Langley, BC 
Langley Passive Park Share
Uploaded By: Drivethrutke Hole #11 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 255ft.   3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Challenging but hard to follow

1    12/12/2010   3/31/2011
Review By: iainw
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging holes, with trees and elevation changes. The course forces you out of your normal techniques.
Cons: The teepads are soso, unless your with someone who has played it, it will be hard to follow.
Other Thoughts: I would play it again, but I wouldn't make a special trip for it.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best around

2-4    1/1/2011   1/1/2011
Review By: akoenig
Played: 46  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of open and tight holes, lots of holes involving water hazards in winter, dual teepads on many holes, Pin placements well thought out, Not too many walkers around, lovely setting of trees and water.
Cons: Slippery teepads when wet, 45 minute drive from Vancouver, no signage
Other Thoughts: We played in winter when the water was all frozen over and there was a bit of snow on ground. It play have covered the dirt up a little.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best course around

2-4    8/15/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: Bobbily
Played: 37  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Easily the best course in the Lower Mainland. Lots of variety, great locals, lots of length. We need more courses like this in Vancouver. Huge parcel of land. Some tight wooded holes as well as wide open bombers. Removed from the city, never too busy.
Cons: Its in Langley.... just kidding. Can be VERY difficult to navigate... no signage at all. Floods in Winter, very hot in summer.
Other Thoughts: I would move to Langley just so I could play this course more often.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Passive Park

2-4    9/30/2009   10/1/2009
Review By: what'shisname
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots, dog leg rights and lefts. Great use of elevation and land use in general. Seems to be a popular park with dog walkers and yet I never experienced a problem throwing because of people in the way.

Some nice open holes across the flood plain and other tight tunnel shots through trees give you a bit of everything throughout the 18 holes.
Cons: Without a map the course would be very hard to navigate. I think I would have given up if not for the map I printed before hand. The tees are carpet which was fine when I was playing as it was dry but might be problematic over the long run.
Other Thoughts: I played the course 3 times yesterday as I had some time to kill in the area due to being stuck in the area all day for a 1 hour meeting. Even on my 3rd round of the day I was still entertained enough with the holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Langley Passive Park

2-4    8/14/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2011
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Langley Passive Park was very impressive from beginning to end. Right as you pull in there is an ample amount of parking including a practice basket near the road.

The layout (with a map) seemed to flow fairly well and included both red and white tee boxes per hole (although we only played the further tee's - white). Each hole has a very unique feel, whether it be the strategic placement of the tee, pin, or the general layout.

Because the course is located on a flood plain the middle of the course tends to have a lot of sand which I preferred over dirt just because when it rains some the ground gets compacted rather then muddy making footing much easier.

The elevation whether it be slight or extreme played a major factor on the course. For example, at times it had players throwing off an elevated tee across the flood plain then again uphill to a pin nestled around a few trees on a boulder (hole #13) or shooting downward off of a steep cliff toward a ring of trees which heavily guards the pin (hole #11) making accuracey key to scoring low.

Like others stated, there was not a ton of distance, but enough to make it challening. Holes varied from low tunnel shots dead on to long tight doglegs both left and right. When throwning across the flood plain from the elevated tee's it was easy to throw massive hyzer and sidearm/anhyzer shots with hopes of parking it for a birdie.
Either between or after a round you can go to the next park over (Noel Booth Park) where you will find grassy areas to picnic or watch people playing baseball and soccer.
Cons:
There were some major factors that kept this from rating higher including the fact that it is located on a flood plain. The summer course that I played (original layout) can only be played for so long each year before several holes are cut out in the middle and the course gets adjusted. Although I hear it is great, it is a shame that it even has to happen.

The litter can be a problem as well. Since there are no garbage cans on the course and it is used frequently, the amount of foot traffic and therefore garbage outweighs the efforts of the local club to be kept up as well as it should be (please pick up after yourselves including you ciggarette butts and beer cans).

