Tsawwassen, BC 
Winskill Park Share
Uploaded By: maniak Hole #9
3 / --   3 / 240ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
nice little course

2-4    6/8/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: joelwpg
Played: 69  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great little course with lots of tree both mature and new, and mostly grass fairways. Oldest course in Canada which is what brought me here. This course is very short, and forehand(or LHBH) friendly. Birdies available on every hole and even a few decent ace shots. It was a very quick play and I was able to get in 3 rounds in a very short amount of time.
Cons: No signs, or Tee pads, but found a map online that helped until a local showed me the way.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing for its historical significance. Would love to go back and try some of the alternate courses. was told there were over 15 of them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Older Rec Course Could Use An Partial Facelift!

1    9/22/2012   10/4/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Winskill is located in a corner of a larger community park which also features a pool and athletic fields. The course was first developed in 1976 as a polehole course and still has that "old school" flavor to it. The holes range from probably 150' to 300' with a couple being basically striaght down the fairway shots. The baskets are old and definitely showing their age. There are no teepads just bare places in the grass where players have been teeing for years. There is no signage of any description. The course is flat with just enough scattered trees to rate it as a recreational course. It starts and finished at the parking lot next to the pool.
Cons: I'm surprised that in all years, no-one has stepped up to make any simple improvements to this course. Like maybe placing a board on the front edge of the dirt tee off area? Or maybe coming up with some rudimentary signage of some kind? Or how how about going plum crazy and putting in some paver blocks to act as teepads. I'm sure these bare spots must fill up with water during the oftentimes rainy times up here.
Other Thoughts: The course was getting some good usage on the afternoon that I played with everything from a guy and his young daughter to groups of 5 and 6 players. It's a fun little throw with some major historical signficance behind it. I'd just like to see a couple basic fundemental amentities added to add to the enjoyment factor here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice practice course

1    8/25/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: ricklev
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Can play with midrange disc (I played with a Stingray that I brought on my cruise)
-Mostly grass (unlike many Florida courses, which tend to be sandy)
-Nice practice course close (10-15 min drive) to the ferry terminal
Cons: -May be too easy for experts, but for me it was just right for practice. I played 2 under par
-People in the park stop with their kids in the middle of the fairway sometimes.
Other Thoughts: I wanted a place to play after coming back on the ferry from Swartz Bay, Vancouver Island. My wife spotted for me, and I had a fun time on this course. It was on a Saturday around 3pm, and it was not crowded.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/13/2010   4/26/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Winskill is a pretty community park that plays under a nice canopy of trees and has many challenges in the form of moderately wooded fairways with plenty of bushes and other hazards off of some of the fairways.

Skill level: Winskill makes for a really nice place for newer players to become aquinted with the basics of disc golf while at the same time allowing for practice in an environment which punishes bad shots. You won't find the same ability to punish at the Little Mountain type courses in the area and this feedback is great for newer players in helping to fuel their improvement.

Oldschool flavor: Several other reviewers have mentioned the course's age and I think the layout definitely does have a very oldschool feel to it with several tunnel and short turnover shots common to the frisbee and early disc days.
Cons: The main drawbacks I see at the original nine holes at Winskill is firstly the length, with nearly all holes under 220 or so feet and secondly in that on many of the holes you throw down a relatively open fairway to a basket that is bumped right up against trees and bushes. This means that errant shots that are cruising much too far past the pin often grab a branch or tree trunk and end up parked. It creates an artificial reward for players who can't really control distance. I'd still like to see well protected pins and fairways but perhaps with the thought in mind that these might serve as aids when placed too close to pins.

Navigation: It is a bit difficult because the flow isn't often intuitive and because there just doesn't seem to be much interest in keeping the course well-maintained. This is complicated by additional pins, teeing areas, and alternate fairways. Not a problem (and in fact nice to have alternate holes) for locals but a challenge for the first-time visitor.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Winskill is pretty traditional and I wouldn't recommend travelers to head out of their way to play at Winskill. The course is a nice challenge for newer players who can effectly practice their accuracy short- to mid-range shots in a pretty park. Experienced players aren't going to find much out here to get excited about, even from the alternate teeing areas. If you are planning on waiting for a ferry though, this course is in the perfect place only a few minutes from the Tswawassen terminal!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Winskill Park - Canada's Oldest Polehole Course!

