Whistler, BC 
Whistler DGC Share
Uploaded By: lteppen   (Taken 6/2003)



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Whistler is fun!

5+    7/1/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: Schleyer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.4 Years
Pros: Whistler has beautiful scenery. Cool terrain. Short holes but they are challenging from the long tee pads.
Cons: Dirt TeePads. Brushy on the holes under the powerlines. 18 baskets, 9 Tonals
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Usually lots of people playing it.

 Challenging Course

5+    11/8/2010   2/16/2011
Review By: iainw
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mountainous course, that has a large variation of holes. Steep incline on hole 10, 15, 16, and steep decline on hole 18. Some holes are wide open like hole 5 and 25 and 26. Other holes like 2, 4, 11-14 are tight and technical with lots of trees and selected lines that limit where you can successively drive. I greatly enjoy every round out there. Some people prefer to play the first and last 9, skipping the middle holes, but they are the most challenging but also the most fun holes on the course.
Cons: Some people may think the length is to long on a hot summer day. The course amenities are limited to area trail maps, garbage cans, and signs directing you to the different holes. No bathrooms, no water fountain and no sunscreen dispenser, but which of those do you really need.
Other Thoughts: There are 3 spots to access the course. First is the one listed in the course description that you access it from Spruce Grove fields. Secondly you can access it from the Scandinave Spa located off of Mons Road (when you turn around the top corner of the road to the parking area of the spa, park close to the corner on the gravel). Thirdly, you can continue driving down Mons road and continue right and follow the road instead of driving into the Sabre industrial lot. After turning, continue straight and onto the gravel road up and over the dike/valley trail, continue through the parking area till you get to the foot bridge, and park there. Follow the trail after the foot bridge, up the hill and go right along the rough off piste trail (orange flagging tape), like 80 feet from the bridge. Follow the trail, go across the old fire road, then across the double wide bike/hike trail and you enter the course at hole 4.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not the best in BC

1    7/15/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: Lonhart
Played: 184  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 20.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: As other folks have mentioned, Whistler is very scenic. On the way to the course, I came face to face with a black bear. Definitely increased my heart rate (I was alone).

There are 27 holes, which is a benefit. There are several types of shots, uphills and downhills, although most of them are short and technical. Given the dense woods, there's not really an opportunity to create big bomber holes.

Hole 16, perched on a rocky outcrop, is a killer little hole.
Cons: It was not easy to find, but folks were very helpful.

The power lines detract from the scenery. It was also crowded when I went, but that's not always a bad thing. Folks helped me find the next hole etc. and it was indicative of disc golf's growth in the area.

The area was heavily abused by people--numerous signs of erosion and damage to vegetation.

On a couple of holes it was tough to figure out where to tee from--there are multiple tee pads and even some "local" tees.

Be sure to bring lots of bug spray if you're one of the people that is bitten by flying things...
Other Thoughts: I've played several courses in BC and this is not even in the top 5. While Whistler is a killer vacation spot, this course has seen better days and is somewhat limited due to the forest.

Having played both Kamloops courses and Clearwater, I'd put them way in front of this one. But if you're in Whistler, this is a good way to get your disc golf fix in.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Unreal!

2-4    4/18/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: theHip
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2010
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is an amazing course. Definitely the best course I have played at. 27 amazing, unreal, fantastic, chose a word. It's going to be memorable course for sure.
They don't get much better than this. It has everything! Try to play this course because it is great!
Cons: Only Con's I can think of is that it was kind of hard for us to find the course initially. We asked the people at the spa where the course was. First time we played we were kind of freaked out because it was raining and the powerlines were buzzing.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Spectacular Surroundings

2-4    7/5/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: Bobbily
Played: 37  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing Views, Great changes in elevation, fairly well maintained, not too difficult to navigate. 27 Holes, (18 of which would get a 5 rating). I'm not too sure what else to say, except this is easily the nicest course in BC (that I've played). There is simply nothing else like it around, combine the stunning views with the innovation in holes and, well it makes for a very fun day of golf.
Cons: One of the 9 hole layouts isn't great. There are a few tonals, which sucks in my opinion. Its REALLY hard to find the 1st hole. Power lines above for a few holes. Its probably completely unplayable in winter time.
Other Thoughts: I like the wilderness hike type courses, and as far as that goes, this one cannot be beat. Bring water, and a snack (your car will be left behind for the duration of your round).

