Disc Golf Store
Saskatoon, SK 
Diefenbaker Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Highball Hole #11 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 198ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee: Basket tucked away in the tree line.



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Solid Course

5+    7/11/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Ninja Terror
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: Great for beginners and amateurs. Being on the prairies there are still some nice elevation changes, ground slopes near the baskets and good uses of the trees and bush to make you think about your shots.
The new concrete tees are a nice touch and add some length to most holes.
Cons: A few par 4's would be nice. Hole markings should be added.
Other Thoughts: The constriction of the concrete tees has actually made my tee shots more accurate by limiting my steps without a noticeable change in distance. It's getting busier so I can't wait for a new course in S'toon.

 Decent Course that could be awesome

1    7/6/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: Chines
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
Pros: -Good Layout
-Well maintained park
-Concrete tee pads
-Tricky shots that require good course management
-Lots of fun
Cons: -Only one sign at the start of the course
-Nothing long
-Some tee pads were pushed back against the bush and made it hard to get a decent toss.
-Tee pads could be a couple feet longer
-Not a lot a variety in holes other than a couple elevation changes
Other Thoughts: I feel like there was a lot of opportunity to do more with the course. i.e. add some par 4's, extend some of the tee pads, add signs. I had a lot of fun playing this course but did get a little bored because most of the holes seem pretty similar. At the time i was there the mosquitos were out in full force so bring lots of bug spray. Fun course and I think it would make a good tournament course with some of the basket placements which require course management.

Better than nothing

2-4    9/23/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: Gu5To
Played: 38  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The course was easy to find and very close to downtown and the airport, which is great for someone who travels.
- All the people I ran into were extremely friendly and helped me navigate the course.
- Holes 10, 13 and 14 are interesting holes with the use of the hill.
- Scorecards with maps are available right by hole 1.
- Having a full 18 is nice
Cons: - There are no tee pads, just dusty dirt patches. Some have a block to mark off the end of the tee pad, but most don't.
- There are also no signs which make navigating, even with the score card/map difficult.
- Holes are mostly open and straight shots making it easy to get to with decent drive.
- Holes are poorly laid out, with a lot of walking and you need to cross 15 and 16 to get to 7.
- Lacks obstacles to make it challenging
Other Thoughts: Maybe I'm too picky with my courses, but this wouldn't be a course I would play regularly if I had other options. With that being said though, having this course in the city is better than nothing at all for visitors like me.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Toon Town DG

2-4    10/6/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: Highball
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2012
Pros: By the #1 tee there is a huge sign that shows the layout of this course. This DG course is a great one for a person starting this sport! Any player with a good foundation of play can nail par on almost every basket. Basket #10 is just unreal sitting on a stair stepped ledge hidden behind trees and shrubs. I'd take that basket set up back home any day! Basket #13 was a challenge throwing up a steep hill at a basket that is on the steep edge. Basket #14 was a huge rush. You are chucking off a monster hill down to the basket. It sure is awesome seeing a disc that you let fly go forever down to the rest of the DG course. Great walking all around.
Cons: The tee pads were nothing but dirt patches. For a park this nice you would expect all the tee pads to be up to snuff. There were a number of much older baskets. I was told by local guys that the old baskets were donated just to get this course off the ground and going. The baskets to catch the discs in are larger then a modern one (that is not a bad thing) HOWEVER if your disc goes at just the right angle it is very possible for it to go thru the basket and drop on to the ground or go thru the side of the basket and in. That needs to be fixed. Another thing about these old baskets is that at some point someone re-chained them and used a heavier chain then a regulation basket. This causes two problems. 1) With the heavier chain your disc can glance off the chain and fly past the basket. The chain should absorb the disc. 2) The heavier chain does not drape like the lighter chain thus the target is not as "puffy" as a regulation basket. HOWEVER a pro to this is your shots will get better by playing with these baskets in this shape as you will be forced to hit the chain head on. I think by installing new lighter chain and also making them a double layered system would improve the performance of these older nets.
Other Thoughts: The swirling winds around the hill makes all the shots tricky! You just can't depend on the wind to be there. That can be very frustrating!
Good parking is everywhere and the course is easy to find as it is right in town.

As this is the first DG course in Saskatoon I understand the pains of the local guys and fighting local government in getting any kind of funding to improve this course. Keep pushing guys!!!

Please don't let any of my Cons chase you away from a round on this course.! This is well worth going to play and if it were much closer to my home I'd make the trip to play it many times a year.

 Diefenbaker Park DGC

1    8/7/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: josser
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of opportunities for folks with medium arms (250' - 300') to air it out without too many obstacles.

The elevation change holes (10, 13 & 14) are very fun. Putting on 13 at the top of the hill is scary for fear of missing and seeing your disc roll way down the hill.
Cons: You need a course map to find the tees. The old signage from the 9 hole course is still up and conflicts with the 18 hole layout, which is confusing. Real tee pads would be great. Pro tees would be great for folks with bigger arms since the course is pretty wide open.

This course is poorly laid out in terms of having a lot of distance from baskets to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: Although there are some guardian trees by most of the baskets, this course requires very little finesse. Little need for big right-to-left or left-to-right shots. I only drive about 275' on my best drives and can reach or almost reach most of the baskets from the tee with a straight shot using my driver.

The course slightly favors left-hand backhand players.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Putting on the prairies

5+    4/14/2009   4/15/2009
Review By: sven
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Innova Baskets, distinct holes with treed knolls and bluff lines, 2 large elevation change holes
up hill ledge and down hill tiers
Cons: all par 3 holes, grass tee boxes, limited garbage cans
Other Thoughts: first course in Saskatoon, lots of holes with (i dare you to go for the pin locations,
most targets are close to heavily treed areas,
a few holes are designed at accuracy or bust

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.