Langley, BC 
Langley Passive Park Share
Uploaded By: Drivethrutke Hole #15 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 372ft.   3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Approach



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Breaking Rocks In The Gravel Pit!

1    9/22/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Langley Passive Park is a fairly large park built around an abandoned gravel pit. The park doesn't seem to be high usage except for some dog walkers, occasional bikers and walkers. There is a picnic shelter at the beginning which which would make an excellent staging area for tournies. The courses features a practice hole which two pads. The baskets are older and sometimes a little difficult to see through the brush. The teepads are carpet but in pretty good shape.
Everyone seems to like # 2, a 388' shot off an elevated pad with a bit of an anhyser touch needed but I loved # 11 and it's three different teepads. 11 A is short hyser through the trees but it's B and C that I liked so much. 11 B is a 189' downhill ACE run through the trees while 11 C is almost the same shot but maybe 25 higher up. So most locals play them both everytime as kind of a combo tri-fecta ticket, 11 B and 11 C and count both shots. It's an easy climb for either so you may as well enjoy both throws every time you play the course.

Langley features a couple of extremely technical runs in #8 and 9. An uphill throw at 14. A fun ACE run at 17 and a fun finisher at 18. There's a really nice variety of throws here. I liked the flow of the course and it started and finished at the picnic shelter. Long and short tees.
Cons: There's no signage to speak of. Print a map for your first time. The carpet teepads are adequate at best. The gravel pit is not pretty and fills up with water leaving parts of the course unplayable during certain months of the year.
With a secondary school closeby, I could see a fair amount of high school partying going on here, probably with the usual vandalism also involved. But considering that this course has no signs and older baskets, I guess there isn't much for these kids to destroy, deface, paint or otherwise vandalize.
Other Thoughts: This is a very solid course, enjoyable, nice challenge, a couple of memorable holes, probably the best in the lower provinvce area considering that it has baskets and 18 of them. It would take me a long time to get bored with this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Best in the GVRD

5+    9/2/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: treehorn
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've played a bunch of the courses in the Lower Mainland and Passive Park is by far the best. Long drives, Challenging Basket Placements and a great mixture of Opened and Tree'ed Holes..
Cons: Besides the course map on hole 1 there is absolutely no hole signs anywhere and for the most part the T-Pads are brutal. Fix these 2 areas and this might even be a high four or 5 rated course..
Other Thoughts: Just add hole signs and update the T-Pads and this course will be one of the best in the Pacific North West.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Passive Park

2-4    9/30/2009   10/1/2009
Review By: what'shisname
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots, dog leg rights and lefts. Great use of elevation and land use in general. Seems to be a popular park with dog walkers and yet I never experienced a problem throwing because of people in the way.

Some nice open holes across the flood plain and other tight tunnel shots through trees give you a bit of everything throughout the 18 holes.
Cons: Without a map the course would be very hard to navigate. I think I would have given up if not for the map I printed before hand. The tees are carpet which was fine when I was playing as it was dry but might be problematic over the long run.
Other Thoughts: I played the course 3 times yesterday as I had some time to kill in the area due to being stuck in the area all day for a 1 hour meeting. Even on my 3rd round of the day I was still entertained enough with the holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Langley Passive Park

2-4    8/14/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2011
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Langley Passive Park was very impressive from beginning to end. Right as you pull in there is an ample amount of parking including a practice basket near the road.

The layout (with a map) seemed to flow fairly well and included both red and white tee boxes per hole (although we only played the further tee's - white). Each hole has a very unique feel, whether it be the strategic placement of the tee, pin, or the general layout.

Because the course is located on a flood plain the middle of the course tends to have a lot of sand which I preferred over dirt just because when it rains some the ground gets compacted rather then muddy making footing much easier.

The elevation whether it be slight or extreme played a major factor on the course. For example, at times it had players throwing off an elevated tee across the flood plain then again uphill to a pin nestled around a few trees on a boulder (hole #13) or shooting downward off of a steep cliff toward a ring of trees which heavily guards the pin (hole #11) making accuracey key to scoring low.

Like others stated, there was not a ton of distance, but enough to make it challening. Holes varied from low tunnel shots dead on to long tight doglegs both left and right. When throwning across the flood plain from the elevated tee's it was easy to throw massive hyzer and sidearm/anhyzer shots with hopes of parking it for a birdie.
Either between or after a round you can go to the next park over (Noel Booth Park) where you will find grassy areas to picnic or watch people playing baseball and soccer.
Cons:
There were some major factors that kept this from rating higher including the fact that it is located on a flood plain. The summer course that I played (original layout) can only be played for so long each year before several holes are cut out in the middle and the course gets adjusted. Although I hear it is great, it is a shame that it even has to happen.

The litter can be a problem as well. Since there are no garbage cans on the course and it is used frequently, the amount of foot traffic and therefore garbage outweighs the efforts of the local club to be kept up as well as it should be (please pick up after yourselves including you ciggarette butts and beer cans).

Locating pins at times was a challenge too. Because the north west tends to be a little grey at times it can be difficult to locate the pins from the box so I found myself having to walk down the fairway to find it. Something as simple as orange tape around the pole would go a long way and not be too much of an eye sore.

Tee boxes were interesting and for the most part in good shape. However, they were fairly short and the footing was carpet. Unless it is changed out regularly I could see this getting very moldy and smelling pretty funky quick. During the summer though it didn't seem to bother me as much since the weather was farily dry but in the winter and spring yikes!.

Last, tee signs at the kiosk, by the tee's, and after each hole letting you know where to go to next. The course had none of this making navigation for a first timere nearly impossible. I printed off a map and know that without it I wouldn't have been able to play.
Other Thoughts:
This course truly was the best overall course that I have played in Vancouver, B.C.

The locals were very friendly and it was very obvious to see how much work has gone in to making this course what it is. I felt very satisfied after playing a round here feeling like I got the whole experience and know that I will be back sooner then later. My hats off to the locals of Langley, keep it up!

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    7/5/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: TKCerbs
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long, open holes and short, tight ones, elevation differences and a solid 18 baskets with a practice basket as well.

Alternate winter course is also quite excellent and offers the same variety and challenge.
Cons: Its not a pretty looking course, plays through a floodplain and has no facilities. This course consumes discs and missed drives in the woods of the back 9 can result in an hour of fruitless searching.
Other Thoughts: My home course, seeing this course evolve over the past 5 years has been excellent and its has worked its way up from a rough, uncut course through thick brush into a nice course of open tees areas and pins, even in the wooded areas.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.