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 WOW

2-4    3/9/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2009
17 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is the most scenic course I have ever played. Period. Despite the power lines that might be seen as an eyesore. Doesn't matter, your jaw will stay on the floor, from beginning to end.

To simply say that this course is very hilly and heavily wooded does not do it justice. This course it in a forest filled with some of the biggest trees I have ever seen. Furthermore, it is home to many of the most tightly wooded holes and extreme terrain I have ever played on. In some cases, extreme terrain and woods mix into a perfect storm on the same hole, as in Hole 14.

No two holes on this course are the same, even with the homogenizing effects of a foot of snow blanketing everything. There is not a hole on this course I would ever be tempted to skip, because they are all great and different, with many options for shot selection.

The first and last nine holes of this course flow through the same area, with multiple cross-country ski trails and overhead high voltage lines running throughout. The middle nine is a different animal entirely. Its easiest to explain it bit by bit, from outside-in, like a geography sandwich (better than it sounds)

(Bread)- Half the front nine and very last few holes are like a good warm-up and cool down for the rest of the course. They play through the more open and slightly less hilly area directly under and weaving through the infamous power lines. The fairways are slightly wider here, and the trees are 20ft tall pines, vs the canopy of 100ft monsters that abound on the rest of the course. Don't get too used to shooting over the trees, it won't last long

(Mayo/Lettuce)- More towards the middle of the course, the end of the front nine, and start of the back nine (19-23ish) move into the "real" woods. Now, the trees and elevation changes get bigger, as the fairways get tighter and you have tunnel shots with ceilings to work with instead of just blue sky. This is the bulk of the course, and is every bit as good as the other two parts, full of diversity and good stuff.

(Meat)- The middle nine kicks this course into a higher gear that you didnt even see coming. From start to finish, all nine holes traverse the steep, heavily wooded slopes of a mountainside. I challenge anyone to find more than one hole in the middle nine that would not be a signature hole on any other course. These are the holes that will stay with you in your mind, that you see when you close your eyes at night. Including a shot uphill to a pin up a 20ft shear cliff face. Also, an unforgettable drive off a mountaintop, through a fairway cut through majestic, giant trees, to a blind pin far below around the gradual right-curving fairway. And then there's hole 14. Look at the pic on here. Cant see the pin? Ill give you a hint, its on the left, and the line is a sweeping, C-shaped curve uphill to the right and back down the steeeeeep slope. Good luck.

Overall, this course is a ton of fun to play, with loads of variety. It has no water as far as i can tell (hard to say in winter), but it more than makes up for it with everything else it throws at you. The tonals mixed in are actually not bad at all. They actually psyched me out from time to time, which kept me on my toes, and further added to the variety of the course, rather than counting as a black mark against it as they could on a lesser course.
Cons: Its probably just because of the snow, but the tee boxes for the front nine were hard to find. Never saw the little numbered posts sticking out of the snow, just drove from the most tramped down area in snow. Rest of course ok in this regard, but printing a map would probably be a good idea before heading out here.

As much as I love this course, it is not perfect. In fact, it has a fundamental frustrating flaw. Hole length.

The holes on this course are all short to medium length, which makes the course not nearly as challenging as it could be. The few longish holes have huge downhill elevation changes, so they merely count as ego-boosting short holes.

The frustrating thing about this is that on many holes, there are obvious (to me) tee locations further back that would add some distance to many of the holes, and get players to flex their arms a bit. I played this course with most midranges and fairways drivers, seldom taking out my big guns, and this is really too bad, as it doesnt need to be this way.

With the addition of longer tees on even half of the holes, this course would easily go to a 4.5 if not a 5. Its that good, it just needs the option for a bit more challenge.
(See Tex's Challenge Tee Guide below)

This course is so close to taking its place among the legendary DG courses, which is why it saddens me to see such an obvious well of potential laying only partly used. This is why I cannot rate this course higher, and it is something that could be easily fixed. Many of these potential tee locations are already flat areas, that just need a wooden post set up. Just thinking of this course with eight to ten 330-400ft holes sends a shiver down my spine.

I stop short of calling this course easy, but Ive never had so much fun playing a course that i scored so well on, lets just put it that way, which can be both a pro and a con, depending on your perspective.
Other Thoughts: The strangest thing about this course is that there didn't seem to be anyone playing it when I was there. Not even any fresh footprints in the snow of the course, though another cross-country skier would whip by every few minutes. Even with the great snow up on the mountain, I am shocked that so few find time to play this course in the winter. That means undisturbed peace for those who do venture out into the winter wonderland, which is open 12 months of the year (as far as i can tell).

