Chelsea, QC 
Camp Fortune Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
-- / --   3 / 228ft.   3 / 234ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
My first love

5+    9/16/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: Gu5To
Played: 36  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: Where do I begin? This was the first course I ever played, and it was love at first flight. It's always a treat for me to be able to come back and throw on this course.

This course is no walk in the park! It consists of hiking up and down a ski-hill, which allows for some holes with wonderful elevation changes. From 600' wide-open bombs down the mountain, to narrow tunnel shots that only putters can go, to challenging up-hill par 4s, to shorter technical-finesse holes, this course has it all.

The scenery from the top of the mountain is fantastic and it is so secluded from the hustle and bustle that I have even had deer block my fairway a few times. It's hard to believe that it's only 20 minutes away from Ottawa.

There are also two tee-boxes for each hole which allows for difficulty variation. Signage at the course is fantastic as well, displaying distance as well as location of each tee-box.

You're guaranteed a great workout at Camp Fortune.
Cons: If you are not in decent shape, you are in a for a rough ride with the constant climbing on the slopes. Dress accordingly, flip-flops will not cut it.

The convenience of garbage cans is non-existant, I'm guessing due to wildlife.

The walk from #6 basket to #7 tee is way too far, perhaps there is a way to add a hole in between to make the journey seem shorter.

Tee boxes are dirt and sometimes uneven, but it is to be expected on a ski slope.

Sometimes the growth on a few of the holes gets out of control, making it near impossible to retrieve errant discs.

I always have a fear of getting run over by a mountain biker on the holes near their bike paths.
Other Thoughts: I appreciate the dual tees at each hole, but other than a few holes (I'm thinking #4 mainly) I'm not sure the long tees are THAT much more challenging than the short.

Overall, this is a fantastic course that is always challenging and should be experienced by everyone. If you're in the area and thinking about playing Camp Fortune, do yourself a favour by packing your gear and get up there.

Bravo

1    7/29/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: billcoke
Played: 54  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Very challenging layout on a ski slope. The holes on the back 9 are placed up & down the ski runs. Very scenic, beautiful area.
Cons: I recommend boots and long pants. I stopped in after flying into Ottawa but was wearing sneakers and shorts,
Other Thoughts: I commend the Ottawa Disc golf community for putting this course together. If I had more time in the area I would like to play this course a few more times.

 A Beast

2-4    8/5/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: Stairyo
Played: 36  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well laid out challenging course really takes advantage of the unique terrain of several off-season ski slopes. Tight wooded shots, long uphill and downhill shots. Beautiful vistas of the surrounding area.

Nice tee signs on every hole. Black Diamond tees are challenging and rewarding. Blue tees provide an easier and shorter route for novices. Baskets have extended flag poles and 'flags' so that you can see them from far off.
Cons: Each hole has an easy to spot tee sign, but it can be difficult to find the alternate tee on some holes. Natural dirt tees (most outlined with logs) can be tough to spot with all the long grass. The rough can be quite rough with thorns and long grass.

The camp is also heavily used for Mountain Biking so watch out for the trails that cross everywhere.
Other Thoughts: This course is very physically demanding so plan ahead and come prepared. Things that you must bring: a map, water, bug spray, another person (for spotting discs and calling an ambulance), good hiking shoes.

There is a nice quaint town at the bottom of the mountain on the way to the park from HWY 5 for lunch or dinner. The course is only 15 minutes from Ottawa and is deffinately worth the drive. Really its worth the drive from anywhere within 100KM.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/13/2010   1/31/2011
Review By: Super Andy
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with a challenging layout. Recent efforts of the local Ottawa Disc Golf Club has drastically improved the course and added proper signs and tee boxes. This place is sure to make you and your discs work hard for a low score.
Cons: Get ready for a hike. This course can be taxing on the feet and knees so bring good shoes. Depending on the time of year, you may also need bug spray or an entire beekeeper's garb.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Experience...

1    7/8/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: micky5752
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging layout. The course has some real nice downhill shots that range from 300 to 500 feet. There are some nice uphill shots that challenge you also. Beautiful Scenery. If you're not from Canada, you'll be surprised when you show up and the course is built on a pretty major ski resort.
Cons: When I was here it was 100 degrees, so long pants were out of the question....But, you really ought to wear them. I live in a woodsy area of PA, and I've never seen that amount of POISON IVY in my life. Hundreds if not thousands of yards of it.

PRINT A MAP!!!! I went in not thinking that I would need a map...I never do... There is a wild goose chase from 5 to 6 that returns you to the dirt road at the bottom of the slopes. Most of the time if you don't have a map you can follow the paths that people have beat down. There are helpful little stickers on the basket that try to point you in the right direction. It'll only take you one time to get the hang of the course.
Other Thoughts: I am very happy with my trip into Quebec. I was fishing in Calabogie, and decided to take a trip and make a day of it. It is great to get out and experience a good day of DG, especially in another country. I hope you find this review useful. Any questions just ask. Take care and watch out for that Poison Ivy!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.