2-4    1/15/2011   3/21/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 188  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.3 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Established in 1976 by the Royal Canadian Frisbee Association, Winskill Park in Tsawwassen, B.C. was the very first pole course in all of Canada. South of Vancouver, this beginner friendly nine hole course is mainly flat and lightly wooded. All holes on the course are Par 3 and range anywhere from 133 - 315 feet. The design of the course has players throwing straight forward on more then half the holes, with a few doglegs left and right. The terrain is mainly grass with large trees and bushes spread throughout the course, especially along the sides of the fairways and occasionally near the pin to add to the overall challenge. Mach 3 baskets have been installed over the years to add to the enjoyment, making Winskill the perfect place to learn the game, or for the more advanced player…a great place to practice.

The flow to the course has players teeing off right along side the Winskill Aquatic Centre, which is where you will find parking, and then finishing up along side the fairway of one throwing back toward the Aquatic Centre. This makes it easy to stop by your vehicle to change out your bag or to get anything you may need in case you are looking to play multiple rounds. Garbage cans can be found near the Aquatic Centre along with restrooms and seats, but there are none on the course which really isn't a problem considering the course takes no more then 45 minutes to play.

Although fairly short, hole #3 stood out to me as the most memorable. At 216 feet long, this straight shot has players throwing right past two large clusters of trees on either side of the fairway where when it rains, it creates two large bodies of water which serve as a nice OB. The basket itself is straight ahead and protected by another cluster of trees and some taller bushes making putts a little more difficult. It is a very beautiful hole, especially when the leaves begin to change color in the fall.
Cons:
As other reviewers have stated, the course can be a bit tough to navigate considering the disc golf course is often neglected. There are no tee signs or pads, so printing off a map is essential for your first time through. Tee pads are pretty easy to locate considering the locals have dug out some dirt patches. However, hole #2 was the only tee that had multiple areas and therefore was the most confusing of the nine. The hole is also extremely short and unimaginative. It would be nice to see a redesign of this course but realistically, I don't see it happening due to the fact that so many other park users use the area for other activities. I am however glad that it is still in the ground considering how long it has been around. It is a bit of a landmark in the disc golf world, especially in Canada!
Other Thoughts:
Since all holes are fairly short, players can easily challenge themselves using a mid and putter as I did. Because it rains a lot in the Great White North, as it does in Seattle, using the standing water on the course as Ob's adds to the overall challenge and is highly recommended!

Also, as some of the locals have pointed out, playing the various layouts would add to the overall challenge and enjoyment this course has to offer. I could see Winskill Park getting old real quick if I had to play the same redundant holes over and over again. For being installed in 1976, the layout would have been quite impressive for its time but since courses are now much longer and Par for courses is greater, this course just doesn't hold up to what it once was. It was a privilege to play this course considering its history, but think that it could use a course makeover.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Need To know

5+    3/3/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: DB-TT
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is the perfect practice course, Best baskets I have ever played on, If u go to ttowndiscgolf.com u will find all the maps for diffrent layouts, Over 15 different 9 hole layouts. Sunday doubles is the time to come out.. 1 pm start.
Cons: No tee pads can be a problem in the winter. Not alot of people play the front 9 so it can be hard to figure out first time there.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 makes the course look short, where there are rounds where every hole is over 350'.. This course has produced some of the longest throwers out there.. CHECK OUT THE OTHER ROUNDS.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A nice but neglected old course

1    8/26/2008   8/27/2008
Review By: maniak
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/28/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is old, evidently, one of the first pole-hole courses in Canada. As a result, this course is very short but it requires some skilled placement shots. Holes 4, 6 and 8 are blind shots that require good fundamentals if you want a birdie.
Cons: No signs, and no teepads. The course has suffered from neglect. The only maintenance this course gets is regular mowing and a little bit of weed whacking from time to time. The tee pads are very un-even and sort of dug out for being used so much over the years.
Other Thoughts: There are random tonals installed by the regulars that play here which can be very confusing to the first time player. A word of wisdom to new players, ignore the tonals. The reason for their installation is to give the course a little more variation. Apparently, one of the regulars has a book with dozens of ways to play the course thanks to the extra tonals.

The unofficial back nine is playing the baskets in reverse. There are bald patches for each tee on back nine. It would be best to get local to show you or make up your own.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.