Kamloops, BC 
Rose Hill - West Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 251ft.   3 / 315ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Worth playing

1    9/11/2014   9/12/2014
Review By: tazocitrus
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Good tee boxes, good baskets, fun course layout/design, nice to be able to keep your eye on your car most of the time you're playing, great view,
Cons: Rattle snakes - I came within 18 inches of stepping on one, tee markers should show what the hole looks like instead of a picture of mountains, dessert grasslands made it surprisingly difficult to locate disc at times,

Rose Hill West - The "Short" Course

2-4    6/23/2013   8/11/2014
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.4 Years
Pros:
Located in south central British Columbia in Canada, Kamloops is positioned at the intersection of the two branches of the Thompson River near Kamloops Lake. Designed by John Houck, Rose Hill West is the shorter of the two courses, but still demands power and precision throughout. Views from high on top the mountain are amazing! With elevation present at times, discs tend to sail. However, if you really want to air it out then Rose Hill East might be your course. With four par 4's, par for the course is 58 with holes ranging anywhere from 219-515 ft. Many of the holes on the course are reachable from the tee but often require line shaping and placement.
Cons:
Because the courses in Kamloops were installed high above the city, they are exposed to the rugged elements. During the summer it gets extremely hot and being that the course is dry it makes for a long round. You can find shade throughout but it comes in clusters leaving you exposed more than most would like. During the winter it's the polar opposite, snowing quite heavily and preventing most from playing for several weeks if not months due to the heavy snowfall. When you are fortunate enough to play, the wind usually comes in to play. Winds from high on top are quite fierce at times requiring the use of stable discs, especially when throwing over cliffs and ravines.

Navigation can be a little confusing for first timers as well. Most holes have duel tee pads with wooden posts nearby to help with location and distance as well as worn paths taking players from each pin toward the next tee. However, there are a few spots where players might get lost so going with a local might be a good idea.
Other Thoughts:
Over the years I have had the privilege of visiting beautiful British Columbia on several occasions, totaling 20+ courses played in the great white north, adding to the 200+ courses played in 12 states, 3 countries, and counting... In doing so, I can honestly say that both Kamloops and Logan Lake are some of the most challenging and scenic courses I have played to date in Canada.

I came up from Seattle, WA for the 2013 Canadian Disc Golf Championships with two of my best friends who, although unfamiliar with the tournament scene, were up for an adventure! From the time we arrived until the time we left we were treated as if we were a local, with friendly conversations, tough competition, and great food/accommodations.

The tournament itself, run by Carrie Neal and the KDGC, was both professional and well organized. Because the tournament has been so well run in the past the TD was able to get tons of community support through sponsorship. They had great player packs, payouts, and included an impressive list of world class players who attended from all over the world. It is unbelievable to see how much work went into this tournament, and for a DG club that is so small like the KDGC, how well they work together to gets things done for this big event. I am truly grateful for the hospitality and professionalism by all and want to give a special shot out to my buddy Bailey Teteris for going out of his way to be the perfect guide, Robbio for playing three memorable rounds together, and Whatshisname from Alberta for being so kind and genuine. It was much appreciated and will never be forgotten!


2-4    6/20/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: MikeK
Played: 194  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 19.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Loved the views of the valley, a few holes have some elevation change, and there are short and long tees, each with nice grippy rubber pads. I found the long tees rather challenging especially in the wind. While other reviewers make it sound like the trees on this course have been obliterated that is far from the truth. Yes, the course is relatively open but there are still plenty of trees to get in the way.
Cons: If you don't like wind, you probably won't enjoy this course that is set high atop Kamloops on a hillside prone to get blustery. Many of the holes are close together and landing in other fairways is common.
Other Thoughts: Not sure what material the tee pads are made of but they are far grippier than Fly 18 pads on other courses that get slick. Good map of the course located by hole 1 along with an outhouse/bathroom.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/25/2006   4/25/2010
Review By: Timo
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long relatively open course to stretch out those long drives. The rubber tee pads offer good traction. Great views of the river valley. No lineups here just go a play. A challenging course that gives a great disc golf experience.
Cons: This course is cut into the wild, there are no manicured lawns here, which is ok, but keep an eye on your discs you can loose them easy here. Use bright colored discs (don't use black discs or you'll have trouble finding them in the dirt). Windy conditions when its dry could make things extremely dusty.
Other Thoughts: I hope to get a chance to go back when both courses are up and running and try them back to back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A victim of the Pine Beetle

1    8/15/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: maniak
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has an ample parking lot and is quite easy to find. There is a warm up basket to left of the tennis courts and there is a sign pointing you to the first hole to the right of the tennis courts.

Even though there wasn't a lot of signage, I found this course very easy to navigate due to the seemingly natural progression of the holes and the worn pathways between baskets.

This course has two sets of tees (made out of rubber), I played the short tees during my visit and found the holes to be shorter on average than I expected. The back tees seem to be set back quite far on a lot of holes so I'm sure they would better challenge the more advanced golfer.

This course was the first one I've played that actually has par 4's and even though most weren't very long, they were creative. For example, hole #16 is a straight shot, about 450 feet, it's also very open. What you need to pay attention to though it that the hole is set up along a steep drop off along the entire length of the left side of the fairway, if your disc goes down there, have fun trying to retrieve it.

The course made great use of the available land with nice elevation changes, especially on the back nine.

I also enjoyed the finishing hole, it was a long straight par 3 that gently sloped downhill, it was a nice opportunity to bomb one right before the end of the round.

I almost forgot to mention the nice views this course offers of Kamloops and the valley below.
Cons: This course was ravaged by the pine beetle in the last few years and has suffered immensely because of it. Many of the affected trees have been removed which takes away much of the challenge. The course doesn't even look like pictures posted on this site any more. I only wish I could've played it in its original form.

This may not be a con for some people, but Kamloops gets really hot in the summer, I'm not sure I'd be able to play in 35- 40 weather with the sun beating down on me, especially since the course is no longer covered by trees. Luckily, when I played it was a calm, cool overcast day.
Other Thoughts: There is no water available at the course so bring some, you'll probably need it. I suppose it could get buggy up there so bug spray might not be a bad idea too.

I've heard that after the new course across the street is completed, the Kamloops Disc Golf Club will be re-positioning this course to better use the terrain and the trees that still stand in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.