Disc Golf Store
Elk River, MN 
Lions Park III Share
Uploaded By: bpchamp27 Hole #6 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 318ft.   3 / 306ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
rec course

1    11/27/2013   11/27/2013
Review By: elmexdela
Played: 79  Reviewed: 24
Pros: multiple tees. good use of open area. 2 water hazards provide that thrill. last hole has the best elevation change. some trees strategically placed for difficulty. ace runs
Cons: grass/dirt teepads. baskets have huge cement circle base. not much challenge, out in the open for the most part. one basket had bolts taken out and was down at the cement base, chains where still in tact up at top.
Other Thoughts: nothing special. great recreational course, no where near championship level. great for beginners or a quick round by yourself. not worth making a trip to but if your in the area its decent enough to check out

Elk River 9

5+    9/24/2013   9/24/2013
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 211  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Dual Tees
2) Water hazard on 2 holes
3) Nice variety of shots
4) Good use of what little elevation there is to give you an uphill on 7, play along the hill on 8 and bomb it down on 9.
5) Clean and mowed
6) Easy Navigation with a good flow to the course
Cons: 1) The rough is VERY rough, easy to lose a disc on several holes.
2) Signs are not informative, but then again they don't really need to be.
3) Kind of boring, the shots change up, but not nearly enough and every hole is 200-300 ft with very few obstacles.
4) The basket for 9 is on the ground, but the chains are still hanging.
5) Course ends on the other side of the park requiring you to cross a skate park and baseball field to get back to the car
6) Maintenance is inconsistent some days the grass is waist high, other times it's perfect.
7) Dirt/grass tees
8) No woods play, only open field
Other Thoughts: This course could've been a 3.5 if they would've incorporated the woods and water more. I would say this course would be great for beginners if not for the punishing water hazards on 1 and 4 and the skip potential on the side hill of 8.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good for working on your game

5+    8/10/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: BenderTheThrowbot
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy layout for everyone. Variation of longer and shorter holes, some elevation changes.
This course is good to just go relax on...work on various throws and see what happens. Just don't get carried away on hole 7. There is some kind of wind-tunnel effect that lifts my disc into the barb-wired yard past the hill (I throw from the old Pro tee by the tree too...sorry my dog ripped that post out)
Cons: Don't play after it rains. This course get's WET!
Maintenance can be an issue sometimes. Mowing especially.
This is a multi-use city park, people tend to leave their garbage around.
If you go in the woods or the marsh areas, expect to have a nice reaction to the tall grasses. It's not poison ivy but it will make you itch/swell for one day
Other Thoughts: Sounds like the city may get rid of this course. There is more money to be made for them if they develop the land and sell it. I guess two municipal liquor stores and collecting some of the highest property taxes in the state isn't good enough for Elk River.
Contact the city to express your concerns!
This may be a mediocre course...but it'e better than Twin "Long Pants ONLY" Lakes

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid Easy Course

5+    6/19/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: Mblack4
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great for beginners
- 2 Tee points for each hole to give more advanced players a touger challenge
- Easy to follow
- Decent variety of uphill/downhill/water hazards
- Usually well kept in a nice small city park
- Free to play
Cons: - No tee pads
- Only 9 holes
- Mostly straight shots, no need to change up your throw
- 9th basket is broken as of 6/19/13, still playable, chains are still there, but the basket it on the ground.
- 2nd hole is 90% very tall grass
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and I've played it probably 60+ times. I live literally across the street so I play it at least once a week, usually 2-3 times a week and I've even played it four times in one day so I know it very well. I wanted to give this a 2.5, but in hopes that they will actually mow hole 2 and fix the basket on 9 I'll give it a 3.0 in good faith.

Hole by hole: (I'll cover both tee offs, the post and the stake, with the stake being the more difficult)
#1 - From the post it's an ace-able hole for most players, not much of a water hazard unless it's very windy or you throw extremely late. From the stake it is actually a pretty difficult shot and you'll be throwing completely over water, I've seen some good players lose discs here before, I usually throw from the post.

#2 - As I've stated this hole really needs to be mowed, they started to mow near the start and near the end but then stopped for whatever reason. A couple trees stand in the way from the stake tee, the post is a bit closer and avoids the trees a little better. Other than that just a straight shot and a good hole to test distance.

#3 - Another straight shot with a couple of trees in the way, water to the right which could claim a disc if you throw late. Similar shots from both tees.

#4 - Almost unplayable from the post unless you go around, a bit of a risky shot from the stake as it's another hole that goes directly over water. Most players can make this shot, but if your shot messes up you can easily end up in a disgusting swamp. Other than that it's pretty easy to ace or deuce if you make it past the water.

#5 - I typically park at the Boys and Girls Club and start on this hole and go around making 4 my last. The stake and post are pretty much at the same spot, there's some rough about 3/4 way down the hole, with two trees right above to knock your disc right into it. Sometimes the rough can be wet, but nothing that will claim your disc. If you can stay low or just avoid the tree this hole is easily deuced or aced.

#6 - Another straight shot with two trees in the way, a bit longer than other holes, similar to hole 2. If you curve too much to the left you can end up in a line of trees to the side or if you go inbetween those trees you could end up in some rough.

#7 - You're throwing uphill, if throwing from the post it's probably the easiest hole on the course, if you go from the stake (which is missing, but you can see where the hole in the ground is a bit further back) it's actually a bit tougher trying to make it up that hill from that far back.

