is cut, leaves & snow are collected. Washrooms, picnic shelters, benches & walkways are throughout the course.

The course is fun for all skill levels since 2/3 of the holes are roughly around 180-210 feet and they are also the more wooded and technical holes as well. The course can be challenging since there are a few long and technical holes that will challenge the intermediate player, and the shorter holes have alternate or "pro" tees that require distance and precision. The course is well marked and the locals are friendly. The course is not too crowded except for tourney's.

Hole 7 & 8 are the most fun holes in any course I've played Hole 7 is the longest hole(340 feet) and requires a long Anhyser or hyzer shot around trees. Hole 7 & 8 are challenging because having a long drive doesn't mean instant birdie, yet a short initial shot doesn't mean you can't par. these two holes will keep and attract advanced players, and if you birdie them, you get high fives.
Cons: The course can be frustrating for power throwers who want to throw a wraith all the time.

People casually drink beer and sometimes smoke pot. Not a biggie for me, but some may not like it.
Other Thoughts: If you need discs or accessories,they can be purchased at the Velvet Paw across from the the teepad of Hole #3.

There is a friendly local who plays the course religiously. He sells discs and likes to give out advice. Though he sometimes is inebriated and will talk your ear off. Be careful though, he tries to sell Excalibur discs to everyone when he should be selling Buzz's. If you had to play the course with one disc, a Buzz would be it.

The course is getting 18 additional holes though in 2008 and some are going to be 400 feet or more.

If you want to mix up your recreation this course is good. Bowen park has tennis courts, horseshoe pitch, lawn bowling field, beach volleyball, lacrosse field, skate park and more.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.