If you do choose to play this course in the winter, be sure to wear snow boots and snow pants, as the snow gets really deep, especially off the fairways a bit. I went in up to my knees on several occasions.

Also, regardless of the time of year you go, make sure you bring a camera and a friend. That way, you can prove to your buddies back home that you didnt make it all up when you tell them about this course.

UPDATE: TEX'S CHALLENGE TEE GUIDE
Decided to put my money where my mouth is. I said there seemed like several holes where a longer tee was obvious, well, here's a list of the one's I saw. Use them if you want to add some distance to this already great course. All locations listed in relation to current tee.
Hole 2: 10m downhill
Hole 3: Further back up along the ridge 12m
Hole 4: Flat area by orange flags
Hole 7: About 6m back
Hole 8: Back and to the right 10m
Hole 12: Downhill and to the right 10m
Hole 13: On top of the hill 25m behind tee
Hole 21: Back along the trail to the right, 8m
Hole 22: Uphill to the left 20m (past prev pin)
Hole 23: Back up to the edge of the trees
Hole 25: Back 10m to trees edge
Hole 27: Downhill 8m.

Its just one man's opinion, but I enjoyed playing from these made-up tees when i tried it, and figured someone else might too.

17 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course!!

1    8/30/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: maniak
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is so well planned out. At first when I was walking up to it I thought that the overhead powerlines ruined what was otherwise a lovely alpine disc golf course. However, as I began to play, it didn't take long to notice how well the holes are laid out in the open, shots around the power poles, and through the woods. The powerlines are actually used as another effective tool to challenge the golfer. This course is fairly well signed, as I never was lost. It has very nice forest scenery, playing over large boulders and through forests of Firs and Cedars. There are dual tee pads which enchance the replay-ability factor.
Cons: This isn't much of a con, but most of the holes are quite short, it might be nice to have a couple extra longer holes where one could really unload the driver. Another weak con is that the harsh terrain chews up one's disc relatively quickly compared to mostly grass or brush covered courses. Finally, because this course is located at the base of a ski mountain resort town, it's covered in snow 5-6 months of the year.
Other Thoughts: I wonder how often bears are sighted at this course, lots of bears around Whistler. Also, these picture do not at all do the course justice, head up to Whistler to see it for yourself, I doubt you'll be disappointed.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Whistler, BC

5+    7/1/2008   4/3/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2011
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Whistler's DGC is one of the most scenic courses I have played yet. The course is surrounded by wildlife, tall Pines, and other native folliage. This course is located in the mountains just outside downtown Whistler (about 10 minutes away). As you play through, scenic views of the entire area can be seen including Whistler's premier golf courses, lakes, and various mountain ranges. The holes vary from under 100 feet to well over 300. Although the course doesn't have a lot of length, it makes up for it with tight fairways and difficult putts. Trees literally surround the majority of the holes with a few that are wide open. The course gives several birdie opportunities and there are definately a half dozen ace holes. Also, be sure if you have time to play the alternate and more challening tee pads (with the exception of a few). The only tee's without an alternate box are holes 11, 12, 14, 21, and 22. The rest are near the original numbered tees.
Cons:
Unless you have played before you will want to find a local like I did the first time. There are very few signs to follow but once you have played through once it is easy to remember. The only other issue was that the course had about 8 tonals out of 27 holes. The holes that did have baskets though were in excellent shape. Tee pads are a mix of dirt and gravel, but don't really affect your game considering you don't need a whole lot of power when driving, it's more about touch!
Other Thoughts:
Holes 16 and 18 are truely amazing and to me what make this course great. Hole 16 you throw uphill to a basket that is on top of a 30 foot boulder, where if you don't make it you are looking at atleast a bogie. Hole 18 you throw from on top of a cliff down over the forested area to a basket a few hundred feet down and away. Another thing that stood out was the fact that the course played under gigantic powerlines. Players must play under and around them at times without hitting them. It makes for a unique experience. One more note, the locals that I played with were truely some of the nicest people I have ever played with. They were friendly and helpful and full of positivity. If you are in Whistler you MUST play this course. It will leave an impression that will last a lifetime. I guarantee it!

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.