#8 - From the stake you're going uphill a bit, and from the post it's more of a level throw with the risk of going downhill if you curve right or left, however if you go left your disc can end up in a lot of tall grass and weeds. I've lost a disc over there just because I couldn't find it.

#9 - My favorite hole on the course, a downhill straight shot, fun to test out your downhill drives. A bit tougher to deuce (for me at least) and definitely a fun one to finish off the course with. The pin has been moved away from the skate park (which has actually been replaced with tennis courts) and is now to the right of all of that.

Definitely worth giving this course a shot if you're in the area, can be finished in under 30 minutes if everything goes normal.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Squatchy

5+    3/22/2012   3/22/2012
Review By: Woodbooger
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Very ill course, some pretty raw throws especally the one off that big ass hill. some of the holes get you so pitted, and the course provides good accoustics form the near by train tracks.
Cons: 2 very sketcy tosses over the drink. the water is very cold and dirty (trust me). hoofen up them hills is a real marathon. damn skater punks.
Other Thoughts: provides a good day trip to toss some discs and some night time squatching in the near by wooded areas.

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Course Changes

5+    9/20/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: smarkquart
Played: 88  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Not a pitch and putt, but easy course for some good practice
*The guy who goes into the pond will ALWAYS call on found discs that have names and numbers on them
*Old tees are still marked in case you do not want to play the longer tees
*Depending on your power, every hole can be aced, but there are no gimmies.
Cons: *Hole 2 can gobble up discs, both in the long weeds and in the pond
*Fun, but nothing special, no marquee holes. (Not yet anyway, check notes below)
Other Thoughts: I am just adding to previous reviews. This course is about to see several changes which could include additional baskets. In the foreseeable future they are moving the basket and tee for Hole 9, removing the danger of hitting the skatepark and softball field.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    9/22/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: dohmenator
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is so much fun! It's is fun for both beginners and pros alike! If you are swayed by the skate park on hole number 9, you shouldn't be. That hole has been moved so it is out of the way.
Cons: I have no negative things to sayabout the course.
Other Thoughts: I frolf here two times a week and I still am not tired of it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Small Town 9 Holer!

1    7/22/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lions Park III is just your basic nine hole recreational course playing around a nasty little lake. The park has a nice big sign at the beginning. The baskets are DISCatchers set in concrete which are then set in a three foot steel circular pedestal thing. Very heavy duty; no-body's walking off with these baskets!

There are two tee signs on most holes. One is just a wooden pole with the top cut off at an angle with the #. These are simple and effective. The other is perfect-almost vandal proof. It's a green metal pole-like a street sign with a red number plate at the top. The plate is the same width as the pole, maybe 2'3"' so it can't easily be bent or destroyed. I love it when the Park's Department guys stay one step ahead of the midnight punks who vandalize so many of the disc golf courses and signs.

# 9 was as close to a signature hole as it gets here. You're throwing off the top of this small hill, maybe 290' to a open basket below. The only trick is not hysering into the Skate Punk Park to the left and then having to wrestle with one of those scrawny dudes for your disc.

# 1 and # 4 both give you the option of throwing over the corner of the murky pond. # 4 is a short 220" ACE run, but a scary carry across the pond for the average Rec player (and me!). And it was made scarier on the day I played by the wind blowing.
You're just teeing off the grass here but it's barely worn so obviously this course isn't getting a lot of play.
Cons: I guess there isn't a lot of challenge or imagination to this course. It's relatively flat without many mature trees. I think it might get fairly repetitive playing it over and again.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed it playing it one time. The day was perfect and I had the course to myself. I might be generous in my rating here but on the basis of this being simply an enjoyable little recreational course, I couldn't find much to complain about. I like playing a round without searching through the bushes and thorns for my wayward tosses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/1/2010   5/13/2011
Review By: JoshEpoo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There aren't many objectively good things to say about Lions Park III. It's in a location that is pretty devoid of courses, so it provides some baskets to shoot at if you need a fix but can't get out to Elm Creek or some place farther away.
Cons: The park is set on a boring piece of land, and the designer just didn't have much to work with. Every single hole can be birdied with a hyzer whether you throw right handed or left handed, forehand or backhand. There is no shot shaping required, at all.

No tee pads or even well defined throwing areas. There is just a sign stuck in the ground for each hole's general tee position.

The skate park comes into play on hole 9 in a dangerous way.
Other Thoughts: The park itself is nice enough but it's just not a good spot for a disc golf course. The holes lack any kind of character. Some are long enough that rec players won't be able to birdie them, but there are no obstacles to speak of.

While there is nothing truly offensive about the park, it's primary flaw is that it's just so boring. They literally did nothing to make this a disc golf course other than sticking 9 baskets in the ground. It feels like it was stuck in the ground to give the high school kids across the road some place to play, which is fine, but it's not worth playing unless you happen to be passing by.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad little local course

5+    8/7/2010   4/7/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 103  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of space, there are uphill and downhill shots along with a couple shots that bring the lake into play. Fun long downhill on hole 9.
Cons: Short, only hole 9 really has much distance on it. Not terribly difficult, not much in the way of trees, so most shots are pretty open. Couple spots where the walking path is near the flight path, so you need to watch out for walkers. The pond is pretty nasty looking as well.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course, there isn't much around where it is, and it's a decent little small town 9. I wouldn't make a special trip to play it, but if you are in the area it won't hurt to stop if you are like me and try to play every course you can.


1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center