Locating pins at times was a challenge too. Because the north west tends to be a little grey at times it can be difficult to locate the pins from the box so I found myself having to walk down the fairway to find it. Something as simple as orange tape around the pole would go a long way and not be too much of an eye sore.

Tee boxes were interesting and for the most part in good shape. However, they were fairly short and the footing was carpet. Unless it is changed out regularly I could see this getting very moldy and smelling pretty funky quick. During the summer though it didn't seem to bother me as much since the weather was farily dry but in the winter and spring yikes!.

Last, tee signs at the kiosk, by the tee's, and after each hole letting you know where to go to next. The course had none of this making navigation for a first timere nearly impossible. I printed off a map and know that without it I wouldn't have been able to play.
Other Thoughts:
This course truly was the best overall course that I have played in Vancouver, B.C.

The locals were very friendly and it was very obvious to see how much work has gone in to making this course what it is. I felt very satisfied after playing a round here feeling like I got the whole experience and know that I will be back sooner then later. My hats off to the locals of Langley, keep it up!

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 very fun! great day out

1    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: gdichasaz
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2009
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: some very good distances, very technical with woody areas and grass/desert areas. hole 13 is not as bad as it looks.
Cons: without a map, this course can be a little difficult to navigate. take the time to print out and follow the map - this course can be crappy without it.
Other Thoughts: Very fun - as far as courses on the lower mainland are concerned, this is right up there with the bowen island course. difficult yet fun, a challenge to find new routes, overall a great day out.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    7/5/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: TKCerbs
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long, open holes and short, tight ones, elevation differences and a solid 18 baskets with a practice basket as well.

Alternate winter course is also quite excellent and offers the same variety and challenge.
Cons: Its not a pretty looking course, plays through a floodplain and has no facilities. This course consumes discs and missed drives in the woods of the back 9 can result in an hour of fruitless searching.
Other Thoughts: My home course, seeing this course evolve over the past 5 years has been excellent and its has worked its way up from a rough, uncut course through thick brush into a nice course of open tees areas and pins, even in the wooded areas.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Langley Passive park

1    4/13/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: iammoonrider
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great long shots and some tight ones too.
This was one of the most welcoming courses I have ever played. Unlike Queen Elizabeth park in Vancouver Langley's locals encourage new players. The water shots add that extra challenge.
Cons: Distance from Vancouver. Do not do this trip at peak traffic times.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in the lower mainland!

1    9/27/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: dcookie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A lot of fun to be found in this full 18-hole course. Some hole play tight through the woods and some have long open drives. Multiple tee boxes per hole adds a ton of replayability to old time favorites. Elevation change, terrain change, dog legs both left and right: variety is the name of the game on this course. There's something here for everyone and you can't get bored playing it again.
Cons: Poorly marked and some tee pads can be hard to find. Bring a map!
Other Thoughts: I've only played the "summer" course. In the winter, apparently most of it fills with water and the course design is changed up to accomodate.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Vancouver

1    10/25/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: maniak
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course incorporates many different situations. Tight treed holes, long open holes, doglegs left and right, and it also has nice use of elevation change. Hole # 14 was pretty cool, it was only about 150 feet but the hole was about 50 feet above the tee. The course has dual tees which adds some variation. The extra set of tees are sometimes longer and sometimes a similar distance with completely different line to the hole.
Cons: Tee pads are very short and don't allow up run up on some holes. Course is hard to follow if you don't have a map. Looks like people use the gravel area for fires at night so there are a few burn scars.

In terms of facilities, the course has none. You'll have to pack out any garbage you have, there's no signs either.

The other thing preventing this course from getting a higher mark is the lack of distance. There are maybe two or three holes where you can break out the big guns but the rest are fairly short par threes.
Other Thoughts: This is bar none, the most fun course I've played in the Vancouver area. Bring a map and you'll have no problems navigating the course. Every hole offers something new and I can't wait to go back and play this course again.

UPDATE: I've heard rumblings that the City of Langley may be installing a new DG course soon. I will report back as soon as further details become available to me.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.